View Full Version : Fish for freezing

08-05-2008, 08:26 PM
I'm wondering how people prepare their fish for freezing.
I just usually fillet,give them a wash put them on a platter and then the missus bags them(bags are dated and marked as per species) and straight into the freezer.
My missus however,wants to get a vacuum sealer but I am wondering whether it's really worth the bother......are they really that great ?http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif
Any opinion's on this particularly from those that have used them would be appreciated.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

ronnien
08-05-2008, 08:29 PM
scott, i do the same as u but i also wrap a bit of gladwrap over the bag, keeps the fish a bit better.

ron.

coucho
08-05-2008, 08:38 PM
scott they are worth every cent mate you can use them for everything not just fish and they will keep it much beter in the freezer. I used to do the same till I baught one they are the go and they aren't that dear either.

08-05-2008, 09:04 PM
Wanting one myself but if you want to try what i do works well too
I fillet and then place in ice ssaltwater then once fillet we boneless and skin the fillet then place into another ice saltwater then strain
Place into trays and slide into fridge for twelve hours then use snaplock bags , place fillet into snap lock and fill sink up to full then once have all your bags packed dip the snap clip bag into water up to the locking clip and clip shut , this takes all the air out of the bag stopping the fish from getting freezer burn over long periods if it lasts that long, doesn't get a chance at our place LOL

coucho
08-05-2008, 09:07 PM
good idea jt pretty well exact same as kryovack

08-05-2008, 09:46 PM
It depends on how long your fish stays in the freezer though, its its only in there a couple of days then I wouldn't bother, but a few weeks then yeah, then I'd think of it as an investment.

I personally just bag it into meal size portions, try to get as much air out of the bag and tie it off, a vacuum sealer would be easier I know, but the fish just doesn't stay in the freezer all that long so I can't justify it.

09-05-2008, 07:21 AM
same as Scott.

To get the portions right, I weigh the fish, as 650 - 700 grams is the right amount per sitting for my family.

kingtin
09-05-2008, 09:58 AM
No bags, just well Glad wrapped. The Glad wrap is a simple way to keep the air off the goods and prevents freezer burn.

sams_fish
09-05-2008, 02:22 PM
scott,
i've got a vacuum sealer & they are excellent for long term freezing of anything. ;D. the instructions reckoned you could freeze fish for up to 12 months & it'd still be ok. so i tried it, they weren't lying, not that fish usually lasts that long in my freezer. no freezer burn & fish was fine to eat as well. the vacuum sealer is also useful for sealing up dry goods for camping, matches, lighters, candles etc, & bait. ;D.
sams_fish

09-05-2008, 07:10 PM
Alright guys I think I have been convinced (not that it's really my call anyway...whatever keeps the missus happy to continue to bag up the catch.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

Sam's catch..some great idea's mate...in our very humid environment you have given me some great idea's for items other then fish which may benefit from being vacuum sealed.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

Thanks for the tip of placing the bags in gladwrap ronnien and Kev...never tried that.

JT, mate, no-one will ever accuse you of doing anything half arsed...but man I'm looking for the easiest method possible...as it is sometimes I spend a couple of afternoons after fishing just cleaning and filleting them...http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif.

Scott and cheech the missus often bags up 20 or so family meals after an overnighter so yeah we also portion them but are looking to streamline the process as well as provide the means to keep the fish as fresh as possible.

So anybody got any thoughts on what brand of machine is good,what size bags are best for a family of 4 and where to get them?

kingtin
09-05-2008, 07:25 PM
So anybody got any thoughts on what brand of machine is good,what size bags are best for a family of 4 and where to get them?

Scott, I toyed with the idea myself but glad wrapping really does stop freezer burn, unlike bagging, and keeps stuff so well, that I thought that I didn't need one.

So what did I do? Instead, I spent the money on an electric mincer and have never looked back. I buy whole rump at 5 bucks and make fabulous fat free burgers, chillies and spag bog, but even more importantly, I make really good burley.........old pillies, fish frames and prawn shells go through the mincer and are stuffed into drink bottles with the tops cut off and frozen. When I need 'em, I cut the bottle off and the shaped burley fits nicely into those wire burley cages that anaconda knock out on special at 10 bucks. They thaw slowly leaving a steady stream of burley. I even make the blocks pure pillies if I am not using prawn or pure prawn shell if I am fishing with prawn with just a bit of pilly to bind it together.

You can pick leccy mincers up for around 70 bucks on ebay and even make yer own sausage.

09-05-2008, 07:50 PM
yes ..nice one Kev..nice one indeed.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif
For years now I have tried to escape my peasant like,subsistence styled upbringing which revolved around growing ,killing,butchering and eating much of our own diet and now...bloody well now...my missus not only wants a vacuum sealer but a mincer as well...http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif
Ah man I give up!http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

kingtin
09-05-2008, 08:46 PM
keep her sweet Scott, keep her sweet! ;D

Alchemy
09-05-2008, 08:50 PM
Hi Scott,

We've got a Sunbeam vac sealer, and it is great. Though it did play up recently. I found a cracked tube inside preventing the vacuum to form, but a bit of araldite fixed that in a flash.

09-05-2008, 09:00 PM
keep her sweet Scott, keep her sweet! ;D

Of course Kev...that's the secret to happiness, right http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.

Dave, we were looking at the sunbeam model...

Any advice on bag thickness and size?...there are so many that it's confusinghttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif.

Alchemy
09-05-2008, 09:14 PM
Scott,

We just use the Sunbeam Foodsaver roll. 28cm x 5.4m roll. This allows you to cut the roll to make a bag whatever size you need. This stuff isn't cheap, so I always wash the bags after use for re-use. If they get a bit smelly, then I'll use them for bait. I even vac pack my spare spark plugs, and a couple of other odds and ends that I want to keep absolutely dry.

I guess there are other options other than the Sunbeam rolls that may be cheaper, but I just haven't looked hard enough to find them.

09-05-2008, 10:05 PM
No worries Dave...
The roll sounds good for first up...I was looking at bulk bags in lots of 1000 from some of the suppliers on ebay....might start with a roll though.

scott

10-05-2008, 07:31 AM
The sealers sound good. I must get one someday.

I remembered this thread

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=52566&highlight=Sunbeam+Foodsaver

Imfiik
10-05-2008, 08:34 AM
When I was a lot younger we didn't have the luxury of vacumn sealers and we used to do pretty well on spanish macks. To stop freezer burns we used to lay the half fillets on flat trays overnight in the freezer . Then in the morning we would dip them in ice water and return them to the freezer. If they were to be kept for a while we'd give them a few dips. The ice sealed them from the air. I was only young and my biggest problem was to convince my old man that macks were better filleted than steaked. To him macks were always steaked then fried thirty minutes each side(shudder).

10-05-2008, 09:05 AM
Thanks dogsbody....some great ideas and advice there.

Just a couple of questions though

With the Sunbeam model is it necessary to use their own brand of bag/roll or can any manufacturers bags be used?

When vacuuming fillets does it squash them and is it important that the fillets be dryed off first?

PS imfiik ...I was never keen on Mackeral "steaks" either...cant beat a fillethttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif.

10-05-2008, 09:12 AM
When vacuuming fillets does it squash them and is it important that the fillets be dryed off first?

I always take a small container of salt water home and quckly rinse the fillets in salt water before vacuum freezing. They squash a little but no problems

10-05-2008, 08:50 PM
I always take a small container of salt water home and quckly rinse the fillets in salt water before vacuum freezing. They squash a little but no problems

Yeah cheers Greg...I might get a bucket with a lid and do the same.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

reel scream
12-05-2008, 09:15 PM
I agree with JT on the issue of putting the fillets in the fridge first. All mine get bagged up and left in the fridge for two days before freezing. ? something about the molecules in the flesh not breaking down due to a rapid drop in temp.

First tried it on some tailor fillets a few years back and they cooked up great after freezing.

Cheers Scott

ColacGirl
13-05-2008, 12:21 AM
With the Sunbeam model is it necessary to use their own brand of bag/roll or can any manufacturers bags be used?

Hi Disorderly,
I have the Sunbeam Foodsaver and use Vacuseal brand bags/rolls. I order from their website in bulk to reduce postage costs.
My brother haggles with an electrical store to get discount for bulk purchases of the Sunbeam brand bags.

Note: When shopping for the Foodsaver make sure you buy the machine that is 28cm wide, not the 20cm.

--
Bev

rat_catcher
13-05-2008, 09:14 AM
To him macks were always steaked then fried thirty minutes each side(shudder).
Wow!!!! Fried 30mins each side........not sure I would want to eat them after that! ;D

Nic
13-05-2008, 11:48 AM
The sealers sound good. I must get one someday.

The decent-sized ones certainly aren't cheap, but I reckon they're worth every penny. If you're short on $$ though, one option is to get one on eBay from the US or Germany. In the US they're called Tilia Foodsavers, in Germany they're Vakuumier Foodsavers.

13-05-2008, 12:10 PM
I have put a couple of bids on ebay for the sunbeam model but have missed out.
Think we will probably just pay the $250 and buy one at the local retravision next time we get into town.
Yeah thanks ColacGirl definatily looking at the 28cm model

fivefishes
13-05-2008, 06:49 PM
Scott,

Little tip with freezing any fish, dry it as much as you can befiore you wrap or vac pack it. When water/moisture on the fish freezes it expands and crystalizes this can damage the flesh and result in fillets that are mushy when thawed. It isn't enough to make them inedible, but it certainly detracts from good quality fillets like C/T, Nannies etc.

ifishcq1
13-05-2008, 07:19 PM
Got another suggestion, get friendly with your local butcher... we go down clean the fish on his ergo benches with his sharp knives while he has a beer and kryovacks all the fillets for us ...it costs a couple of beers and we help clean up and if he twists our arms we have to have a medicinal bourbon or two to round the arvo off .. we always give him a feed... the added bonus is we mince all the heads, frames and old bait for berley before he dairy- chlors the mincer ...two birds one stone and several drinks we worth it

RayDeR
16-05-2008, 07:47 PM
G'day !

I noticeAldi have a vacumm sealer on special starting next Thursday::

Vacuum Food Sealer

$ 99 *

Ideal for preserving freshness and extending shelf life of leftovers
Convenient solution for packing lunches and picnics
Fully automatic
Slip-proof bag locking system
Compact size
Includes 3m x 28cm plastic roll and 10 small vacuum bags

Also Available Food Sealer Refills $14.99 pk
Pack includes 2 x (6m x 28cm) plastic rolls
See: http://aldi.com.au/au/html/offers/2827_5090.htm

Ray De R

16-05-2008, 08:46 PM
Scott,

Little tip with freezing any fish, dry it as much as you can befiore you wrap or vac pack it. When water/moisture on the fish freezes it expands and crystalizes this can damage the flesh and result in fillets that are mushy when thawed. It isn't enough to make them inedible, but it certainly detracts from good quality fillets like C/T, Nannies etc.

Thanks Matt...I'll let the better half know your thoughts...(god knows I've tried to suggest drying the fillets off with paper towel).http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif

The expected response however might go something like this...http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif

You f*&#@g ungrateful B^%$#d you really should just be thankful that I actually F$#@&g do this for you.....http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif..

Ah...my missus....god bless her...You can take the girl out of New York but you can't take New York out of the girl http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.

16-05-2008, 08:59 PM
G'day !

I noticeAldi have a vacumm sealer on special starting next Thursday::

Vacuum Food Sealer

$ 99 *

Ideal for preserving freshness and extending shelf life of leftovers
Convenient solution for packing lunches and picnics
Fully automatic
Slip-proof bag locking system
Compact size
Includes 3m x 28cm plastic roll and 10 small vacuum bags

Also Available Food Sealer Refills $14.99 pk
Pack includes 2 x (6m x 28cm) plastic rollsSee: http://aldi.com.au/au/html/offers/2827_5090.htm

Ray De R

Ray..we have no Aldi stores nearby and I don't see a mail-order facility for them...
I would like to compare those 2 packs of plastic rolls with the sunbeam ones though... $15 vs $40(for sunbeam) makes me wonder how much comes down to the quality/thickness of the plastic and how much is just markup from a "Known" brand..http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif...

Anyone got any idea's on this?

kingtin
16-05-2008, 09:59 PM
Ray..we have no Aldi stores nearby and I don't see a mail-order facility for them...
I would like to compare those 2 packs of plastic rolls with the sunbeam ones though... $15 vs $40(for sunbeam) makes me wonder how much comes down to the quality/thickness of the plastic and how much is just markup from a "Known" brand..http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif...

Scott, Dunno about here, but Aldi took the UK by storm when it first started up over there. Most of the "dry goods" stuff it sold was of German origin and although cheap, was good quality.

Outsider1
22-05-2008, 01:46 PM

I bought one of the Lumina Vac Sealers today from Aldi. Unfortunately they had sold out of the extra rolls, the checkout girl said everyone was buying 2 or 3 packs of bags with each Sealer. The Lumina is made in Korea.

The bags and the roll that come with the Lumina look sturdy enough to me. I have not seen the Sunbeam ones, but hard to imagine they would be any thicker.

reilly
23-05-2008, 02:59 AM
If It's small fillets eg 1 fillet per person freeze the fillets together as they come of the fish so the skin is on the outside then glad wrap and bag

sharkymark2
23-05-2008, 07:42 AM
Hey Scott let the missus get the mincer. When she gets tired of it sneak it away and use it to make top quality burley ;). I was also wandering about the quality of the fish fillets after all that washing? I now try to keep contact down with water after I fillet skin and bone. Presents a better piece after defrosting.