View Full Version : Best Fuel Economy 4WD For Towing 2 Tonne Rig

Goldfinch
06-05-2008, 08:47 PM
Howdy folks,

Seeking some good advice from all you wonderful 4WD lovers.

I am currently towing a 2 tonne boat and trailer (Haines Hunter 600 Classic and Marlin Multiroller 21) with a 2002 Landcruiser, 79 series, diesel, single cab, tray top 4WD and the fuel economy is very average. Whilst towing on the open road I get approx 5.2 km's per litre and without towing approx 7.1 km's to the litre.

I am looking at getting either a turbo diesel, dual cab Navara, Triton, Hilux or anything else that someone can recommend as being the best economic performer.

Any feedback and advice would be much appreciated.

dave

06-05-2008, 08:58 PM
V8 Cruiser towing 2.7T...around 3.5-4klm per litre.. so don't go there :0 does it easy tho :)

06-05-2008, 09:01 PM
V8 Cruiser towing 2.7T...around 3.5-4klm per litre.. so don't go there :0 does it easy tho :)

Spaniard ouch!!, do you ever do the Agnes trek:o :o :o :o :o :o

06-05-2008, 09:31 PM
Same thread in the 4wd section. I posted my reply in there. ;)

07-05-2008, 07:34 AM
V8 Land Rover Discovery II (02) towing a Seafarer Vagabond on dual axle. I have never done an economy test laden. Unladen in and out to the city from the burbs I get 19.5 litres/100k on LPG - 15 - 15.5 on unleaded. Its a manual :).

With the boat I usually am towing on LPG and I know that it slugs it back faster, but how fast I dont know (and I dont care too much at the LPG costs either :)).

Overall whilst the old tech torquey V8s dont get knocked around too much by the weight they do still chew more obviously than unladen. What I have found though is that at 100-120 kph on the highway it chews very close to the same amount of overall fuel as in and out to town changing gears at 1800-3000rpm; however if I sit on 90kph I get about 12 litres per 100k on petrol, so there is quite a difference there.

07-05-2008, 07:35 AM
just proves the theory in my 95 Disco's handbook (that isnt replicated in the later models book) that 55 miles an hour is optimum fuel eco speed on the highway...any faster and your pushing way to much wind with the big brick!

07-05-2008, 08:36 PM
Spaniard ouch!!, do you ever do the Agnes trek:o :o :o :o :o :o

Was thinkin of making an appearance at the M&G this year :)

07-05-2008, 08:50 PM
just proves the theory in my 95 Disco's handbook (that isnt replicated in the later models book) that 55 miles an hour is optimum fuel eco speed on the highway...any faster and your pushing way to much wind with the big brick!

My diesel patrol is the same, it would rather sit on 110 in 5th as it is happy there but 90kph is very efficient - a brick is a brick is a brick.

08-05-2008, 01:50 PM
have you considered a petrol engine on gas. we use an '88 patrol on lpg and for normal use get around 5.5km/l but this drops a little to around 5 towing the boat. 70c/litre for lpg instead of 160c/litre for diesel.

BILLY THE KID
08-05-2008, 05:01 PM
have you considered a petrol engine on gas. we use an '88 patrol on lpg and for normal use get around 5.5km/l but this drops a little to around 5 towing the boat. 70c/litre for lpg instead of 160c/litre for diesel.

or see a truck engine place and ask about diesel/lpg set up , mixing lpg with the diesel creates a 90 % burn rate instead of the normal 70% ish of a normal diesel emgine , cleaner burn / better economy / cleaner oil ,

This willl become the norm soon > turbo diesel / lpg engines , lpg dumped in before the torbo cools it so boost can be increased creating more torque 8-)

Outsider1
08-05-2008, 05:35 PM
or see a truck engine place and ask about diesel/lpg set up , mixing lpg with the diesel creates a 90 % burn rate instead of the normal 70% ish of a normal diesel emgine , cleaner burn / better economy / cleaner oil ,

This willl become the norm soon > turbo diesel / lpg engines , lpg dumped in before the torbo cools it so boost can be increased creating more torque 8-)

yes, and will also eventually incorporate a particulate (gas) burner that will virtually eliminate any emissions as well.

08-05-2008, 06:10 PM
What weight is your boat and trailer paddles?

As for Diesel Gas, my brother is a certified fitter. Its a great thing from what he tells me.

08-05-2008, 06:19 PM
Gas in a diesel....I laugh in the face of it, I use my left over outboard premix at 5 or 10% depending:o:o vroom vroom!;D

walruss
08-05-2008, 08:18 PM
Try this link. tells you more about it. I haver heard (just talk) that it does work as claimed and quite a few semis etc are now using it.

http://www.dieselgasaustralia.com.au/

Russ

walruss
08-05-2008, 08:21 PM
Forgot to add. I tow a 2.5 tonne boat and get about 6.5 klm/s per litre. tend to push it along, and sit on the 110km/h The only tow vehicle... turbo diesel TLC

honda900
08-05-2008, 09:08 PM
this was done in the 4wd forum, have a read, dont forget to look at the jeep section. ;)

http://www.overlander.com.au/vehicle_tests/index/full/274/2006-Tow-Test:-Part-1---Large-Wagons

08-05-2008, 09:30 PM
Thats a great link honda looks like if petrol and large 26L/100km is a close and if diesel 19L/100km.

Would be nice to see a chart of all that data and it's a shame the a 4.2 td patrol was not included, still a lot of them around even if s/h.

09-05-2008, 08:29 AM
I'm not exactly sure how heavy it all is scott (it's a 6.2m glass freedom with a 140 suzuki) I'm guessing it's somewhere between 1500 - 2000kg. The trailer only has over ride brakes on it so is only legal for under 2000kg.

The petrol patrol on gas is awesome though. We've got a little corolla that we were using to commute into brissy every day from beachmere (this was when I used to have a hilux, because the hilux chewed heaps more petrol than the corolla). We got the old patrol when a kid came along and the ute had to go, and discovered that the cost of running the patrol on lpg as compared to running the corolla on premium was only maybe 1c or so a km more expensive. We now use the patrol everywhere we can and the corolla stays parked keeping the km off it, plus if someone runs into the patrol during our commute it doesn't really matter anyway.

09-05-2008, 11:24 AM
My bro in law runs his GQ on LPG and loves it. I love LPG on both my Discos - one open loop one closed loop, but it has to be fitted properly I reckon...vapour hose at the bottom, not top of the converter, to clean out the black tar.

09-05-2008, 12:14 PM
yeah a disco v8 on lpg would make a damn fine tow vehicle.