View Full Version : Fuel consumption 150HP Merc 2 stroke

Mark Lynch
12-02-2008, 07:13 AM
Hey guys

I am

just looking for a bit of input regarding fuel consumption of a 3 yr old Merc 150 HP saltwater series EFI 2 stroke, pushin a 610 quintrex offshore?

My current boat, close to being put on the market is a quinnie classic 5.6mtr with Honda 90 4stroke, 110 ltr tank gives a full day 3 hours travel off shore, moving, trolling and return, faultless quality the honda's thats for sure

Cheers8-)

12-02-2008, 07:52 AM
G'day Mark,

I had a 2005 150 efi merc on my 6.5mt platey for nearly 16mths. Found it to be a rock solid performer, very reliable, fired up first time every time.

I had a 17" vengeance prop, which was a tad too tall for my set up as WOT pulled up @ 5200 RPM - about 500 rpm short and I reckon this also effected my fuel economy.

It would cruise nicely between 3200-4000 and return 33lt/hr-38 lt/hr cruising between 32klm/hr & 45klm/hr depending on the sea conditions. I reckon this would have improved if I had it propped right, and would reckon on the 610 quinnie being a lighter hull, it should by rights get a bit better than I returned.

It will certainly not be what you'd be used to with a 90 honda, but neither are you shelling out the big bucks on a comparable 4st. For me, it provided an acceptable solution til I could recover from building the Riptide and eventually upgrade. Now I'm running an f200 yam and am very happy with it.

But I was satisfied with the 150 merc - a typical day to the banks and running around, not a lot of change out of 180 litres for 6hrs running, but as i said, I was very confident with it, its was a solid performer

Mark Lynch
12-02-2008, 08:08 AM
C

Cheers Rhys for that
Looking for additional input from other fisho's
I agree with the 17P props are a little too tall, 15P suits well, without lagging engine

I

12-02-2008, 08:27 AM
G'day mark, rhys is right it'll be a rock solid performer and be very reliable but the real answer to your question is that it'll chew a fair bit of juice and also retain very little resale value in the coming years. if the purchase price is right and you don't clock up enough hours for the fuel bill to worry you and you are also willing to write off a fair chunk of the value of the motor when the time comes to upgrade then go for it, it'll push the 610 along nicely.

Rod_Bender
12-07-2008, 07:40 AM
Mate i've just fitted a brand new 2s 150 EFI Merc on he back of my Blue Water Cabin boat i had built by Scotty. It has a 17p vengeance prop fitted to it as standard. My boat prolly weighs around the 800Kg, pus gear, fuel, people etc. My WOT is about 5600RPM. at 3800RPM i'm sitting on around 26 knots, 4000 RPM 28, so pretty good figures. At WOT i'm doing 39.7knots. The other day i towed a biscuit around with the young fella and did 16.7 miles to a 20 litre little red tank which i'm using to guage fuel comsumption. I've done this twice and seems pretty average. They only thing i will add, is this was all during run in periods. I've only put 5 hours on it, sopossibly it may get a little bit better. I brought mine dirt cheap off a guy who didn't use it for 12 months and sat inside a box at the store. This is the only reason why i went a 2S cause i'm like 10K in front

MEGA'bite
12-07-2008, 08:34 AM
spend the extra $ and buy an optimax 150, mine returns me 1.8 klm per ltr at approx 4000 rpm,50kph i use approx 80lt to 90 lt on a trip to the northern end of the banks and back. My boat is approx 1500kg 19ft and i aslo run a vengence 17 pt prop S/S. at WOT im doing 76klm hr, cant folt it as yet and its a 2001 model, i believe the later models are slighty better .

grumpysmurf
27-05-2013, 09:20 AM
I realise I dug up an old thread but I just got a Haines signature 610C with a 150hp efi 2 stroke. I just did the first fuel consumption run using GPS and a electronic navman fuel flow meter.
Boat weighs 860kg, engine 188, fuel 130, equipment 250, people 150. Total of around 1580kg. Also running a vengeance 17p. This is for an oldie 98 motor with 420 hours.

I am very happy to report the following figures.

Rpm : knots : lph : km/l
900 : 2.93 : 4.73 : 1.15
1600 : 6.05 : 11.4 : 0.98
2800 : 11.55 : 10.45 : 1.10
3700 : 24.13 : 25.76 : 1.73
4600 : 30.30 : 37.6 : 1.49
5600 : 34.5 : 55.67 : 1.15

So for a heavy boat, using a cheapie reliable 2 stroke cruising around 18-26 knots and getting around 1.6 km per litre! Damn happy about that! Also will note that it is a lot less noisy/smoky than my old boat with an 80's Suzuki. Though just as smelly.

frontflip90
27-05-2013, 07:13 PM
great topic, I also bought a trailcraft 6.40 with a 2004 mercury 150xl 2s efi, have to say the mechanic put it on his computer and checked it over and said its in great condition and they are solid engines, think I chew roughly 1lt 1km roughly

gpz1991
28-05-2013, 06:45 PM
I realise I dug up an old thread but I just got a Haines signature 610C with a 150hp efi 2 stroke. I just did the first fuel consumption run using GPS and a electronic navman fuel flow meter.
Boat weighs 860kg, engine 188, fuel 130, equipment 250, people 150. Total of around 1580kg. Also running a vengeance 17p. This is for an oldie 98 motor with 420 hours.

I am very happy to report the following figures.

Rpm : knots : lph : km/l
900 : 2.93 : 4.73 : 1.15
1600 : 6.05 : 11.4 : 0.98
2800 : 11.55 : 10.45 : 1.10
3700 : 24.13 : 25.76 : 1.73
4600 : 30.30 : 37.6 : 1.49
5600 : 34.5 : 55.67 : 1.15

So for a heavy boat, using a cheapie reliable 2 stroke cruising around 18-26 knots and getting around 1.6 km per litre! Damn happy about that! Also will note that it is a lot less noisy/smoky than my old boat with an 80's Suzuki. Though just as smelly.

Getting similar fuel consumption figures to the above on my Yalta 615 with 2002 150 EFI deep v all up weight of approx 1500 kg

Running 14.5 vengance prop 17p

WOT 5600 rmp 63 lt/hr for 40 knot