PDA

View Full Version : Q's on new boat

kind_cir
10-05-2008, 06:19 PM
Looking at a lot of boats at the moment as I think it's about time for an upgrade.
The only thing is, I am confused with all the choices, so I was hopeing some of you could help out.
What I am after is an alloy boat in a runabout, cab or bowrider configeration.
It would have to have a good ride and be easy to tow [4x4 TD ute].
Be launched and retrived by one person alone 100% of the time.
Accomadate up to 2 adults and one child 50% of the time
It would be used 60% time in the local rivers and 40% of the time up to 15km offshore from the Sunshine Coast. I would also like to do a trip or 2 from Brisbane to Morten Is.

So what size craft and what size engine ? Keeping in mind the less fuel it burns and the cheaper the purchase price the better. And fuel usage figures would be handy if you could let us know.

Thanks.

johnny roger
10-05-2008, 09:08 PM
Hi noboat,

i am new to boating, and have just bought my first boat. it is a stacer 469 sunmaster svs. i looked around for months, and the thing that got me about the stacer was 1) very helpful salesman, and knew what he was talking about. customer service is a big thing for me. 2) the stacer had all the features i was looking for. it is a runabout type boat, with a pod on the back for easy boarding for the kids, the pod also stabilizes the boat at rest, and prevents back wash coming over the transom. i'll only be using the boat 90% on the lake, and the other times in the esturays around cairns. being under 5M it is managable for one person.
you may ask why i didn't go for a quinnie...well the person i spoke to was a bit rude, and clearly only wanted my money and didn't offer any help to a new boat person.