PDA

View Full Version : Stale Fuel (for member ROBENDOG)

BM
19-04-2008, 03:41 PM
Hi all,

Posting this for new member ROBENDOG who can pm but he cannot post :-/ Can anyone help him on that front???

Anyway, he had a question on stale fuel and I said I would put it up for him, so here is his pm to me:

"In relation to the discussion about stale fuel.....(I am a newbie to boating and fishing - 2 months now).

I have a 6m runabout with 200hp yamaha and 160 litre fuel beneath the deck. Try to get out once a month and use bout half a tank.

When I purchased it I was encouraged to fill fuek tank at the end of the day to reduce condensation in the tank (water in fuel is BAD!!!! I was told).

Makes me wonder now that this stale fuel issue is raised, which is the bigger concern, stale fuel or condensation? Thanks in advance. Ben."

Cheers

northernblue
19-04-2008, 04:42 PM
I'll have a swing.....
I guess it probably depends on weather or not you have water separaters fitted.
If fitted then go with the fresh fuel approach, if not then top up after each trip.
Personally I have not had a problem with condensation, I do have filters, but have not had any water [yet]
My previous boats were all used 2-3 times a fortnight [one no filter one with filter]
Latest boat [has filters] sits in drive all day, everyday.......

ROBENDOG
20-04-2008, 06:33 AM
Woo-Hoo!!! I have been validated!!;D

I can post now.

Thanks BM for posting that question for me. Was not sure how long validation was going to take.

Thanks for your advice northernblue and BM. I guess I am shopping for a better fuel filter and filling my tank on the way to the ramp.

Ta

skipalong
20-04-2008, 07:24 AM
yeah if the motor is new should be changed at 5 hours

cormorant
20-04-2008, 10:20 AM
water is one of the key elements creating in stale fuel. I will search some old topics when I get time on stale fuel as lots has been written and try and past links.