View Full Version : clasic fishing phrases

26-04-2008, 06:01 PM
I was just looking at another thread and it occured to me that any presenter worth his salt has a hand full of stock phrases.

Then there are those that you definitely would not hear in the media.

there is a guy on the rapala video who has a few that he uses all the time.

Pliers out!

OOH thas a big one.

lets get him back in the water.

then there is my sisters husband.

often in reference to sea snakes, stone fish, stingrays & the like.

Not in the boat, not in the boat.

when a little more agitated, usualy in relation to some large teeth with a shark or crock attached

Cut him off

Give me the knife.

Where the @$#& knife.

;D ;D ;D

pilchardjones
27-04-2008, 07:34 AM
one of my group of fishing friends standard phrases when someone hooks up is "do you want me to get the knife". meaning its just too big and you shouldn't waste your time trying to land it. better to cut it off now.

"I'm fishin" if someone hooks up.

"good twangage" as the braid twangs on hookup

27-04-2008, 01:06 PM
Do these have spines:worried2: ...... Nah mate! , just watch the spikes (just when he picks it up)

Git the gaff ...! Everytime a decent hookup is made

Terrafirma! ..... when someone snags up or hooks a port jackson or wobbygong shark
Ah ... Elnesto ( when someone gets a birds nest) or I heard that!
Followed by ......Do you want the scissors ?

I'm sure .... i'll remember some more

Nagg

castlemaine
27-04-2008, 01:53 PM
My father-in-law's reply to a mate of his enquiring if he could borrow the boat ... " Two things I don't lend, my boat and my wife"

BR65
27-04-2008, 02:10 PM
"trollins cheatin" when one of the boys gets a nice fish dragging plastic around

"do you want the knife?" when the crew snags up a $20 barra lollie (only said if its his lure, not one of yours he has "borrowed for a bit")

"where is the knife?" when that same crew member hooks up

plus multiple sledges to rude to print here lol
brian

ANYFISH
27-04-2008, 02:51 PM
If the fishing is a bit slow.

caught one yet?................... how about now?

2 minutes later
how about now?

3 minutes later
caught one yet?

two dogs
27-04-2008, 03:59 PM
snag on bottom = Rock lobster
unstoppables = Creature!

breamnut
27-04-2008, 04:22 PM
how about...
just one more cast
just 1 more
1 more
;D

27-04-2008, 04:39 PM
ya shoulda been here yesterday mate..............

Dantren
27-04-2008, 05:52 PM
Any enquiries?
Got an enquiry!!

Drop some snapper lollies down there!!

I know boats....

Wanna be my fuel buddy....

It's a marine desert down there!

27-04-2008, 06:00 PM
Gear Failure ...... I F^@%&d up the knot

Nagg

Mexikan
27-04-2008, 06:22 PM
A funny one that was birthed when I was fishing with a mate up north and he decided to fish with a 100lb handline and no gloves and proceeded to hook onto a big cod which took off at a rate of knots.All I heard from him was 'burnies!!! burnies!!!' as smoke poured out of his hands!!!! He got the fish though.We used that one a bit after that when we happened to be thumming the spools on our baitcasters feeding line to barra etc taking liveys and all of a sudden they would take off and you get the old thumb burn!!
Mex

dfox
27-04-2008, 06:45 PM
The main two ive used over the years is i just got "SMOKED" by an "UNSTOPABLE" ...

27-04-2008, 06:46 PM
" don't pull the plug out "... snagged on bottom

" done me again ".... AJ fishing

" That's not a fish "... knowing you have a better one on

" kazoinkered "..... big fish/ unstopable

rob tranter
28-04-2008, 08:23 AM
I've got a mate (yeh I know it's hard to believe), but anyway his most fave is
"I'm on"

But when the fishing is slow, he uses "Oh Rexy Boy you've done it again" normally followed by "oh F@#k I lost him".

There's usually a few "oh", then "sh!t I missed him".

Me I usually say "yahoo" or "it's about time"

Nothing to exciting

Rob T8-)

28-04-2008, 09:46 AM
Took a guy out a few weeks back, his first time fishing in a boat.

He was the first to hook up, and yelled "get the net, GET THE NET"

It was a 25cm cod, on 40lb braid. Ohhhh, big fight that one.

He yelled it again when he hooked up 5 minutes later, and I watched him fight with a snag for about 3 minutes before I cracked up laughing and told him the bad news!

BARRAkid
28-04-2008, 10:06 AM
"GOT me another GS - I got another giant snag >:(
" Im on "
"Give it a flog " - Flog ya lure in there even if you doute there will be a fish there
"The esky was open" after we loose a good reef fish rite next to the boat ;D
and the most common latly when we drift off the reef "F#%KIN GRINNERS"

cheers BK

ronnien
28-04-2008, 11:04 AM
fright train= unstopable

come on come on take it= talking the fish into taking the bait

nothing= not telling anyone just been done

bricked= fish made it home

Reel Nauti
28-04-2008, 01:39 PM
Years ago when a mate and I used to use alvey reels almost exclusively he always called me Alvey Tangles - (from Albey Mangles)

Everytime my mate pee's over the side I ask him if the water is cold? Everytime the replies the same "Nah mate, but it's f###en deep!)

28-04-2008, 04:29 PM
Ah fark I've spilt me beer.

Or another f@#$en shark.

coucho
28-04-2008, 04:56 PM
NAFA not a fishermans a@seh@ole

28-04-2008, 04:59 PM
"I've been blown off!" not some thing that happens in the Valley on a Sat'dy night!
"Check the use by date", "Got any dates for the scones?" "It'll have maggots hangin' orf it" all for a fish that takes a while to get in
"Ahhh its the Bot, Bot" for a snag
"A stick fish", or "antler fish" for coral
"give yaself a reach around!" self explainitory

28-04-2008, 04:59 PM
Only one I like to hear ------ "Fish On"

Twisted_Pair
28-04-2008, 07:27 PM
"Come to Papa"

T_P

onerabbit
28-04-2008, 08:34 PM
Are we there yet....................when dropping baits on the shelf,
& everyone's favourite .........DAMNIT.......is multi purpose.

Wahoo
28-04-2008, 08:44 PM
can you see color yet ;D

28-04-2008, 08:52 PM
can you see color yet ;D

lol Daz...reminds me of a bloke I used to fish with...after that he would add...."So is it a monster from the deep?"

Guido
29-04-2008, 10:14 AM
Sometimes actions speak louder than words out the reef...

After a short period of no fish and if i've finally hooked up...I like to be a bit sly and sneak the ripper trout or red over the side and let it go sick in the dump box. Just a sly grin to the other blokes on board. Sometimes it might follow with:

"you boys pulling your weight or what?"

Guido

spelchek
29-04-2008, 10:40 AM
"Caught a piece of Australia" - snagged

"Nigee - eeeelllll ...... F*CKIN LEGEND!" - when the hook gets free from the snag (ALA Kevin Bloody WIlson)

"Edddiiiieeee what have you done for me latley EDDIEEE" - when spyng a good looking eddy to flick a bait into ( copyright: Eddie murphy)

"weeell Im the type of guy who likes to root around" (sung to the tune of 'The Wanderer') to give sh*t to our mate 'Rootaround' (who roots around when doing anything- type of guy wholl empty and repack a trailer 5 times before declaring it 'ready').

"Dirty mother-f*cker" (sung to the tune by 'Prince') when fish busted off or dropped.

Yes, me and my mates are probably certifiable - and we do tend to get a bit 'blue' in the language dept when fishing together.

Oh - and one more (mostly said to our mate 'Angry'): "Tinny time!!" when someone drops a fart (refers to the fact they are gonna be out the back in the tender if they keep it up).

rob tranter
29-04-2008, 02:16 PM
I Forgot to mention "Shit I've been IDIOT Fishing again" refering to no bait on the hook;D

groverwa
29-04-2008, 02:27 PM
Its on - only to be followed by -its off

It's f@#ked off

Get it into you - its only a hook - my favourite

A couple of classics I remember when being out with a pro crayfisherman and being asked if I was getting any bites - we were in deep water and fishing for Dhuies - and telling him that it felt like a big blowie (toadfish to you easterners) and after he took the line from me said "big blowie be f@#ked" and then pulled up approx 12kg dhuie. Now I knew what they felt like we killed a pig as the saying goes. When we got back after a really good day the skipper asked one of his mates "kill a pig today" to which the other bloke replied glumly "yeah a f@#kin guinea pig"

SgBFish
29-04-2008, 03:50 PM
One for the married men.

“If it F..ks, floats or flies its cheaper by the hour.”

SgBFish
29-04-2008, 03:57 PM
“Been brokeback boating again” comment from wife when it’s a poor catch.

“When I was a lad” some old timer telling me how they would fill a row boat with tailor on the same spot.

“You brought the wrong bait, its too late in the day, there’s too many boats around and there’s no fish here” usually said by an old timer just before I hook up.

champion
29-04-2008, 04:40 PM
What you got ??.... Bottom of Australia !!

Come on, Turn its head turn it head !!

29-04-2008, 10:10 PM
"Come back I fight like a man"

" I think he's leavin' Dodge"

" F%$# what was that?"

" That my friend was a Ting fish"

" I recon that fish must be an interior decorator"

30-04-2008, 03:25 PM
deleted....Ausfish does not own my thoughts and opinions

marty+jojo
30-04-2008, 06:31 PM
Whenever i have caught more than my mate, i always ask HOW MANY HAVE YA GOT?
BAIT FISHING= DANGLING!
YOU CAUGHT IT BAIT, IT DOESN'T COUNT.
GUY USING AN ALVEY REEL=ALVEY DANGLES
WHEN I HOOK UP MY MATE SAYS,,,,, ROD PROBLEMS?
MARTY.

SunnyCoastMark
30-04-2008, 07:28 PM
Here, Fishy fishy, fishy.........

skippa
30-04-2008, 07:30 PM
mate of mine (yeah everyones got a 'mate' who says something) copies a Rexy saying whenever he lands a fish

Thankyou mother for the rabbits ::)

Thank God he doesn't say it very often ;D ;D
Sorry Mick

Tony 8-)

horseboy
01-05-2008, 10:24 AM
Nimitz class = unseen unstopable
when a mate has a slash how colds the water
when i have one geez the bottoms rocky
when its blowing 30+knots is that all ya got huey
when raining send it down huey

mwilko
01-05-2008, 06:20 PM
when ever you pass another fisho in a boat or on the bank some almost always says " yez catchin any"

coucho
01-05-2008, 06:36 PM
I couldn't catch the clap from a two dollar hooker

01-05-2008, 07:17 PM
When the deckie has struggled getting the anchor off the bottom or has finally landed a big fish I generally say "Easy as shittin' in bed and kickin' it out with ya feet huh?"

major-defect
03-05-2008, 03:44 AM
Keep his @rse to the coral!

MickS
03-05-2008, 08:03 AM
"Is that a Gold Bomber tree", means lures been flicked to far.
"Are you catching Parrot Fish" means lures been flicked to far.
"Thats wood" means lures been flicked to far"
"Tea bag fishing" means lures dangling, after being flicked to far
"Incomming"(said loud) means lure is now out of tree and returning to boat at extreme pace.

"I practice fillet and release" means I'm taking this home for dinner"

hoodunnit
03-05-2008, 03:38 PM
If You Can,t Tie Knots...........tie Lots!!

samsnap
07-05-2008, 07:24 PM
worked on a charter boat once - the Skipper was the funnest Bas...d I'v ever met - here is a few words of wisdom from Capt Grumpy ...........(love ya Mr Hall x x x :)
>if a punter hooks up - everyone yells at the poor sod "DON'T F..K IT UP" over & over again (nothin like a little pressure)
>if its a decent fish or the reef - "give up youv'e got the plug mate"
>his catchphrase - "pull like you'd pull a black man off your mother"
>if someone asks"what are we in?"- meaning depth of water - he yells back - A Big White... Boat you .....!
and finally his closing phrase for the day- "lines up - home to bed & into mother"
No wonder I had to give the job up - the education was too broard for this gal.

bigdonk
07-05-2008, 08:29 PM
Flicking a lite lure into the wind with your baitcaster= chicken's ass (birds nest)lol..
flicking your lure into the tree's= got a Koala... we all do it!!;D ;D

cheers BD.

rocksberg6
08-05-2008, 09:30 AM
It's not your's till it's in the frying pan

upstart
08-05-2008, 11:08 PM
I often say, "Whoops, that one's in the trees!"

and I also say, "D#$*head fishing," when I wind in with no bait on the hook.

09-05-2008, 05:49 AM
A very old golf game on the PC yielded 2 rippers, when spoken in the right accent;

"Looks like he... hit the tree Jim" and

"Ooooh, can't be too happy about that one!"

My wife spouts those at the appropriate times as she watches me fish...

09-05-2008, 10:05 AM
I keep hearing "come on you scaley #@*&s"
and if its a wee bream or similar "Jew big Jew" at the top of your voice, followed by "another victim for the Guppy Slayer" (my bream rod that bends over double with a prawn on it!)
And if its all hit & miss "oooohhh fed him again"

Cheers and beers

Vindicator
09-05-2008, 06:30 PM
One I like to use is from the all popular movie Babe. That'll do pig, that'll do.
And something I always have to remind resident deckie Brownie "just pump and wind"

Kezza

dinky
10-05-2008, 10:08 PM
u says where is the bait,wife says i thought u got it !!!!

ronnien
10-05-2008, 10:22 PM
loony toonyn= fishing with no bait.

ron.

mwilko
11-05-2008, 06:57 AM
When ever the fishing is hard going someone usually says "OH F@$K THIS IM TAKING UP LAWN BOWLS!"
not that theres anything wrong with lawn bowls or anything;)

noosa_nipper
13-05-2008, 05:17 PM
got a couple...

"bunch o' grapes".....lovely tangle off a loosely retrieved alvey reel
often will say "no excuse for a bad fisherman" when u miss that hit cause you pulled it outta its gob.
"willy-walla"....an eddie
"nuuuuuuuuucleaaaaaar shhhhhhhhhjjiiiiiiiiiiccccccccccccken" when u nail one on the old faithfuul
"ahhhhhhhhhh.....just where the big ones lie" .......when your happy with where that cast landed.
"square fish" .....bream "crekka"....common size creek bream
"well thats a likely lizard lie!"...pretty self explanatory

"rape,rape,rape,take,take,take....dont leave anything for bait!!!" well....theres a group of fishos you all know who i'm talkin bout. PRONETTERS!!! used to chant it at em on Nth Strad beaches when i was 5 and 6...

jeez the list goes on....

that'll do for now....
nipper

wayno60
14-05-2008, 12:51 AM
ncomming"(said loud) means lure is now out of tree and returning to boat at extreme pace.

cracked me up........

Jeremy87
14-05-2008, 08:06 PM
'yep' means i've hooked up

'raping the kindergarten' getting heaps of small ones

'jesus mustn't like us' our excuse for anything ranging from dropping a fish to the the weather being sh!t

'panic!' rather than panicking just yell out the word instead, you tend to remain more composed, i find this useful for anything ranging from a barra running you into the trees to slipping over when your carrying a canoe up a waterfall.

'They're just being stupid mack tuna' anyone whose chased a school of tuna round all day for no result will understand this one.

'No lube' normally associated with getting bricked by a fish, you can figure that one out yourselves.

14-05-2008, 08:24 PM
When the lure lands scant millimetres away from never coming back and definitely in peril of a sudden death the words are usually muttered "gotta be worth a fish".

When a newby is learning about setting the hook with a huge lift it can often be heard "pulling the ears off the poor lil bugger"

When your live bait that you so carefully set out for somethign decent comes back in covered in slime or cuda teeth marks its referred to as "fubar" and earns a retirement into the berley pot.

IRMC000
14-05-2008, 10:04 PM
A "New Zealander" - something unstoppable and has every chance of making it home (to NZ) - they always head east.
Breaking out in to the war song "We'll meet again, don't know where, don't know when ... but I know we'll meet again some sunny day" Same circumstance as above.
"Water" (with urgency) when land-based and you are about to get crashed by a wave.
"A Dinosaur" - a HUGE Flathead.

ReelMagic
14-05-2008, 10:55 PM
this first one started as a joke (long storey)
BANG, I'm on!! = I have a fish on

Yep..hook up = after a stike on a lure, often followed with "nup I've dropped him"

"I wanna hear the scream of the reel!!" = usually said when the fish are slow.

Cheers Dave

Louis
15-05-2008, 04:43 PM
Some I'm familiar with:-

a. Tight Lines

b. Don't strike, let him get it down into his intestines

c. Lures catch fishermen, not fish

d. I'm on

Louis

Louis
15-05-2008, 04:52 PM
Almost forgot what my best mate used to always say when a fish was taking the bait and before he took up the slack, "Get that down your oesophagus".

Louis

mad_pierre06
15-05-2008, 07:08 PM
"Time fer a sanga" when nothing's taking the bait, usually followed by

"Bloody hell, get the thing" as your rod's heading over the side as you take the wrapping off your sandwich.

Captain_Zero
15-05-2008, 08:27 PM
A couple from my dad

When we were really young he would cast for us and while handing us the rod would say "there you go, right in to the fish's mouth". It was rarely true.

When releasing an undersize fish "send your mum and dad next time"

And when getting a tentative bite "if you are going to take it, take it properly".

And when he finally hooks up "i've got ya, i've got ya (repeated over and over until the fish is landed).

Mrs Ronnie H
16-05-2008, 07:06 PM
hi all

My favorite-- should of seen it-- thats for the one that gets away

You got that whale headin to Fraser--- the one you can't stop

Are we there yet--- are we there yet--- thats been the phrase to the banks lately

Ronnie

stevea
24-05-2008, 03:19 PM
When mates getting a bite "Give it to her Scotty"
Mate replys back: "She no take it Captain, She no take it." in an scottish voice

Imfiik
24-05-2008, 08:31 PM
Yeeesssss! NNNOOOOOOO! club outing live baiting for yellowtail kings at the inner gneerings off Mooloolaba.
And old mate Rob on fishing australia"Is this the average size for these?" Who @#^#@$ cares Rob.

Lancair
28-05-2008, 03:48 PM
When the fishings been quiet my mate says
"This is why they call it F#%$@N fishing, not catching"

bundylundy
29-05-2008, 08:25 PM
It's not very big! Just as something heads over the horizon with your brand new $30 Rapala.

poundalead
01-06-2008, 06:34 PM
When you hook a freight train bottom bashing "pump harder ya mother did!"

Donny Boy
03-06-2008, 10:39 AM
" yep" ..........when hooked up.
" Y ou miserable f*****g thing ! " ....when missed or lost.
" Better have a sip to celebrate that...." ......when landed.

Az
06-06-2008, 11:36 AM
"PUMP AND WIND YA $#@$%@#%" repeat said comment as required

ronnien
10-06-2008, 02:42 PM
when the wind is blowing= 10 to 20 fish a plenty

red dawn sailor's be warned= it's ganna get rough

when u catch a bait fish & send it back down & pull up a good fish= that's magic my son

preso
13-06-2008, 06:23 AM
When fishing with my old Grandad, after a long fight on whiting gear, we see a HUGE flatty in the shallows. Then the trace wears through!!!!!
" Ive lost her Pop"
" Son, you cant lose something you never had"
Never forgot it.

sparkyice
24-06-2008, 03:25 AM
on a crowded salmon river when someone hooks a fish they'll shout "fish on!" in hopes people will give them room to fight their fish. that may or may not happen.
when two rivals on opposite sides of the river hook one another's lines, you can hear them shout "jerk on!"
when they get separated it's "jerk off!":D

kevvie
25-06-2008, 09:31 AM
We got a heap of good phrases we use.....

When we catch a dreaded lure-munchin chopper... "Taaaaaylor....you got me on my knees tailor....beggin darlin please tailor" (Go Eric Clapton)

When we hook up - "yep" or "yep i'm on"

When we been snapped off - "i just got carted" or "just been bricked"

When i were about to be snapped off - " he's goin, he's goin, he's goooone"

When you are being a smartarse - "here you go boys.... a lesson in casting"

kind_cir
25-06-2008, 05:29 PM
When we send a bait down we say " sending down a Happy Meal"
When we hook up on that bait, it's " bringing up a Big Mac"
Also when there is a huge run, it's " Take it all the way Cindy"
When busted off, " good night Irean"

nuggstar
27-06-2008, 07:39 AM
yep yep yep im on.

oooooooooo.

did you see that.

here we go.

bump.

time to rip some lips.

pass the pliers please.

get the net.

stop , stop, stop please, please stop, sh$t sh$t sh$t SNAP, NOOOOOOO #$%^ #$%^& #%%^&

DROPED HIM.

you got any more gulps.

i got smoked.

fish on.

you call that a fish.

i want my lure back.

im not going to let him win, he will swim out.

let it go mate its gorn.

BREEZE470
27-06-2008, 08:53 AM
Here, Fishy fishy, fishy.........

;D On the whole 2 occassions we've been fishing my 3yr olds version of this was "Here Shishy, Shishy, Shishy" whilst looking over the side at the water.

Magella
29-06-2008, 08:44 AM
Pulls harder than a twelve year old Big Fish On

Tree!!!!!!!!! travelling back at full noise at night on Lake Monduran

What's made of fibreglass and does not float? mate's fibreglass bodied 4WD in creek at Fraser

Gorrrrr- on make her jump, barra in the sticks

Smack me big girl, come on! smack me, having a big barra follow your lure

Mrs Ronnie H
29-06-2008, 12:06 PM
;D On the whole 2 occassions we've been fishing my 3yr olds version of this was "Here Shishy, Shishy, Shishy" whilst looking over the side at the water.

This brings back memories.
Was watching sesame street quite few years ago with the oldest son. Bert and Ernie were fishing-- Ernie goes Here fishy fishy fishy-- a fish jumps in his boat. :D poor old bert goes home without a fish:-[ --- memories ?????/

Ronnie

BigE
01-07-2008, 08:52 AM
when losing your bait "look she mustabaited me"

BigE