View Full Version : LED lighting

18-02-2008, 06:09 PM
G'day fellas,

Im looking at replacing the flouros I have in my boat with some long and narrow LED banks of lights. Anywhere from 4" to 8" long would be ideal. I want to tuck them inside the gunnel of the boat for protection from knocks and so the light shines outwards into the middle of the boat but not into my eyes.

What have you seen on the market that resembles what I'm chasing?

Alan_L
18-02-2008, 07:42 PM
G'day mate, jump on the Hella marine site, they have several different types, length, colour etc. Not cheap though.

http://www.hellamarine.com/?t=3&pcid=17

Al

tin can marlin
18-02-2008, 08:28 PM
What ever you do don't buy the cheap stuff it is junk.

larfin
18-02-2008, 09:03 PM
Got a mate with the hella stuff and the price was not for the faint hearted but it was bloody good
greg

tin can marlin
18-02-2008, 09:12 PM
I would stick with hella good brand name.

BaitThrower
18-02-2008, 09:14 PM
I got a set of two 12-LED lights off ebay that claim to be 100% waterproof. I have had one of them on my boat for a few trips and so far so good. It is somewhat protected under the lid of my battery box. The second I have just added near the bow in a rather unprotected area that will probably cop a lot of spray so will be interesting to see how that one holds up.

Lewy
18-02-2008, 09:29 PM
Smartlite on the Gold Coast. Good product not cheap. They custom build them and are very helpful.

Lewy

PWCDad
20-02-2008, 07:21 AM
This place may help ...have a peek down the list ...some good bar leds at a reasonable price ...

http://www.springers.com.au/Products.aspx?CategoryID=27

PWCDad

timddo
20-02-2008, 09:35 AM
they are about $45 Each at led lighting

20-02-2008, 08:10 PM
I got a set of two 12-LED lights off ebay that claim to be 100% waterproof. I have had one of them on my boat for a few trips and so far so good. It is somewhat protected under the lid of my battery box. The second I have just added near the bow in a rather unprotected area that will probably cop a lot of spray so will be interesting to see how that one holds up.

I saw these on Ebay and wondered what the quality would be like. How much light do they produce per bank?
I wasn't going to take the punt tho.

Gonna drop into springers on the way home tomorrow arvo and have a bo peep as whats on offer.

Thanks guys.

joeT
20-02-2008, 08:18 PM
I got some of these on the boat:
http://www.besthongkong.com/index.php?cPath=21_71

Waterproof LED strips, plug and play, and reasonably cheap. Haven't had any problems with them yet.