View Full Version : starter motor for winch

22-03-2008, 02:20 PM
hi guys just wandering if anyone out there has tried this just finished building one for my boat, made adaptor for flywheel, a little tricky, but made the world of difference.

pulling the boat out of the water now is even quicker than driving on, only used small starter, but seems to hande the load fairly good,

has this been done by anyone, i used the new style dyneema rope on the winch and had a greater breaking strain than cable works a treat.8-)

Roughasguts
22-03-2008, 02:27 PM
That's pretty cool' and pretty cheap I would imagine.

Got any piccy's

SgBFish
22-03-2008, 03:13 PM
I to would love to see a photo of your setup.

Hamish73
22-03-2008, 03:17 PM
good idea, just a word of warning.
A starter motor will be series would. Which means it is designed for constant load. If it has no load, the rpm with go through the roof, possibly to the point of self destruction. In you application, I doubt this will be too much of an issue as long as you have a clutch for pulling the line out.

Also, remember a starter motor is designed for very light duty cycle work, so if it takes more than about 15 seconds to winch the boat up, there may be some long term reliability problems.

Got me thinking now..... Wonder how it would go on the end of my jockey wheel shaft :-/ Would need some serious gearing down

Roughasguts
22-03-2008, 03:25 PM
Hamish or anyone what about a wind screen winder motor then.
I beleive they can run remote garage doors with no problem, but would they have enough gut's to run a boat up a trailer.

Hamish73
22-03-2008, 04:33 PM
Hamish or anyone what about a wind screen winder motor then.
I beleive they can run remote garage doors with no problem, but would they have enough gut's to run a boat up a trailer.

as long as its geared down sufficiently, as the worm drive in a windscreen wiper motor consists of a brass worm and a nylon gear

22-03-2008, 04:45 PM
For the costs involved in some of the electric winches available these days it would hardly seem worthwhile to build something.

However if you are intent on building something ring Rowan Hatfeild at Engineering Transmission Agencies. He is a specialist in gear motor drives for all applications. I am sure he will have something to go directly to the winch handle shaft.

SgBFish
22-03-2008, 05:12 PM
Hamish this is what I want they look like the ducks .... for movers

Hamish73
22-03-2008, 06:03 PM
Hamish this is what I want they look like the ducks .... for movers

yeah, looks pretty trick. :)

dnej
22-03-2008, 06:08 PM
Take a look at this one.This was an Ausfish one,some time back.
David

22-03-2008, 08:41 PM
thanks for the replies guys will try to posts some pics as an auto electrician i done a bit of reseach first and it is that quick its all over and done in about 10 seconds flat starter motor is still cold when done

wiper motors are to small and burn out quite quickly, my boat is 6.4 ad this idea is great, thought about the belt driven one , but was to dangerous, if a belt was to break.

this set up i did myself but got it done for roughly $120 it is mainly for the beach i do a lot of fraser is and DI and there is nothing worse than waves over the back of the boat.

sheridan
22-03-2008, 09:44 PM
HI Skipalong

Havn't made a boat winch for trailer but made a anchor winch for a 4 mtr boat i could put my anchor in and retrieve it without getting off my seat

Geoff

22-03-2008, 10:02 PM
interesting it would have been more involved than a boat trailer winch wouldnt it, mounting, and being able to run rope and chain through rollers,

frank100
22-03-2008, 11:32 PM
Skipalong,
Have you considered a m/cycle starter motor ?
Also I think "Jaycar Electronics" have some motors in their catalogue.
I do'nt want to spoil your fun but you can get an elect. boat winch for under $100.
Also you may want to see my post of sometime ago "recipe for an anchor winch" which I built using an El cheapo boat winch. Quite the reverse on what you want.

SgBfish,
Thanks for the photo, I have had something similar in mind for some time. The piccy will give me a couple of ideas to chew on.

Frank

23-03-2008, 06:17 AM
yeah thought about a few ideas, but went with a suzuki starter motor and flywheel just so it was fast it will out do any winch on te market at the moment, its main purpose is for the beach, less time in the water.

-Beefa-
23-03-2008, 08:47 AM
Heres one I did for my boat, it rips it out in no time, I used a warn winch hand control to make it all a 1 man operation
regards Beefa

dnej
23-03-2008, 09:14 AM
Beefa,
What motor did you use,and what is the ring gear . Do you just plug into your car battery,via the plug you have mounted?
Any chance of a wiring diagram.
David

-Beefa-
23-03-2008, 09:26 AM
David,
I used a Toyota Landcruiser starter and ring gear, we turned down the ring gear and drilled holes to lighten it and also make it look a bit more pleasing to the eye, I have another anderson plug on the back of the car to plug into, My auto sparkie at work wired it for me but from what I can see he just used an off the shelf heavy duty starter relay, from there you can just put a push button into the plastic box containing the relay if you don't want to go to the extent of a remote switch.
Let me know if yo want more info.
regards Beefa

23-03-2008, 09:36 AM
nice looking mate my setup is much the same but used slightly smaller starter and ring gear, just making it more compact, but it definally seemed to be the way to go, and its good the more load you put on it the better it works

frank100
23-03-2008, 07:46 PM
Skipalong,
Nice work !

Frank

dnej
23-03-2008, 09:45 PM
skipalong,
How about a pic of your unit
David

Explorer570
24-03-2008, 08:26 AM
A gaurd over the flywheel may be a good idea before someone gets their jacket caught.:'(

Attached a a few pics I snapped at the boat ramp. Looks like a good weekend project.

Cheers Sam

24-03-2008, 12:31 PM
here are a few pics, plan to put on guard and switch for easy operation

24-03-2008, 12:45 PM
sorry bout that there was a delay on my computer, i also use a quick release clip so can undo chain and rope, when at ramp i can pull and slides off, just so the less time in the water the better.

dnej
24-03-2008, 03:51 PM
Skipalong,what ring gear did you use?
David

Bros
24-03-2008, 05:41 PM
Why was your time when you can get plenty of cheap winches on the market. I have never see a good setup with a starter motor granted they work but there are too many exposed moving parts for someone to get their finger or clothes caught up in. OK when there was no alternative but not now.

I got a $99 winch to winch my caravan up a slope into my shed and it works like a dream. If you get one of the cheapies pull it apart and do some work like sparay it with lanotec and do it regularly and it will be all you want. If it groans too much use a pully to reduce the winch load.

25-03-2008, 08:20 AM
dnej hey david used a flex plate off a 21r corona and suited to a subaru starter which is anti clockwise so no modifcation was needed to fit it to the winch it spun the right way when i geared it to the 5:1 ratio and is very quick would be stronger on 10:1 but my boat is 6.4 and 5:1 pulls excellent

bros hey mate i know what you are saying but its fact the what is cheap is cheap and do not last long tried all that and when loaded up just got hot and cooked the motor and i got out of making mine for $120 and im very happy with the result.

cheers justin

timddo
06-04-2008, 05:30 PM
guysk what is a ring gear,

i have use a windscreen wiper to run a spit witha 40kg calf

06-04-2008, 05:41 PM
mate a ring gear on flywheel(manual) or flex plate(auto) is what the starter motor in your car drives to turn over the vehicle

dnej
06-04-2008, 06:31 PM
Do the starter motors still throw out to the ring gear,or are they permanently on the gear.
David

-Beefa-
06-04-2008, 08:09 PM
David,
the starter on mine still throws out.
Regards Beefa

Roobone
19-08-2009, 10:30 AM
We are building a starter motor winch at moment, I know this is an old thread but was interested if anyone has knocked any out lately. We have 1HZ starter on 10:5:1:1 down under winch, looks great, we have used a flex plate instead off flywheel to keep weight down and have flexplate on 5:1 shaft. Don't know how it will go under load, trials in shed give us about an 18 second load time on 5 meteres of strap/cable.. We know others have done this but were unsure of which shaft or ratio the flywheel was mountd to. Any feedback with specifics would be appreciated.

Steeler
19-08-2009, 04:27 PM
There use to be a few years ago a electric winch which was basically a corolla starter motor in a fancy shroud ( cowling ) sold at boat dealers,just can't re-call the brand now.

Tazmaniac
19-08-2009, 07:18 PM
Skipalong,
I made one for my previous boat a few years ago ( V8 Ford starter ). Worked for years and was still working fine when I sold the boat. It was a lot faster and with heaps more grunt than the 912 Powerwinch I put on my current trailer. Mine was belt driven.
Taz.

19-08-2009, 08:29 PM
guys just put mine all together a few months ago and used a 1hz starter motor and flywheel, spun it on the 10:1 ratio for torque, 5:1 looses power and got hot, it pulls my boat 7.5m (2.5t) up a skid trailer no probs and faster than any winch on the makret or that i have ever seen, dont always use it only when i need to pulls in 6m of plasma rope no probs doesnt get hot and load doesnt affect it one bit,;D
a few pics of the winch finished

i have also rigged up a pull cord on a switch that i can work from the back of the trailer when self loading.

i wouldnt ever go a belt drive have had a few bad experiences with them and seem some things that are very dangerous with a broken belt flying at speed

hope this helps

regards justin

frank100
19-08-2009, 09:39 PM
Skipalong,
Great work !

Frank

blue_marlin
19-11-2016, 02:59 PM
hi - looking into this - I know this is an old thread
do you have any pictures available ?

Out-Station
19-11-2016, 08:25 PM
B/M, see link, myself, Roobone (in this old thread) and Bushwacker made 3 of these (all identical) for our 3 rigs 8 years ago, there all still going strong and get used almost every retreve (beach or other). One of the best things we did was put the batery box with solar pannel on the trailer, makes the whole unit indipendant with the trailer. Stuff we used to bulid is in the thread.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php/156075-DIY-Starter-Surf-Winch-amp-Pics?highlight=starter

blue_marlin
21-11-2016, 02:35 PM
Excellent Scott - Many Thanks !

myusernam
21-11-2016, 05:20 PM
did you ever end up putting a cover on or did you end up leaving as is?

Out-Station
21-11-2016, 06:45 PM
I worked on a cover for it but what i came up with never worked, The most dangerous bit is that when you pull the winch rope out it builds momrentum, hence the need to stop the flex plate spinning when you have enough rope out, I use my boot, really needs some type of brake that can be applied, if i had this the cover would work fine. Interstingly one of the reasons (excuses) we built these was we were hand winching a rig furiously onto the trailer out of the gutter up at fraser on a soft beach in some shore dump when the winch handle came adrift of the sprocket and old mate on the winch laid himself out with it!!