View Full Version : How do you remove stubborn stickers from perspex windscreens

Jabba_
15-03-2008, 07:28 AM
I have an old NSW rego sticker that I am having a real tough time trying to remove.... It will not peal off as it has deterioated quiet bad, and a razor is out of the question,(dont want to scratc the screen)... Is there any advice or a product I can use that will soften the lable to make it easier to remover...

Cleaners I have tried.
Plexus
mistersheen
citurs cleaner
windex....

on-one
15-03-2008, 07:40 AM
have you tried a hairdryer?

Roughasguts
15-03-2008, 07:41 AM
Hot hair dryer, try that to soften the glue up.

garman1
15-03-2008, 07:41 AM
Gum tree oil, didn't want to try the proper spelling for it. Rub the oil on the sticker, then cover with cling wrap for a while...... at least a couple of coldies...... then try to remove the sticker. If it doesn't work, at least you had a good excuse to have a couple of cold ones. Only heard about this method???

We work for 5 days to enjoy 2 with the kids and fishing.

Gaz

leezor
15-03-2008, 07:59 AM
Jabba, as Gaz said mate try using Eucalyptus oil.

aussiefool
15-03-2008, 08:06 AM
If you ndo not want to use Eucalyptus oil, just wet plastic wrap with water place over sticker and wait 15-20 mins, and peel off

Roughasguts
15-03-2008, 08:11 AM
If you ndo not want to use Eucalyptus oil, just wet plastic wrap with water place over sticker and wait 15-20 mins, and peel off

I have heard of this one to remove un wanted window tinting. But I think a small amount of detergent goes in the water aswell.

Jabba_
15-03-2008, 10:26 AM
Thanks heaps.....

I'm going to try Gaz's advice first. Only because i have to drink beer during the process.,, and that realy appeals to me..... mmmmm beeeeeeeer

15-03-2008, 11:45 AM
Chase up one of the citrus based sticker remover products from Super Cheap or wherever.

Wahoo
15-03-2008, 07:51 PM
Jabba, if all fails, just carefully use a 4" grinder;D (kidding mate)

how did you go with it today? all done

Deepdiver
15-03-2008, 08:15 PM
Jabba i think you would be able to use metho on it without damage but please someone correct me if im wrong...I think paint thinners would be a big no no.

MarkDiver
15-03-2008, 08:30 PM
Metho worked for me too..

Roughasguts
15-03-2008, 08:43 PM
Ummm no paint thinners on plastic, it will melt it or at least make the plastic cloudy.

Jabba_
15-03-2008, 08:50 PM
Jabba, if all fails, just carefully use a 4" grinder;D (kidding mate)

how did you go with it today? all done

Got it off. But I used some spray on canola oil and glad wrap.... Worked very well

Thanks again for everyone advice....

Jabba_
15-03-2008, 08:53 PM
Opp's
Double post