View Full Version : Anzac Fishing Bonanza

29-04-2008, 08:18 PM
Ok had some mates from Toowomba hit here for the long weekend with idea's of catching the big ones and full of energy::) . So i has the boat packed and ready to go's we launched from the harbour at 12.15 am Friday morning full of beans;)
We arrives at our location 70 odd km's out to be met with excellent conditions mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm:-/ Someone forgot to tell fish we were there...
20 hussar later with 15 odd undersized reds and 5 slatey's later our esky was empty , Dawn dawns LOL and i managed 2 nice tuskie's ........
Buggar this we moved to another spot 10 km closer and hooked into them straight up with some nice sized tuskie's a red a cobia a 10 kg cod and some numerous lippers and stripey's.
We headed home to clean the boat ice the fish and get some sleep to head out again that night.
12.01 saturday morning see's us heading out again with 3 guy's plus me in tow, hmmmm bit sloppy this time but manageable for the cruisecraft, gets to the spot where we got most of the fish and anchors(after 3 attempts) swell was not nice to us with a 13 knt NNW blowing, 2 of the guys immediately start to be sick and head for the bunks :o Sookie girls (They needed to swallow a cup of cement and harden up)
So leaves one guy and myself into them straight up lipper after lipper
Dawn dawns again with a nice catch of some tuskies and a trout and my very first moari cod, and let me tell ya they are awesome to eat. We managed 2 nice spano's 2 redjew and redthroat and some very large stripey's with a nice Frying pan snapper as well
Then headed home around ten am back at harbour at 11.20 picked up some cold ales and began the filleting seeing we iced the day be fores fish . The guys had a ball and ended up with some beautiful fillets

But have a clip here for ya's not of fishing but some of the fish
;)
JT1kUFHEpnJSI

Skusto
29-04-2008, 08:25 PM
great catch there u guys a bloody keen to go out 2 days in a row at 12 at night.!

29-04-2008, 08:32 PM
Keeps the pestilence fish down and hopefully hopefully get some Nice reds but ya got to be in it to win it my friend
Cheers jt

29-04-2008, 08:33 PM
Been waiting for the report,JT....that's a ripper cod you got there.
Sounds like your deckies need a good dose of quells or ginger tablets...bit of a shame that they were so crook.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif
Ah what a life you have....twice out reef fishing in the one weekend.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif
Good work,mate.....plenty of good tucker therehttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

Alchemy
29-04-2008, 08:45 PM
Sounds like you got a good mixed bag there JT. I agree that the maoris are very good chewing. Any pics?

29-04-2008, 08:47 PM
excellent fish guys

29-04-2008, 08:55 PM
Sounds like you got a good mixed bag there JT. I agree that the maoris are very good chewing. Any pics?

In that vid at the end brother are some pics if not clear i'll post them up;)
I'm hearing you Scott am a bit slow of late doing reports but is good to have reefy fillets , i'm eating fish for dinner every night love the tast too much and hoping to lose the extra kilo's as i'm getting older ;) you'd know what i mean LOL:P

mangomick
29-04-2008, 09:08 PM
Hey JT
Youre going to have to post a few pickies. They must have some sort of block on the computer at work and I cant access your video.
two trips in two days and Fuel at $1.54 over Anzac day. Where have you got that money tree hidden. You must have the Mrs out working two jobs. lucky Bugger;D

29-04-2008, 09:20 PM
Hey JT
Youre going to have to post a few pickies. They must have some sort of block on the computer at work and I cant access your video.
two trips in two days and Fuel at $1.54 over Anzac day. Where have you got that money tree hidden. You must have the Mrs out working two jobs. lucky Bugger;D
HAHAHA good one she just went full time today actually
Thank god but with interest rates there goes my biggr boat
Yes i forked out one tank of juice the guys forked out for another and all bait and tackle so worked out well
;D

mangomick
29-04-2008, 10:02 PM
Nice looking fish JT . From memory I've never seen a Moari Cod. I'll go check them out in Grants Guide .
Hopefully we should get a couple of days of good weather this week-end.
The few flag (stripeys )we picked up last weekend were all a good size.
I couldnt believe just how many red throat we pulled up that were just, just ,just ,maybe on the mark.
They were so close we threw them back cause we didnt want to take the risk that if we were pulled up and they had shrunk down on the ice we'd cop a fine.
Might have to do a course on fish chiropracting so I can get an extra couple of mils on them.
You seem to hit that 70km zone pretty regularly. The way the weather was I thought you would have gone out to Douglas with the other half of the Gladstone fishing community.
Heard one bloke call up to say he was heading to Douglas shoals in a 5.2 tinny with 3 POB. Lucky the NWers didnt blow up a tad stronger

Yolo2007
30-04-2008, 12:47 AM
Great feed there...nice touch with the you tube film as well.

CT
30-04-2008, 10:17 AM
How big is your rig JT?

seapup
30-04-2008, 11:08 AM
Nice work there boys!

30-04-2008, 05:54 PM
How big is your rig JT?
She's a 5.5 Cruisecraft mate absolutly great boats
6.1 metre's long from front to back
Mick that Moari cod had alot of fat in her so taking it that she as fairly large for it's size but was awesome chewing with squeezed lemon and salt grilled mate

mitch92
30-04-2008, 06:16 PM
One word - ENVY

sever envy!

30-04-2008, 07:11 PM
I'm hearing you Scott am a bit slow of late doing reports but is good to have reefy fillets , i'm eating fish for dinner every night love the tast too much and hoping to lose the extra kilo's as i'm getting older ;) you'd know what i mean LOL:P

Maaaattte...are you saying that I'm a fat pr!ck.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif
I'll guarantee that I got a glimpse of my Ab muscles yesterday when I burped....http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif.

Dry season...lots of physical labour to be done and plenty of low fat fish,rice and salads to be eaten and the end result will be a body to die for....http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.

well..we''ll see.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif.

ifishcq1
30-04-2008, 07:57 PM
JT after I saw you I had some good photos sent in this week.... it looks like half of Yeppoon scored fish last weekend .... might relieve the stress around the place.....
and you have dropped a few pound

01-05-2008, 06:51 PM
Maaaattte...are you saying that I'm a fat pr!ck.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif
I'll guarantee that I got a glimpse of my Ab muscles yesterday when I burped....http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif.

Dry season...lots of physical labour to be done and plenty of low fat fish,rice and salads to be eaten and the end result will be a body to die for....http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.

well..we''ll see.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif.

;D :P ;D :P ;D :P ;D
No no mate i wasn't saying your fat or that your one AB muscle was giving away your superman like physic
HAHAHA
And yes to the other scott i've lost 6 kg
Another 15 kg to a good start thou LOL
Make sure you put me in the paper to Scotty as i want to show Mangomick he cuts out all my pictures and puts them on his fridge::)
He loves me:o :P

pickers
01-05-2008, 07:52 PM
heaing your way in august to hit the wide grounds out of 1770 , my mate has done a few trips out to this area before and its red hot.
send me a pm if you are interested in heading out to this area with us.
pickers

Orange_hains
01-05-2008, 07:54 PM
congrats on ur good catch.
how deep of water were you fishing ? ( im from the gold coast so not sure what the ground is like up there )

01-05-2008, 08:45 PM
congrats on ur good catch.
how deep of water were you fishing ? ( im from the gold coast so not sure what the ground is like up there )
30 m to 40 m mate there is a lot of deeper area's out wider buti'd be buggared if i have to wind up to many fish in deeper water lol
And pickers sorry mate just looked at your post mate i have a fishing comp on in august so may have to miss out but give me a date mate and i'll try and catch you up for it