View Full Version : A Day for Thinking.

kingtin
25-04-2008, 11:29 AM
How lucky are we?

Yesterday, the school rang to say that my son Jake was in counselling but didn't want to come home as he wanted to stay with his mate. Jake is autistic, as are his other two mates. He only has two mates, as autistic children find it hard to socialise. His other mate died in his sleep the night before and the school had just been informed and they in turn, then informed Jake and his remaining mate. They both chose to stay at school and console each other, rather than come home. He is devastated and it was really difficult to get him to go to bed last night as he thought the same thing would happen to him :'(

He's ok this morning and his thoughts are now with those who made sacrifices for us all.

I'm lucky because my son is still with me.

I'm lucky because the school handled it so well.

I'm lucky because my kids are growing up in a country where the schools place emphasis on mateship, and the honouring and remembering of those who make the supreme sacrifice.

I'm lucky because my family has the freedom that others who knew nothing of me, fought for.

I'm lucky because I live in the best place on earth where my kids can grow to their full potential and be loved and accepted for what they are, not who they are.

I'm lucky because Australia accepted me as a citizen.

Thank you Australia and thank you those who fought for, and made Australia what it is today.

And on a lighter note I'll repost this for those who have joined since I last posted it. It sums up how I feel about the lifestyle and the fishing here. It's more than being just about boating/fishing, it's about how lucky I am.

MUSINGS OF A MIGRANT

I love my boat, she's good for me

She takes me out across the sea
To places I've not seen before
Majestic dunes and golden shore
The bays, the creeks, I love to roam
Since first I called Australia home
A crowded beach, that's not for me
I prefer tranquillity
The dugong turtle, mighty whale
They fill my thoughts when first I sail
From ramp, to beacon, then out of sight
Into the beauty of first light
Far from worries, care and woe
To beauteous sights, I now do go
The mangrove trees, the soldier crab
Who moves across the mud so drab
But even 'drab" is beautiful
If viewed through eyes that are not dull
So what! about the mortgage rate?
So what! about the bill paid late?
So what! about the price of fuel?
So what! about the hosepipe rule?
So what! about the strife torn world
And all the insults that are hurled?
By pollies who simply fail to see
How many more are just like me
Who simply like the finer things
That this Lucky Country brings
The Buzzards call, The Eagle's cry
Gliding gracefully 'cross the sky
The sparkling sea, the glistening sand
The sunrise spreading 'cross the land
The mighty cliffs, the breaker's roar
The wash retreating from the shore
The heron's stalk, the plovers walk
These the things of which I talk
To children who are filled with awe
“Take us fishing,” they implore
All these things I hold quite dear
When seen through eyes that are now clear
From mist of toil and haze of war
And all that has been gone before
By men who know not what I know
Of wonderment and nature's glow
I love my boat she's good to me
But more than this, I plainly see
It wasn't her that gave to me
It was Australia, don't you see?

25-04-2008, 11:38 AM
thanks for sharing, makes so many other things so trivial

Cobia Kid
25-04-2008, 11:48 AM
mate, that must be tough on your boy, if that were one of my mates i dont think i could get to sleep regardless of how they dided,
thats tough,
good to see the school handled it so well,
Lest we forget those who fought for us as australians,and our contry of australia

Fatenhappy
25-04-2008, 12:54 PM
Good on you and all the best to you and your family Kev

I for one am one Ozzie thats more than glad to share what we have with you here

GS

ffejsmada
25-04-2008, 01:31 PM
You're a champ Kev!;);)

Jeff.

Chris Ryan
25-04-2008, 01:56 PM
Kev - can't imagine what it is like for your boy, or for you and the deckie, but mate thoughts are with you lot.

25-04-2008, 03:10 PM
Kev I think Jake is also lucky that he has such great parents in both yourself and Bridget. Not a day goes by where I don't count my blessings for living in what I believe is the best country in the world. If every living being in this country would realize this I think we would look after what we have just that little bit better. Thanks for sharing.

ifishcq1
25-04-2008, 05:29 PM
Well said Kev

gawby
25-04-2008, 10:05 PM
Kev,

Good on ya cobber;)

Graeme

25-04-2008, 10:55 PM
jake is a top little bloke, supported by some great parents, and a great community.
australia is the best place on earth
lets respect her and all who live within her.

Reel Nauti
26-04-2008, 04:55 PM
I read your posts with admiration and respect. You enlighten so many of us with your wit and your wisdom. Yours has not been an easy lot Kev, but together you and Bridget have made a tremendous impact on so many souls, the fortunate and the unfortunate.

Yes we are in indeed so lucky to be in this beautiful country, Australia. And she in turn is also blessed to have adopted sons and daughters such as you and yours.

26-04-2008, 06:05 PM
Ahhh the sage and his best work...thinking of Jake as he grieves his friend and thankful for the hope there is because of the sacrifice of those who have gone before

All the best mate - love to your family from mine

Little grey men
29-04-2008, 08:49 AM
Hey Ausfishers, we certainly do bring some quality items into this country from time to time.......Sangria, Skeeter bass boats, Pizza, Kev.:)

Freeeedom
29-04-2008, 10:40 AM
Lovely sentiments, elegantly expressed. Thanks for sharing them with us.
Cheers Freeeedom

BrandonH
29-04-2008, 02:35 PM
That is terrible news mate:'( I am happy to hear that the school has handled it well for Jake witch would have made it that little be easier for yourself and Bridget to deal with.

As Andrew and others have said, I am sure having parents like yourself and Bridget will make it a lot easier for him.

Loved your poem too Kev, makes me think how lucky I am to have grown up in this great country. Glad to have you and your family around to enjoy it and remind the rest of us just how lucky we are.

best of luck mate

Brandon...

Leighton
29-04-2008, 02:46 PM
makes all the talk of green zones and sink holes seem very unimportant.

uripper
29-04-2008, 03:04 PM
Kev (& others)

I wholehearted endorse the comments of others above.
In recent times have experieced some very dark days and sleepless nights through personal loss (of marriage /the family dream) - small in the scheme of things, though none-the-less devastating. Yet I feel lucky to have the world I live in, and the people to share it with, particularly my children. One of the things that helped me a great deal was a book, so I thought I'd share it here :

"Manhood" bySteve Biddulph: Finch Publishing
Date Published: 6/5/2004 ISBN: 0091894816[/font]
Steve Biddulph is Australia’s best-known family therapist and parenting author. His books, including The Secret of Happy Children (published in ten languages) and the acclaimed Manhood, are popular all over the world.

Since publication of the first edition in 1994, Manhood has had a profound emotional impact on thousands of men and women. Copies have been passed from hand-to-hand by friends, partners, workmates (and from sons to their fathers) – with the simple message, ‘You must read this!’

Manhood tackles the key areas of a man’s life – parenting, love and sexuality, finding meaning in work and making real friends. It opens new pathways to healing the past and forming true partnerships with women, as well as honouring our own inner needs. This revised and expanded edition includes two new chapters, ‘Making School Good for Boys’ and ‘Men’s Groups’.

Nearly every man will find something in this book to shift his thinking, and perhaps his life. And nearly every woman will applaud the change. Best of all, there’s something peculiarly Australian about Steve Biddulph’s work – poetic yet down-to-earth, committed but practical, sensitive but free from self-indulgence.
Richard Glover, The Sydney Morning Herald

Biddulph is the man the Australian men’s movement has been waiting for .. His book is a good mix .. moving stories from men’s lives .. plus all sorts of practical ideas about changing men. At last some solutions ...
Bettina Arndt,The Australian

all the best Kev, MalM :)

cqfreshie
29-04-2008, 03:22 PM
Kev, I think Australia is the lucky country. Even luckier for having you make it home. I'm sure, with a man of your calibre as a father, Jake will do well.

Graham

For Steve
29-04-2008, 03:30 PM
G'day Kev

I've been sitting here trying to think of what to say... I'm lost for words.

Best wishes
Brad

kingtin
30-04-2008, 10:33 AM
Thanks everyone for your kind words and thoughts. It only confirms just how lucky I am, and that goes without saying that the rest of my family feel pretty lucky too.

Jake is taking it in his stride now, although he is still pretty anxious, having not only lost a mate, but with work experience coming up soon, he was planning on his mate being with him for that.

It never rains but it pours ::)......................Josh (Kingcobe) has now gone and broken his hand playing footy............a Godsend in a way as he now can't play the playstation and fills in his time doing homework without me having to nag him ;D

The only thing I don't feel lucky about is the new rig.......delivery 4 to 6 weeks and we're into week 6 (tomorrow) and no sign yet ::) Still, I'm enjoying getting more photography done.

Peanuts
30-04-2008, 05:35 PM
Kingtin,
Thanks for sharing mate

all the best
adam

30-04-2008, 06:03 PM
We forget so ready our feeling and over look at times how things effect our children , as we are alot stronger in mind then they are at times.
I know my son lost a friend of his in a horse riding accident and really hit him hard where at times i may be heartless in my feelings towards how he was reacting all we can do is give our kids as much support and help in these sitiuations.
Sorry i don't word things right but Kev that was some touching stuff thanking you
JOHN

01-05-2008, 01:07 PM
G'Day Kev.. Thanks for sharing and all the best to your young fella, and to Josh in his recovery.
Knowing how you feel at the moment.. My dad passed away Last Thursday, the day before Anzac day, after a 3 year battle with cancer. We buried him Tuesday just gone.
Life is too short, there are never enough good days to go fishing, and we often under appreciate the important things, like our health, and our families.

Good luck with the new boat when it arrives, it will be worth the wait
Russell

kingtin
01-05-2008, 01:16 PM
Russell, sorry to hear that mate. Like I say, I consider myself lucky, especially when I hear what other folk have to suffer. My heartfelt condolences to you and yours mate.

01-05-2008, 01:32 PM
Thank you Kev
He had fought the good fight and was ready to go.. He was also pleased that he taught one of his sons (me) about fishing, and in particular, catching beach worms and reading the surf gutters & getting a feed of whiting..

I also inherited his beloved tinny, which will now be assaulting the creeks around brisbane!! :)

kingtin
01-05-2008, 05:26 PM
I also inherited his beloved tinny, which will now be assaulting the creeks around brisbane!! :)

What better bequest and legacy, Russel. :)

Reel Nauti
01-05-2008, 10:58 PM
Thoughts are with you Russel. We lost my mum-in-law a week before Christmas and sometimes I find my wife curled up in the laundry in tears. It takes time, make sure you give yourself plenty.

02-05-2008, 11:07 AM
Thanks Guys
Sorry Kev for hijacking your post. :-[
No disrespect intended

kingtin
02-05-2008, 11:16 AM
Thanks Guys
Sorry Kev for hijacking your post. :-[
No disrespect intended

Russel mate, I don't see it as a hijack at all............more a welcome contribution.

kingtin
02-05-2008, 11:21 AM
Thoughts are with you Russel. We lost my mum-in-law a week before Christmas and sometimes I find my wife curled up in the laundry in tears. It takes time, make sure you give yourself plenty.

Belated condolences Dave, and yet further confirmation of how lucky I am. Being an only child, and having no relatives at all, other than my own 5 sons and grand kids, I've not yet had to suffer the death of a loved one. Barring an accident or serious illness being visited upon them, I'm likely to go before anyone else close to me, and will therefore be spared what so many other folk have to endure.

Reel Nauti
02-05-2008, 11:49 AM
I don't know about that Kev. I remember reading a thread of yours a couple of years back and it was, in a sense, a beautiful validictory to your late father-in-law. There was a very real depth and emotion in that thread Kev. Clearly, he had earnt and captured your utmost respect and admiration, perhaps love too. There was also the naming of the Whittley. Some of us remember well where that came from.

I'll bet your beautiful Bridget will be ever thankful for not being named Rachael. :)

To you my friend

Ps: Thank you for your condolences, I will be sure to pass them on to Suzi.

kingtin
02-05-2008, 12:15 PM
I don't know about that Kev. I remember reading a thread of yours a couple of years back and it was, in a sense, a beautiful validictory to your late father-in-law. There was a very real depth and emotion in that thread Kev. Clearly, he had earnt and captured your utmost respect and admiration, perhaps love too. There was also the naming of the Whittley. Some of us remember well where that came from.

I'll bet your beautiful Bridget will be ever thankful for not being named Rachael. :)

To you my friend

Ps: Thank you for your condolences, I will be sure to pass them on to Suzi.

Aah! you remember :D Yes, he did have my utmost respect in that he came from humble beginnings and all alone, without the family support that we often take for granted, he achieved much.............and despite me coming from "the other side of the tracks" he acknowledged me for what he saw in me, not what others expected to see.

The new rig is to be the last, and we are again thinking of naming it in his honour, "Sole Survivor" :D