View Full Version : Captains Log Star Date April 20-08

14-04-2008, 10:56 PM
Thursday fished on Ymer with Steve Brooks, Dan Brooks (Jr.) and Lachlan Tuckwell (Jr.). Mack Tuna tagged trolling out to the grounds to Lachy on a Evil coloured mini pusher. 25kg Sailfish tagged to Daniel on a Yakka coloured lure by Lachy. Lachy drops one on the swim bait. Lachy gets one about 18kg tagged also on the swimmer by Daniel. A 15kg Wahoo tagged for Daniel. 4 Wahoo chopoffs including one whole wind-on and lure. Wind was 15SW to 20SE.

Friday fished on Ymer with Steve Brooks, Dan Brooks (Jr.), Aimee Brooks, Conor Lynch and Lachlan Tuckwell (Jr.). Decked a 11.6kg Wahoo for Lachy.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/DSC06898Small.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/DSC06894Small.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/DSC06901Small.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/DSC06902Small.jpg

Got Tuna bombed a few times and failed to hook up. Dropped a Billy late in the day. 15SW to 12SSE.

Saturday I had Phil T and his mate Ron aboard. Got bait in 21m of water on the way out. Ace! Hit up some close spots for AJs. Smoked 3 times on a Livefibre 10-15, TLD combo. Rubbed us out on the reef. All on while Ron was angling. Phil didn't get a look in. Went chasing Cobia. Got a heap of them all different methods. Ron also got a nice Grassy on a livey. Time to hit up the Sails. Had a nice patch of bait to ourselves but couldn't pull a thing out of it. Reefhunter II tags a Blue and Stripey and drop a 2nd Blue off Cape Moreton. Wind was 15SW to 12SE.

Sunday I had a charter in the morning. Bait was still in the same spot on the way out. Ace! Struggled early down at Caloundra. Had to go Cobia fishing. Heaps kept and a few released. Everyone had fun. Drop charter off and was gunna head out Sailfishing solo. Run into Jeffo and CJ in the river. CJ jumps ship. Turns out to be a good move. Think I fished next to Reef King. We tagged a 35kg Sailfish for CJ.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/cjharness.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/cjfishboatside.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/cjvert.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/morefishcj.jpg

Earlier in the day Ofishal Business tagged a 40kg Black, Ace High dropped a Sail and Wasabi near us had a couple of shots. Keneka has a 500lb Blue die on them after tagging it 3 hours in then pulling it aboard 5 hours later.

Monday and my close bait spot is on fire. A full tank of livies and we are off. No good Cobia fishing after a million boats hit the spot Sunday. Start trolling with some potential sponsors aboard looking for some deep dropping country. End up on the East Mooloolaba Canyon. Hamwari the brand spanking new Cabo has allready had 3 shots and dropped one right at the boat.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/hamwaricrop.jpg

Troll up the guts of the canyon and at 350m the band pops. Look around and Bill is doing the mouth open shake from side to side thing. Gun the boat. Drag peals off. It comes up again side to side. Gun the boat again. Drag coming off nicely now. Clear the gear and go riggers up. Back down on him.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/markhookedup.jpg

A few jumping runs with big belly. Lure is clearly visable trailing behind. All good. Bit of circle work close but we have been on sunset the whole fight. Double hits the reel and I dive for it. I hang on for grim death only on the swivel but then have a green 125kg Marlin penduliming around on 12' of leader extracting full toll.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/billmarkhor.jpg

Eventually I get to get a few wraps on him then grab the bill. All done. Pecs won't fold down no matter how hard I try to push them down. Measure him at 2.4m short length on the billrope. Get some piccies then release.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/markblack.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/blackinshade.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/blackatboat.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Trips/Sail%20Bite%2008/marknmark.jpg

Try some bottom dropping on allright shows. Do two drops in 350m and have 5 of the 6 baits bitten but no hookups. Doh! Run in to try for a sneaky late arvo Sail but it wasn't to be. Wind was 0-15NE.

bundylundy
14-04-2008, 11:11 PM
Great report Smithy, but you might want to ge a new calender "Captains Log Star Date April 20-08". Mine says April 14-08. ;D

Jeff.

plaztix
14-04-2008, 11:41 PM
Your getting some good hours on the water mate. Coming up with the goods too.

How many billies/sails has the stabi seen now?

15-04-2008, 06:04 AM
Got the vid up now. Should help with the Species ID. Tending back to a Blue now.

jwxQd0Gmy3M

Matt,

3 Sails and 2 Blues.

Jeff,

doing it in my best James Kirk impression!

Plastic_Magic
15-04-2008, 07:30 AM
Great Work Smithy awesome how it jumps so close to the boat......Would love to hook one of them....Might have to organise a trip one school holidays........Great report...

Cheers Lachlan (Plastic_Magic)

camer1
15-04-2008, 09:20 AM
Definitely a Blue I reckon, the fish has a small head and the flap of skin under the chin only runs half way back to the pecs whereas on a black it runs back closer to the pecs. How did the Cabo end up for the day?

lido76
15-04-2008, 02:10 PM
Brilliant smithy how good are those conditions. Mate fantastic vid awsome fish looks like a great day had by all.

Liberty
15-04-2008, 03:18 PM
On ya Smithy!

15-04-2008, 06:03 PM
sounds like an awesome trip smithy excellent fishing well done.;D ;D

purple patch2
15-04-2008, 06:08 PM
Rob you look a bit busy on that Blue. Awesome trace work. Top Report. Cheers Roy.

rogerb
15-04-2008, 07:34 PM
Well done Smithy, a great report. We saw you on Saturday and Monday, dark blue Blackwatch 28. We had a Black jump in front of us jast after we passed you inshore on Saturday but could not get it interested, caught a yellowfin and a couple of skipjack but no billfish.

Tight lines, Roger

captain rednut
15-04-2008, 08:17 PM
happi days smithy, its good to see a bit of long awaited billfish action in a very slow season. thanks jim

bundylundy
15-04-2008, 08:24 PM
Rob,
Didn't know you were a "trekkie". You'll have get a little billie sticker to put beside the battle scar's on the stabie. Keep up those top reports.

Jeff.

15-04-2008, 09:07 PM
Jeff,

not a Trekkie but just thought it appropriate.

Jim,

yep good to see a few the last couple of weeks.

Roger,

saw ya twice on the weekend. Good to put a face to the boat. When I am on Ymer we are the next finger over at the marina. We went for a wander over your side the other day and checked out your boat up close. Very nice. Don't be afraid to jump on VHF21 anytime. Helps to keep on top of the bites. Been paying off on the Sailfish action lately.

Roy,

yep friskiest heavy tackle one I have had on the leader. Thing never got down to the dacron so only had maybe 150m out at the most at any given time. All up maybe only took 15mins. Bronzed up pretty quick boatside for some reason. At least it was not 5hours like Keneka's fish.

Cabo only had the 3 shots for the full day.

Lachy,

we should take the KC2400 for a lap out east of the Capricorn Bunkers in like Oct/Nov/Dec. Fall back are the Rosys and Snaps Tony and Bailey got or Stuart Shoal and that near Mussy for big Wahoo and Spanish if it is not a green zone.

matt fraser
15-04-2008, 11:00 PM
G'day Smithy,

Great work with the Gloves, Very good footage of a Marlin going off on the trace! You did well, it didn't look like the driver was helping your cause there at one stage.

Great to see you've been getting out and amongst the action!

Custaro
16-04-2008, 08:46 AM
Great report and awesome job getting the fish under control beside the boat! It looked like it went pretty close to prop at one stage.

Was that on 80lb?