View Full Version : Capsized Boat at Tweed
Willo
13-04-2008, 04:59 PM
Just a reminder to those who are not familiar with the area around Fidos at Tweed
Although it can look alright one minute the next can be a disarster with the bigger set comming through
This guy went pass me and stopped at the back of Fidos I looked away for a minuite then looked back and he was upside down sitting on his Cat .Lucky another boat was close by and picked him up
whiting-wizard
13-04-2008, 05:04 PM
hmm tragedy did his boat sink
boatboy50
13-04-2008, 05:13 PM
Hey,
Is that Garry's (Spaniard King) boat still afloat next to it?
Is it also a Markham Whaler 6m which went over?
13-04-2008, 05:16 PM
The boat was towed thru the Tweed bar around 2:30 this afternoon.. Boat turned over around 9:30 this morning.
Posted a pic of a typical wav which got the cat
13-04-2008, 05:17 PM
Darren,
It was around 16ft.. twin mercs
Jabba_
13-04-2008, 05:20 PM
I was at Fido's today also... I trolled a few shirts around hoping to hook a speedster.. I am very warrie off Fido, on any given day it can just jack up and break....
Interesting how most off these capsized boats are cats...
How did you go out there Spaniard King???... I got no hits, so I went to Palmy... let out a livie, and then watched this 5ft Spaniad circle my boat for a hour, and it was getting with in 3ft off my Yakka....
It was such a tease
boatboy50
13-04-2008, 05:48 PM
Darren,
It was around 16ft.. twin mercs
Well,
That explains it all Garry. The Mercs went down (again) and it was all over!
The boat that went over at Mackay last night was also described as a 9.5m Power Cat.
Maybe I should sell up? Lol. As if......
13-04-2008, 05:49 PM
very unfortunate, another wasted vessel
samson
13-04-2008, 06:38 PM
Was down that way myself its funny how when its small swell like today it can be more dangerous down there as the bommie only breaks intermitately and jacks out of nowhere, better to have it charging barreling continuously lets you know the danger areas especially moving around there at night. Mind you willo you seem to like pushing the bounderies a little right where you pick up but hey not worth being where the fish ain't.
13-04-2008, 06:50 PM
Samason, Willo is a conciderable distance from the wave zone and on the move. Just how thw photograph was portrayed
13-04-2008, 07:20 PM
Interesting how most off these capsized boats are cats...
So a mono that got to close to the breakers at Fido's wouldn't roll?::)
Jabba_
13-04-2008, 08:34 PM
So a mono that got to close to the breakers at Fido's wouldn't roll?::)
No. I have noticed that most roll overs latley have mainly occured with cats... Inparticular, smaller cats under 6m...
It's just an observation...
matt fraser
13-04-2008, 09:26 PM
I was fishing with Steve Wilson on the other side of Fidos, about 500-600 meters away, when Steve spotted the upturned cat. By that stage the skipper (Pete, I think) was already on the hull and waving for help. There were three boats within about 300m of him, but none of them looked like moving to help (very poor form!), so we quickly wound in and took off around the reef and went in to pick him up. I was a bit worried there might have been other crew in trouble, so that was the first thing I asked when we got there. Fortunately not.
He was in a bit of distress but seemed ok. He said he was trapped underwater for a bit, but managed to get out ok. He was facing west and didn't see the wave until it was almost on top of him and he didn't have time to get out of the way. I don't know if he was drifting or trolling but he said his motors were running. Anyway the wave came over the back and rolled him.
We took him back to Cooks to the other crew we were fishing with, Jamie (Cloud 9), and Pete radioed in for help. The Rescue boat was there within about 15 minutes. They picked him up off Jamie's boat and took him back to Fidos for the tow in.
I don't where or how it was righted, but it was towed back past us in the river about 2.30pm.
Here's a picture of the skipper on the hull, and of the boat being towed in the river.
13-04-2008, 09:37 PM
So would he have been a the first regulation assisted fatality if the new laws were in already?
matt fraser
14-04-2008, 07:52 AM
Sorry FNQ, I don't know what you are talking about there? Can you explain?
Willo
14-04-2008, 07:59 AM
I was fishing with Steve Wilson on the other side of Fidos, about 500-600 meters away, when Steve spotted the upturned cat. By that stage the skipper (Pete, I think) was already on the hull and waving for help. There were three boats within about 300m of him, but none of them looked like moving to help (very poor form!),
If Your refering to myself and Garry as showing poor form you are Wrong
I first noticed this boat as he nearly run over my live baiting ballons on he"s way in. then I saw him stop on the insde of Fidos.In front of me
I turned around and kept fishing .Then I turned around again after a min or so and he was upside down .I got on the radio to the Boys to let them now and was starting to pull up anchor when you Guys went past and picked him up
By the time Garry and I had up anchored and got to the Cat you guys had gone . There was also a dive Boat with divers came over to see if any body else was trapped.I told them that the person on board was picked up and ok from what I could see
Willo
Willo
honda900
14-04-2008, 08:08 AM
Geez,
I was having a chat to that bloke at christmas, I even followed him through the bar, he was hauling too with the 2 fifties on the back :o . I was going to follow him down to Fidos as well.. Fished by himself most of the time.
Feel sorry for him those engines looked almost new, think he had just spent some dough on the boat.
Honda
Fish Guts
14-04-2008, 08:29 AM
fnq,
are you referring to the manadatory life jackets ?
looks like he has an inflatablelife jacket. so would not have been an issue with getting stuck in this situation. is that what you were referring to ?
Jackinthebox
14-04-2008, 08:42 AM
I was at Fido's today also... I trolled a few shirts around hoping to hook a speedster..
Jabba, you were using the wrong lures mate, shirts will only catch female fish. Everyone knows the fish at Fidos right now are all male and only chase skirts ........;D
TiNTiN
14-04-2008, 08:48 AM
hey guys the boat was miss kitty ( my dads boat ) have a look in general chat for the details as to what happened
cheers TinTin
Wheelchairguy
14-04-2008, 08:49 AM
This was TinTin's father Pete, this guy is like a father to me and all of us are upset by the events that happened yesterday. Boats can be replaced and many thanks are passed on to the guys that helped Pete get to land safely
14-04-2008, 10:19 AM
Blokes I was thinking of the new laws where on mandated bars and specific length of boat a lifejacket must be worn.
I have had inflatable jackets inflate on me many times, they still go off to trap a person unless it is a manual only variant.
It's going to be a very dangerous law, too dangerous for me to abide by anyway, no way to stick up for yourself from the grave. The regulators have absolutely no interest in knowing how many times the lack of a jacket saved a life, they will not compile so cannot comprehend in real life scenarios because no one has bothered to collect the numbers, they will be killing people IMO.
Fish Guts
14-04-2008, 10:32 AM
understand your point fnq. Surely being stuck under is avoidable with an inflatable jacket if it is in proper working order. maybe they should stipulate that you must wear an 'inflatable' type jacket on the coastal bars ?
14-04-2008, 10:43 AM
understand your point fnq. Surely being stuck under is avoidable with an inflatable jacket if it is in proper working order. maybe they should stipulate that you must wear an 'inflatable' type jacket on the coastal bars ?
yeah I dunno the inflatable jacket will inflate before the bubbles have cleared or a person has regained enough wits to even consider escaping, no more time to escape than a solid jacket, now if they had the forethought to include an emergency release in their design regulations.....very much doubt even a voxpop would have been done on non lifejacket wearing survivors to ask if a jacket would have killed them, not our regulators way to search real life if the outcome may not suit their ideology.
samson
14-04-2008, 12:26 PM
spaniad king wasn't knocking willo just know where he anchors see him there on the eastern side of the breakers most times his out, as far as being to close i,m no one to talk i troll through the worst areas regularly always fighting fish and driving boat at the same time to avoid the death zone.
Cheers samson
matt fraser
14-04-2008, 04:06 PM
Willo, Sorry for having a go, it just didn't look like anyone was moving to help. If Steve hadn't spotted him, I may not have even noticed for a few minutes either.
There was one smaller boat at anchor very close, may have been the divers.
Willo
14-04-2008, 05:06 PM
Willo, Sorry for having a go, it just didn't look like anyone was moving to help. If Steve hadn't spotted him, I may not have even noticed for a few minutes either.
There was one smaller boat at anchor very close, may have been the divers.
Yeh Matt
No one was having a go at the time cause no of us actuall saw it happen .it wasn,t actually till I saw the cat in between swells(still hard to spot cause not much sticking outa water) as you went past and I called Garry and by that time you were in the process of getting him onboard .
It just took time up anchoring and winding in gear for us to get there
And I agree the tinnie that was inside of the cat would have seen the whole thing happen.
Cheers Willo
Getout
14-04-2008, 05:23 PM
Where's Fidos?
14-04-2008, 05:26 PM
Willo you forgot to mention the persons in the other tinny looked to be interested in the event but didn't say much... not sure if they could speak english actually.
Willo
14-04-2008, 05:47 PM
spaniad king wasn't knocking willo just know where he anchors see him there on the eastern side of the breakers most times his out, as far as being to close i,m no one to talk i troll through the worst areas regularly always fighting fish and driving boat at the same time to avoid the death zone.
Cheers samson
Hi Samson
You got that White fiberglass boat ?? and might of had a chat with ya at the boat ramp one day a while back
Cheers Willo
Jabba_
14-04-2008, 06:27 PM
Where's Fidos?
Nine mile reef at Tweed
14-04-2008, 06:38 PM
Its what my Seafarer is named after - Nine Mile :)
14-04-2008, 07:10 PM
Fidos is a reef named after a ship that was wrecked there many years ago.. completely seperate from 9 mile::)
samson
14-04-2008, 08:26 PM
nah willo got a 5.5m plate centre concole usally breeze past each other at kennedy early in the morning, fished with you that day at palmy you got that cobia footage i was the pro who came on the scene after you and started to spin up a few fish while you were filming.
Cheers samson
Willo
14-04-2008, 09:04 PM
Orrrrrrr.. Ok Gottua Now Mate :thumbup:
Willo
crab man
15-04-2008, 09:10 AM
Hey Samson are you scottys mate ?
Scotty fleming i think from wilson tackle
samson
15-04-2008, 04:35 PM
Yeah craig we've spoken a few times down brunsy way i think if your the spanner crabber i'm thinking of.
Cheers samson
brush
15-04-2008, 05:40 PM
Gooday Guys,
Just on the Cat at Mackay, the local paper has a report today on the incident, they say the Cat was a 33ft Alum. Boy it must have gone down quick.
Cheers Brush
15-04-2008, 06:02 PM
I have had inflatable jackets inflate on me many times, they still go off to trap a person unless it is a manual only variant.
It's going to be a very dangerous law, , they will be killing people IMO.
I personally think they are a bit of a worry.
For an experienced person who is able to keep there wits about them....sure they would be great....but I remember a hijacked plane ditching in the ocean in very shallow water off an island off Africa a few years back...the passengers were forewarned of the ditching but unfortunately many panicked and inflated the life jackets too early....I think maybe around 50 out of 150 survived...
As FNQ suggests they would be a death trap if you weren't thrown clear and instead came up inside the hull with the jacket inflated...http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/sad.gif
crab man
19-04-2008, 01:37 PM
Yeah craig we've spoken a few times down brunsy way i think if your the spanner crabber i'm thinking of.
Cheers samson
Hey mate yeah thats me i thought that was you scotty and i were talking about aus fish the other day about some people ;) haha got a hell ambo last sunday 45kg cleaned , the biggest ive cought anyways, drop me a pm if you ever wanna know whats going on
Stephen_Wilson
03-05-2008, 10:30 AM
Good read guys
:)