PDA

View Full Version : Unsafe trailer - Now resolved

Dantren
29-04-2008, 06:56 PM
I am looking for some advice from some experienced Ausfishers.

I purchased a 5 meter new boat, motor, trailer package from a dealer july 2007.

Boat Manufacturers Specs are:

Hull only = 613 kg
Motor = 189 kg
110L tank of fuel = 80 kg

TOTAL = 882 kg

Trailer Manufacturers Specs are:

GTM = 1180
ATM = 1180
TRAILER MASS = 320

MAX LOAD = 860 kg

I went over the local weighbridge today with the fitted out boat including:

Offshore safety gear
Full tank of fuel
spare tyre
odds & ends

but excluding:

Eskys
Fishing gear

TOTAL LOAD = 1340 kg

That is 160kg over the rated maximum!

So I have been towing this package around for nine months, endangering my life, and the life on those around me - Uninsured!

Am gathering more ammunition before approaching the dealer.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Dan.

Reel Nauti
29-04-2008, 07:07 PM
I can't really help with this Dan but it does sound as though you should have had a larger carrying capacity trailer.

All the best with it and please keep us informed.

Dave

disorderly
29-04-2008, 07:09 PM
Hate to say it,mate ..
But I think it's more of a moral dilemma than a legal one....what they sold you and you drove away with was legal but commonsense would suggest that a fully loaded and equipped boat would exceed the specified weight limits...
This sometimes happens in response to dealers having to compete for sales by offering the lowest possible price.

I would certainly approach the dealer,though and am curious as to how it turns out.

Scott

Spaniard_King
29-04-2008, 07:15 PM
Dan,

Sounds to me as if your heading in the right direction

Might be worth talking to one of the boating bodies.. like BIA or something.. get there angle on it

FNQCairns
29-04-2008, 07:26 PM