PDA

View Full Version : Looking to buy a tinny :)

azzure
22-04-2008, 11:38 AM
Hey! I'm currently looking for a tinny. I'm a total newby when it comes to boats and i was wondering what engine HP would be suitable. What size(so that two people can fish)? I heard that there is alot of problems with the motors on boats these days and that i should just go to a brand new motor but unfortunately ive only got around $4,000. New or Second Hand? AUSFISHERS HELP :P

Thanks

BaitThrower
22-04-2008, 12:02 PM
Depends what size ya need mate?

You could get a decent second hand hull for $1500 quite easily in the 3-4m range, then whack a new 15hp on the back for a total of $4000. Depends where you want to fish as to what size you need. A 15 horse will be more than enough for 2 people, and probably fine for 3 adults as well.

If you want to go out into the bay in partially smooth waters, then you probabkly need something over the 4m mark, and with higher sides. This will cost more than you have if you want a new motor too :(

azzure
22-04-2008, 12:08 PM
mate to tell you honestly i thought that a tinny in the 3.5 - 4m range would enable me to fish the river systems of the gold coast and through some of the canals leading to the pin bar.

JEWIENEWIE
22-04-2008, 01:00 PM
I think you are on the right track mate. I to bought a second hand hull and bought a new motor for my first boat. No good having a fancy expensive hull if the motor is shot. Good size boat for your first and for doing what you want. Mabe dont spend to much as it wont be oong before you gain confidence and figure what you need and dont need in a boat and you will be wanting a bigger boat before long.
Jewie

SunnyCoastMark
22-04-2008, 01:17 PM
Azzure,
Any fishing boatie will tell you it's always better to go a little bigger - than a little smaller.

I've had a few boats from 12' - 17' dingys, runabouts, half cabins and ATM a Centre console.

I would suggest someting around 3.9 - 4.2m mark with a 25 - 30 hp motor.