View Full Version : Fishing Elitism

27-02-2008, 07:38 PM
Hi All ..... After participating in the current Alvey thread ::) I came to thinking about our passtime / sport ...... & I'm now more than convinced that there is a considerable amount of elitism / class-ism within fishing:huh:

Examples
Do estuary lure fishoes look down on bait fishoes
or
Pelagic trollers look down on bottom bashers ( specially those that use alveys;) )
I've even heard Trout dry fly purists turn their nose up at Nymphers ....... & trout lure casters ( forget it) ....... trout bait fishoes ( you might as well use dynamite)

Do boaties look down on Rock fishoes ?

Impoundment barra trollers Vs casters

Do traditional blackfishoes (centrepin reels) .....look down on others

Etec owners:-/ :-/ :-/

Do tag & release anglers turn their noses up at the catch & fillet brigade

Are impoundment barra anglers inferior to wild barra fishoes ( not including the inferior live baiters;) )

Do techno tackle junkies turn their noses up at handliners ?????

Do shimano owners see themselves better than everyone else

Are dropliners/longliners beyond contempt ? :cry:

We all know that Hornets are better than any other bass boat:oops:

I'm sure that there are a bucket load of other examples
So join in & let us know your thoughts!
just keep in mind that its meant to be a little bit of fun :beer:

Cheers & enjoy

Nagg

PS ..... While I dont feel that I look down at any given style ( bar one) ..... I do look up to people that use artificials rather than bait ! ..... with the exception of blackfish purists:scholar:

27-02-2008, 07:46 PM
I look down my nose at anyone who doesn't fish, get on the water or get out and enjoy nature, national parks etc, you poor cafe slobs;D

mike

fivefishes
27-02-2008, 08:05 PM
Nagg,

Of course there is. Lure fishos look down on bait fishos all the time, especially in specialist fisheries, try soaking a livey in Tinaroo or Awonga Dam, it's only half a Barra if it's caught on bait, according to some. Same on some local inshore marks up Cairns way, don't admit you caught your GT or Cobia on bait cause if you didn't jig it up with a $1000 Stella or Saltiga it doesn't count, don't get me wrong, great gear wish i had some but it isn't the only way. Big fish, light gear always a challenge and always deserved, i don't care if you caught it on a sausage still fights the same, still a challenge.
Same with boats if it doesn't have a casting deck, rod lockers, a bow mounted electric and a live well it's just a TINNY. What a load of crap, i've seen guys trying to fish close offshore in Bass/Barra punt style boats cause they think that's what they should be driving, totally useless in any swell but at least they look the part.

Jimbo73
27-02-2008, 08:19 PM
I look down on guys who think their better fishermen just because they have the latest most expensive reels on the market who let their reel do all the hard work and not their ability. Why is some one who uses bait,less expensive gear or an Alvey not as good a fishermen as some one with top shelf gear. I know i still catch quality fish and plenty of em with the gear i use on lures and bait and i didnt have to work my ass off for forty years or save for months to buy them. JUst look at the title for ya thread ,get off ya high horse Nagg, you think your elite just because of the tackle you own. Now call me what you want and say what you want cause it doesnt bother me.

27-02-2008, 08:29 PM
I reckon the elite fishos are the ones who get out there and fish with the $20 combo from cash lovers (or whaterever the pawn shop is) and catch fish with lures, live bait whatever. The ones who just catch fish cause they love catching fish, not becuase they look better for owning a 1000 rod etc. These are the ones that usually catch the most fish too.

By far the worst tossers are fly fishers, most think they are above the rest, but most cant even cast let alone catch a decent amount of fish.

27-02-2008, 08:31 PM
By the way, I think most ppl here are probably the real variety of fisho's.

Jimbo73
27-02-2008, 08:48 PM
Sorry i must add i really dont care what anyone spends on tackle as if i really wanted top shelf stuff i could go buy it aswell. I just dont like guys thinking their better fishermen just because of a reel or rod they own. i consider a good fishermen to be somewho who consistently catches good fish and ive seen a few on here. No matter what gear,bait, lure whatever they use.

27-02-2008, 08:50 PM
I look down on guys who think their better fishermen just because they have the latest most expensive reels on the market who let their reel do all the hard work and not their ability. Why is some one who uses bait,less expensive gear or an Alvey not as good a fishermen as some one with top shelf gear. I know i still catch quality fish and plenty of em with the gear i use on lures and bait and i didnt have to work my ass off for forty years or save for months to buy them. JUst look at the title for ya thread ,get off ya high horse Nagg, you think your elite just because of the tackle you own. Now call me what you want and say what you want cause it doesnt bother me.

Very good wizard ...... now what are you trying to tell me ? ......
I'm looking at the title of the thread ..... And!
All I can see is a reverse prejudice ..... where you dislike people that are willing to spend money on their sport! ....... Is this is your version of Elitism ( or just Tall poppy syndrome ?) .........
Nagg

27-02-2008, 09:02 PM
one to add::::::

why does a landbased fisho try and cast as far out into the water,,,,opposed to a boatie who casts as far into the shore?????????

i'm probably guilty of both,,, and if your unsure of the above,,, sit back and observe both styles of fisho's,,, its true

my old man taught me to fish my feet,,,, but i still place a line in a spot where i ""think"" the bigger buggers are hiding,,,, wayyyyyyyy over there

27-02-2008, 09:14 PM
By far the worst tossers are fly fishers, most think they are above the rest, but most cant even cast let alone catch a decent amount of fish.

This reads like a reply from someone that has never fly fished .... specially for river trout!.
Hell in my opinion it is the ultimate form of fishing ..... which involves the STALKing with absolute stealth , fly selection & then the presentation ......... & hopefully a hookup !
....... Then you have to fight a fish in often fast flowing water with a long light weight rod & 4lb tippet ............ it doesn't get much more difficult , and there is a lot less reliance on technology ...... where skill & knowledge rules.
Put all this in an environment that is quite often wilderness mountain country .... & you dont need to catch heaps ( some of the best trips involve catching just one fish!) ....... it would be comparable to deer hunting with a bow & arrow
PS ....... I've met more than a few top blokes on weekends away down the snowy mountains ( I have also met the tossers too)

Anyhow .... I would always give a plug to fly fishing ...... It is an eye opener

Nagg

27-02-2008, 09:24 PM
I think mostly it is each persons' obsession with the current preferred method of angling that creates this derision. each and every different form of fishing has its own benefits over the next but none are suitable to all forms of fishing. Once someone gets bitten by a technique that interests them they become single minded and most do look down thier noses at some primitive way of acheiving the same goal.

At the moment I have 4 "techniques" that are making my blood run, yet most people wouldnt waste thier time with them. I'm not worried if ppl think im nuts or whatever, it is just something that i want to experience and master in each of the four techniques.

Jimbo73
27-02-2008, 09:26 PM
Sorry i must add i really dont care what anyone spends on tackle as if i really wanted top shelf stuff i could go buy it aswell. I just dont like guys thinking their better fishermen just because of a reel or rod they own. i consider a good fishermen to be somewho who consistently catches good fish and ive seen a few on here. No matter what gear,bait, lure whatever they use.Nagg maybe you missed this as i stated i dont care how much people spend on their outfit. I base a good angler on consistent good catches. You seem to imply in your posts that guys with less tech or cheaper gear or use bait arent possible to catch decent fish and that just because some of you own a more technical reel you are a better fishermen. There is no mention about ability or experience its all about the gear you own. And i got the impression you were referring to yourself with the title of your thread cause there is quite a few of these ::) or ;) in your thread when you refer to Alvey users and bait fisho's.

27-02-2008, 09:29 PM
I look down my nose at anyone who doesn't fish, get on the water or get out and enjoy nature, national parks etc, you poor cafe slobs;D

mike

Mike, the QLD Labor Goverment & EPA should take your advice ;D

A bloke/lady that wets a line is no different to the bloke/lady next to them IMHO :)

27-02-2008, 09:37 PM
Nagg your making it all sound like hard work, its called recreational fishing, ;D wheres your alvey.. its an eye opener;D

Damo spot on

mike

27-02-2008, 10:16 PM
I would be the world's worst fisherman..and I don't care..can afford virtually any tackle if I wanted to..what I treasure is the time out on the water with family and friends..relaxing..the fish are just a bonus...ok, I will be elite cos we always have a few bottles of wine on board to go with the prawns and salad for lunch.

Jeremy87
27-02-2008, 10:38 PM
I look up to anyone who excels in there particular field of fishing. I look down on anyone who is so narrow minded to think that their particular form of fishing is the "best". I have prefered methods and practices but if the fish are bitting on another technique then i'll swap over. Elitism is not always a bad thing. It's easy to tag someone who is into pricey practices as an elitist, because in many ways they are, always looking for the latest and greatest or something that will give them the edge. But similarly someone can also be elite at using a handline from a jetty through pure skill.

If your after a rush then i can't recommend bowhunting highly enough. I only started last winter but i can tell you you are never as alive as when your putting a stalk in on an animal. Moveing when it moves, getting so close to it you can smell it and finally making the kill. And even in archery there are different groups. The target archers think hunters are Neanderthals, (the hunters doen't care because they no they are and doen't give a shit). The recurve shooters dissaprove of compounds because they are too accurate and then pretend that recurves are still better. And then you have the purist hunter who shoots a trad bow with wooden shafts and feather fletches. Each to his own, i shoot target aswell but not competitavely (not enough time, bows too powerful for comp regs etc etc) and enjoy all aspects of it. Deer are the ultimate challenge, I had a rusa doe completley matrix an arrow from 30metres last winter that was spat out of my bow at just under 300fps, now thats a challenge if i've ever seen it.

27-02-2008, 10:38 PM
Nagg maybe you missed this as i stated i dont care how much people spend on their outfit. I base a good angler on consistent good catches. You seem to imply in your posts that guys with less tech or cheaper gear or use bait arent possible to catch decent fish and that just because some of you own a more technical reel you are a better fishermen. There is no mention about ability or experience its all about the gear you own. And i got the impression you were referring to yourself with the title of your thread cause there is quite a few of these ::) or ;) in your thread when you refer to Alvey users and bait fisho's.

Wizard The::) or ;) are in relation to other recent threads that I've expressed an opinion on ..... or have been topical ( alveys , Etecs , drop lining ..... Hornets of which many know I own one ,,,etc) ...... Sorry but you are off the mark on this one
The list is just predominately examples .... of what I have heard over the years

Now just to clarify a few things as you have jumped to some conclusions!
Importantly ...... I dont look down on anyone's gear or on the person because of the gear they use ! ...... I fish with people that use some very basic or old gear (they are mates) ....... I occasionally fish the stones & I drag out a 650 star drag alvey to fish the wash for pigs (rock blackfish) or a old ABU7000 to fish for snapper ( both with bait)
With regard to baitfishers ...... I said nothing ..... But I did say that I admire people that fish with artificials ( I see it as more difficult ..... & a skill level that impresses me) Hell ... last weekend I fished jetties with lures for bream (left the Hornet at home) ...... & then changed to soldier crabs when conditions didn't suit lures! - - - - Come May .... i'll be fishing for Yellowfin at Bermagui ( cubing & live baiting) ....... note what I said about blackfish purists ...... I love watching them fish with their avon royals , long rods , perfectly weighted floats & weed for bait 8-)
At what point did I denegrate anyone that does not use high tech gear! Yes I do & will always try to buy the best gear I can ( I'm like that with most things in life ..... I'll rather go without ... till I can afford what I really want!)

Now .... Ability! I can fish ! (ANSA sportfishing masters) ....... ........ More importantly I've fished for many different species using many techniques & styles ( from trout on fly through to Marlin/sailfish on lures/switchbaiting ...... snapper off the rocks to LBG to jigging for Kings etc etc) Now I predominately fish for bream , bass & barra on lures and trout on fly ....... I'll also do a Game fishing trip or two!
Maybe that will clear things up a little .......
Nagg

27-02-2008, 10:43 PM
I would be the world's worst fisherman..and I don't care..can afford virtually any tackle if I wanted to..what I treasure is the time out on the water with family and friends..relaxing..the fish are just a bonus...ok, I will be elite cos we always have a few bottles of wine on board to go with the prawns and salad for lunch.

& life will be good!

snelly1971
27-02-2008, 11:01 PM
Wizard The::) or ;) are in relation to other recent threads that I've expressed an opinion on ..... or have been topical ( alveys , Etecs , drop lining ..... Hornets of which many know I own one ,,,etc) ...... Sorry but you are off the mark on this one
The list is just predominately examples .... of what I have heard over the years

Now just to clarify a few things as you have jumped to some conclusions!
Importantly ...... I dont look down on anyone's gear or on the person because of the gear they use ! ...... I fish with people that use some very basic or old gear (they are mates) ....... I occasionally fish the stones & I drag out a 650 star drag alvey to fish the wash for pigs (rock blackfish) or a old ABU7000 to fish for snapper ( both with bait)
With regard to baitfishers ...... I said nothing ..... But I did say that I admire people that fish with artificials ( I see it as more difficult ..... & a skill level that impresses me) Hell ... last weekend I fished jetties with lures for bream (left the Hornet at home) ...... & then changed to soldier crabs when conditions didn't suit lures! - - - - Come May .... i'll be fishing for Yellowfin at Bermagui ( cubing & live baiting) ....... note what I said about blackfish purists ...... I love watching them fish with their avon royals , long rods , perfectly weighted floats & weed for bait 8-)
At what point did I denegrate anyone that does not use high tech gear! Yes I do & will always try to buy the best gear I can ( I'm like that with most things in life ..... I'll rather go without ... till I can afford what I really want!)

Now .... Ability! I can fish ! (ANSA sportfishing masters ....... basically 10 different species caught that weighed equal to or greater than the breaking strain of the line .... ie 1kg bream on 1kg line) ........ More importantly I've fished for many different species using many techniques & styles ( from trout on fly through to Marlin/sailfish on lures/switchbaiting ...... snapper off the rocks to LBG to jigging for Kings etc etc) Now I predominately fish for bream , bass & barra on lures and trout on fly ....... I'll also do a Game fishing trip or two!
Maybe that will clear things up a little .......
Nagg

I couldnt give a stuff what other rec fisherman do or catch, everyone to there own i say, There is no way that i would ever be interested in fly fishing but, each to there own...What does get my attention, is ..... from other rec anglers is critisism when it is not warranted or they are just too stupid to see the real facts......

I love bottom bashing, trolling, and my Favourite....yep...Drop Lining.....Maybe not a sport to some, but it does require great skill and patience....

MY-TopEnder
27-02-2008, 11:13 PM
Some very good points made in this thread so far, but probably the best one so far was Gregs comment. It doesn't matter if you're a tournament angler who's crap is sponsored or a 14yo kid with a $20 department store combo... its about being out on the water enjoying yourself, having fun with family and friends and if the fish hit the decks then added bonus.

I myself am guilty of giving into the hype surrounding bream fishing and the must have G.Loomis rods and high end Daiwa reels... and I'll rush out to buy the new lure thats taken the market by storm. Cmon, how many people will own up to buying a Rebel Pop R and throwing it at whiting because a DVD told you it could be done?

I'll admit, i'm a sucker for marketing... heck its half of what I do for a living is marketing.

When I recently made the decision it was time to buy another boat, I looked at the big flashy glass things with casting decks and so on, but you know what won out in the end for sheer enjoyment, functionality and ease of maintenance... an old open tinny.

Sure I've got a tackle box with more moneys worth of soft plastics and hard bodys than i care to think about, and for some stupid reason i spent $600 on a rod. It will get used for sure... i bought it for the purpose of fishing, and thats what i'll do... but at no point do I think any of it will make me a better fisherman.
Come this winter, i'll be using the expensive graphite rods and whiz bang reels but that'll all be while i have a baitholder hook on some mono rolled up round an Alvey reel... with some chook gut or a raw prawn soaking out the back because it bloody works.

In terms of my respect for other fisho's... I respect anyone who is willing to get out there and enjoy themselves... be it catching Marlin from a 40ft blackwatch or whiting from the bank. As a general rule, all fisho's are equal in the sence that we share a common goal. Enjoyment, Quality time with friends and family, Making use of the wonderful country we live in (albeit that the EPA want to prevent that) and possibly bringing home a feed of fresh seafood for the family. (EPA also seem to want to prevent that too).

Why don't we harness this emotion we all have for proving your worth as fishermen and channel it into a worthwile cause? Forget the bickering at each other about what gear is better, and focus more on WHY you fish. You do it because you love it. The guy standing next to you with $1000 worth of gear spends $980 more than you not because it makes him feel better, but because he loves fishing and that is his way of showing it. If we don't start showing some emotion about how much we love to use Moreton Bay, it may just be too late.

Submissions to the state government close on the 7th of March, so stop the petty bullsh*t arguing and put that emotion into a submission to save what makes us all equal... enjoying a day on the water with our families wetting a line.

Sorry to harp on a bit there about the bay guys but SOMETHING needs to be done.

27-02-2008, 11:54 PM
How about fish eating elitism:) Currently sitting here with my late night snack of 2 sandwiches, each with a near inch thick slab of coral trout, bit too much butter and some pepper:)

28-02-2008, 12:10 AM
How about fish eating elitism:) Currently sitting here with my late night snack of 2 sandwiches, each with a near inch thick slab of coral trout, bit too much butter and some pepper:)

Would that be like Coral trout Vs Flathead or Smoked Salmon;)

Nagg

aussiefool
28-02-2008, 03:05 AM
For me elitism is something we give to others. I'm personally at a place in life that I don't care what an other person thinks, uses or the type of fishing he/she dose.
I love most type of fishing from rock hopping to fishing outside in a boat. I have never fly fished nor do I personally want to.Yet I can understand and respect those that spend all day wading just to sight and cast to one fish. Same with fishing the Tweed river, I sold my little boat because I personally got no enjoyment out of fishing the river yet good on the blokes that do... (lot of good reports come from "Breamnut"and others)The only blokes that get up my nose are the ones that ask me for advice and the say that is a waist of time. Oh well too bad for them as I will give anyone who asks any tips that work for me weather not not they want to use it, it's up to them but don't rubbish me if it doesn't work
Aussiefool

kingtin
28-02-2008, 08:47 AM
Anyone who thinks a mixed grill consists of lamb chops, steak, bacon, sausage, mushrooms. and other chunks of meat is a tosser. Those in the know, such as myself and the deckie, know that it consists of stingray flap, catfish flank, whaler steak, and shovelnose fillet ;D

If it weren't for the likes of me and the deckie, you snapper seekers, whiting whittlers, and pelagic poachers would catch only fish that you refuse to eat. http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/23/23_4_157.gif (http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb001_ZNfox000)

Me and my beloved are the gamekeepers of the ocean, keeping down the vermin so that snobs like you lot can chase your upper class game. Give thanks to The Verminator and his crew. http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/4/4_17_11.gif (http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb001_ZNfox000)

;D

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/catfish.jpg

Shagga
28-02-2008, 08:53 AM
None of it matters because in the eyes of the fish we are all equal.

preso
28-02-2008, 09:07 AM
G day Nagg.I fished for the elusive (Spotted Mountain Carp) for 20years;) . Went hunting for Hares, Ducks etc tanned and prepared pelt, made my own flies. I do admit to making and using nymphs on occasion. I only ever practised catch and release.
The last time I fly fished we had some visitors coming so begrudgingly kept a few for the table.:-[
Three of the four that I kept had smoke butts in thier gut:-/ . Makes you wonder about all the skill, art and effort involved.

ELITE. BULLS##T. Its all just fishin.

Cheers John.

LeeannP
28-02-2008, 09:36 AM
There will always be elitism as some people just have to be better than everyone else.... in their own minds that is :)

Flyfishers look down upon lure casters who look down upon bait fishos.

Gamefishermen look down upon people that fish the drains (estuaries)

Gamefishermen who use lures and baits look down upon fly fishos that catch marlin on fur and feather.

People with $1800 spinning outfits look down upon those who choose to use an $89 combo when fishing for bream.

Fishing is my only vice so I tend to spend my money on quality gear which will last a lifetime. Even though I have some pretty flash gear I will also pull out the Alveys on the beach on when whiting fishing

preso
28-02-2008, 09:46 AM
O'h, anyone need some fly gear!

28-02-2008, 04:51 PM
Along with elitism , I can also see "Tall poppy syndrome":huh2:

Nagg

Jimbo73
28-02-2008, 04:56 PM
Nagg i dont get it. In this thread you say you use a Alvey for black fish. But in the other thread Alvey vs Steela you say you hate Alvey's ,and that you cant cast one straight . So which is it? I can understand why some people spend alot on their fishing gear,sure there is some top quality stuff out now, but i dont see a need for it with the way i fish and treat my gear and i never once said my cheaper gear will do the same as the dearer stuff. But i get a feeling from you and some others that you think everyone else isnt as good because some of us dont own the latest tech in tackle and the tackle you own makes you a better fishermen IMHO .Forgive me if im wrong.I know there is better gear on the market then mine and give your gear a season or two and it will be out dated aswell . But for the fish i target' rivers and creeks and dams' my gear does the job and im happy with it and i dont see i need to buy top shelf stuff to target bread and butter species.But if thats what you like, fine ,just dont think your a better fishermen because of the gear you use. I dont just look for the cheapest gear i can find. If you know what to look for when your buying a reel you can feel whether its weak or strong with a few little tests before you buy it. Ive bought reels and rods that ive had for years ,cost around 100+ or - ,caught s#@tloads of fish and never a problem with them. But i dont go on saying my reels and rods are so good, all you guys dont know what your missing. Reality is i dont give a s#@t about my gear as long as it works. I just love fishing full stop.

28-02-2008, 05:30 PM
Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1) (http://dictionary.reference.com/help/luna.html) - Cite This Source (http://dictionary.reference.com/cite.html?qh=elitism&ia=luna) - Share This (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/elitism#sharethis) e·lit·ism http://cache.lexico.com/g/d/premium.gif http://cache.lexico.com/dictionary/graphics/luna/thinsp.pnghttp://cache.lexico.com/g/d/speaker.gif (https://secure.reference.com/premium/login.html?rd=2&u=http%3A%2F%2Fdictionary.reference.com%2Fbrowse%2 Felitism) /ɪˈlihttp://cache.lexico.com/dictionary/graphics/luna/thinsp.pngtɪzhttp://cache.lexico.com/dictionary/graphics/luna/thinsp.pngəm, eɪˈli-/ Pronunciation Key - Show Spelled Pronunciationlee[/B]-tiz-[I]uhhttp://cache.lexico.com/dictionary/graphics/luna/thinsp.pngm, ey-lee-] Pronunciation Key - Show IPA Pronunciation –noun

1. practice of or belief in rule by an elite.

2. consciousness of or pride in belonging to a select or favored group.

[Origin: 1950–55; elite (http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=elite) + -ism (http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=-ism)http://cache.lexico.com/dictionary/graphics/luna/thinsp.png]

—Related formse·lit·ist, noun, adjective

Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1)
Based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2006.

OK, number 1 states that one would " practice " or " believe " in being " ruled " by the elite... which is none of us !!!!

Number 2 refers to the Pride of belonging...... and therefore is none of us !!!!!!

IS IT ??????

Yes, I know, someone had to do the specifics of the question.

28-02-2008, 05:38 PM
Anyone who thinks a mixed grill consists of lamb chops, steak, bacon, sausage, mushrooms. and other chunks of meat is a tosser. Those in the know, such as myself and the deckie, know that it consists of stingray flap, catfish flank, whaler steak, and shovelnose fillet ;D

If it weren't for the likes of me and the deckie, you snapper seekers, whiting whittlers, and pelagic poachers would catch only fish that you refuse to eat. http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/23/23_4_157.gif (http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb001_ZNfox000)

Me and my beloved are the gamekeepers of the ocean, keeping down the vermin so that snobs like you lot can chase your upper class game. Give thanks to The Verminator and his crew. http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/4/4_17_11.gif (http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb001_ZNfox000)

;D

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/catfish.jpg

Hey kev..LOL... so now you REALLY understand why we encourage immigration and multicuturalism here in Oz.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif
There are people from all around the world that can find all manner of obscure piscatorial delicacies in our fisheries.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif
Some people even eat carp and tilapiahttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/shocked.gif.

More power to you and themhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif.
But thanks anyway I'll stick to my trout,reds and spanish mackeral all the same.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif.

scott

28-02-2008, 05:44 PM
This reads like a reply from someone that has never fly fished .... specially for river trout!.
Hell in my opinion it is the ultimate form of fishing ..... which involves the STALKing with absolute stealth , fly selection & then the presentation ......... & hopefully a hookup !
....... Then you have to fight a fish in often fast flowing water with a long light weight rod & 4lb tippet ............ it doesn't get much more difficult , and there is a lot less reliance on technology ...... where skill & knowledge rules.
Put all this in an environment that is quite often wilderness mountain country .... & you dont need to catch heaps ( some of the best trips involve catching just one fish!) ....... it would be comparable to deer hunting with a bow & arrow
PS ....... I've met more than a few top blokes on weekends away down the snowy mountains ( I have also met the tossers too)

Anyhow .... I would always give a plug to fly fishing ...... It is an eye opener

Nagg

Tried it, learning the art and loving it.

ENGIBEER
28-02-2008, 05:44 PM
I only really look down on people who litter the great rivers with set lines (Thats not sport fishing, where is the fun in dragging in a cod thats been struggling on a heavy line for 24 hours).

And people who keep undersized fish or large breeding fish that should be returned to the water.

Apart from that I don't care if you use bait, fly, lure whatever.

ENGIBEER

BR65
28-02-2008, 05:59 PM
Ahhh Nagg, like chucking a pellet into a farmed barra pond , guaranteed strikes lol.
oops, is that being elitist cause I dont fish barra ponds??? (dont get me started on the relative merits of trolling vs casting, it could be a long nite)

Simple, low cost gear catchs fish, high tech, high cost gear catchs fish, horses for courses, and its all been done to death in the alvey posts, neither bit of kit will actually put your target species on the end of the line for you, that skill rests in the angler. If you like to catch bread and buter fish with low end gear, great, if you like to catch bread and butter fish with the latest jap spin reel and hardbait, great, if you like to watch black and white tv, great, if it must be the latest big screen lcd, great, whatever fluffs ya towel.
So, back to the original thread, lets not send this one sideways:
Yep, there is elitism in the world of fishing, as there is in any sport or activity, invariably some knob will think he is better than some one else, whether its cause of his shiny boat thats bigger/faster than yours, or his packed tackle box, thats got more plastic in it than a tupperware party, or his flash combo that costs more than you get paid for a week, or the latest "must do:" technique he is currently useing, big deal, if he puffs out the chest and sprouts off he is still a knob
Ive baitfished alveys all my life in the creeks, then got into offshore bottom bouncing, later soft plastics, now pegging lures into timber, the gear changes as your fishing styles change, and I for one enjoy useing the high cost rods and reels I own nowdays, bit like driveing a nice car, but as long as I dont let my ego take over, elitism is something I will never be accused of. A couple of weeks ago we were trolling the basin at Mondy in the hornet (great boat Nagg) with a couple of grands worth of rods and reels hanging over the side, we went past 2 blokes doing the same thing in a 12ft tinny useing alveys, were they feeling left out, I dont reckon

28-02-2008, 06:25 PM
Nagg i dont get it. In this thread you say you use a Alvey for black fish. But in the other thread Alvey vs Steela you say you hate Alvey's ,and that you cant cast one straight . So which is it? I can understand why some people spend alot on their fishing gear,sure there is some top quality stuff out now, but i dont see a need for it with the way i fish and treat my gear and i never once said my cheaper gear will do the same as the dearer stuff. But i get a feeling from you and some others that you think everyone else isnt as good because some of us dont own the latest tech in tackle and the tackle you own makes you a better fishermen IMHO .Forgive me if im wrong.I know there is better gear on the market then mine and give your gear a season or two and it will be out dated aswell . But for the fish i target' rivers and creeks and dams' my gear does the job and im happy with it and i dont see i need to buy top shelf stuff to target bread and butter species.But if thats what you like, fine ,just dont think your a better fishermen because of the gear you use. I dont just look for the cheapest gear i can find. If you know what to look for when your buying a reel you can feel whether its weak or strong with a few little tests before you buy it. Ive bought reels and rods that ive had for years ,cost around 100+ or - ,caught s#@tloads of fish and never a problem with them. But i dont go on saying my reels and rods are so good, all you guys dont know what your missing. Reality is i dont give a s#@t about my gear as long as it works. I just love fishing full stop.

Jamie ...... Why do people need to be so pedantic ..... but so inaccurate ?
Mate ..... as I've previously said .... I dont like Alveys ( but I have owned 3)
Yes I said I cant cast one straight ( meaning a real cast ...... 50 M+ with a snapper lead etc etc) ...... the Alvey never met my expectation in a casting situation ....... I do much better with an ABU7000
Yes .... I still take an alvey out of moth balls ( maybe once a year if that) to fish for Drummer ( fishing crabs , cunji & prawns into the wash ....... basically at my feet . Because I own the gear ..... I might as well use it ......... & an alvey works well in that situation ........ A direct drive winch.
Now to what really annoyed me in your comments ........ Please go & dig out from any thread , where I've said that I'm a better fisherman than anyone else ! The closest you'll come is (I said I can fish!) ..... specially with a reference to the fishing tackle I use.
Yes .... I firmly believe that the tackle I use gives me an edge in a difficult fishing situation ...... Like using ultra light lures for casting to a cruising fish in shallow water ,,,,,, My gear allows me to hold off a distance to avoid spooking the fish & still make the cast ....... While my mate asks to move the boat closer .... because he cant make the distance ( we have similar ability) & the only difference was the gear. ...... That same light tackle still has the ability to drag a decent bream out of oyster racks..... or bass out of a snag
I wont appologise for liking quality fishing gear ...... I know what I like & what works best for me ( most often this has been gained from experience / trial & error) ...... like having guides crushed on a baitcast rod ..... that was not up to stopping a rampaging barra ( out goes the Daiwa ... in comes the Miller & Loomis)
Now maybe using quality gear makes me a better fisherman than I really am:-/
..... Nagg

PS ..... I'm curious to no what I'm missing ( except money in bank account) .... please elaborate

countbaysea
28-02-2008, 06:50 PM
i have been looked down because i was using braid on a charter. The others were mono uses, they got tangled all day with them selves, not a word. Then the braid got tangled once. "&^%*ing braid tangles everything bla bla bla"

shane

28-02-2008, 06:50 PM
Hey Nagg, fun thread but you've just about bagged your limit..............;)
To butcher a classic surfing quote - the best fisherman is the one having the most fun!
Unless your life depends on it, of course!:o
Great pic Kev, must admit I've eaten those big catties also, would prefer the little shark though!

28-02-2008, 06:57 PM
Ahhh Nagg, like chucking a pellet into a farmed barra pond , guaranteed strikes lol.
oops, is that being elitist cause I dont fish barra ponds??? (dont get me started on the relative merits of trolling vs casting, it could be a long nite)

Simple, low cost gear catchs fish, high tech, high cost gear catchs fish, horses for courses, and its all been done to death in the alvey posts, neither bit of kit will actually put your target species on the end of the line for you, that skill rests in the angler. If you like to catch bread and buter fish with low end gear, great, if you like to catch bread and butter fish with the latest jap spin reel and hardbait, great, if you like to watch black and white tv, great, if it must be the latest big screen lcd, great, whatever fluffs ya towel.
So, back to the original thread, lets not send this one sideways:
Yep, there is elitism in the world of fishing, as there is in any sport or activity, invariably some knob will think he is better than some one else, whether its cause of his shiny boat thats bigger/faster than yours, or his packed tackle box, thats got more plastic in it than a tupperware party, or his flash combo that costs more than you get paid for a week, or the latest "must do:" technique he is currently useing, big deal, if he puffs out the chest and sprouts off he is still a knob
Ive baitfished alveys all my life in the creeks, then got into offshore bottom bouncing, later soft plastics, now pegging lures into timber, the gear changes as your fishing styles change, and I for one enjoy useing the high cost rods and reels I own nowdays, bit like driveing a nice car, but as long as I dont let my ego take over, elitism is something I will never be accused of. A couple of weeks ago we were trolling the basin at Mondy in the hornet (great boat Nagg) with a couple of grands worth of rods and reels hanging over the side, we went past 2 blokes doing the same thing in a 12ft tinny useing alveys, were they feeling left out, I dont reckon

Ahhh a bit of burley always works!
Its actually an interesting thought / topic ....... because the mindset is out there in both forms ( elitism & tall poppy)

Nagg

Oh Gee
28-02-2008, 07:38 PM
One type of people i cant fathom are the ones that go ga ga over trout, brown or rainbow. To me thay are a feral fish in the same basket as carp. Sure they taste better and dont do as much damage but they are still an introduced species and should be eradicated from Australia. Anyhow thats my 2 cents worth and now i think i better duck, cos i feel i may have somthing flying at me. ;-)

28-02-2008, 08:11 PM
One type of people i cant fathom are the ones that go ga ga over trout, brown or rainbow. To me thay are a feral fish in the same basket as carp. Sure they taste better and dont do as much damage but they are still an introduced species and should be eradicated from Australia. Anyhow thats my 2 cents worth and now i think i better duck, cos i feel i may have somthing flying at me. ;-)

GA GA BROWN22188 & GA GA RAINBOW 22189 8-)

mowerman
28-02-2008, 08:12 PM
I spent 20 years playing golf, the last 15 on a handicap of 4 or less.
5 years ago I bought my first brand new full set of clubs for $350.00

17 years of playing A grade pennants and nearly every match,on the first tee, my opponent would look in my bag and have their nose in the air for a couple of holes. By about the 15th their expensive clubs would have a few bends in them or hanging from a tree.

What Im trying to say is.

Something to throw the line out with and something to reel it in. And a hook.
Saltwater,fresh,swimming pool,fish tank or the puddle at your feet from poor bladder control.

JUST ENJOY IT.

Sorry...Had a couple of beers this arvo.

Rod.

4x4frog
28-02-2008, 08:26 PM

mike
Here here...seconded;D
Killing a dragon with a mouse aint living....(in the words of the ad by a large outdoor store).....................this is living......queue your own image of fantastic fishing

Vindicator
28-02-2008, 08:35 PM
No matter what you do, what you got, how you do it and where you do it. Just as long as you get out and do it I reckon. Ever seen the 11th commandment, thou must fish no matter how thou do it!

Kezza

28-02-2008, 08:36 PM
Now ...non fishoes are second class citizens;D

Nagg

28-02-2008, 09:26 PM
Now ...non fishoes are second class citizens;D

Nagg

Ken Oath! 8-)

28-02-2008, 09:38 PM
I only really look down on people who litter the great rivers with set lines (Thats not sport fishing, where is the fun in dragging in a cod thats been struggling on a heavy line for 24 hours).

And people who keep undersized fish or large breeding fish that should be returned to the water.

Apart from that I don't care if you use bait, fly, lure whatever.

ENGIBEER

Set lines:hanged: Nearly wiped out the Murray Cod populations ....... Totally agree , these vermin (set liners) should be looked down on !

Nagg

Poseidon
29-02-2008, 10:44 AM
Totally agree, there should be no tolerance for set-lines of any description.

jacobvz
29-02-2008, 11:56 AM

I'm with you ;D

Jack

reelemin1974
29-02-2008, 01:02 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=112304

This thread was from a while ago, Had a very similar theme!!!;D

29-02-2008, 02:15 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=112304

This thread was from a while ago, Had a very similar theme!!!;D

Oh ... yeh a little bit

I'm thinking a bit broader than just C&R Vs the Fillet brigade ...... Though no doubt there is that division too!

Nagg

B_E_N
29-02-2008, 03:45 PM
shimano owners see themselves better than anyone else?? lol got a good laugh out of that one, if previous posts through out ausfish were any indication it would seem daiwa fans look down on everyone else!
ALL HAIL MIGHTY DAIWA! HUUMMMMM :P

29-02-2008, 06:12 PM
shimano owners see themselves better than anyone else?? lol got a good laugh out of that one, if previous posts through out ausfish were any indication it would seem daiwa fans look down on everyone else!
ALL HAIL MIGHTY DAIWA! HUUMMMMM :P

I didn't want to state the obvious;D ;D ;D

29-02-2008, 06:20 PM
being an elite fisherman means living in Qld or Tas or NT..wannabe fishermen survive in NSW & Vic.

29-02-2008, 06:56 PM
I can feel a State of Origin coming on !!!!!!! :)

phill

gumb01
29-02-2008, 07:18 PM
Its not about elitism or classes of fishers, It comes down to personal interests, versatility and dedication. Often i have gone fishing with the intent of using lures or soft plastics to catch jacks and flathead, to find the water is to dirty or weedy, A quick trip to the closest sand bank for a few yabbys, (pump and castnet are always in the boat) and we rarely go home without a few whiting or bream. I am also involved with tag and release and as I mentioned, I do take some fish home for the table. Different times of the year bring different fish and therefor different techniques are used. Im sure some of us get upset with other fishers and there styles of fishing, But as fishers, it is up to the individual to get out there and find what type of fishing exites them more. Nothing beats time on the water, from reef fishing to estuary fishing to impoundment fishing, lures, plastics, baits, casting, trolling, drifting, i do it all because I love it all, and every time I go fishing i want to try something new. Its a passion for some, But an addiction for me. When it comes down to it, its all fishin.

gumb01
29-02-2008, 07:19 PM
Its not about elitism or classes of fishers, It comes down to personal interests, versatility and dedication. Often i have gone fishing with the intent of using lures or soft plastics to catch jacks and flathead, to find the water is to dirty or weedy, A quick trip to the closest sand bank for a few yabbys, (pump and castnet are always in the boat) and we rarely go home without a few whiting or bream. I am also involved with tag and release and as I mentioned, I do take some fish home for the table. Different times of the year bring different fish and therefor different techniques are used. Im sure some of us get upset with other fishers and there styles of fishing, But as fishers, it is up to the individual to get out there and find what type of fishing exites them more. Nothing beats time on the water, from reef fishing to estuary fishing to impoundment fishing, lures, plastics, baits, casting, trolling, drifting, i do it all because I love it all, and every time I go fishing i want to try something new. Its a passion for some, But an addiction for me. When it comes down to it, its all fishin.

29-02-2008, 07:36 PM
being an elite fisherman means living in Qld or Tas or NT..wannabe fishermen survive in NSW & Vic.

Everyone has to do their penance before going to heaven!

Nagg

Volvo
29-02-2008, 07:48 PM
What does it matter and who gives a rats A%$e what or who thinks???, Just get out there and enjoy your passtime or what we have left of it lol..
I still enjoy sitting on a bucket in the marina/ breakwall with a handline chasing the odd bream or two:) ...
Elitesim is fer those that think their shyte dont stink, but we all know different;D ...

01-03-2008, 10:38 AM
Fishing is interesting..... there is such a broad variety of views, personalities and experiences.

Of course there will be elitists, there will be in any field of endeavour..... and of course there will be the " reverse elitist" who prides him self on his lowly situation.

What is interesting, I think is that it appears to me that people bring these attitudes TO fishing and not gain them from it.

There would be very few of us that ( in spite of our bumper sticker) have fishing as the main and determining interest in our lives, that thing that identifies us in llife and sets our atatudes.
Most of us will have some other "occupation or serious vocation" and fishing will be a pass time or hobby.

for the vast majority, our fishing attitudes and the gear we own will be in proportion to the rest of our lives.

So if a bloke is an unbearable fishing snob and has expensive gear and an exensive boat..... he will almost certainly have a flash car ( better than yours) and a big fancy house (bigger than yours) and he will be "far more important than you". His attitude will be dreived from other than fishing..... after all he can afford it.

Fishing is funny to.... because it leaves nothing lasting and durable behind as testiment to skill or dedication......so those who recon they are better than the rest of us are left with nothing to prove that but the insistance that it is so and to point at their fancy gear or the methods they use.......

because "anybody can catch one of those. .what do you land that with ? your anchor winch!!.....I saw a black fella catch one of those with a length of brickes string and a bit of bent fencing wire";D

I think too that there has been a generations ingrained elitist culture in fishing. Like...... there is " Fly Fishing" everthing else is " Coarse fishing". From a time when only the rich were entitled to fish for pleasure AND the rich owned the river and the fish in it.

In the recent past, only the rich could afford to fish for game spicies... so there will of course be an elitist attitude remaining somewhere in there too.

But in recent times the type of elitism that I see is marketing driven elitism, associated with buying the latest or the funkyest. like buying SHIMANO ( or whatever) not because you realy know the difference but for the same reasons you baught NIKE shoes and designer other things.

Of course ther is elitism and there always will be, and while that is so there will be reverse elitism.

So you, you $1000 reel toteing, $600 rod waving, braid spoolin, windon leaderin, fancy boat driving, brand name luring, fancy knot tying fishing snob, can @#$%! &%$^(#@..... I stick with my second hand Alvey, supermarhet rod, monofialment line and my stinky bait.>:( :smash: :tongue: ;D ;D ;D ;D

Where's the fun if you can't think you are better than someone else:-/ .

What the heck... the fish dont care.

Now if the fish were elitist that would be a different story:o

01-03-2008, 12:52 PM
Fishing is interesting..... there is such a broad variety of views, personalities and experiences.

Of course there will be elitists, there will be in any field of endeavour..... and of course there will be the " reverse elitist" who prides him self on his lowly situation.

What is interesting, I think is that it appears to me that people bring these attitudes TO fishing and not gain them from it.

There would be very few of us that ( in spite of our bumper sticker) have fishing as the main and determining interest in our lives, that thing that identifies us in llife and sets our atatudes.
Most of us will have some other "occupation or serious vocation" and fishing will be a pass time or hobby.

for the vast majority, our fishing attitudes and the gear we own will be in proportion to the rest of our lives.

So if a bloke is an unbearable fishing snob and has expensive gear and an exensive boat..... he will almost certainly have a flash car ( better than yours) and a big fancy house (bigger than yours) and he will be "far more important than you". His attitude will be dreived from other than fishing..... after all he can afford it.

Fishing is funny to.... because it leaves nothing lasting and durable behind as testiment to skill or dedication......so those who recon they are better than the rest of us are left with nothing to prove that but the insistance that it is so and to point at their fancy gear or the methods they use.......

because "anybody can catch one of those. .what do you land that with ? your anchor winch!!.....I saw a black fella catch one of those with a length of brickes string and a bit of bent fencing wire";D

I think too that there has been a generations ingrained elitist culture in fishing. Like...... there is " Fly Fishing" everthing else is " Coarse fishing". From a time when only the rich were entitled to fish for pleasure AND the rich owned the river and the fish in it.

In the recent past, only the rich could afford to fish for game spicies... so there will of course be an elitist attitude remaining somewhere in there too.

But in recent times the type of elitism that I see is marketing driven elitism, associated with buying the latest or the funkyest. like buying SHIMANO ( or whatever) not because you realy know the difference but for the same reasons you baught NIKE shoes and designer other things.

Of course ther is elitism and there always will be, and while that is so there will be reverse elitism.

So you, you $1000 reel toteing, $600 rod waving, braid spoolin, windon leaderin, fancy boat driving, brand name luring, fancy knot tying fishing snob, can @#$%! &%$^(#@..... I stick with my second hand Alvey, supermarhet rod, monofialment line and my stinky bait.>:( :smash: :tongue: ;D ;D ;D ;D

Where's the fun if you can't think you are better than someone else:-/ .

What the heck... the fish dont care.

Now if the fish were elitist that would be a different story:o

You mean to tell me fish aren't elitist:-/ ..... Of course they are :o That why we buy $1000 worth of bream , barra & bass lures or $2000 worth of Marlin lures ..... in every shape , size & colour .......... Just to get them to accept our offering.....

Then you have those snobby trout ...... That turn their nose up at everything that you present to them ...... till finally you give them something that they want " I'm feeling like snow flake caddis today ..... I'm not eating that grass hopper!" ..... the trout says

Yep there certainly is elitism in Fish;)

Nagg

Jimbo73
02-03-2008, 11:35 AM
And if all that fails use bait. Its funny how when theres no action on Sp's or lures or whatever else nearly everyone goes back to bait.Why? Maybe stinky bait is the elite bait.

rockfisho
02-03-2008, 03:35 PM
I base a good fisho on their ability to come up with the goods in different circumstances and show persistance. For example, if the beach is buggered, they might go off shore and pull up snapper or into the river and catch bream. Or when the weather is sour, they might find a small protected spot and target something like whiting.

I predominantly fish the beach and rocks, this requires alot of knoweledge of how the fish work and where they are likely to be at different times. I'm still on the learning curve with my rock fishing, but have been fishing the beach for a long time.

I love the thrill of personally finding a fish, rigging appropriatly, learning the environment and then hooking and landing em. Ill never get sick of it

Owen

02-03-2008, 05:24 PM
I base a good fisho on their ability to come up with the goods in different circumstances and show persistance. For example, if the beach is buggered, they might go off shore and pull up snapper or into the river and catch bream. Or when the weather is sour, they might find a small protected spot and target something like whiting.

I predominantly fish the beach and rocks, this requires alot of knoweledge of how the fish work and where they are likely to be at different times. I'm still on the learning curve with my rock fishing, but have been fishing the beach for a long time.

I love the thrill of personally finding a fish, rigging appropriatly, learning the environment and then hooking and landing em. Ill never get sick of it

Owen

Owen .... I couldn't agree more
I have the most admiration for guys & girls who can fish heaps of styles & techniques ........ nothing better than talking to someone who is comfortable fishing for bream on lure as he is chasing pelagics on live bait!
Not trying to blow my own trumpet ..... I've been lucky enough to progress through my fishing life ........ starting off fishing my local FW river with bait for whatever I could catch! . My brother bought a canoe & we chased bass on lures. Then we progressed to the estuary for bream ( bait) & a few trips out in the blue fishing for Kings & YFT with my brother in law:). Then once I started work & bought a car ..... Rock fishing for Snapper (a bit of blackfishing & drummer) ..... & LBG + some SWF ( before it became trendy)
Then a mate bought a boat ...... & we chased pelagics ( Kings mainly) ... Then YFT & Marlin ....as he moved from a Nautiglass V150 , 5M Shark Cat , 6M Broadbill & 6M Sailfish ...... We were club members & fished various ANSA tournaments.
We also did some trout fishing on lures
Then I bought my first boat ( 5.35 Reef Raider CC) .... which I used to chase everything from snapper to YFT & Marlin ( loved my summer jewfishing) .... towed it up & down the east coast down to Bermagui & up to the Whitsundays
I also .... did some charters both locally & overseas for pelagics ...... & my first go at wild barra.
I then took up Fly fishing ( trout) a few years back ... with regular trips to the snowy mountains & NZ! ....... & stated to travel to Qld to fish for barra ( wild & impoundments)
Bought my current boat (Hornet)..... & took up fishing SPs for estuary species .... & increased my barra trips to Qld

I look back on it all ..... & I just think how good its all been ....... Keep it coming I say
Elitism .... I think not , more like looking for fishing challenges ( with the use of quality tackle) .

Nagg

PaulMark
02-03-2008, 07:04 PM
What a brilliant thread,"are fisho's elite" I reckon the elite ones are the guys who,always say they caught x amount of so big whatever but when your out with them they must be having an off dayAs well as the guys who smirk at you as you get your middle of the road gear out.As I've said before you don't need to spend hundreds of dollars to enjoy fishing.You don't need Loomis rods and solid gold reels.Thats the beauty of fishing.You have to remember that while the hardware is important,so is the software,the grey stuff betweeen your ears.
Paulo

02-03-2008, 07:23 PM
What a brilliant thread,"are fisho's elite" I reckon the elite ones are the guys who,always say they caught x amount of so big whatever but when your out with them they must be having an off dayAs well as the guys who smirk at you as you get your middle of the road gear out.As I've said before you don't need to spend hundreds of dollars to enjoy fishing.You don't need Loomis rods and solid gold reels.Thats the beauty of fishing.You have to remember that while the hardware is important,so is the software,the grey stuff betweeen your ears.
Paulo

The best bit of kit is without doubt the grey stuff between your ears...... much more important than a shiny gold reel or loomis rod! .....Nagg

PS ..... sorry I'll take back the comment on loomis rods;D

BR65
02-03-2008, 07:40 PM
You have to remember that while the hardware is important,so is the software,the grey stuff betweeen your ears.
Paulo

So true, without the software ticking over, all the fishing bling in the world aint going to help you.

brian

TonyM
02-03-2008, 08:04 PM
I agree - but gee I like a bit of bling! ;D

02-03-2008, 08:59 PM
Well .... I participated in a real leveler today ....... Changing F%&@%*g trailer bearings!
Is this the worst job in fishing / boat ownership?

Nagg

PS ..... Should have paid someone to do it ;D

02-03-2008, 09:48 PM
. ;D ;D ;D ;D
There are three things that just don't care, who, what or where you are .....

RUST......... GREASE..........and........ $#%T

Even if you pay good money to make em go away or have someone elsed deal with em.......... somehow, somewhere they'll get Ya.

02-03-2008, 09:59 PM
. ;D ;D ;D ;D
There are three things that just don't care, who, what or where you are .....

RUST......... GREASE..........and........ $#%T

Even if you pay good money to make em go away or have someone elsed deal with em.......... somehow, somewhere they'll get Ya.

With a 3000K round trip coming up in the next week & a bit ........ Nah better off doing now at home .... than on the edge of the road outback of woop woop! ...... Gee & I only did them in Oct:( .... but put 5000K on them ........ Oh well they are done now:)

Nagg

reidy
03-03-2008, 02:58 PM
When push comes to shove we are all doing the same thing fishing for pleasure
If someone has the means ($) to run a stella opposed to a handline does the stella make this person elite, i think not
What are you doing out here in a tinnie i just spent $60000 on a boat to fish this spot he he he
Cheers Reidy

reidy
03-03-2008, 03:00 PM
Well .... I participated in a real leveler today ....... Changing F%&@%*g trailer bearings!
Is this the worst job in fishing / boat ownership?

Nagg

PS ..... Should have paid someone to do it ;D
Heres a leveler
Try changing the bottom radiator hose on a 95 jeep cherokee
do you have all day and $120.00 to spare.
Im leveled
Cheers Reidy

CHAPPY
07-03-2008, 05:58 AM
To me, the leveler is when you break down, run out of fuel, and generally need a hand. That is when you dont care what type of boat tows you back to the ramp or generally gets you going. I have never in over 50 years of fishing/boating seen one fisherman leave another in trouble . Up north I have seen people shake there head in disbelief at where some blokes will go in a 12ft. tinny but never seen anybody refuse to get the mugs out of trouble. So perhaps this elitism is only temporary. Perhaps this percieved elitism is individuality. I would like to think so. Does anyone else see it that way?

Regards Chappy:D

07-03-2008, 07:17 AM
The people who i look down on, there the ones that seek to impart there views on "CORRECT fishing practices on others who were only trying to catch a feed and do it legally!!>:(

Ps. I also look down on New South Welshmen as there below us ;) after all you go DOWN the coast to get there so we must be above them!;D

07-03-2008, 07:48 AM
To me, the leveler is when you break down, run out of fuel, and generally need a hand. That is when you dont care what type of boat tows you back to the ramp or generally gets you going. I have never in over 50 years of fishing/boating seen one fisherman leave another in trouble . Up north I have seen people shake there head in disbelief at where some blokes will go in a 12ft. tinny but never seen anybody refuse to get the mugs out of trouble. So perhaps this elitism is only temporary. Perhaps this percieved elitism is individuality. I would like to think so. Does anyone else see it that way?

Regards Chappy:D

Very true ..... I think most fishoes / boaties would help another out!

07-03-2008, 07:55 AM
The people who i look down on, there the ones that seek to impart there views on "CORRECT fishing practices on others who were only trying to catch a feed and do it legally!!>:(

Ps. I also look down on New South Welshmen as there below us ;) after all you go DOWN the coast to get there so we must be above them!;D

Now now now ...... lets keep the Tall poppy thing out of it ( besides a large percentage of Qlders are from NSW & Vic anyway)

Nagg

07-03-2008, 08:01 AM
Now now now ...... lets keep the Tall poppy thing out of it ( besides a large percentage of Qlders are from NSW & Vic anyway)

Nagg

They dont become QUEENSLANDERS till they have been here at least 20 years;) It a very tough club to get membership in:) We have to keep our standards high8-)

Ian ( 39 years of club membership)

07-03-2008, 09:55 AM
They dont become QUEENSLANDERS till they have been here at least 20 years;) It a very tough club to get membership in:) We have to keep our standards high8-)

Fair enough ........ so that takes care of half the population;)

Nagg

07-03-2008, 02:23 PM

Bloody Heck Ian
Easy to become a queensland eh
We dont except people being tasmanian until they been here at least 2 generations

The Phantom
07-03-2008, 07:32 PM

I was here for the Centenary, went away for 40 years, now back for next years 150 years, (don't know what 150 year celebration is called).
Does that count?

BrewGuru
07-03-2008, 07:43 PM
Fishing Elitism , You guys have gotta be kidding? 80 replies?
Fishing is available to the poor, the wealthy, the young , the old, the males, the females, the caucasions, the indigenous, or any other walks of life, I don't understand the whole point of this post, once you have a fishing line in your hand, your are a fisherperson, regardless of status, race or age.

07-03-2008, 08:32 PM
Fishing Elitism , You guys have gotta be kidding? 80 replies?
Fishing is available to the poor, the wealthy, the young , the old, the males, the females, the caucasions, the indigenous, or any other walks of life, I don't understand the whole point of this post, once you have a fishing line in your hand, your are a fisherperson, regardless of status, race or age.

83 now;D

Brew ..... what you are saying is correct.... in its raw basic form! But to think it doesn't exist::) ..... just open your eyes & do a little reading ( read post no 1 ... for some ideas) ....... Its everywhere!

hell .... its there in reverse too .... Terms like "C&R Nazis!" have been used over the last few days
Some hate fly fishers ....... They think they are up themselves!

Some of it is elitism ( theirs is the only way to fish) , Some is classism (my toys are bigger / better than your toys)....... & some is Tall poppy ( look at those so & so's in their flash boat ... wearing the latest gear ....... just to catch a bream)

Finally ........ It was meant to be a bit of fun & to have a laugh at ourselves

Nagg

BrewGuru
07-03-2008, 10:18 PM
Mate I am a rag to riches story, when I was on the bones of my arse I used to fish at Boggy Creek with a fishing reel or rod I picked up from a garage sale or pawn shop, 12 years later I am a lot better off with a successful business, I don't see me as a eleitest, I can just afford better stuff and I still occasionally fish at Boggy Creek

Hardb8
08-03-2008, 12:18 AM
Hey Nagg,
I don't know if eliteisim is the correct word to describe the point ya tryin ta put across.I do understand what ya mean though.

It is indeed happening on all levels,Just read this thread.

I believe it comes down to the individuals personality,And how they've been raised in regards to weather or not,He or she will look down on someone else for whatever reason.Be it,The fish they target,How they target it,Or the tools their usin to get the job done.

Judge not less ye be judged.....And if ya have to,Defend yourself.

Cheers. B8.;)

08-03-2008, 06:35 AM
Hi B8 ...... Yeh I've seen that some have missed the point that I was trying to put out there ....... & I feel that some comments have been directed at me , rather than the topic ...... but hey , so be it!
As for the title ..... I know what you're saying & agree ....... but ,I couldn't come up with a better word:( ( I could have said bias ....:-/ ....but its too weak for the topic)

Nagg

08-03-2008, 09:08 PM
As far as i'm concerned i couldn't give a toss if someone thinks they're better than me. Or the guy next to me. If they want to throw their hard earned at a reel or rod and think they have it over me. Ha life's to short to worry about that sort of crap.

TonyM
08-03-2008, 09:54 PM
Hi B8 ...... Yeh I've seen that some have missed the point that I was trying to put out there ....... & I feel that some comments have been directed at me , rather than the topic ...... but hey , so be it!
As for the title ..... I know what you're saying & agree ....... but ,I couldn't come up with a better word:( ( I could have said bias ....:-/ ....but its too weak for the topic)

Nagg

Bigotry is about the best match I could come up with :-/ Seems to fit the bill, and yes a few people have shown some excellent examples within the post coming from various angles - up, down, and sideways!

I guess at the end of the day fisherpeoples are merely human and the fact that fishing appeals across the board to almost all elements of the community, hidden resentments tend to rear their ugly head at times :(

I think most of the examples are fairly harmless and are said somewhat tongue in cheek, although there definately seems to be a few chips on shoulders at times ::)

A bigot is a prejudiced person who is intolerant of opinions, lifestyles, or identities differing from his or her own.

09-03-2008, 07:39 AM
Bigotry is about the best match I could come up with :-/ Seems to fit the bill, and yes a few people have shown some excellent examples within the post coming from various angles - up, down, and sideways!

I guess at the end of the day fisherpeoples are merely human and the fact that fishing appeals across the board to almost all elements of the community, hidden resentments tend to rear their ugly head at times :(

I think most of the examples are fairly harmless and are said somewhat tongue in cheek, although there definately seems to be a few chips on shoulders at times ::)

A bigot is a prejudiced person who is intolerant of opinions, lifestyles, or identities differing from his or her own.

Tony ...... Go to the head of the class! ... I like it.
Its great to see , so many say that they couldn't give a toss what the next bloke is doing! ....... but how many times do we see this bigotry in these threads... ( Its well known I'm against one fishing technique ........ but it is within the regulations ..... & they obviously have fun doing it . So be it!!!) .
Funnily a mate of mine is a keen fly fishoe ...... For him it was the only way to fish ...... However hes just bought a quality spin outfit so he can effectively fish for bass in his local waters! ....... so he's a convert:thumbup:

Cheers ..... Nagg

PS ..... A BIGAMIST ........ Is a fog in Italy ;D