View Full Version : My Donk is Bleeding.........

Splash
20-02-2008, 07:36 PM
Hi Team.

I would like to know why/how this leak may be occuring (Photos).

I'll take the "get a new donk" comments well but I have heard them all before...

Splash

pursuit001
20-02-2008, 07:40 PM
hi mate to me looks like you have a seal gone .

20-02-2008, 07:52 PM
Don't think you need to worry about it but clean it all up with some detergent water to find just how high it starts, odds are it is perfectly OK.

cheers scott

20-02-2008, 07:56 PM
There is no access to oil from that adapter plate that separates the block from the lower section, water yes and exhaust gasses sort of, these are not like a 4st, it really does need to be coming from above under the cowl I think, water would leak first under pressure and exhaust gases would fill the water jacket first.

Splash
20-02-2008, 08:18 PM
Thanks boys -

Which seal may be gone?

Outsider1
20-02-2008, 08:20 PM
It looks a bit like the oil weep I get on my 2 stroke whipper snipper. My last one used to weep like it as well. It is basically unburnt 2s oil that collects and weeps out of the exhaust over time. Hope it is something as simple as that.

Looks like an Evinrude/Johnson!?, the rusty trim tube gives it away!;D

20-02-2008, 08:53 PM
Thanks boys -

Which seal may be gone?

Not one you want to be playing with splash!

Let sleeping dogs lie... wont cause you any drammas;)

Splash
20-02-2008, 09:32 PM
Thanks guys.

Any ideas on retreiving data files from Hard drives that have been re-formated?

I am having major dramas at moment with crashed hard drive data...

Sorry for gettign off topic.

Splash

BaitThrower
21-02-2008, 06:16 AM
If the drive has been fully re-formatted, I think you can kiss any files that were on it goodbye :(

A hard drive that has "crashed", that is a different matter and file retrieval may be possible... look online, lots of file retrieval software available for crashed drives.

Outsider1
21-02-2008, 07:31 AM
Thanks guys.

Any ideas on retreiving data files from Hard drives that have been re-formated?

I am having major dramas at moment with crashed hard drive data...

Sorry for gettign off topic.

Splash

Hi Splash,

does not sound good. As BaitThrower said if it has been reformatted its going to be difficult but all is not necessarily lost. Try a google search for data recovery software. Actually, if the data is pretty important and you are willing to pay, there are lots of businesses that specialise in recovering data and that would be the way to go. The sooner they get your hard drive the better in that case (ie don't fiddle and make it worse). Do a google search for "hard drive data retrieval" (tick the pages from Australia box too), it will bring up heaps of businesses that do that type of work.

21-02-2008, 07:37 AM
there is a couple of ways to "format" a drive if it was done as a "low level" format, then it is gone! if it was just a quick zero all data, then there is some hope, if it is just dead, then indeed there is a pile of places that will get data back, they seem to charge according to how desperate you sound (I reckon anyway) one of the best is Xyber they in Frenchs Forest in Sydney and it can be posted to them, they repair your old drive, or supply recovered data on DVD's.

Splash
23-02-2008, 10:17 AM
thanks guys..

Gilli
23-02-2008, 11:09 AM
yeah mate i got a 25hp johnson and she does the same thing, mechanic friend said just leave it. Its just somethin leakn outa the zaust and it more than likely will fill itself up after a while from carbon build up.
One way to stop it for a few runs is go out n purchase some engine tuner(its in a spray can) and u just start ya motor and spray it into the carby whilst shes runnin. Will smoke everything out because its burning out the carbon but makes it run better.

Splash
23-02-2008, 11:43 AM
thanks gilli

Outsider1
23-02-2008, 12:22 PM
You might find a better quality 2 stroke oil might also help reduce the oil weep as well Splash.

Roughasguts
23-02-2008, 01:29 PM
Splash if she's bleeding that's a good thing it means your motor is Alive and still been running recently.

I would leave it instead of that oil running out the exhaust it runs out a bit earlier it might be only a two dollar part for that seal, but a bastard to replace.