View Full Version : yamaha 60hp high thrust

U4REEL
01-05-2008, 10:04 PM
Hey guys someone was telling me that if i service my new 4 stroke yamaha 60hp outboard myself that it will not void the warranty!

There due for there 20 hr service and the cost for both outboards is going to be $730

I have access to a full workshop and im pretty much a mechanic(car) is this something the average mechanic can handle or is there things that require diagnostic equipment? also does anyone know what the 20hr service incorporates?

johnny

01-05-2008, 10:29 PM
Giday Johnny

Mate to start with $730.oo seems way over the top for this service , and i think the guy who sold you the motors is trying to get more cream, have you tried other dealers of even a mobile mechanic?

MyEscape
02-05-2008, 07:00 AM
I'd agree the price seems excessive. The manual for my new 40hp Yamaha shows approximate labour times for each service so yours should too.

Obviously you are paying for some parts replacement, however these should be itemised on the bill.

cameron walker
02-05-2008, 07:49 AM
$730 for two motors seems ok compared to the quotes I got,$530 parts inclusive and $370 parts extra for one 60 yam 4stroke.I wish I was a machanic ..Do it yourself

pubgolf
02-05-2008, 08:28 AM
i had the 20 hour service done on my 80hp not long ago it cost $330.00 all up so you would think that this dealer may be whacking you a bit hard. As for servicing them yourself, i reckon i could have done it and im a sparky, but i cant stamp the book and the warranty is peace of mind regardless of what they may or may not acctually fix under it heaven forbid.

:thumbsup:

Rod

hooknline
02-05-2008, 08:43 AM
I have a 4 stroke yammy and they told me a 10 hr service is required then every 100 hours, I'd be asking the question?

pubgolf
02-05-2008, 10:02 AM
hooknline 10 or 20 theyre both just the run in service. ussual stuff dump the oil check nothing comin loose and belt the livin hell outta your wallet whilst doing it

:thumbsup:

Rod

MyEscape
02-05-2008, 10:54 AM
Hooknline,

The 2008 model Yamaha has its first service at 20 hours. My other Yamahas (yes I'm up to my third) has the first service due at 10 hours.

bennyboy
02-05-2008, 12:19 PM
You can service the motor yourself and if there was an issue that was not related to the work you had done on the motor Yamaha will still cover it. If the problem is a result of your work then obviously it's your fault.
The big issue is that to qualify for the extended warranty of 4 years all servicing needs to be done by Yamaha. If you touch it you will only get your standard 2 year warranty

honda900
02-05-2008, 04:44 PM
My Yam 2- 130 10 hr service cost $220 (including filling my 2- bottle), My 140 Suzi 4- 20hr service cost $320

I think someone is having a lend of you ..:o

Honda

Hydrotherapy
02-05-2008, 11:35 PM
That's $730 for TWO outboards, $365 each. A bit steep but not a ripoff.

imported_QCR
03-05-2008, 11:39 AM
Just had my 60Hp Yam Hi Thrust in for the 1st service @ 20 Hrs $196.00