View Full Version : best 4wd

mr fisher
28-03-2008, 06:59 PM
Is the best 4 wd a troopcarier if no what is??8-) 8-)

28-03-2008, 07:19 PM
NO
Land Rover Defender

Briannes
28-03-2008, 07:22 PM
Nissan patrol or a Nissan Xtrail
patrol very thirsty and will tow almost all,
xtrail 4cyl 2.5l auto and will tow up to 2000kgs rated
I now have an xtrail did have patrol, to costly to run - Brian

Roughasguts
28-03-2008, 07:32 PM
Suzuki LJ 50 a 3 cyl two stroke soft top.
Most fun car I ever had.
That thing would tow a Toyota out of a salt lake, and climb the break wall of a jetty, Wish I had photo's to prove it.
That thing was so much fun you could drive down a sand hill straight in to the ocean and dive out for a swim and by the time you got home it was all dried out. She would carry your fishing gear, rifle and large esky.
Still it was dangerous in the wrong hands, probably mine, think I was really lucky I didn't hurt anyone in it.

28-03-2008, 08:40 PM
I find it hard to fault my V8 Cruiser :) :)

BM
28-03-2008, 08:55 PM
Shit, the x-trail is a toy!!! I like my Nissans but I wouldn't even think of taking an x-trail away on our 4wd weekends.

I don't believe there is a "best 4wd". Bit like the "whats the best outboard" argument. But the x-trail is not it. Its in that, chick friendly 4wd market. The big Patrols, Cruisers etc are the proper thing.

And now you've got the wannabe Hummers as well.

28-03-2008, 09:04 PM
Land Rover is now owned by Tata in India isnt it ;D;D;D;D;D;D

28-03-2008, 09:21 PM
The best 4wd is the one YOU own. It is our human nature to think we own the best and everything else is just crap. We apply this to everything. houses, cars, boats, planes, partners, fishing gear, pets, computers, BBQ's, tools, etc etc etc. Threads like this will only get a biased opinion from the people who drive a Toyota, Nissan, Landrover, Mitsubishi, or Suzuki. Just buy what you think is best suited to your needs and go out and enjoy it regardless of what the owners of the other makes will say about it. I drive a Pajero. I love it because it is a 4wd and does what I want it to. I cop a lot of flack from others but that's okay. I am still happy with it.

Roughasguts
28-03-2008, 09:42 PM
I drive a Pajero and found today I can't remove the bolts to get the pads out of the brakes front and back.

So heres a tip to all you bloody Mechanics at Mitsubishi use rubber grease on the bolts that hold the pads in, cause they rust solid if you don't.

sheridan
28-03-2008, 10:29 PM
Hey everyone part of the reason i bought a 4WD was the thread new falcon towing something can't remember but good thread Backing the haines full of camping gear down the ramp low tide nearly went with it decided need something better bought old GQ patrol budget was tight but what a great vehicle absolutely rapt would love to go on the glasshouse mts get together in april but have no experience so hopefully we will go on the next one

Geoff

BrewGuru
28-03-2008, 11:10 PM
The best 4wd is the one YOU own. It is our human nature to think we own the best and everything else is just crap. We apply this to everything. houses, cars, boats, planes, partners, fishing gear, pets, computers, BBQ's, tools, etc etc etc. Threads like this will only get a biased opinion from the people who drive a Toyota, Nissan, Landrover, Mitsubishi, or Suzuki. Just buy what you think is best suited to your needs and go out and enjoy it regardless of what the owners of the other makes will say about it. I drive a Pajero. I love it because it is a 4wd and does what I want it to. I cop a lot of flack from others but that's okay. I am still happy with it.

What Poodroo is trying to say is that the new Jeep Commander with the 3.00 ltr turbo charged Mercedes engine is the best 4WD, you just have to read between the lines. ;)
Has it ever been off road? hell No!!

novice 1
29-03-2008, 06:52 AM
I have a Prado (petrol) AWESOME!!! Drove from Canberra to Sunshine coast with family of 5 + caravan. Struggled to keep it under the speed limit. Went to Fraser for a week, didn't even look like getting stuck, did offer to help a gent in a Discovery 3 though. He didn't want to deflate his tyers( something about the best 4WD available). Any way the kids gave him a friendly wave as we drove away, can't help those who don't want help. We often go up to Mount Franklin in the winter (snowy mountans) lots of rock, snow, ice and mud very comfortable.

In a nut shell If I wanted to replace it, I'd replace it with another Prado.

PS yes it uses quite a bit of fuel but not much more than the Subaro Sports wagon I had before it.

sea raider
29-03-2008, 08:28 AM
I find it hard to fault my V8 Cruiser :) :)

I'm with Garry

29-03-2008, 09:35 AM

What's the criteria .... for BEST!

I love my Prado TD ( Grande) .... Being a top of the range , you get some features that make life a little more pleasant on the road ........ & seeing that I travel (towing my hornet) 1000s of Kms up & down the east coast ....... Its just what I need ( reasonably economical 14.5lt / 100km towing .... & very comfortable).

Nagg

PS .... It also manages some off road work up the Snowy mountains when I'm fly fishing

29-03-2008, 09:51 AM
I drive a Pajero and found today I can't remove the bolts to get the pads out of the brakes front and back.

So heres a tip to all you bloody Mechanics at Mitsubishi use rubber grease on the bolts that hold the pads in, cause they rust solid if you don't.

I just replaced my front brake pads and not too long ago did the rear as well and I found the whole job a piece of cake to do. On my own the front brakes including a full tyre rotation took just on an hour to complete, The bolts were a little hard to undo but some elbo grease got them undone. I did however put some grease on them before I put them back in.

What Poodroo is trying to say is that the new Jeep Commander with the 3.00 ltr turbo charged Mercedes engine is the best 4WD, you just have to read between the lines. ;)
Has it ever been off road? hell No!!

Lol Ed, I am so glad I have people like yourself who are capable of portraying my thoughts in such an unquestionable manner. That's exactly what I was trying to say. ;D Can't wait to see your new Jeep at the 4wd M&G. The highly modified Pajero will be there new brake pads and all. ::)

coucho
29-03-2008, 09:52 AM
I have an OLD hilux dual cab 2.8 deisel won't pull the skin off a rice pudding just as well my boat is light. best thing about it it was cheap to buy and cheap to run. The true beauty lies in the fact that I don't cry if I ding in no point havin a 4x4 if you to scared to put a scratch on it.

29-03-2008, 09:57 AM
Hey everyone part of the reason i bought a 4WD was the thread new falcon towing something can't remember but good thread Backing the haines full of camping gear down the ramp low tide nearly went with it decided need something better bought old GQ patrol budget was tight but what a great vehicle absolutely rapt would love to go on the glasshouse mts get together in april but have no experience so hopefully we will go on the next one

Geoff

Now you are in trouble:) an intoduction in this area is all it takes for one to realise what they have been missing for so long - careful though the cost of the next must have accessory can really hurt the bank account. $WD and boats no better way to stay feeling young and expectant....actually more like financially stressed, just like when young;D.

PS you don't need much experience to 4wd just pick your marks you will have more actual fun doing the average track stuff than the experienced bloke will have tackling the heavier duty stuff.

Roughasguts
29-03-2008, 10:33 AM
Ho Poodroo, mate I'm up to the impact sockets (better grip on the bolt) and a 3 foot extention bar. Next time I try it's heat up the calliper, and belt with a hammer at the same time. These bolts are that tight they would hold the prop on the space shuttle.

Gilli
29-03-2008, 10:38 AM
yeah i cant fault 4by's, i got mates with hilux's, tritons, patrols, suzuki sierras and cruisers. They are all good at what they are aimed at been used for, the hilux rolls over the beach without denting it which is awesome but it cant really pull boats out of a creek where as the patrol or cruiser can. Sierras roll over anything cause they got a short wheel base but the downside is they have a poor towing capacity. Its really all about what you aim at using the car for.

29-03-2008, 03:26 PM
to be honest this is a meaningless thread in my opinion started from a useless question. I mean really "what is the best...(anthing)" - what does that mean. Best for what? Best at doing what? Best at lasting the longest? Best at handling the best on road? Best at dragging a 2 tonn boat? Best at dragging a 2 tonn boat in sand? Best at climbing mountains?

I love Discoveries - I have 2. I have friends and family with all manner of 4WDs including and a brother that has for over a decade owned and run one of the best 4WD shops around in Qld that specialises in serious off road suspensions for comp and similar use. He has gone from Toyota to Land Rover and hasnt looked back, but that isnt to say that he does not still like Cruisers - each has many strengths and each has more than one weakness - and each of the big 3 make pretty good off road trucks and each costs more to buy new than a falcadore and each is better at towing a big boat than a falcadore and they each cost more to own and run than a bloody falcadore....this thread could become insanely big...

jimbo59
29-03-2008, 08:32 PM
I use a 75 series troopy its a beauty, it can push trees over,tow my sharkcat up to moolooaba and back(logan) for 50 litres and still idle past bogged patrols up frazer in 2wd.

BrewGuru
29-03-2008, 08:52 PM
Lol Ed, I am so glad I have people like yourself who are capable of portraying my thoughts in such an unquestionable manner. That's exactly what I was trying to say. ;D Can't wait to see your new Jeep at the 4wd M&G. The highly modified Pajero will be there new brake pads and all. ::)

Poodroo[/quote]

AS long as you can show me how to lock the hubs in, never done that B4

levinge
29-03-2008, 11:14 PM
Mine is a Mitsubishi Challenger, Good towing capacity, good economy, heaps of room, comfortable to the point the missus falls asleep (even with my driving), excellent ground clearance.

Best its snatched a few 4wds out that have been bogged, not mentioning any brands but a discovery comes to mind.

Should be even better now with the Cooper ATR's all round

sleepygreg
30-03-2008, 03:30 AM
please pardon my silly question, but why is this in the boating thread????

30-03-2008, 07:50 AM
please pardon my silly question, but why is this in the boating thread????

Because the thread starter also put the same thread in the 4wd section but he misssed the general, saltwater, camping, tackle,reports estuary, reports offshore, going fishing M&G's sections however. Maybe he is planning to buy Lucky_Phill's water going Nissan Navara off him? Lucky_Phill thought it was a boat once. ::) :-X

novice 1
30-03-2008, 08:57 AM
I've been finding this thred quite amusing. Was it brewguru that suggested that we're all pushing for our own brand. (Mind you Ed I thought he was really talking about the V6 Prado).

I don't think anyone is taking things to seriously are they?

Fatenhappy
30-03-2008, 09:10 AM
Used to have a 2002 1HZ 4.2 turbo diesel troopy but at 2500 kilos when you are pulling up to 3.5 ton, not a happy moment when the semis went past.

The answer, a 7.3lt Ford F250. Fully laden with our old fatenhappy before we sold the complete unit knocking on the door of 7 1/2 to 8 ton ... banging down the highway comfortably at 100k's getting 16.6 ltres per 100 k's (logbook)

Just doesn't get any better than that. So when someone says size doesn't matter ... think again ....;D

sheridan
31-03-2008, 06:13 PM
Thanks FNQ Cairns
Wife and i already talking of towing the boat up to Cairns this year to visit the kids and grandkids. We were there for 2 weeks at christmas in the son in laws boat but its not big enough to take us all .Thought we'd take our time getting up there boat has custom cover which is great for towing stay a bit and do a bit of fishing . Patrol goes into get carby rebuild and tune on thursday had springs changed back to standard last week it had a lift kit and the airbags didn't work now everything works fine much smoother ride and less body roll . Love to do some 4wdriving but bought it to tow the boat safely

Geoff

Homer_Jay
31-03-2008, 07:57 PM
I would like to say that my Shorty 40 landcruiser with 350 chev is the best 4WD of all time......

But every time I have to fill it up with fuel I soon find out its one fault!!!

Jock The Rock
31-03-2008, 08:46 PM
Land Rover is now owned by Tata in India isnt it ;D;D;D;D;D;D

yes but.... i was reading in a magaine they still being made in britain to secure the jobs over there.

also i was reading mr fisher's thread in the 4WD section. just so u all know he is 11

im just thought u should all know im not saying anythin just informin those who didnt know

also poodroo is right i beleive all 4WD brands have there problems but we become blind to the problems our own 4WDs have when comparing them to others.

ptcruiser
01-04-2008, 09:26 AM
JEEP!!!! With a Quinnie behind it , now that is a great set up. lol.

MarkDiver
01-04-2008, 03:05 PM

I had two 4wd vehicles at once, a smart Pajero and an old Troopy.
There was no comparison when you have your camping gear packed and you hit the dirt road or even pulling the boat for that matter (2t+). The Troopy is way better.
The Pajero being automatic was useless on the boat ramp and when camping I was too scared to take it off the road. When I get into the Trioopy, I already feel like I'm camping. The missus ended up taking the Pajero for use around town before I sold it, just a waste of fuel you could be putting into your boat.

ss--ss
01-04-2008, 06:30 PM
My missus haas a awd territory & it does a great job with towing our 18.5" boat.
But was thinking about getting a landcruiser/patrol for myself but was wondering if the prado is as good just a bit smaller ??? can anyone advise..

phewy
01-04-2008, 08:50 PM
The Pajero being automatic was useless on the boat ramp and when camping I was too scared to take it off the road.

Scared to go off the road??? Seriously??

These guys aint scared...

and the result.....

Pajero = 12 time outright winner of the Paris - Dakar off road rally. Inc the last 7 straight.

The Dakar Rally is an annual off-road race.
Despite its name it is an off-road endurance race, called a rally-raid rather than a conventional rally—the terrain the competitors traverse is much tougher and the vehicles used are true off-road vehicles rather than the modified sedans used in rallies. Most of the competitive special sections are off-road, crossing dunes, mud, camel grass, rocks and erg among others. The distances of each stage covered vary from several kilometers up to 800 to 900 kilometers (500–560 mi) per day.

Pajero is the most successful model in race history, including the last 7 years straight.

Thats some good offroad pedigree right there. Now for towing.... agreed, there are others more capable for the bigger stuff.

novice 1
06-04-2008, 06:13 PM
My missus haas a awd territory & it does a great job with towing our 18.5" boat.
But was thinking about getting a landcruiser/patrol for myself but was wondering if the prado is as good just a bit smaller ??? can anyone advise..
I pull an 18" Cruise Craft approx 2t with my prado. I haven't had any problems though next time I take it down the Clide Mountain (Batemans Bay) I'll start out in 2nd gear.

BrewGuru
06-04-2008, 07:52 PM
Jeep is legal and capable of 3500kgs, there fore making it the outright winner of this forum, thank you very much ladies and gentlemen.........Next!

06-04-2008, 08:03 PM
Jeep is legal and capable of 3500kgs, there fore making it the outright winner of this forum, thank you very much ladies and gentlemen.........Next!

HAHAHA your kidding....::) Show me a jeep with 3500kgs on the back:o

eldeas
06-04-2008, 11:52 PM
toyota landcruiser best car ever

prado is good to

landrover and nissan patrol shit

johnny roger
07-04-2008, 06:09 AM
well my claim to fame is that i pulled 2 toyota landcuisers out of the mud next to a canal at the same time!
the first toyota was bogged. my mate tried to pull him out, but also got bogged. i then hooked up to my mates toyota with my NISSAN '98 GU PATROL. put her in low low, and pulled them both out at the same time!!!:D
me mate and the other fella were not happy jan. that was about 8 years ago, and i still remind him about it.

Apollo
07-04-2008, 09:15 AM
Can tell what I have owned/driven and an opinion on each:

86' Cruiser - non turbo diesel wagon. Wasn't particularly powerful, suffered a bit from rust, was a bit rough a ride, but was tough, honest and capable in bush/beach.

91' Triton - 2.5L diesel - slow. Comfortable, honest - never had a problem with it and it got abused for many years.

92 GQ 11 Patrol - worked 4.2L petrol on gas - wagon. Went really well, comfortable, reliable, towed well, good in bush/beach.

99 Rodeo dualcab - v6 petrol - went well, rough ride, towed Ok but heavy on juice.

07 Navara STX dual cab - 2.5L diesel - comfortable. Shocking turning circle, dangerous electronics extras.

08 Navara STX dual cab - 4.0L petrol- as above but heavy on fuel and more go.

Before it is asked, the Navaras are work supplied vehicles. Also on the Navaras, tjey come with plastic fuel tanks that don't have bungs. Fill up with a bad dose of fuel and it is a drop the entire tank out and up end to drain bad fuel out job. Just found that one out! Don't know if other brands of modern 4wds don't have bungs anymore?

BrewGuru
07-04-2008, 10:49 AM
From the Jeep web site
http://www.jeep.com.au/commander/features/capability/haul_it_all.html

mikooh
07-04-2008, 01:55 PM
Having the pleasure of being paid to test out the capabilities of several brands/ models of 4WD's over the last 10 years I would have to say that the Toyota 78 series cruiser would be my pick of them if you are basing 'best' on the ability to cop a flogging and not break down. That model just seemed to have a good balance of power, comfort and durability IMO.
However if you just want to go for a squirt up the beach every now and then and tow the boat around then most of the current 4WD's will do that without a worry. so just pick the one that suits you best and have some fun in it!

BTW I currently own a D4D Hilux Dual cab and I love it too.

07-04-2008, 05:51 PM

The new 3 lt DiD is a very decent 4WD
I have the previous model(2006) ..... which is great for my needs .... but falls well behind the current model (performance & economy)

Nagg

mikooh
07-04-2008, 06:10 PM

Also on the Prado, there is a new model due out in the not to distant future. Supposed to be all new from the ground up and powered by a V6 direct injected motor. It could be worth waiting for if your not in a hurry to buy.

honda900
07-04-2008, 07:49 PM
There seems to be quite a bit of conjecture over the jeeps towing ability, Someone posted this link in another thread but being a v8 jeep owner thought I'd have a read, turns out the the disco wins :o because the jeep is to small, hmm 0-60 towing 2 tons, smoking all 4 in : 7 seconds, 80-100kph: 8 seconds Apparantly this doesnt rate in a towing test as the disco (winner of the test), 0-60kph: 9.0 seconds, 80-100kph: 10.0 seconds,

Oh and fuel consumption,

It's impossible to not be impressed by the almost towbar-bending brutality of the Jeeps' performances. Even with more tyre-burning muscle than anything else on test, the Hemi drank less than the Cruiser (27.7L/100km) and the 3.0CRD diesel sipped just 17.5L/100km, which is not only less than Disco, but Pajero and Prado as well.,

but apparantly the fat ba&^%#$@#s couldn't fit inside.. >:( jenny craig for you bro..

http://www.overlander.com.au/vehicle_tests/index/full/274/2006-Tow-Test:-Part-1---Large-Wagons

;)

Honda

BrewGuru
08-04-2008, 09:32 PM
That test was 2006 it is now 2008 and the Jeep scientits have up graded the performance on that test by 64.25%, clearly making the Jeep Commander 3.0ltr limited equipped with the turbo charged V6 mercedes motor, the best 4WD in the world!!!!!!! ( or any other big place)

08-04-2008, 09:35 PM
That test was 2006 it is now 2008 and the Jeep scientits have up graded the performance on that test by 64.25%, clearly making the Jeep Commander 3.0ltr limited equipped with the turbo charged V6 mercedes motor, the best 4WD in the world!!!!!!! ( or any other big place)

Could you please elaborate on these people:o

BrewGuru
08-04-2008, 10:19 PM
Obviously females that have taken it in there stride to exam the male testosteroen levels in comparison to 4wd quality cars in respect to power to weight ratios to keep a breast of things in a scientific manner.....der!

bondibrummie
08-04-2008, 10:32 PM

There's only two and thats the troopy or even better 4.2 diesel Gq patrol thats all you will see at the top end and parts are easy to come by.