View Full Version : Murphy's Reef 9.5.08

Mexikan
10-05-2008, 07:56 AM
Went fishing at Murphy's last night with a mate in his new boat.Wind was ok but the swell got bigger when we were out there.Fished in about 30m using cut mullet and squid baits on dropper rigs.Caught plenty of Pearlies,Moses Perch and Grassies just undersize.Kept 3 keeper Moses Perch.Went back when my mate started feeling a bit crook.Talked to a few people at the boat ramp and they did about the same except for a few snapper thrown in and one lady got a 2.5kg Pearlie.Like this reef fishing.
Mex

10-05-2008, 12:57 PM
nice effort mate

10-05-2008, 04:23 PM
Sounds good any pic's of the beasts

Plastic_Magic
10-05-2008, 06:51 PM
Well done mate sounds awsome....good work

Plastic_Magic

gunna
11-05-2008, 05:20 PM
Yeh I fished Murphys a few days before that and got heaps of just undersize stuff. Only one keeper for the morning. Might give it another try in a couple days - Seabreeze looks ideal at the mo.

Snapp
11-05-2008, 08:51 PM
Forget it,
I fished last night 4pm-8pm not real nice as my 12 yr old wanted to go fishing for the first time.
After he spewed I scurried back to Mooloolaba with one 50cm Grassey.
Anchored up againts the rock wall for a pleasent sleep.
Mistake 2; went out again at 6.30am to the blinker, right into the cloud mass.
high 20's kts ride to Old woman island to waste some fuel & back to Mlba for the rain.
Met the patrol 400m from Coast guard, all sweet. (checked flares & 1 fish)
Lucky I bought a new life jacket for my son 40-60kgs, except they didn't check.

Lesson 1 for the kid, Fishing is like that, should be better next time!!!!!!!!!!