View Full Version : What is it worth pt2

aussiefool
12-03-2008, 08:17 AM
Found this one aswell , how much would you pay for it?

79 model easy rider 5.1 meter (17ft) fibreglass . This boat is in good condition motor all new gaskets overhauled , new thermostats, been in shop compression 120psi per cylinder. Starter motor rebuilt. Boat has 80 lt fuel tank 20lt reserve new battery steering cable seats been wooden re backed

has cd player matrix ten gps ready fish finder with new transducer full covers some need slight attention. Full safety equipment for adults and children.
Booker trailer in good condition. Boat registered till 7th month trailer expired but can get if required.Any inquires do not hesitate to contact

http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gif http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gif http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gif Select a picture
http://i22.ebayimg.com/02/i/000/de/8a/5e7c_1.JPG
http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gif
http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gif http://i8.ebayimg.com/01/i/000/de/8a/5eb1_0.JPG (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320224135187&indexURL=1#ebayphotohosting) http://i16.ebayimg.com/04/i/000/de/8a/5ef8_0.JPG (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320224135187&indexURL=2#ebayphotohosting) http://i5.ebayimg.com/03/i/000/de/8a/5f46_0.JPG (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320224135187&indexURL=3#ebayphotohosting) http://i8.ebayimg.com/07/i/000/de/8a/5fb8_0.JPG (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320224135187&indexURL=5#ebayphotohosting) http://i18.ebayimg.com/08/i/000/de/8a/5fef_0.JPG (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320224135187&indexURL=6#ebayphotohosting) http://i3.ebayimg.com/06/i/000/de/8a/6026_0.JPG (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320224135187&indexURL=7#ebayphotohosting) http://i23.ebayimg.com/07/i/000/de/8a/605b_0.JPG (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320224135187&indexURL=8#ebayphotohosting) http://i24.ebayimg.com/03/i/000/de/8a/6099_0.JPG (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320224135187&indexURL=9#ebayphotohosting) http://i24.ebayimg.com/07/i/000/de/8a/60fe_0.JPG (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320224135187&indexURL=10#ebayphotohosting) http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gif

BGG
12-03-2008, 08:40 AM
Personally I'd go for the Easy Rider 166 over the Stejcraft but you need to factor in the age of the donks on both. They both have a fair bit of age on them so work out what it's going to cost you to repower in the event of a major failure.

It may be more prudent to buy something with a late model donk or look for a smaller boat that's near new or new.

12-03-2008, 09:52 AM
I am still of the opinion that to buy a second hand Boat (especially if you are new to Boating) is to head off to a dealer and get some advice, some warranty and some peace of mind! ebay is a great place to buy something you cannot look at or test drive! anyone can tell you it has been rebuilt, has new gaskets and has 120PSi compression, or whatever but, unless it has written receipts from a REPUTABLE repairer, then it is not worth a squirt!

12-03-2008, 10:11 AM
100% agree with Noelm
My poor old dad gave me his little fishing tinny as a parting gesture, and despite the "she's all good mate" assureance, the motor turned out to be on its last legs and cost me $300 to get it back to the point where it would go, but with limited lifespan, according to the mechanic.
I forked out coz the boat didn't cost me, but if it had cost me I would have been quite pissed off I reckons.

Only thing I could suggest is contact these doodles and put it to them, would you allow me to have it thoroughly looked over if I was the winning bidder, before I part with my cash ? if they say no, don't bid, keep looking

12-03-2008, 10:43 AM
It's the sort of boat I would happily buy as an all rounder, it's very well powered and will make a fine bay boat with offshore capability when the urge hit's.

Just read a couple of Qs asked of the seller and I think it will sell for more than it's worth and even or for what it's worth outside of ebay which I am afraid will not take into account the risk involved with such a fine but old engine, a dealer warranty and the huge premium you will pay just to get one wouldn't work either IMO.

That boat with a 200? engine - all would be good. But with that engine and unless able to diagnose, source parts and fix 90% of the problems yourself that may present it's only worth the hull and trailer (if both are in VGC)

Then again the entire package may give near perfect service for the next 10years. Most outboards are killed by their owners not many recreational outboards die natural deaths.

$3500 sounds like a worthy risk to me if the hull and trailer is all good.

JB
12-03-2008, 10:47 AM
looks like a heap of sh#@t to me, buying from ebay is asking for trouble too. Save your pennies and get a better rig or even just get a 4.2m tinny with a 40hp.. much less trouble than u'll get with that thing.

sharkymark2
12-03-2008, 11:12 AM
I have checked out quite a few on ebay. Most were a piece of garbage one wasnt but went for a small fortune. I ended up finding one through another ebay like site and negotiated directly with the guy after I inspected it. You might be able to do this if it doesnt sell off ebay. I bought it and sold off the 87 model 50 hp evinrude with worn out tilt for $600. Then used that to buy a new 60 hp 4 stroke yammie. So I have a fairly good boat that might not look exactly like a new one but has all the reliability of a new one because of the motor.
After looking back I could have just bought a 50 hp 2 stroke and done the job. but At some stage I might upgrade the boat and keep the motor. After looking at Ebay I realize that I could sell my boat without motor and still make a profit.... pretty sad hey ;).

12-03-2008, 01:18 PM
just as a side note, that old Easy Rider would be one hell of a speed demon, when you consider that way back when they where new, a lot were fitted with 55's and 70's a V6 150 would see you getting out of the hole if quick time, but it would be a very heavy Motor for that older style Boat, I had one of those for a while way way back!

DR
12-03-2008, 01:28 PM
Aussie, just a thought, the boat is in Brisbane, find out where & maybe someone you trust from this site lives nearby & could do an inspection for you. If seller won't allow an inspection i would look elsewhere..

the gecko
12-03-2008, 03:42 PM
Id say its worth 4-5,000...Id be happy to buy from ebay, as I bought my car from there for 10k. I will either go and check it out in person, or I will buy at a price thats low enough to allow for what may go wrong.

Just keep making low offers until you find someone who accepts. On ebay, they often do seem accept low figures.

ANdrew

12-03-2008, 05:57 PM
They both have a fair bit of age on them so work out what it's going to cost you to repower in the event of a major failure.

It may be more prudent to buy something with a late model donk or look for a smaller boat that's near new or new.

It's one of those risky situations.
It looks like a good fishing boat and it certainly would fly with the 150.....however it may go fine for years with no problem but lets face it..if you have a problem with a 25-30 year old motor then it may be uneconomical to keep throwing money at a motor that holds very little residual value...
the upside is that if it becomes necessary to repower at some stage, even late model 2 strokes can be picked up pretty cheaply these days as many are repowering with DI 2 strokes and 4 strokes.
It certainly would be a step up from Aussiefool 2 though,wouldn't ithttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif.

mik01
12-03-2008, 11:05 PM
i'd be worried about the weight on the transom with that outboard. could be wrong but 150 is pretty big on a boat that size. mine is a 5.2m with a 115 and it gets up and goes no worries ande personally I think its about perfect.

IF the transom and stringers are sound, then this boat would sell for over $7k any old day. IF sound, then anywhere up to 5 or 6 would be good. bearing in mind you would expect to pay some money to reco the outboard or replace with a newer engine.

I personally would look for a better package...

good luck

polky
12-03-2008, 11:55 PM
Aussie my thoughts are boat is way over powered,it,s not cheap to fix canopy,c/test is only one part of motor test,it,s bearings rods and all other moving parts to think about. That girl is quite a few years old I,d be worried about wood rot. Matey most times out of buying 2nd hand one will need a lot of work, boat ,motor or trailer. I purchased VC from marine dealer 2nd hand told every thing good, within 2yrs I spent 8000 replacing trans,floor paint job. So if your even a bit hesitiant walk away,keep searching your girl will appear Polky

aussiefool
13-03-2008, 02:31 AM
Thanks everyone who has replied.
Even though I have had a "outside" boat before it has been quite a few years since owing one and had no real idea of the current market price.
Both boats finish today (Thurs) and if time and work permits I was going to go and have a look at both on Saturday. As for the motor my concerns were also the weight sitting the transom as I knew that it would be only a matter of time till I re powered as this boat and the other one are both starting to show there age, and as Polky said a c/test is only part of the motor test.

At 30 y.o. the hull just has to have some rot. and while sitting here reading all replys has convinced me to keep looking. Going to go to the bank today or tomorrow just to see how much they will let me get into debt and go from there

Thanks again everyone
Aussiefool

13-03-2008, 07:04 AM
After having just gone through the process of purchasing a new boat there was a point raised with me which made some sense. In the not too distant future the government will be focussing heavily on less emissions from outboards and will be targeting the older 2 stroke carburetted motors which will not meet the requirements. When this goes ahead boats like this will have little or no resale value. So if you own one what do you do? Get rid of the old motor regardless of what condition it is in and buy a new one? Do you take the boat to a dealer and get nothing as a trade on a new boat? Personally I think now would be a good time to do something about upgrading to either a 4 stroke or a fuel injected newer 2 stroke before the older generation motors become banned and worth nothing and I certainly would not be buying an older boat that will possibly become a white elephant in the back yard. Food for thought.

13-03-2008, 07:24 AM
all the signs point to a scenario were they will not actually ban anyone from having an old "dirty" Motor, but it will come to a point where they MAY be restricted on some inland Waterways, and then perhaps in the future, they will no longer be Manufactured, then in the distant future as they slowly die and corrode to bits, they will slowly just vanish from the water altogether, but of course some will remain as collecter pieces and be run (perhaps) at demo days and so on, this seems to be the way the US Market is heading, to say they will be just banned is not quite right!

griz066
13-03-2008, 07:48 AM
looks like a heap of sh#@t to me, buying from ebay is asking for trouble too. Save your pennies and get a better rig or even just get a 4.2m tinny with a 40hp.. much less trouble than u'll get with that thing.

Dont condem all ebay sales, sounds like bad blood from a previous experience, if u buy of ebay be content to get what u get. That boat looks like a bloody ripper to me although it will probably not sell on ebay as i suspect the reserve will be around 8k and it is easily worth that.

DR
13-03-2008, 08:21 AM
having looked again at the pics.. my only reservation would be that they could not be bothered to clean the leaves out of it to take the pics they have used. AS tidy as it looks, to me this says something about the care they may have taken of the boat..:-/ presentation means a lot .