View Full Version : Best Season for fishing

chief 1
19-03-2008, 04:42 PM
What do you think is the best fishing season for your favourite fish, personally i like winter,i catch bream and flathead in winter and the queenies are on the hunt in winter,what do you like?

aussiefool
19-03-2008, 04:46 PM
What no all year round???????

chief 1
19-03-2008, 04:48 PM
sorry aussiefool

19-03-2008, 05:14 PM
YEAH, what Aussie said!
No, winter would be my fave, closely followed by autumn.
Excellent surf fishing!

chief 1
19-03-2008, 05:20 PM
yeah,beautiful surf fishing

woodsy76
19-03-2008, 05:37 PM
spring is the best freshwater i think. not to hot not to cold

Cobia Kid
19-03-2008, 05:49 PM
I voted based on best reef season, personally i think the reds & trout and most
reef fish come out in summer, and in the rivers the bara and jacks are on in
summer too
jamie

19-03-2008, 07:25 PM
you know an old wise fisherman once stated,,,,

that no matter how big or small the fish,,,, and no matter what breed the fish may be,,, it only takes for the bugger to find freedom in the fight and it turns out to be 100 times better,,,,

i think that would cover all seasons,,,,,,,,,,,,

a fly fisherman could then argue if fishing was a religion,,, they hold the keys to the pearly gates,,,

for me,,,, any season that see's me as far away from:

work,,

lawnmower,,

1,005 job "to do" list,,

family get togethers,,

church

after all,, why let the petrol in the boat get stale,,,,, at least at todays prices

chief 1
19-03-2008, 07:50 PM
yeah,i guess choppa

BrewGuru
19-03-2008, 07:55 PM
As far as weather patterns Winter is far more stable and so are the snapper :)

Maggot1
19-03-2008, 08:12 PM
Winter by far. Better wheather . More snapper in the bay and offshore.! Bar is not as angry . Bring on the glassy wheather.!

Tassie JR
19-03-2008, 08:52 PM
Winter for sure because the weather is always so much betta and the snapper are out and about and this years summer has been crap with hardly any makeral about and the weather has been terrible.

cheers tassie JR

19-03-2008, 09:13 PM
I voted winter, not necessarily because of the fishing, up its just gets so hot up here every other time of the year. but i do think that the fish i do catch and eat during the winter taste better, might just be me, but I think the colder the water, the better they taste.

Cammy
19-03-2008, 10:31 PM
i went for spring as its a mix of both my fav species

Cammo

fleety77
20-03-2008, 11:38 AM
winter for all the above reasons........;)

20-03-2008, 02:02 PM
Yeah, winter for me too, too bloody windy and unstable in Summer :(

Xahn1960
20-03-2008, 02:17 PM
Winter without a doubt, fishing is so much easier without the wet season storms and floods.

Bill.

20-03-2008, 08:57 PM
Winter = better weather and bigger Snapps
Summer = Bay pelagics and no frozen bits
Autumn = BIG offshore pelagics & start of the Winter run
Spring = big lizards, Cobes and a bit of everything

I'm happy to fish them all.

stickbender
21-03-2008, 02:57 PM
Any time that i am not at work

kingtin
21-03-2008, 03:38 PM
[quote=Horse;786890]

Summer = Bay pelagics and no frozen bits

/quote]

Frozen bits is right. It amazes me how this Pom, who used to go mountain climbing in the snow at -7, now finds a Queensland winter a bit of a struggle :o

That said, winter for me too, as it's just nice to get further out and the winter glass facilitates that..............keeps others off my beloved Crusoe too ;-) Oh! Those morning mists help you brush up on your navigation skills as well http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/23/23_20_43.gif (http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb001_ZNfox000)

http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/7/7_6_8.gif (http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb001_ZNfox000)

brooker1
21-03-2008, 05:08 PM
Winter for the snapper...Autum for the Tailor and Travelly.
Brooker1's Girl.

Rosie M
21-03-2008, 06:08 PM
Hi veryone,
All year round is good fishing, I love the cooler months, not for the fish only the comfort.
Rosie.:D

Rosie M
21-03-2008, 06:11 PM
:o OOPS!!!! I can't spell! Sorry I meant everyone::)

chief 1
21-03-2008, 06:24 PM
no worris,i can't spel either

trueblue
21-03-2008, 10:06 PM
when the wind aint blowing...

seamaid
24-03-2008, 07:30 AM
:D Hi,
Prefer the winter bugger those storms that sneak up on late in the afternoon in the summer monthsH
Having down graded to a smaller boat i can venture further & more often in the autuum & winter months.
Cheers Ged

24-03-2008, 07:37 AM
Summer - flow makes it go

the_real_rumbo
27-03-2008, 08:01 PM
would have to be winter for me =big bream season

PNG1M
29-03-2008, 04:47 AM
Best season??
I guess it depends on where you are based and what species you're after.

A while ago I lived on the NSW central coast for 6 years, around the Budgewoi area. Beach fishing for tailor & Aussie salmon and the occasional jewie was my favourite - tailor was my specialty. And I also went after Blackfish off Norah Head.

I found AUTUMN to be the absolute Number 1 season without a doubt for the type of fishing I did. By the time winter came and my feet were feeling 6pm frostbite in the sand, I'd be wishing my life away for the following autumn - and spending a fortune up-dating my gear in the meantime.

Summer flatties (and the Norah Head rock platform) helped to pass the time...

I found Autumn to be the optimum season up and down the coast for beach fishing between The Entrance and Tweed Heads (Spring was the worst).

Nothing could beat a warm, balmy Autumn evening around Easter time, on the beach with a full moon rising and a couple of choice pillies ganged up and waiting in a nice deep hole or gutter; a rising tide & a slight swell....ooh, for the old days!

Speaking of newer days and different circumstances, now I find that WINTER is best for my barra & black bass fishing mode, as the conditions in the SUKI area of PNG (off the lower Fly River) are at a premium between June to August.

Mate, I just can't wait to get there in late July..!! (wishing my life away again..)
The beach'll have to wait for Ron - later' ron, that is.

gumb01
01-04-2008, 07:34 PM
Summer is the go in Qld, Barra and Jacks in the estuary's, and when the chance presents itself, Spanish macks and reefies out the front. There's really nothing wrong with fishing all year round in my area. Love it.

BARRAkid
09-04-2008, 10:48 AM
summer for sure i love barra fishing around hervey bay and also big goldys,gt,trout, and the list goes on

cheers BK

fish-n-dive
09-04-2008, 04:58 PM
I didn't vote cause it really depends on where you are and what your fishing for!! 8-)

Breambuster33
09-04-2008, 05:21 PM
anything but winter
to cold:P

whiting-wizard
14-04-2008, 02:13 PM
yeah i agree with breambuster

fish2death
14-04-2008, 02:44 PM
Winter for sure, the surf fishing is at its best, when you wake up on the beach and the frost is on your swag, the green ginger bottle is empty, and all your gear smells of jew and the esky is full of good Tailor, Im in heven!!!!!!

Breambuster33
14-04-2008, 02:46 PM
i spose winter is best for fishing but i do prefer summer better weather

whiting-wizard
17-04-2008, 01:02 PM
judging with all the other people i spose winter but id perfer summer nice and hot;D

gaintsquid
19-04-2008, 06:11 PM
Summer for sure! stacks more bream and cod along the rockwalls in the brissy river. Stacks better for surface fishing. And bullies! and heaps more jacks.

Oh and longer warmer days! more time to fish after school ;)

20-04-2008, 06:44 AM
certailnly not at the moment