View Full Version : Footy Tipping '08" edited, please read "

23-02-2008, 09:51 PM
Hi all tipsters!!!

I will be running another tipping comp on the NRL. Yes I am a glutton for punishment!!!!:o

As before, it will be in the 'Test' section. So when I put the post up you can enter...

I think the first round is the 14th.

Do you think we should have Narnie Cake again as the first prize????:-/

cheers Roz

( here is the link to the TEST page for details...... )

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?p=777555#post777555

aussiefool
23-02-2008, 09:56 PM
I'm in again roz.

Same email addie as last year? and as for the Narnie cake that is the only reason I entering

23-02-2008, 10:09 PM
I'm in again roz.

Same email addie as last year? and as for the Narnie cake that is the only reason I entering

It should be the same email as last year... I will confirm that when I post everything in 'test'.

One of our aims will be to knock Wags on the Water off his pedestal, and thanks for the narnie cake compliment:-* . Might just give you 4 points start for that!!!

sleepygreg
23-02-2008, 10:28 PM
Im in again.......just to get a taste of that narnie cake!!!!!!

23-02-2008, 10:38 PM
would it be easier for you roz, to set up the comp on the fairfax digital web site?
just a thought, from memory we had it on there two seasons ago.

bluefin59
24-02-2008, 02:36 AM
I would like a go at the cake again ...matt

bluefin59
24-02-2008, 02:37 AM
I would like a go at the cake again ...matt

24-02-2008, 09:01 AM
http://www.footytips.com.au/cfm/ft/engine/engine.cfm?l1=HOME&NEWVISITDT=24February2008_09_57_AM

thats the link.the site will automatically send reminder emails and tally the toatls!

ps, the narnie cake is mine;D

Knotpretty
24-02-2008, 03:08 PM
Count me in . What shape ball do they use (lol) ?

timor 2
24-02-2008, 03:40 PM
yeah guys i will be interested in the comp. What does it cost? or is it a social thing?

Cheers Sean

seajay535
24-02-2008, 05:40 PM
I will be in again

imnotoriginal
24-02-2008, 05:41 PM
I'm in, cheers for taking it on again roz.
Joel

24-02-2008, 08:29 PM
Sign me up Roz. That cake sounds good

oddbudman
24-02-2008, 09:38 PM
woot woot.

good to hear its on again - i'm in

oddbudman

STUIE63
25-02-2008, 03:33 PM
I was just thinking this morning if ausfish will be having another comp so count me in again. thanks in advance Roz:D

25-02-2008, 09:35 PM
Mmmmmm.....NEED MORE CAKE....

I'm in again Roz

26-02-2008, 12:17 PM
I could do with some cake, so I might as well go around again, although I think it may be easier on you to use one of the free sites like oztips, it is password protected so only members can use/see it, web based and easy to use, but if you want all the work again, lets go!!!

Rodman
26-02-2008, 12:46 PM
Hi Roz

I am in if that is OK

Ken

baitwaster
26-02-2008, 01:03 PM
I'll take a shot at the title.

As much as your cake is most likeley delicious, my mum fed me banana cake for smoko at school for 13 years straight, so I am kinda over it. In the unlikely event that I end up near the pointy end, I will happy to donate said cake to anyone else - unless there is an orange poppy seed option? ;D

26-02-2008, 05:58 PM
As the title holder, I'd have to say Roz's narni cake (well...both of them;D ), tasted deeelicious.;)
I also thought the way Roz and Phil handled the comp last year was second to none.

Wags

Bring on the cake!!!

26-02-2008, 06:27 PM
I am in................ i too am a glutton for punishment..................

polky
26-02-2008, 06:32 PM
Wasn,t around last year so need to taste cake, count me in. Polky. Wags I,ll big note Iam a bit of a footy guru, so look out.

The Phantom
27-02-2008, 01:27 PM
I'll be in it.

27-02-2008, 04:06 PM
Wasn,t around last year so need to taste cake, count me in. Polky. Wags I,ll big note Iam a bit of a footy guru, so look out.

Polky,

You don't need any prior footy knowledge....... Last year who would've gone out on a limb and picked the bunnies.... Or the best one for me was not to pick the broncos....due to there form slump.

All the best to everyone this year.

Wags

27-02-2008, 05:21 PM
Polky,

You don't need any prior footy knowledge....... Last year who would've gone out on a limb and picked the bunnies.... Or the best one for me was not to pick the broncos....due to there form slump.

All the best to everyone this year.

Wags

Don't try and be modest Mike!!!

I was hoping you may have swam up the berley trail and taken the hook.. Good try guru;) .

Nothing wrong with a bit of biffo in the tipping.

cheers roz;D

27-02-2008, 10:04 PM
I'm in again.

The comp finishes before the Agnes M & G, so Roz, you'll have all the work to do, no proxy tip counting ;D :P.

Wags..... OK, I won't be picking too many " upsets " this year.

Narni Cake.....YUMMO........ I can taste it now.....8-)

Only 3 weeks til the start of the season....

Friday Night Footy is back.... yee haa !!!!!! ( unless the weather is good !! ::) )

sleepygreg
27-02-2008, 10:32 PM
ya could do worse than pick the bunnies this year :)

aussiefool
28-02-2008, 02:41 AM
Just a quick question Roz. If someone forgets to put tips in this year will they still get point? I think it caused a few upset punters last year
Aussiefool

( as the same as last year, if you forget to put your tips in you will be awarded any points from winners of HOME games for that round. Forget to put your tips in for a few weeks in a row, and you may ::) be removed from the comp. Better still, await the rules that Roz will post up in the " TEST " board very soon and all will be explained..... cheers Phill )

28-02-2008, 09:12 AM
we used to run under those rules, but some times the people that forgot their tips got more than the ones that did (because a lot of away teams won) so we then made the rules that a tipster that forgets to tip, gets the lowest tipped score minus 1 as a penalty, makes it a bit fairer (I reckon anyway)

28-02-2008, 09:13 AM
and also still reckon oztips is the way to go, to save hard work by the comp organiser (Roz) but will happily tip anyway that is recomended.

mowerman
28-02-2008, 07:51 PM
Me again.

Gotta learn not to tip the chokos,,,sorry boncos.

I know the signwriter...

Rod.

fishplukka
02-03-2008, 09:21 AM
im in but can you make it with chocalate icing
cheers fishplukka

02-03-2008, 09:43 AM
im in but can you make it with chocalate icing
cheers fishplukka

Mmmmmm tastes really good with choc icing.....;D ;D ;D ;D

02-03-2008, 09:53 PM
You'll never know, Wags... the cake is mine :P :P

03-03-2008, 09:07 AM
You'll never know, Wags... the cake is mine :P :P

As luck would have it......well it was my luck that the first narni cake did have choc icing....Yummo....Sorry I didn't offer you any....

Maybe this year.;)

Wags

STUIE63
03-03-2008, 10:08 AM
Wags everyone wants your title. look forward to see how this year pans out go the COWBOYS

03-03-2008, 10:58 AM
I think I should quit while ahead and remain undefeated...;D ;D

03-03-2008, 04:17 PM
Just a quick question Roz. If someone forgets to put tips in this year will they still get point? I think it caused a few upset punters last year
Aussiefool

( as the same as last year, if you forget to put your tips in you will be awarded any points from winners of HOME games for that round. Forget to put your tips in for a few weeks in a row, and you may ::) be removed from the comp. Better still, await the rules that Roz will post up in the " TEST " board very soon and all will be explained..... cheers Phill )

Andrew, if you forget to put your tips in you will have to buy me a carton;D ...or be awarded the away points.

Actually, i'm still thinking about that, I think last year was a bad example.

Since the beginning of time, the rule has always been 'no tips gets the away points'

r.;)

03-03-2008, 04:26 PM
Noel & Lippa,

You're right, it would be easier on the tipping site, but this keeps it 'in house', no need to go into other sites, and I really don;'t mind the extra work:wings: ::) :wings: ::) .

ONE OF LAST YEARS CAKES DID HAVE CHOLOLATE ICING ....MIKE GOT TWO CAKES!!!

eagle1
03-03-2008, 04:33 PM
this sounds good,im in, but you might have to give me some directions how to do it

go the mighty sea eagles

03-03-2008, 04:37 PM
2 cakes ????

I had better not tip those long shots this year.

BTW, I'll order one with vanilla icing and one plain.

:P wags :P

phill

Redspeckle
04-03-2008, 07:02 AM
Well count me in again last year I got to lick the bowels ( this word should be bowls, but seeing as it has become a joke in posts further down, it will stay , phill ) for being in 2nd place so hopefully get to taste the end product this time;D

Marlin _Mike The Bulldogs will go better this year without big Willy::)

Mitch
Go the Cowboys in 2008 and give Muzza the premiership title that has been coaching for many years which he deserves

baitwaster
04-03-2008, 09:14 AM
last year I got to lick the bowels for being in 2nd place

Might want to check your spelling Redspeckle - nasty mental image there.

Licking bowls = ;D

Licking bowels = :(

LOL

04-03-2008, 09:48 AM
I hope I don't finish 2nd........

mono
05-03-2008, 06:12 PM
Hi Roz, you are keen taking it on again! There realy isnt any point in picking the winner because you all know deep down that the mighty rabbitoes are going to take it out easy!!
I cant offer a charter for a prize because I'm still retired, at the moment, but will donate $100.00 worth of my hand-made mackerel live-bait rigs to the winner.
Hope this will helps and good luck to all.
Mono
PS. Go the mighty Rabbits

05-03-2008, 07:24 PM
Thanks Mono, sounds great.

for all details and rules for the comp , click on this link:-

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?p=777555#post777555

Good tipping people.

Redspeckle
06-03-2008, 06:38 PM
Well count me in again last year I got to lick the bowels ( this word should be bowls, but seeing as it has become a joke in posts further down, it will stay , phill ) for being in 2nd place so hopefully get to taste the end product this time;D

Marlin _Mike The Bulldogs will go better this year without big Willy::)

Mitch
Go the Cowboys in 2008 and give Muzza the premiership title that has been coaching for many years which he deserves

Well I haven't been on for a few days to check this post out i didn't mean to post up spelling like that and mean that you known the letter W on key borad is next to letter E so it happen as accident when typing i hope i didn't offend anybody here
Mitch:-[

sleepygreg
06-03-2008, 11:13 PM
dont worry Mitch, just gives everybody the chance to partake in aussies favourite sport......taking the p*ss out of someone....no offence taken...and please take all comments in the light hearted manner in which they were meant. :)

07-03-2008, 09:46 PM
Not long now until the start of play.

get registered now, send that email to ausfishtipping@live.com with your Ausfish nicname as the subject.

Tipping will commence from Thursday next week. ( 13th march )

OH..... no bowl licking allowed..... ;D ::) :P

thesav
07-03-2008, 10:03 PM
Phil and Roz
Hopefully you have got my email - I'm in. NRL comp distracts me from everything in winter so I must be a big show in this comp.
Sav

JawstheOriginal
08-03-2008, 07:49 AM
I'm in! Hope you got the email!

Let's go Broncos! :D

08-03-2008, 05:39 PM
yep looks like everyone that emailed us is in. we only have 19 competitors so far.... had nearly 40 last year, better get that email in people.

The stakes are high !!!!!!!

10-03-2008, 09:15 AM
24 in and counting.

Those that have put their hands up here and haven't emailed us, better get to it !!!

10-03-2008, 10:48 AM
Those that haven't emailed the comp organiser are:-

SSMojo
timor 2
oddbudman
STUIE63
Rodman
baitwaster
Redspeckle
fishplukka

and mono, if ya up for it ?

modo
11-03-2008, 08:30 AM
count me in again

timor 2
11-03-2008, 12:13 PM
hi phil i replied to a email where it said just put my user name in the subject box did you get the email? Cheers sean

11-03-2008, 03:31 PM
Yes sean, got ya email.

Modo, haven't got your yet ?

33 tipsters are registered now.

eagle1
12-03-2008, 09:10 AM
hi phil wondering if you recieved my email i sent the other day
kia.roa@hotmail.com

12-03-2008, 06:47 PM
all people who sent an email, I have recieved it, I believe.

The only one I haven't got yet is from fishplukka !!!!!!

we have 37 competitors

fish_on
16-03-2008, 08:32 PM
what 26 rounds of stress for one banana cake. ausfish should put up some prizes of t shirts or hats or whatever they sell.

17-03-2008, 09:09 AM
This comp is NOT being run by Ausfish, it is being run by Ausfish member " roz " with the assistance of a Moderator on this site, namely me.

The comp is unique as no other comp in Australia has such a sort after first prize. :P ;D

Mono has offered a prize as well. This will be distributed as the organiser deems appropriate.

sleepygreg
18-03-2008, 12:15 AM
gimme the narni cake any day.....bugger all those other 'soft' prizes!!!!!

fish_on
29-03-2008, 02:36 PM
wake up greg. depends on what comp ya go in its worth a thousand of ya so called narni cakes and phil yes im not stupid i know its run by another member. she is putting her hand up maybe you guys should too. not that im in it i dont care what ya do. anyway maybe i should just shut up

sleepygreg
30-03-2008, 01:57 AM
some people just take life too seriously!!!!!!

fish_on
30-03-2008, 12:04 PM
say it again wake up greg or should i say go to bed at 1.57am. its footy tipping not life im talking about

03-04-2008, 04:39 PM
say it again wake up greg or should i say go to bed at 1.57am. its footy tipping not life im talking about

Hey fish-on, you seem to have contradicted your self a tad.

At the end of the day nobody give a rats about a narnie cake (except Wags), it's all just for fun.... the same as the Ausfish site.

Onya Greg for speaking up!!!!

JawstheOriginal
30-08-2008, 04:07 PM
Where are we all at? :D

fish-n-dive
30-08-2008, 04:43 PM
I know I don't own this board but I can't understand what footy has to do with fishing.....

I have threads moved to outer darkness because they (supposedly) had nothing to do with fishing.

It seems that depending on who you are threads get moved to the sandpit if the mods don't like ya.

01-09-2008, 06:04 AM
NOT True fish-n-dive.

The footy tipping is in the TEST area. That area is designed for off topics, testing posts, first timers play area etc.

As for your last sentence..... not even close to the mark. Posts get moved because they are in the wrong area or are not suitable, there are no personal agendas here.

01-09-2008, 07:21 AM
At the end of the day nobody give a rats about a narnie cake (except Wags), it's all just for fun.... the same as the Ausfish site.

Ah, Roz,

You should hear Wags rabbit on about the narni cake! I hope he lets me try it this year (after he wins), I'd like to compare it to my wife's (which is the best in the world OF COURSE!!!)

fish-n-dive
02-09-2008, 07:29 AM
NOT True fish-n-dive.

The footy tipping is in the TEST area. That area is designed for off topics, testing posts, first timers play area etc.

As for your last sentence..... not even close to the mark. Posts get moved because they are in the wrong area or are not suitable, there are no personal agendas here.

Phill,

I worded my original statement poorly and for that i apologise.

Purely from my perspective, I cannot fathom how something is considered suitable (discounting porn and graphic material) or not without being based on a mods personal opinion which on occasion is vastly different from mine.

Again sorry if I caused any personal offense.

michael