PDA

View Full Version : Any hints for winter bassing

geoff72
30-04-2008, 10:10 AM
Just after some advice for chasing bass in winter,i use mostly jackall tn60's. Do they slow up much when the water temp drops? Whats the best retieve with lures,work them slower? Any help with this would be great.
cheers
Geoff

rc@hinze
30-04-2008, 11:44 PM
Hi Geoff. I am no expert but I have noticed they tend to sit deeper in schools and because of this I run my lures quite deep. this winter I will also be adding a downrigger to my arsenal. I also use some extra lead on my g-vibes to get them to run deeper. - Richard-

alphas
01-05-2008, 12:00 AM
also try some deep diving lures like poltergeist dd's and predatek ultra deep.
The predatek has been very good for me over the winter months..black is the standout color.I find a more agressive retrieve with jackalls seems to work better in the colder months,again in darker colors.Hope this helps..good luck

Leigh77
01-05-2008, 09:52 AM
All depends on whether you are fishing rivers or dams...

But with dams, most of the time you can find them schooling up just going through the motions of what they would do in the rivers as the prepare to breed. If you are looking for something a little more appealing (IMO) though, cast surface lures and shallow runners into the shallow waters near the banks.

Some fish do move into the shallow areas to find the warmer water...as the shallower water warms up faster. Dont discount surface lures, they will produce!

The best part of impoundment fishing during the cooler months is they are big and fat...and because cooler water holds more oxygen, they fight harder!

geoff72
01-05-2008, 08:04 PM
thanks for all the info fellas,will put it all to good use

scoocer101
01-05-2008, 08:06 PM