View Full Version : Nicest eating fish??

whiting-wizard
16-04-2008, 11:22 PM
Just wanted to know whats the nicest fish you have ever eaten?

Breambuster33
17-04-2008, 07:32 AM
i doint mind snapper, nanaguy and coral trout. any reef species has a good taste. i also enjoy eating whiting and bream.

johnny roger
17-04-2008, 07:58 AM
Mackeral, trevally, snapper, and nanaguy. In that order.......I draw the line at gold fish!

17-04-2008, 08:05 AM
probably a bit of a broad question as Peoples tastes are very different, and I reckon almost all of the known good species are great, but some different than the others, not necessarily better or worse, I know People who reckon fresh Mullet and Tailor are the best fish to eat, and some would only use them for Bait, so as you can see, there will be no clear winner, one of he better ones is good old Black Drummer, but most would not even think about eating them, and probably have not even tried them! but as mentioned all the good ones would include, Bream, Whiting, Flathead, almost all the Reef species, as well as things like john Dory and Pearlies, so there is an endless list of "best" eating (well I reckon anyway)

larfin
17-04-2008, 08:54 AM
The number 1 for me is mangrove jack
greg

plaztix
17-04-2008, 09:41 AM
My recent favourite is estuary cod. Then fresh tailor, then snapper.

baitwaster
17-04-2008, 09:42 AM
A lot of people may disagree, but I find sole to be one of the nicest. If you steam them whole with a hint of lemon and butter, the flesh is so tender and juicy you could eat it with a straw. The bones all just fall out.

Curried mackerel steaks on the barbie are right up there too. - completely different to sole, but I love em.

*Pokey*
17-04-2008, 09:59 AM
My personal favourite would have to be ocean perch from the west coast of Tassie, then maybe crayfish, flake and flathead. Oops I forgot about striped trumpeter - they would come in a close second.
Most fish can be nice if it is cooked in the manner that best suits that fish.

Gene

17-04-2008, 10:10 AM
Two words - Mahi Mahi. My wife won't eat it, she says they are too beautiful to kill. So she retires to the cabin while I bleed and ice the poor sods...

17-04-2008, 11:16 AM
Flounder.

plaztix
17-04-2008, 11:17 AM
Two words - Mahi Mahi. My wife won't eat it, she says they are too beautiful to kill. So she retires to the cabin while I bleed and ice the poor sods...

Heard they dont keep too well though and should only be kept if you plan on eating them that day.

I guess that goes with a few fish, i know i dont like tailor thats not fresh but hear of people freezing 10,000 fillets they caught at fraser ::)

What other fish are best not too freeze?

Cobia Kid
17-04-2008, 04:46 PM
trevally arent good to freeze,
also my best eating fish catagory,(in order)
estury= whiting,fingermark,jack,flathead,barra
Reef= coral trout,red emporer, mouri cod,lippa
pelagics= macreal,cobia
jamie
;D ;D

whiting-wizard
17-04-2008, 04:55 PM
thanks for giving your opinion

chief 1
17-04-2008, 04:58 PM
I like whiting,bream,flathead,sweetlip,flounder and even sickle fish taste alright,all of them are equal to me

Richard
17-04-2008, 05:01 PM
I'm not much of a fish eater but am a fishing nut... i don't like strong flavoured fish (or any bones) so my pick is easily coral trout. leagues above the others...

Richard

coucho
17-04-2008, 05:10 PM
I love most fish but its hard to go past a smoked talior I leatherjacket as well and mackrel, trag, snapper, pearl perchetc etc etc I think the best fish i ever ate though was a grilled emporer fillet with garlic butter sauce from the emerald rsl club

wrip109
17-04-2008, 05:17 PM
Tilapia...

Phil

17-04-2008, 08:52 PM
number one would have to be a tie between tuskie's, coral trout and red empereror

coming in second, nannygai, sweetlip, snapper, fingermark, jacks, grunter and mackeral

then bream whiting, flathead, barra and salmon

Not really interested in eating anything after those, but will eat just about any fish at least once

champion
17-04-2008, 09:00 PM
Love the Perlie (steamed)!! and some good old whitting every now and then.....

Mind you, you enjoy anything you have had to catch yourself..!!

17-04-2008, 09:19 PM
grilled whiting for breckie, just doesnt get any better especially if youve caught them in the surf that morning

for dinner,, well the usual culprits on the bbq, reef fish

mike

17-04-2008, 09:19 PM
MMMMMMMM CORAL TROUT RED EMPS REDTHROAT EMPS MACKERAL COBIA GRASSY'S RED JEW SPANGLEDS BLUEYS A mate is coming up from South on Anzac weekend bringing a packet of peraly he caught lastweekend there may be another type i'll add onto the list.
I don't like shark mackeral too much sharky taste too strong i'm spolit

ronnien
17-04-2008, 09:28 PM
grunter no1.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii161/ronnien_photos/grunter.jpg

no2. ok its not a fish, but hey!

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii161/ronnien_photos/jademuddie.jpg

no3. its a tie between jacks & fingermark.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii161/ronnien_photos/6kgjack.jpg

ron.

18-04-2008, 07:00 AM
yep, whiting fried in butter on a fresh piece of toast is up there (best if it's whiting you've caught that morning though) and close second is a fillet of fresh sea mullet straight off the pro rolled in rice flour and then whacked on the barbie. (the sea mullet freezes up ok too i reckon but fresh is still best)

Cobia Kid
18-04-2008, 08:16 AM
thats a great jack and a great grunter, keep it up,
jamie

Bubba Gump
18-04-2008, 08:27 AM
In Australia Mackeral on the bbq and in Europe Sea Bass baked in rock salt.

ellicat
18-04-2008, 09:01 AM
Murray cod

Az
18-04-2008, 11:39 AM
coral trout for sure

NEWBY
18-04-2008, 12:51 PM
Grilled mangrove jack with salt, pepper and butter. Parrot pan fried in olive oil and butter. Whiting fillets crumbed and deep fried and every single crustacian known to man. Cooked anyway.

onerabbit
18-04-2008, 05:15 PM
Pretty hard to go past fresh coral trout,

but in our area, bar cod, tuskies & pig fish are at the top of the scale, closely followed by snapper 2-4kg.
Mahi mahi are pretty good if they are in the 8-10kg range, as are kingfish & samsons.
Terrible to admit, but I find pearlies a bit too soft & mushy sometimes.

just my opinion,

shin25
18-04-2008, 05:47 PM
mine and the faimlys faves are 1.spangled emperor 2.mackeral and 3.GT's in the 1 to 3kg range (Kids love the GT's )snappery squire and Jacks a tie for 4th

but ive only eaten what ive caught and would imagine there's better eating out there

Cheers Shane

poundalead
21-04-2008, 04:57 PM
Red-Throat closely followed by Tuskies (especially bluey's).
I remember a mate cooked some Red-Throat up for us one night on the BBQ, a little olive oil whack on the fillet then whack it between two pieces of bread and some tartare sauce- a meal fit for a king!

Cheers Benny

PumpyChowdown
04-05-2008, 06:15 PM
Red Emperor or whiting.

Sea-Dog
05-05-2008, 04:21 PM
Has to be Kippers. Mmmmm...::)

Closely followed by grilled flounder.

kevy
05-05-2008, 04:50 PM
noelm, i,m with you, can,t beat the old pig, i,ts been a long time.next in line mangrove jack. all reef fish are damm hard to beat. luderick are good cooked right, cheers, kevy.

garryh
24-05-2008, 01:45 PM
My favorite is just about anything that swims if cooked right, cooked plain without garlic and without heaps of herbs. Wanna taste the fish not the additives. :-*

One thing i can't handle is sea urchin, tastes like crap. :P

shorty 01
24-05-2008, 03:04 PM
snaper and whiting thay awsome to eat.

Vindicator
24-05-2008, 05:15 PM
Parrot for me. Just as well I know some good spots and know how to catch them.

Kezza

smeghead
24-05-2008, 06:01 PM
King George Whiting, and fresh tailor under about 2kg. Beyond that, they tend to be riddled with parasites.

Also Jewies between about 3-8kg. Perfect flesh.

johnny roger
24-05-2008, 06:36 PM
Just wanted to know whats the nicest fish you have ever eaten?
deep fried mackeral, or red emperor in a white wine and asparagus sauce.:D

ReelMagic
24-05-2008, 10:11 PM
a nice big King George Whiting is unbeatable...

Houndslair
25-05-2008, 04:46 PM
Fingermark

ifishcq1
25-05-2008, 05:07 PM
Fingermark, barramundi cod (now not allowed in Qld) and big hussar

SL

jimbo59
25-05-2008, 06:30 PM
Flathead caught near the bar entrances sooow sweet.

Breambuster33
25-05-2008, 06:40 PM
pan sized snapper.. any bigger they get to dry;D

UNCLE NUGGY
25-05-2008, 10:16 PM
jack,jack & more jack
UN

Local_Guy
25-05-2008, 11:14 PM
Question to the southerners who eat Bream.

I'm from CQ and our bream up here taste like eating flour right out of the packet. do yours have flavour or taste different???

sleepygreg
26-05-2008, 12:28 AM
Black Drummer (pigs) would have to be my fav...wish I could get them up here....firm white sweet flesh and a damn good fighter as well. Luderick if prepared well. Dolphin fish and albacore....chicken of the sea..have to be fresh though. Yellowfin tuna....around the 10-15kg mark.....perfect sashimi...or on the bbq with honey and soy. Pearlies, pan sized snaps, average cobes, leatherjackets - very underated IMO...the list goes on. Mulloway (silver jew) cutlets on the bbq with a bit of curry powder in the flour dusting is hard to beat also.

johnny roger
26-05-2008, 12:46 AM
makes me taste buds spurt into life greg!:P :D

BrenMac
26-05-2008, 02:29 AM
West Australian Dhufish for me, followed by big Kinge George Whiting.:)

BMac

26-05-2008, 07:56 AM
Whiting then Cobe for me. Yellow fin tuna has to be there too. Pearlies next.....

gogetter
26-05-2008, 09:40 AM
coral trout are deff the best. white flesh with big chuncks.barra is my next pick... but hey i eat most fish from the reef.

26-05-2008, 09:56 AM
White Wings ;D;D;D

All I can catch!

1lastcast
26-05-2008, 10:56 AM
Grey nurse sharks:-X only kidding

Im with vindicator fresh parrot fillets rock followed by wahoo on the barbie;D

26-05-2008, 06:56 PM
Its all personal taste!

ask a Victorian ... & they will probably have flake (shark) in there::)

Personally ..... I think it has a lot to do with the preparation & cooking more so than the species
just my opinion!

Nagg

26-05-2008, 07:12 PM
so long as none of it is overcooked, I'm good to go with just about anything, but the trouties are pretty hard to beat for consistency

Chong
26-05-2008, 09:37 PM
Fresh is Best
Forget the rest

Thats all i got say now.
;) :beatnik:

flybloke
26-05-2008, 09:38 PM
Ive had most of what has been suggested and I loved them all.
But the cream fish of the sea for me, Is John Dory.
I love the oily tast(like butter). Its a fish that makes me happy when I eat it::)
Forget the shop bought ones , unles the monger will let you sniff it. Any hint of amonia and there not a good buy.
I miss haveing them as a local species to fish for

jaydy2001
26-05-2008, 10:38 PM
Myself personally I would have to Tailer if FRESH and Whiting

Cheers jay:D

QuinnyII
26-05-2008, 11:09 PM
I dont think you can go past beer battered whiting, or a whole baked red emporer.

Shagga
27-05-2008, 08:27 AM
Has to be Whiting.

whiting-wizard
27-05-2008, 09:13 PM
thanks guys;)

snatch
27-05-2008, 10:15 PM
My recent favourite is estuary cod. Then fresh tailor, then snapper.
Got to agree. I have eaten many variety of fishin my 42 years from both southern and northern waters. I cooked a coral trout and an estuary cod side by side on the bbq last year and the cod was sweeter. Trout was my favourite until that day.

The sad part is that I used to throw them back .::)

Brenno
28-05-2008, 04:58 PM
i love eating estuary cod, for the fight well and for there size there is a lot of meat on them.

Fish'n Junky
18-12-2008, 06:15 AM
I'm generally a fan of stronger flavours, but would rate Flathead as my favorite for every day eating.
Will happily eat smoked tassie salmon, flake, trevally, tailor, mackerel, and any of the more "fishier" flavored creatures.

Fish aside, Moreton bay bug, mud crab, sand crab,prawns, marron, yabby, in that order! :-)

hobbsy
18-12-2008, 09:27 AM
with reguards to mahi mahi, it is one of the best fish u will ever eat. however if u do catch one, only keep it if u can keep it refrigerated/iced immediatley. mahi mahi have a parasite in them that becomes very aggressive when the fish dies that is only combated by cold tempreature. hence if u dont by the time u get around to filleting it the fish is soft

Eagle
19-12-2008, 05:50 PM
The best fish for flavor are Flounder followed by small Garfish. Next and equal to garfish are Whiting, I'm still trying to catch a knobby headed snapper and have never seen a 'Jack except in the shops.
My wife loves mackeral but the worst fish to ever eat is shark / flake.

Eagle

kencrab
19-12-2008, 06:50 PM
Totally agree in choice and reasoning.
Love all saltwater shellfish and calamari though ;-)

Ken.

trueblue
19-12-2008, 07:01 PM
atlantic salmon is my favourite, but for sheer quantity and quality - Cobia does it for me

whatnow2
19-12-2008, 08:56 PM
bar cod is best ive ever eaten
followed by dolly's wahoo

and balemain bugs are great to easy 10 times better than moreton bay bugs

Portacol
19-12-2008, 09:55 PM
Best fish I have tasted has been bled, filleted, cooled and cooked just right the next day or three. Not the same day and that may have something to do with the flesh going through rigor mortis. Maybe a butcher would be able to explain the reason because meat is hung for a while before consumption. The most enjoyable so far has been murray cod, atlantic salmon, yellowbelly, trout, flathead, king george whiting and snapper. And in no particular order. Looking forward to tasting many other fish but I think a lot of the eating is in the respect and care that is taken from hook up to plate.

Synful
20-12-2008, 07:41 AM
My vote goes for Jacks in an estuary, Trout on the reef.
I'm also a bit partial to a bit of Long Tom that was an accidental by-catch one day, really nice if you can get one.

Donny Boy
20-12-2008, 07:44 AM
Just keeping it simple.

Whiting.

Luxyboy
20-12-2008, 08:59 AM
My first coral trout was on a charter while on my honeymoon in Cairns and i haven't found anything to beat it.

GAD
22-12-2008, 06:27 PM
Coral trout , Red Emp, Large Mouth nannies , Jack , Fingermark and Cod ,Top of the list crumbed in small pieces lemon salt .
But would love to catch a mahi mahi so I can try them out , as I have heard they are one of the best and a job fish is supposedto be great tucker as well .
Find barra fatty bland and over rated as a table fish , not keen on whiting but catch a few as Dad loves them , mullet is for bait .
And as I am Allergic to shell fish or oysters and getting worse , I limit my self to only a few each , shame , Cause scallops are grouse crumbed, oysters straight from the rocks or kilpatric delish , Prawns on a barbie on a lazy Sunday Afternoon what more can I say.

8-) Greg

22-12-2008, 07:10 PM
Most of the fish I target are great on the chew but when I have a mixed bag and compare them I would say Flatties, Tuskies, Whiting and Cod have easily beaten a lot of the better credentialed fish

struktcha_man
23-12-2008, 07:27 AM
Don't mind bream, very nice when fried in batter and garlic

But a Jew about 80cm I caught once was the best I have ever eaten.

was really strange too as I neglected to bleed it when I caught it so I wasn't expecting it to taste so good.

reidy
23-12-2008, 11:48 AM
Tasted coral trout up there nothing better.
Back here Flatties,gummies and trumpeter all rate for me.
Reidy

Yab Man
01-01-2009, 04:39 PM
fresh fish is the best

phatty
02-01-2009, 02:06 PM
impoundment barra :P

just kidding..

i love my whiting but best of all even tho its not a fish fresh calamari *drool*

blueboy
04-01-2009, 10:43 AM
I really like whiting and estuary cod but my first prize has to go to the mighty coral trout.;D Cheers, Greg

sandbankmagnet
04-01-2009, 06:08 PM
I reckon pearlies are over rated. I would rather a nice snapper or parrot.

Estuary wise, whiting. just hard to catch the kg for a decent feed.

stessco
04-01-2009, 06:55 PM
coral trout love it

Chamelion
04-01-2009, 08:26 PM
Snapper... about the only fish I like eating.

Don't castrate me.. battered/crumbed cod/mystery fish from the local always goes down well too. :P

Matt.

warti
04-01-2009, 09:44 PM
I love my coral trout but for some reason i really enjoyed eating a pigfish. You cant go past whiting after that.

GazzaB
04-01-2009, 11:18 PM
what ever is fresh in the esky, haven't had a fish i didn't like yet, and i "love sushumi"!

Joe-90
05-01-2009, 10:47 AM
Cooked fish - Blue Eye Trevalla

Raw - Yellowtail Kingfish

Blaster Bretty
07-01-2009, 03:17 PM
As stated earlier "a very funny question, I tend to agree that whatever is fresh in the esky is nice. Personally I would have to say the jacks are at the top then I will go fresh tailor then probably the good old bull shark.
as peeps have differing taste's I dont really like flatties or bream but will stil eat them if thats all thats caught but then there are blokes that rave about bream + flatties. Also blokes seem to hate aus salmon but I dont mind them at all, still very tasty I rekon.

Bretty

madkeen_fisherkid
07-01-2009, 11:35 PM
i reckn you cant go past esturay cod or a fresh mangrove jack.