View Full Version : Wide Mooloolabha Last Thursday

indy
31-03-2008, 05:35 PM
Finally got the computer back from the shop so a bit of a late report.

Had ten days off over easter so with some great weather predicted for thursday last week myself and two mates headed out for a early morning session to try and get some snapps and pearlies.

Left the ramp at around 2.30am and an hour later we dropped our first baits with a few pearlies coming in while it was still dark. Things where fairly slow so we where hoping on the sun up to get things fired up but when it finally did not much really happend. We gave this spot about an hour after sun up pulling a few squire and a few more pearlies but decided on a move a bit wider to see if we could better the size.

On arriving on the next spot we caught a few more pearlies, moses perch parrot 1 black kingy. Chris caught the biggest yakka i have ever seen around a foot long so i put it under a ballon about three metres below the surface and waited in anticapaciton, about half an hour later the ratchet starts to make a few sounds and then we see alot of action around the ballon so i free spooled the yakka for about twenty metres and sink the hook to see one very pissed of sailfish doing some nice aerial work.

About twenty minutes later and a bit of a chase we had him up beside the boat for a few photos before letting him go again to give someone else a work out.
That was my first sail and what a buzz it was, we ended up with 22 keepers for the day squire, pearlies, moses, parrot, cobia, and a wrasse. Great conditions out there had a ball.

cheers pete...

31-03-2008, 05:37 PM
nice work pete!!!!!!!!!

hungry6
31-03-2008, 05:38 PM
Nice fish there indy. some bogan mate you gotin those fotos.LOL.

Keechie
31-03-2008, 05:46 PM
wow thats a gret sail and what a thrill it must of been.

regards,
keechie

BeastMaster
31-03-2008, 05:54 PM
Great fish - well done
Beast

seapup
31-03-2008, 06:41 PM
Nice work Pete good Sail mate!

DALEPRICE
31-03-2008, 06:54 PM
well done mate,
sounds like you had a top day out.
cheers dale

31-03-2008, 07:11 PM
nice saily mate

Vindicator
31-03-2008, 07:19 PM
Nice work Pete, nothing like a bit of excitement to break up the day.

Kezza

scoota
31-03-2008, 07:25 PM
Whta a top day out!

Got to be happy with that Pete

Scoota....

jeffo
31-03-2008, 08:14 PM
curious as to whether or not you investigated what is hanging from the fish just below its dorsal fin about half way along....parasite or tag?

the_real_rumbo
31-03-2008, 08:15 PM
well done indy thats one awsome looking sail

31-03-2008, 08:21 PM
Awesome fish Pete. Sounds like you had a top day out. Well done.

Wags

abbot_86
31-03-2008, 09:29 PM
big bait big fish