PDA

View Full Version : Need help to buy a small boat

alvinlsj
16-03-2008, 07:09 PM
Hi all,

Before you read on, please bear in mind that I am totally new to boating!! :)

Ok, here is my story...
I am a looking to buy a small boat to go fishing around the river.
- The boat have to carry 2-4 adults.
- I don't have a boat license, so I am restricted to 6hp or below motor (if I am not wrong)

Dinghy or inflatable with a 6hp motor or electronic motor is currently in my mind.
What do you think?

Questions:
1. Is 6hp motor or electronic motor powerful enough to carry 4 adults?
2. What is the min. recommended boat size for 4 adults?
3. What kind of boat motor should I go for? Is electronic one good enough? What is the preferred brand?
4. Should I go for a dinghy or inflatable?
5. If I go for inflatable, should I consider getting a boat trailer? How long does it take to prepare an inflatable?
6. What is price range should I be looking at (lets say if I buy everything brand new) Boat + motor/outboard + trailer?

Thanks in advance for your comments and suggestions.

reelchippy
16-03-2008, 07:39 PM
Here we go

No 30hp min
4.2m
No petrol
Tinne
Boat trailer
$7,500.00Cheers

BrewGuru
16-03-2008, 07:39 PM
6 Hp is good probably up to 12' alloy dinghy, if yo are fishing 3 is more than enough, when you start thinking about fishing gear, eskies etc.
Inflatables IMHO are great but severely effected by wind especially if you have to resort to rowing. Pricewise alloy is cheaper than inflatable.
As far as motor it depends if you are fishing dams or rivers and creeks and if the latter you have to go petrol, more grunt for your dollar, because even the rivers can get a bit rough in a blow and you're not relying on battery power to get you home, bad senario would be an inflatable with an electric motor in a storm, you would get nowhere fast.
I recently purchased a new Suzuki 6hp 4 stroke engine a 3.5 Stacer mtr alloy and a redco trailer to suit for just below $5000.