View Full Version : Seafarer Appreciation thread
Jabba_
24-02-2008, 09:24 AM
Hi guys... I a Seafarer Appreciation thread on another forum and thought it would be good to have it on this site also...
I know there are quiet a few Seafarers on Ausfish, and I also know there's never an unhappy Seafarer owner...
So if you have Seafarer, show your boat here, along with a bit of info about it.....
This is my pride and joy. Seafarer "Vermont" 5.9m, match with a 2007 250 E-tec..
Great as a social boat, and equally as good as a deep sea fisher... Top speed thus far 60mph GPS on smooth water, and it runs easily at 45mph into a lumpy 2.5mt swell...
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y159/jabba1/Boating%20camping%20and%20fising/31-03-07_0902.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y159/jabba1/Boating%20camping%20and%20fising/0701010001.jpg
Half way home from St Bee's and Keswick
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y159/jabba1/Boating%20camping%20and%20fising/0706290133.jpg
tin can marlin
24-02-2008, 09:32 AM
Mate that is a smart looking boat how old is the hull. And i don't own a seafarer but i know they have a great name, do you think they will lose there finsh now thay are being built by the hains group.
Cheers mark
Jabba_
24-02-2008, 11:24 AM
Thanks Tin can.... The Hull is a 2004
Quality will be the same as it was when Lindsay owned Seafarer... If you didnt already know, Lindsay has stayed on with Seafarer as the #1 IC for the Seafarer for the next 5 years, and a option to stay a further 5 if Lindsay choses to. Off coarse he now answers to Greg Hains. But Hainsy bought Seafarer because they are such a bloody well built and designed boat, and he intends to keep that way... At this present moment Lindsay is designing some new decks for the Seafarer range, and they will be built with the same proven technique that Lindsay has developed throughout his years....
ColacGirl
24-02-2008, 04:32 PM
Hi Jabba_
We love our Seafarer :)
We love her so much we spent 6 months rebuilding and regelcoating her after a white ant invasion.
She a Ventura 17.... not sure of her exact age, but she's somewhere around 30 years young
Before the rebuild (photo taken January 06)
http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f223/BevB2u/Play-Pen/PlayPen_sunrise-1.jpg
After the rebuild (photo taken June 06)
http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f223/BevB2u/Play-Pen/2006_0624_playpen_crusoe.jpg
Fathers Day 2007
http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f223/BevB2u/Play-Pen/2007_0902FathersDay20070008.jpg
--
Bev
Jabba_
26-02-2008, 04:55 PM
Nice Restoration job Bev
Jabba_
26-02-2008, 04:59 PM
This is my favorite Seafarer model.. Viper 6.8m
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y159/jabba1/Boating%20camping%20and%20fising/cid_image001_jpg01C87840.jpg
Shagga
26-02-2008, 05:05 PM
Jabba, I have never seen the Vermont before is there much room in the cabin?
Jabba_
26-02-2008, 05:20 PM
Jabba, I have never seen the Vermont before is there much room in the cabin?
The cabin bunks are 7ft long, and I have slept over night a few times now. There is very little height if your 6.1ft like myself..
26-02-2008, 05:21 PM
Hi Shagga
No doubt Jabba will get back to you on this but may I suggest that just based on you AF tag the Vermont was made for you........
Large cabin deck hatch (with hatch adjusted)
Fully carpet-lined cabin
7'0" bunks with cloth covered cushions with storage under
Filler cushion between bunks
Cloth covered upholstered cabin shelves
Full cabin bulkheads with Bi-fold aluminium and perspex door and removable companionway hatch
PS they are certainly better length bunks than in the Vagabond which is really only for people about 5 feet tall.
Jabba_
26-02-2008, 05:26 PM
Hi Shagga
No doubt Jabba will get back to you on this but may I suggest that just based on you AF tag the Vermont was made for you........
Large cabin deck hatch (with hatch adjusted)
Fully carpet-lined cabin
7'0" bunks with cloth covered cushions with storage under
Filler cushion between bunks
Cloth covered upholstered cabin shelves
Full cabin bulkheads with Bi-fold aluminium and perspex door and removable companionway hatch
Yes there certainly is enough room in there to have a shag...
Hey Chimo, when are we going to see your Seafarer
26-02-2008, 07:17 PM
Bonehead the Vagabond I have fished in at Cooktown and Port Stephens. Originally with twin 115 Ocean Pros now with a 200HO ETec. These are probably Wayne's shot of it from Couran Cove.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/boats/Seafarers/bonehead1.jpg
Skirt Chaser the Viking I used to fish in. It now has a 115 Yamaha 4 stroke. It did have an Ocean Pro as well.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/boats/Seafarers/jasonmarlincloser.jpg
26-02-2008, 07:46 PM
Hi Smithy
How did the Vag perform after the change from the two 115 Ocean Pros to the 200 HO Etec?
Did the spray dodgers do anything? I rarely get spray there on mine.
26-02-2008, 08:35 PM
Ocean Pros were crap. Stalling all the time and all that stuff that goes with old technology 2s. One was running hot so we had the other flatout all the time and limp mode on the hot one. The Etec was more refined with better cables and stuff so chalk and cheese.
Spray dodgers were for trolling. The flap across the middle saved getting fully wet heaps.
Wahoo
27-02-2008, 06:35 PM
very nice boats Jabba, the 6.8 Viper is a boat i would not knock back,
28-02-2008, 02:20 PM
I would knock a Viper and a Voyager back. How would you like a little man throwing buckets of water in your face all day long when it got a bit rougher? Cabin boats are the only way to go once you get older.
Wahoo
28-02-2008, 06:20 PM
Cabin boats are the only way to go once you get older.
until then Smithy, that boat will do me just fine, thats why i had a Center console built and not a cab boat, cabin boat is a waste of space for my type of fishing
01-03-2008, 01:20 PM
There is also the safety aspect to consider. They are sometimes called Seaspearers. I know I punched out the spray dodgers on my 702 Haines Signature at least 3 times in 5 weeks in Cooktown in the FNQ chop that develops into a short sharp swell. My part owner in it nearly lost it one day in Bribie Passage in a wind against tide situation filling it to level with the outboard. Luckily it kept going. I would never own anything but a cabin boat ever again. Everything I have heard about the big Seafarers from past owners paints the picture they they are worse. Have a read of Greg's comments on the last page of this. I couldn't second his thoughts more on walkarounds versus full cuddys or half cabins.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=124086&page=3
nobody
01-03-2008, 07:20 PM
jabba, have you ever felt unsafe in your seaferar.especially at high speed cruise.45 knts+
i know its going to be a good response.
Jabba_
01-03-2008, 10:14 PM
jabba, have you ever felt unsafe in your seaferar.especially at high speed cruise.45 knts+
i know its going to be a good response.
cheersIn flat water, never.... Doing 45 into a 2.5m swell, yes I was nerveous at first, and then I got the feel for it...
How about you come out with me and you can get first hand experience for yourself.... This offer is for real.
tin can marlin
01-03-2008, 10:22 PM
Hi jabba the only boat that i know can handle biger seas is the allisons but the seafarer runs second.
sleepygreg
02-03-2008, 12:03 AM
Are you guys smokin the wacky backy??? I dont ever want to be in ANY boat doing 45 knots in a 2.5 metre swell unless the swell has at least 50 metres between crests, and that doesnt happen often.
tin can marlin
02-03-2008, 12:50 AM
Hi greg i know were your coming from any boat is not got in 50 knots what boat have you got. Regards marks
sleepygreg
02-03-2008, 02:07 AM
boat i fish out of is a 2400 Kevlacat.....does 42 knots WOT. I think some ppl confuse Knots with KPH and MPH. There is a big difference.
Those that dont and travel at those speeds..............I will keep my eyes on the obituaries columns.
tin can marlin
02-03-2008, 02:16 AM
I can see why you can fish in bad weather the cats can calve up big seas go the cats.
Jabba_
02-03-2008, 05:02 AM
boat i fish out of is a 2400 Kevlacat.....does 42 knots WOT. I think some ppl confuse Knots with KPH and MPH. There is a big difference.
Those that dont and travel at those speeds..............I will keep my eyes on the obituaries columns.
If you read my first post it states, 45mph into a lumpy 2.5m swell, I cruise between 30-35mph..... Yeah, my balls were up in my mouth when I first opened up the throttle.... My main fear was if I got air and a chop smacked the stern, I would come down bow first and nose dive...... As it happened I only got prop vent twice, and it was only for a fraction of a second each time..... Interestingly the ride a 45mph was smoother then it was at 35mph...
Also my definition off lumpy is a chop that is left over from the day before...
Fish Guts
02-03-2008, 10:37 AM
is that a 2.5mm chop on the broadwater jabba or 2.5 metre swell. i cant take you seriously. i dont know if you know how big 2.5 metres of swell is, but you surely wont be going 45 miles per hour into it with your boat, for long anyway.
Jabba_
02-03-2008, 11:02 AM
is that a 2.5mm chop on the broadwater jabba or 2.5 metre swell. i cant take you seriously. i dont know if you know how big 2.5 metres of swell is, but you surely wont be going 45 miles per hour into it with your boat, for long anyway.
Whatever mate, but maybe if I was in Edancraft I could.
02-03-2008, 11:14 AM
Jabba - nice looking rig. I will be sticking some photos in due course in the SF thread you started of me old Vagabond. Roughly how far was the gap between the peaks of the swell?
Fish Guts
02-03-2008, 11:20 AM
uss kittyhawk more like it
tin can marlin
02-03-2008, 11:28 AM
Good one fish guts i like it
02-03-2008, 11:31 AM
Good one fish guts i like it
TCM,he's just jealous of the motor on the back of Jabba's boat.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif
Fish Guts
02-03-2008, 11:44 AM
your going to have to put more bait out than that mate
nobody
02-03-2008, 11:48 AM
jabba,Are those photos taken on the way back from saint bees.Your boat looks like its going fast even on the trailer.I will come for a run with you one day.Have you got seat belts in it.It sure is a boat that looks like it could eat up big distances quickly.Any way a very nice rig.
OceanSpirit
02-03-2008, 11:58 AM
Hi Guys,
We recently acquired our fourth Seafarer built by Lindsay Fry (one of the last)- a 5.9Mtr Vermont fitted with a 2008 Evinrude E-TEC 200H.O. running a 19" Viper propeller, fitted out with Furuno Electronics. It is a brilliant all-round fishing and family boat.
Two years ago, I acquired an original 1969 Seafarer 4.2Mtr Ventura (originally red) that I went about carrying out a full restoration on, from the trailer up. It is now fitted with a late model Johnson 35 3-Cylinder, set-up for estuary fishing, crabbing and cruising. A great, solid, stable little boat.
I know the Seafarer product very well and having ridden in V-Sea's, Vamps, Vikings, Vegas, Victory's, Vagabond's and Voyager's, along with many other locally built boats, love the quality of the Seafarer product!
http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g158/cornish01/NoosaSummerHoliday2007-08068.jpg
http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g158/cornish01/Waitangi.jpg
Outsider1
02-03-2008, 12:25 PM
Those are a couple of very nice rigs you have there OceanSpirit.
I have never owned a Seafarer, but my father has had a Viking for many years. You have to admire how well they are built and they seem to stand up to the tests of time.
I presently have a Cruise Craft, another great brand, but would happily consider a Seafarer if I ever decided to change my rig.
Are they the best boat?; as some others have point out in various posts, there is no such thing as a best boat or motor etc etc , it all depends on your circumstances and needs at the time. All boats are a compromise in the end.
But the things that I really like about the brand name boats like Seafarers, are that you can see where the money has gone in the quality, they seem to handle the test of time as I have said, and they give you a feeling of security when you use them.
But the clincher to me is that they retain their value very well, are sought after by other boaties and generally easy to sell when the time comes. A 10 to 15 year old Seafarer will still bring similar money to what it originally cost if it has been kept in any half decent way since new. Of course Seafarers are not on their lonesome but it is still a fairly small and elite group of Aussie brands that have stood the test of time in the same way.
Thanks for sharing your pictures and details of your rigs with us. Always a pleasure to see a quality rig that is well set up and the owner(s) have obvious pride in their boats.
sweet looking boat andrew,bet it goes great,of cause it would look and go better with a merc on the back.lol8-)
Another Seafarer for the site. This ones a 2003 Vamp. Nice boat for chasing tuna and macs in, a little cold in winter though......
Am thinking of changing boat to a cabin though......looking at the Aqualite range (basically a better looking Stabicraft) from NZ. A little safer for offshore work and a little shade for the kids
onerabbit
03-03-2008, 02:12 PM
Some great rigs there guys,
Jabba,
top looking boat, an interesting comparison to my early 80's 5.25 Vermont.
She might not be the prettiest boat at the ramp these days,
but as a sea boat, I wouldn't swap her for any other.
All the original timbers have been replaced with marine ply, new floors with 3/4" marine ply instead of masonite, same with the side pockets, as well as a "you beaut" new transom.
As you could imagine, this has added a lot of weight, but it has just made a great boat even better, she always did have good manners at sea, but now the ride is even better, she tends to spear across the top of swells now with less bump.
The Merc 115 carb feed 2 stroke, suits her down to the ground, heaps of grunt for bar crossings, & can push her at 50 knts (miles/ p/h) in the river with little trouble.
I have full trust in my old girl, enough to venture out to the shelf when we can (23miles east of Ballina),
we have hit Sunfish in her,
nearly rolled on the bar during a sea rescue,
& been literally run into by a pro crab boat 12 miles to sea in her,
& I wouldnt part with her for the world.
Who loves their Seafarer???..................I DO
Jabba_
03-03-2008, 04:52 PM
jabba,Are those photos taken on the way back from saint bees.Your boat looks like its going fast even on the trailer.I will come for a run with you one day.Have you got seat belts in it.It sure is a boat that looks like it could eat up big distances quickly.Any way a very nice rig.
Yeah mate, that's St Bee's... I was up there last July 2007... Mackay is great place, and those islands are amazing. The farthest I ventured out was to the power pole near Calder.... Prick off a ride back home in 25kn winds... I would love to visit again...
nobody
04-03-2008, 07:17 PM
jabba, all those things you said about getting better the harder you pushed her were true...........read this review.
Here’s a new recipe for the Aussie boating scene. Take Lindsay Fry’s tried and true 5.9m Seafarer hull, finished in either bright yellow or red gelcoat; give it a runabout layout with a low profile double bed cabin; and strap 200hp of Evinrude grunt on its transom and what do you get? An exhilarating day boat that can handle just about anything Sydney Harbour can throw at it at speeds that’ll blow you away.
And don’t be mislead into thinking Sydney Harbour is just a sheltered waterway. Have you ever seen the amazing television pictures of Sydney ferries battling 5m swells inside the harbour? It can get pretty rough out there. Seafarer’s 5.9m hull is a true deep-vee bluewater hull and she performs as such, it’s only this boat’s internal layout that makes her different from her offshore brothers.
She has an overall length of 6.45m (21’ 2”) — including the swim platform — a beam of 2.4m (7’ 9”); has a hull weight of 900kg; and an extremely sharp deadrise at the transom of 21 degrees. With a fine entry she cuts through swells and chop, while her large down-turned chines ensure she tracks straight when underway and is stable at rest. Out on the water this boat is a real hoon machine. It’s a hoot to drive, has power to burn and has the ride and smooth water handling of a performance ski boat, but this Seafarer has another ace up her sleeve — she can also deliver high speed performance and handling in rough and choppy water.
In fact, as the Modern Boating team found out during this test, the best way to drive this hull in choppy water is hard. She literally sliced through the swells without and delivered a surprisingly smooth and dry ride. Because the hull is designed in a runabout configuration and the low forward cabin sits under the foredeck, the boat retains a low profile making it extremely aerodynamic. The curved and raked one-piece windscreen allows for an even better airflow over the cockpit, which reduced drag even further. The first part of this test was conducted on a windless morning on the upper reaches of the Parramatta River, where the water was glassy smooth.
In those conditions we were able to run the boat flat strap with complete safety. With the hull trimmed right out, so the boat was running with only the transom in the water, the Vermont hit 49.6 knots at 5500rpm. She was literally dancing on her chines. And that was only the test boat. The camera boat was the same hull fitted with a 250hp Evinrude and she was to be honest, a little twitchy, in a fun kind of way. The team agreed the 250hp engine might be a bit of an overkill, especially when you consider the hull has a maximum power rating of 225hp. Other speed-to-rpm readings were: 7.2 knots at 2000rpm; 8.9 knots at 2500rpm; 15.5 knots at 3000rpm; 28.5 knots at 3500rpm; 34.5 knots at 4000rpm; 39.9 knots at 4500rpm, and 49.6 knots at 5500rpm.
That was in calm water, but later that day in choppy water out on Sydney Harbour the boat performed equally well. The harder we pushed her through the chop the better she liked it and the better the ride. The boat handled tight turns at speed, in both choppy and smooth water easily, without tail slippage or the steering feeling heavy during recovery. High gunwales give the skipper and passengers a sense of security during high-speed cornering, while the wrap-around windscreen forced the airstream up and over the cockpit, so even those on the rear lounge don’t get ruffled. From a personal perspective, I wasn’t overly rapt in the colour of the two hulls, but the boat’s top performance more than compensated for any problems I might have with colours. ...........................WOW
pursuit001
04-03-2008, 08:04 PM
hi guys some very appealing boats there ocean spirit also 2 great looking boats love the little tiller great job on the restoration looks great myself ive 2 seafarers cant rember the models off the top of my head one was a 17ft/6 and the other a 16ft both great boats offshore and inshore .
cheers shane
Jabba_
05-03-2008, 05:45 AM
jabba, all those things you said about getting better the harder you pushed her were true...........read this review.
Here’s a new recipe for the Aussie boating scene. Take Lindsay Fry’s tried and true 5.9m Seafarer hull, finished in either bright yellow or red gelcoat; give it a runabout layout with a low profile double bed cabin; and strap 200hp of Evinrude grunt on its transom and what do you get? An exhilarating day boat that can handle just about anything Sydney Harbour can throw at it at speeds that’ll blow you away.
And don’t be mislead into thinking Sydney Harbour is just a sheltered waterway. Have you ever seen the amazing television pictures of Sydney ferries battling 5m swells inside the harbour? It can get pretty rough out there. Seafarer’s 5.9m hull is a true deep-vee bluewater hull and she performs as such, it’s only this boat’s internal layout that makes her different from her offshore brothers.
She has an overall length of 6.45m (21’ 2”) — including the swim platform — a beam of 2.4m (7’ 9”); has a hull weight of 900kg; and an extremely sharp deadrise at the transom of 21 degrees. With a fine entry she cuts through swells and chop, while her large down-turned chines ensure she tracks straight when underway and is stable at rest. Out on the water this boat is a real hoon machine. It’s a hoot to drive, has power to burn and has the ride and smooth water handling of a performance ski boat, but this Seafarer has another ace up her sleeve — she can also deliver high speed performance and handling in rough and choppy water.
In fact, as the Modern Boating team found out during this test, the best way to drive this hull in choppy water is hard. She literally sliced through the swells without and delivered a surprisingly smooth and dry ride. Because the hull is designed in a runabout configuration and the low forward cabin sits under the foredeck, the boat retains a low profile making it extremely aerodynamic. The curved and raked one-piece windscreen allows for an even better airflow over the cockpit, which reduced drag even further. The first part of this test was conducted on a windless morning on the upper reaches of the Parramatta River, where the water was glassy smooth.
In those conditions we were able to run the boat flat strap with complete safety. With the hull trimmed right out, so the boat was running with only the transom in the water, the Vermont hit 49.6 knots at 5500rpm. She was literally dancing on her chines. And that was only the test boat. The camera boat was the same hull fitted with a 250hp Evinrude and she was to be honest, a little twitchy, in a fun kind of way. The team agreed the 250hp engine might be a bit of an overkill, especially when you consider the hull has a maximum power rating of 225hp. Other speed-to-rpm readings were: 7.2 knots at 2000rpm; 8.9 knots at 2500rpm; 15.5 knots at 3000rpm; 28.5 knots at 3500rpm; 34.5 knots at 4000rpm; 39.9 knots at 4500rpm, and 49.6 knots at 5500rpm.
That was in calm water, but later that day in choppy water out on Sydney Harbour the boat performed equally well. The harder we pushed her through the chop the better she liked it and the better the ride. The boat handled tight turns at speed, in both choppy and smooth water easily, without tail slippage or the steering feeling heavy during recovery. High gunwales give the skipper and passengers a sense of security during high-speed cornering, while the wrap-around windscreen forced the airstream up and over the cockpit, so even those on the rear lounge don’t get ruffled. From a personal perspective, I wasn’t overly rapt in the colour of the two hulls, but the boat’s top performance more than compensated for any problems I might have with colours. ...........................WOW
Thanks for that Nobody, that test review is extreamly accurite... Do you have a link to were you found it....
That Yellow Vermont in the test review. It is a good chance that is the very boat I have today.... I asked lindsay when I bought mine, how many coloured Vermonts he made.... There are 2 yellow, 1 red and 1 Ford blue... Also sold though F1 Marine....
chop duster
05-03-2008, 11:06 AM
"extremely" sharp deadrise at the transom of 21 degrees
hahaha, might go hand in hand with the other exagerations within that article. Sorry had to say it!
nobody
05-03-2008, 05:30 PM
jabba the link is
http://www.modernboating.com.au/boat_tests/boat_tests/full/225/Seafarer-Vermont-59
or go to modern boating /boat test ...Your right edencraft 223 has made it to no one on google....One last question..What is a chop duster?
Noiseworks
08-05-2008, 09:14 PM
Hi everyone, some nice boats being posted. I've newly acquired an old 4.75 V-Sea and so far have been more than happy with it. It's fitted with a 97 Johnson 70hp 2 stroke that seems to be well suited. A question that i have is if it is possible to fit an in floor fuel tank up front to counteract my big ass. It would have to be at least 70 capacity. Has anyone done this, and what suggestions have you in regards to moving the tank forward.
Ta Noiseworks
09-05-2008, 04:46 AM
I very nearly bought a Seafarer, and spent my time wishing they would introduce a boat to compete with the Cruisecraft 685 Outsider feature wise more closely. The Vagabond came soooo close. But I guess it's not a huge market at that size, and there are a few boats there already...
I also got my back up when a dealer (to remain nameless) told me I was stupid to want to put a Verado on a Seafarer.:-/ Ran the Merc down, and gave me Salesmanspeak responses every time I asked about their preferred power plant - you guessed it, E-TEC!;D
09-05-2008, 08:20 AM
Been meaning to post this pics for a while...finally got to it. My old Vag - built like a brick shitter. Since photos I have got rid of the light board and welded on outriggers to the trailer with submersalights. Love the old girl. Goes like a wounded cat despite the 21 degree V and a 115 Yammy.
philpy
09-05-2008, 01:36 PM
hey guys i the old man once own a 1985 18" ventura called polaris just woundering if anyone nows of its were abouts would like to know how its going
Jabba_
19-07-2008, 03:40 PM
A few new pic's taken last week......
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y159/jabba1/Boating%20camping%20and%20fising/Adayfishing005.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y159/jabba1/Boating%20camping%20and%20fising/Adayfishing004.jpg
19-07-2008, 04:01 PM
nice shots Jabba
Captain Seaweed
20-07-2008, 06:44 PM
Hello Guys,
This is my Vag with twin 115 ocean pros. So far reliable but like any 2 stroke do foul a little. Anyway great boat handles well.
Marty
20-07-2008, 06:51 PM
Marty
No pics at this end?
What props are you running and when do you get fouling?
Jabba
Great shots of the GC Bass Boat !
Captain Seaweed
20-07-2008, 06:59 PM
15 pitch props not anti fouling. I will repost pictures.
20-07-2008, 07:07 PM
Marty
15 pitch? what dia and what breed?
I thought you said your spark plugs fouled and i wondered when that happened?
Captain Seaweed
20-07-2008, 07:22 PM
Sorry here they are:
2000 Seafarer Vagabond
twin 115
JRC FF60
Lowrance 8200
Captain Seaweed
20-07-2008, 07:42 PM
Hey Chimo, Sorry misled you 17 pitch props . I spoke to you about them a while ago. I have the old 21's cleaned and ready to sell. I dropped to 17s and find them more suitable to my needs. Motor sometime fouls when you idle or putt around for fish and then kill the motor for 15 mins and try to fire up again. Sometimes they wont fire up on first turn. No big deal though.
Marty
My Seafarer VC.
I've owned this boat for over 16 years. The transom has been replaced and I've recently had new steering cables, helm etc put in.
Should be good for another 20 years.
I can't see myself ever parting with my VC, unbeatable in it's size imo.
r.
21-07-2008, 01:03 PM
nice boats fellas.
Here are some more pics of my old girl. She has some interesting lines for a 1970s era boat. Check out the chines and also all the moulding details in the side pic
Ocean_Spirit
25-10-2008, 11:37 PM
Any other owners out there with shots?
boatboy50
26-10-2008, 04:10 PM
Hey Guys,
I too joined the Seafarer Club recently.
One of the reasons I invested in a Seafarer is because I used to work for them in the period my boat was built. I know exactly how well they are built and finished, and had no hesitation when this one popped up for the right price. It will last for a very long time with simple routine maintenance. This boat now looks like the day it rolled out of the factory, ten years on.
One thing I have noted is just how dry the 6.0 Victory is. It is by far the driest 6.0m boat I have ever been in, and I have owned and been in a lot of them. The great soft ride is another huge attraction.
boatboy50
26-10-2008, 04:14 PM
And I thought this may interest some.
A rare shot of a 1995 Seafarer Victory 5.9, and a 1998 Seafarer Victory 6.0 side by side.
The differences are clear to see.
Jabba_
26-10-2008, 05:28 PM
Hey Guys,
One of the reasons I invested in a Seafarer is because I used to work for them in the period my boat was built. I know exactly how well they are built and finished, and had no hesitation when this one popped up for the right price. It will last for a very long time with simple routine maintenance. This boat now looks like the day it rolled out of the factory, ten years on.
One thing I have noted is just how dry the 6.0 Victory is. It is by far the driest 6.0m boat I have ever been in, and I have owned and been in a lot of them. The great soft ride is another huge attraction.
Beautiful boat Darren,,, I'll be going for a Victory next time round... No complaints about the Vermont, but I would like a bit more standing room for fishing, and the Victory fits the bill perfectly....
I have not sean a Victory fitted up witth a 150hp before,, usually they have a 200 or a 175... How does it go with the 150, any figures you could share with us...
Ocean_Spirit
26-10-2008, 06:34 PM
I've driven a few with the 150 carby V6 Johnson offshore, and bottom line is, you don't need much power to make these things go, and the 150 is perfect for almost every application.
Seen one fitted with a V4 115, and one was tested with a 130 Honda and went great - which goes to show the efficiency of the hull, considering it is the heavyweight in its size range. I think there are a few getting around with 130 Honda's.
boatboy50
26-10-2008, 06:37 PM
Hey Jabba,
I bought it with the vision of repowering.
The 150 has actually been a very big surprise find.
I couldn't ask for any more. It cruises effortlessly @ 3800-4000rpm, comfortably pulling 22-25 knots. Flat out in the calm and it pulls 38 knots @ 5800-6000rpm with four aboard. I havn't done too much tweaking yet, but I expect that to lift as I do more hours. The engine hadn't been run in around two years before I bought it.
I'm so happy with the motor, I have shelved the plans to repower any time soon, and i've owned four strokes before.
The engine is a "FICHT" variety, which has received a lot of bad press. This engine has done 320 hours in it's life, and the computer reads it to have had no issues ever. It's been thoroughly checked out and sorted before I ran it for the first time. I'm running XD50 oil.
I'm very happy cruising at 25 knots and returning 20 l/ph, which is what i've had so far. I don't do a lot of trolling.
Jabba_
26-10-2008, 07:01 PM
Thank for the reply's.. I am suprized to hear about a 115 and the 130's on these hulls,,, I would off thought they would be way under powered, but no so...
Boatboy,,, Don't read to much into the Ficht horror stories... If you have 320hr on the clock, then you have got yourself a good reliable Ficht.. Send Noelm a PM is you want to find out more about the Ficht..
Those fuel figures are good, thanks or sharing....
boatboy50
26-10-2008, 07:12 PM
Thanks Jabs,
I did plenty of research before buying, including talking to Noel.
The engine appears faultless to me so far, and I know of guys including Noel with thousands of hours on these engines. I'm told if they made it past 100 hours they will last a very long time. I've also got an excellent mechanic with plenty of knowledge on these engines. I believe that's half the battle.
P.S. How did you get your photos to display so big? Through photobucket or some other way?
26-10-2008, 07:22 PM
Hi BB50
Does the Victory your talking about have trim tabs on it? I thought if its only using 20 l / hr it may have them too
boatboy50
26-10-2008, 07:34 PM
Hey Pete,
No tabs here, and never has it felt like it needed it.
We went over to Tangas last week, and with a 15kn breeze, there was no lean or need.
The Ficht is the reason it's returning good fuel economy. I'm told there is not that much difference between it and an ETEC.
tassie
26-10-2008, 07:59 PM
Hi jabba the only boat that i know can handle biger seas is the allisons but the seafarer runs second.
There is heaps of other boats out their that handle seas better than Allison and Seafarer::) And dont take that to heart because i aint biased with any boat. That's my 2 cents anyway:P
Ocean_Spirit
26-10-2008, 09:18 PM
Tassie, I'm yet to find anything, size for size, that does. I think the number of them (like the V-Sea) out there on the water attest to that.
Most people that own them, have had plenty of boats before them too. Once you learn how to drive them with trim, and you have the set-up spot-on as it should be, they are bloody awesome machines. Drive one through a rough afternoon on Jumpinpin and you appreciate how good everything comes together. Downhill handling is perfect. Anyway, horses for courses, but they are a legendary hull.
Tassie JR
26-10-2008, 09:44 PM
Tassie, I'm yet to find anything, size for size, that does. I think the number of them (like the V-Sea) out there on the water attest to that.
Most people that own them, have had plenty of boats before them too. Once you learn how to drive them with trim, and you have the set-up spot-on as it should be, they are bloody awesome machines. Drive one through a rough afternoon on Jumpinpin and you appreciate how good everything comes together. Downhill handling is perfect. Anyway, horses for courses, but they are a legendary hull.
Hey mate i have personally been for a run in a 19 foot allison and to be honest i was not happy with the ride at all. i think that southwind made one of the best fibreglass hulls around up with cruisecraft and haines hunter, and what i have heard seafarer make a great hull as well.
And just wondering jabba your seafarer with the 250 etec, that model boat is only rated to a 225 hp moter which means u blow ur insurance straight away and thats alot of money to not have insured. Correct me if im wrong on the year of your boat that is for a 08 vermont 5.9m
Aigutso
26-10-2008, 09:50 PM
ok stupid question but what is an Ficht engine? ive got my head around 4 stroke and 2 stroke...
mike
ps these seafarers are great
boatboy50
26-10-2008, 10:23 PM
Aug,
A ficht is basically the first version of ETEC engine. It is still a 2 stroke with high pressure fuel injection, similar to an Optimax or HPDI Yamaha.
tenzing
26-10-2008, 11:16 PM
Hey Guys,
Hey Darren.
A beautiful boat for sure. I am fair dinkum in love with my victory. couldnt ask for a better boat. My wife reckons i can sleep with the boat if I spend any more time with it. Sounds fair enough.
Darren I was intersted in the front right roller on your trailer not contacting the hull. Is that ok?
Brendan
PS. Your roof and clears look fabulous. Are they new? I am fairly tall and that is my only criticism of the design , the top is a little low when standing
Jabba_
27-10-2008, 04:52 AM
Thanks Jabs,
P.S. How did you get your photos to display so big? Through photobucket or some other way?
Yep, Photobucket....
Jabba_
27-10-2008, 04:59 AM
And just wondering jabba your seafarer with the 250 etec, that model boat is only rated to a 225 hp moter which means u blow ur insurance straight away and thats alot of money to not have insured. Correct me if im wrong on the year of your boat that is for a 08 vermont 5.9m
My model Seafarer is Vermont 5.9m.... It has the sam hull as the 5.9 Victory..
My transom is rated to 250hp. I believe it is a factory option..
boatboy50
27-10-2008, 08:12 AM
Hey Darren.
A beautiful boat for sure. I am fair dinkum in love with my victory. couldnt ask for a better boat. My wife reckons i can sleep with the boat if I spend any more time with it. Sounds fair enough.
Darren I was intersted in the front right roller on your trailer not contacting the hull. Is that ok?
Brendan
PS. Your roof and clears look fabulous. Are they new? I am fairly tall and that is my only criticism of the design , the top is a little low when standing
Tenzing,
Thanks for the compliments.
The trailer is new, and the photo was taken on the first outing on it. After that shot was taken, I went and exchanged those rollers for a quad set. You can see it in the other pics, it is all sorted now.
The stainless targa is factory fitted. At the time, they were all built by Boat Fit here on the Goldie. The upholstery is all new. I have also put in a couple of cutouts to the front clear now for better ventilation and vision also.
Tassie, Before this boat I also owned a Southwind SF20 (Someone on here now owns that exact boat, after Leezor sold it). The ride on that boat was simply superb, but nowhere near as dry as the Victory. It is still one of my all time favourite boats. It rode as good as the Victory.
boatboy50
27-10-2008, 08:51 AM
And heres a Pic.
Ocean_Spirit
27-10-2008, 09:28 AM
Hey mate i have personally been for a run in a 19 foot allison and to be honest i was not happy with the ride at all. i think that southwind made one of the best fibreglass hulls around up with cruisecraft and haines hunter, and what i have heard seafarer make a great hull as well.
Fellas,
First point is that the 19" Allison is not in any way indicative of the ride in a Victory/Vermont. Owe yourself to try one first-hand that is properly set-up on a rough afternoon, then put it up against the boats you mentioned for comparison sake. Also pay attention to finish, fittings, build quality, etc. and re-sale value. I agree though, I think Southwind did have a good range.
Secondly, the 5.9 Vermont could be rated to 250 from the factory (as per Jabba's boat which is an 04). Get under the back end of any Seafarer and have a look at the level of raw material in the transom. The half-pods that are moulded off the running surface give the back plenty of lift without the need for planning planks, etc. that harshen the ride, and hence, they can float the big HP engines no problem. In this case, I think the 250's were only set-up for experienced operators, with the majority going out with 175's and 200's. The Evinrude 200/225/250 all weigh the same, just different HP (prior to the new 3.4Ltr E-TEC 250's and 300's). I think Jabba would know all about insurance parameters, etc. Put it this way, the 200 on ours provides a lot of grunt, and the 150/175 perfect. The 250 is just for those that love power!
tenzing
27-10-2008, 09:45 AM
And heres a Pic.
yeah nice job,
Brendan
27-10-2008, 09:53 AM
just read most of this and reckon the only really accurate posts are from Smithy way back on page 1 or 2, I mentioned his type of comments before and got a toweling, even though I have owned and sold Seafarers for a lot of years, they are OK Boats, but not the be all to end all, and the guy who reckons his Alison is the only Boat that can handle big seas has been off his medication for way too long!
27-10-2008, 09:56 AM
OK, now that I have all my safety gear on to protect me from any rocks that will be thrown at me, does anyone know why all Seafarers Boats start with a V? eg Venus, Vagabond, Viper, Viking and on and on!
27-10-2008, 10:22 AM
Hi Noelm
Just re read the comments you referred to. Why do they all start with "V" ?
Was it because Lindsays and his Dads typewriter could only do "'V" s in caps and all the rest were lower case?
Veronica Lake was their favourite actor?
Shame Smithy doesn't still own the one 115 HP that used to overheat. One of mine did that too and after a fair bit of head and other body part scratching I finally sorted it out with a small triangle file, a drill with a honeing stone and some windscreen wiper stiffening stainless steel and a pair of pliers. No more issues with it but i can certainly relate to the pain in the neck it was when it shut down to limp mode and the other one was fine.
Still reckon they are damn good motors and with 20" Rakers not too bad on fuel either.
So after your post 81 what is the be all to end all?
27-10-2008, 10:41 AM
I guess the be all to end all is an almost mythical thing, lots of Boats appeal to different people for a variety of reasons, some because they can do 40knots in a gale, some because some writer told them they are great, Seafarers are indeed a fine Boat, a very wet Boat, especialy if trolling into a decent chop, but none the less, the newer ones are quite well finished and fitted out, the old Vikings and V seas could hardly be said to be well equipped or finished, and the next one with a rotten floor or transom will not be the last, I guess if someone could come up witha Boat that had everything in it, was finished like a rolls royce, could be towed with a mini, had the stability of a cat, went through decent chop without a trip to the chyropractor after, used less than 5 litres an hour, went over 30 knots, looked great, costs bugger all to buy, never needed a service, then that would be the be all to end all, untill then we can only have some of those things!
boatboy50
27-10-2008, 10:55 AM
I guess the be all to end all is an almost mythical thing, lots of Boats appeal to different people for a variety of reasons, some because they can do 40knots in a gale, some because some writer told them they are great, Seafarers are indeed a fine Boat, a very wet Boat, especialy if trolling into a decent chop, but none the less, the newer ones are quite well finished and fitted out, the old Vikings and V seas could hardly be said to be well equipped or finished, and the next one with a rotten floor or transom will not be the last, I guess if someone could come up witha Boat that had everything in it, was finished like a rolls royce, could be towed with a mini, had the stability of a cat, went through decent chop without a trip to the chyropractor after, used less than 5 litres an hour, went over 30 knots, looked great, costs bugger all to buy, never needed a service, then that would be the be all to end all, untill then we can only have some of those things!
Noel,
Sorry, but in the case of the Victory you are seriously misinformed. This boat is boat number 16 i've owned, and driven literally hunderds more (i'm a commercial skipper). It is THE driest boat in this size class I have ever driven. I've heard the story of Vags and Voyagers being wet, but quite frankly this only appears to be an issue at troll in the rough, where most boats would take some over the bow.
I owned a Venus 4.74 years ago, and it was an awesome boat for it's size, probably handled better than the Haines 575F I owned.
I do agree there is not a perfect boat for everyone, but everyone does have a perfect boat for them.
The Victory is pretty close to it for me, but I can guarantee I will own another boat at some point. It will be a pig to someone that wants to wakeboard and ski all weekend.
27-10-2008, 10:56 AM
Can I place an order for one of those with you?
What about the V thing?
27-10-2008, 11:07 AM
My Vag does get some water over the bow especially when your in short sharp swells over a meter / meter and a half particularly when your hanging out on the bow working an anchor. I did get wet once but soon learned about his little foible so its not an issue now. Those anchor retrievers with the SS split ring have multiple benefits!
Slow trolling in 1.5 to 2m or more is wet but then again not being a masochist that is not a major concern so all in all apart from Noelm's boat, that I've put an order in for and my other choice, that nice little 5.2m one we have talked about that would be a nice thing just to have; I'm sticking with the Vag.
C
Dean1
27-10-2008, 11:25 AM
Aug,
A ficht is basically the first version of ETEC engine. It is still a 2 stroke with high pressure fuel injection, similar to an Optimax or HPDI Yamaha.
Darren Hi Darren how's things mate? Hey just curious how do you compare your new ride to the 5.2kc you used to own?? Not getting off topic here or coruptting it, im just curious ;D I owned a 1984 seafarer viking once and wasnt very impressed. Havent been in any other models. Cheers, Deano.
boatboy50
27-10-2008, 11:51 AM
Hey Deano,
Without question the Kevlacat 5.2 was good.
I don't like to compare them though, because to me it's apples against oranges.
Any Cat will handle softer than most monos, and be more stable. It also needs more power, more fuel, and more vehicle to tow. I am a big fan of cats, just not of the associated costs involved. A 23 Noosa Cat is my ultimate dream, but in reality I will never own one, i'll just operate other peoples.
I bought the Seafarer because it was cheaper (i'm a tight arse), a bigger boat, and more suited to my uses as an all rounder. The missus loves it and it will get more use than the KC did.
The KC needs to be walked a lot more, wheres the Victory just set it and go. I'm not after a speed record, just a comfortable and dry ride.
27-10-2008, 11:55 AM
had an older Viking myself at one time, I also was not impressed, it was certainly OK for what it was, neither was my mate who got his at the same time and had it repaired a few times, and those dicky little fold up seats were a real surprise when one folds up beneath you and you land flat on your ar$e, or they drove you nuts banging back and forth against the side when they were folded up. no takers on the V thing yet?
27-10-2008, 12:09 PM
If i owned a mono again it would probably be a victory, i have spent alot of time in this hull and rate it very highly, imho it's probably the pic of the Mono 6.0m boats out there that i've had personal experience in! But i also agree with Smithy and Noel , The seafarers have some very bad habits , one as mentioned is wet when trolling on anything but a good day and the other is when running down hill driving into and through the back of a wave, very dangerous!!!!
Jabba
Mate, i'm fully aware of the capability's of your vermont mate and 45knots in a 2.5m swell is not one of them. As sleepy greg mentioned you have again got your km;s / knots mixed up ( remember the fuel figures 3nm /perl) Vermonts are a god hull and i have been doing 100km/hr offshore in one launching of swells that were a long way apart and the sea was glassy but that is along way from what you decribed !
27-10-2008, 12:19 PM
I would reckon that almost any Boat at 100KPH offshore is going to be exiting to say the least, I know it is done as is much faster speeds, but not with a bunch of Fisherman or family and a pile of rods and stuff, anyone who doubts this, just give it a whirl some day, get your Boat up to WOT in the Ocean, see how fast you are really going, then imagine what 100KPH would be like, all I can say is YEEEHAAAA! by the way, I am kidding, do not get your Boat up to full speed in the Ocean!
Ocean_Spirit
27-10-2008, 12:54 PM
The 'V' tradition has been around from the beginning. Many people don't know that Seafarer built the first deep-vee fibreglass trailerboat in Australia - the Vixen 13". I am not 100% on this, but I think you will find the V stands for 'DEEP V', and the tradition has continued for many years. The only other company I know that follows a similar tradition is Aston Martin.
NoelM, where did you sell Seafarer's out of interest?
I'm with BoatBoy, the Victory is an awesome all-rounder and this design has proved very popular with family fisherman over the past two decades. The Vikings being referred to here weren't the 5.5Mtr based on the current hull. They were the older version, that looked very similar to the 4.74 V-Sea, only longer. Skipper stood a long way forward, and they were built as fishing boats. Honest sea-boat, (some say the 4.74 was a better boat) but the new ones with half-pod and new hull and deck were a big improvement. They weren't designed as pretty family boats!
As for rotted floors / transoms in the older ones, you can say the same for any boat that age with that many hours and hard-work these boats copped, and it happens to certain other boats a lot sooner! New ones had the benefit of R&D and better materials. It will be interesting to see if some of the new-age building methods used around the place now stand-up to age like the older boats have (look at the old Halvorsen's, Norman Wrights, Caribbeans, etc. and my 40 year old Seafarer getting around).
Anyway, I agree with Noel's comments about the 'perfect' boat. Most Aussie boats are done well, and built for an application - and getting out and enjoying them is what it is all about. We've got some world-class brands here with Signature, Cruise Craft, Haines Hunter, Kevlacat, Caribbean, etc. and Seafarer has been a class-act for sometime - and respected locally and internationally. This is what this post was about - particularly given the changing of the guard now and a new approach.
27-10-2008, 02:28 PM
My 72 Haines V16C was much less well built in terms of the floor at least than my 70s Vagabond...chalk and cheese even allowing for the size difference. The original floor on the V16C is very thin ply with a thin glass coat topsides only. The sheer amount of thick glass in the Vag is a thing of beauty.
Jabba_
27-10-2008, 04:58 PM
If i owned a mono again it would probably be a victory, i have spent alot of time in this hull and rate it very highly, imho it's probably the pic of the Mono 6.0m boats out there that i've had personal experience in! But i also agree with Smithy and Noel , The seafarers have some very bad habits , one as mentioned is wet when trolling on anything but a good day and the other is when running down hill driving into and through the back of a wave, very dangerous!!!!
Jabba
Mate, i'm fully aware of the capability's of your vermont mate and 45knots in a 2.5m swell is not one of them. As sleepy greg mentioned you have again got your km;s / knots mixed up ( remember the fuel figures 3nm /perl) Vermonts are a god hull and i have been doing 100km/hr offshore in one launching of swells that were a long way apart and the sea was glassy but that is along way from what you decribed !
It's getting bigger and faster each time I read about, it was 40mph and 2m.. The swell was far apart and smooth (not completely glassed out), there was small left over chop from the previous day.. That's the best way I know how to describe it. We were running against another boat that maxed out at 35mph, I left him behind.... In the last few months, I have not be out on a day that is suitable to run at those speed. 20-25mph max going into the swell...
As for running down hill, I know what you mean, but what I do is trim the motor out to lift the nose, and increase the speed.. Work extreamly well, and you get home quicker...
tassie
27-10-2008, 08:28 PM
::) ::) ::) ::) ;)
Tassie JR
27-10-2008, 09:10 PM
My model Seafarer is Vermont 5.9m.... It has the sam hull as the 5.9 Victory..
My transom is rated to 250hp. I believe it is a factory option..
thanks for correcting me jabba. the only thing that made me think was this link.
http://www.seafarerboats.com/content.aspx?pageID=31&mainID=2
cheers tassie JR
Tassie JR
27-10-2008, 09:19 PM
Tenzing,
Thanks for the compliments.
The trailer is new, and the photo was taken on the first outing on it. After that shot was taken, I went and exchanged those rollers for a quad set. You can see it in the other pics, it is all sorted now.
The stainless targa is factory fitted. At the time, they were all built by Boat Fit here on the Goldie. The upholstery is all new. I have also put in a couple of cutouts to the front clear now for better ventilation and vision also.
Tassie, Before this boat I also owned a Southwind SF20 (Someone on here now owns that exact boat, after Leezor sold it). The ride on that boat was simply superb, but nowhere near as dry as the Victory. It is still one of my all time favourite boats. It rode as good as the Victory.
We used to have a southwind sf 640 and it was a very dry boat always felt safe in it and it was a great sea boat, i know the southwind you are talking about and it looked a awsome boat, i personally cant comment on the ride of the seafarers as i havent been in one but i know from what i have heard they are a great boat and im not dissing them at all.
cheers tassie JR
Ocean_Spirit
29-10-2008, 11:33 AM
For those interested, there are two new Modern Boating tests out on both the Victory and Voyager.
Victory:
http://www.modernboating.com.au/boat_tests/boat_tests/1/652/V-for-Victory
Voyager:
http://www.modernboating.com.au/boat_tests/boat_tests/1/685/On-Voyager
06-10-2009, 05:59 PM
Thought I would add some photos of the new and improved version - she is about 35 years old and still feels like its made of concrete...:)
siegfried
06-10-2009, 08:37 PM
If you read my first post it states, 45mph into a lumpy 2.5m swell, I cruise between 30-35mph..... Yeah, my balls were up in my mouth when I first opened up the throttle.... My main fear was if I got air and a chop smacked the stern, I would come down bow first and nose dive...... As it happened I only got prop vent twice, and it was only for a fraction of a second each time..... Interestingly the ride a 45mph was smoother then it was at 35mph...
Also my definition off lumpy is a chop that is left over from the day before...
That is the funniest thing Ive ever heard 45 mph into 2.5mt;D ;D crap ,All these seafarers must be different to any Ive ever been in cause theve all ridden as hard as a harlots heart and been wet as buggery when the seas get up::) Even the flagship 6.8 voyager sucks big time and before I get belted go out in one in $hit conditions and tell me Im wrong. Glad I discovered this thread very entertaining, Id call it the Seaspearer propaganda thread but;D ;D Still laughing at some of the stuff on here Venus better then Haines HAHAHAHAHAHAhA
siegfried
06-10-2009, 08:39 PM
Run out of room...... still laughin guts now sore unable to get up...warm feeling ...oops How modern boating can call that a boat test is beyond me but we all know the storey, if these monkeys told the truth about anything most of the manufacturers would never give em another boat :-*
06-10-2009, 08:51 PM
Mate, without commenting on individual comments above, I think some of us are in a position to judge boat build, boat finish and boat handling enough to say that our Seafarers are at a particular standard...and we have...and for good reason. I do not say that my Seafarer is better than any other boat out there, but its an excellent rig in its own right and Seafarer is one of those brands that has a cult following and high re-sale (they dont need a propaganda thread as you call it) and this is merely a thread appreciating the attributes that make the brand a mark. As much as Haines Hunter (Australian and then Sig') is a mark.
siegfried
06-10-2009, 08:56 PM
They are not a bad boat ,nor imho are they great ,and they will never go down in history as classic timeless hulls (except for that yella one that does 400mph into25m seas)
06-10-2009, 09:06 PM
I disagree with you about timeless hulls - the use of the early ones by coast guard (pre-cats) sees to that. Adding to that are the Jeff Webster mags, Trailerboat Fisherman (Marinews), the old timers that have been through many hulls in adverse conditions to name a couple of examples ensure that many of the Fry hulls are indeed timeless. You will not find a discussion on good fishing boats that do not include Seafarer (of course along with Haines, Carribean, Savages etc - and of course certain hulls more than others).
But, alas, I dont mind what your opinion is of them.
06-10-2009, 09:08 PM
Ohh...and even though it would just be your opinion it might be informative for you to name the timeless ones.
sparky54
14-02-2010, 02:56 PM
Hi fellow Seafarer lovers and others
I thought I would add my new Victory to the clan, after a very long 16 week wait I finally picked her up on 28/12/09. She is powered by a 175 Suzuki which pushes it along quite nicely. Since getting her home I have fitted a Lowrance HDS8, dual battery system with VSR, deck wash, stereo and clears. Still on the to do list are trim tabs ( most likely Volvo QL ), plumb the bait tank and NMEA 2000 network for engine data. I live in Rockhampton and fish in Keppel Bay and will be traveling up to 100 km offshore when and if the weather is good enough.
Arrived home after a long drive from the Gold Coast.
http://i692.photobucket.com/albums/vv287/sparky54_bucket/NewBoat3.jpg
http://i692.photobucket.com/albums/vv287/sparky54_bucket/NewBoat2.jpg
http://i692.photobucket.com/albums/vv287/sparky54_bucket/NewBoat4.jpg
Madden voyage to Great Keppel Island.
http://i692.photobucket.com/albums/vv287/sparky54_bucket/NewBoat1.jpg
14-02-2010, 03:14 PM
Very nice mate. Gotta love it!
krazyfisher
14-02-2010, 07:06 PM
nice boat there sparky