PDA

View Full Version : DIY-Bending timber (with Pics)

reelemin1974
07-02-2008, 08:34 PM
I am a carpenter and was recently asked to build a couple of 'Japanese' style curved bridges with curved Handrail.
Now I know this is unrelated to boating and fishing but I thought some might appreciate the lesson of making cuved timber for a future boating project.
Here is how I did it:

The timber I was useing was rough sawn Hardwood. If the timber is too green you will need to let it dry out a lot as if it is laminated and starts to shrink it will buckle and split.

Allow the timber to be a little larger than its finished size so you can plane/saw/sand it to the desired width.

First I left my timber 150x15 out in the weather with load on the centre to start it bowing the way I wanted it to. I didn't get a pic of this so I set up a 'stunt' one so you could get the idea........

More to come

Wahoo
07-02-2008, 08:39 PM
G'day reelemin,

as your doing that, it helps to wet the timber down with a hose a few times a day
also if the timber is green the water/sun brings out the sap

Daz

reelemin1974
07-02-2008, 08:43 PM
After about 5 weks I left it undercover for 1 more week to dry out.

Determine your Face sides and set out on a bench or stools ready for glueing.

My use was going to be in direct weather so after a bit of research I found a product called 'Epiglue' from Ballina Marineland that was dirt cheap;D ;) ($149 for 3kg's) it is a 2 part epoxy that can be used for sub-surface applications.

I aplied the glue to the two faces with a spatula, ensuring to get quite a thick coat on the edges..........

Horse
07-02-2008, 08:44 PM
You can always put it in a PVC pipe and add some steam to it for a few hours.

reelemin1974
07-02-2008, 08:45 PM
Yes I know, it was out in the weather.......I haven't needed a hose!!!!

reelemin1974
07-02-2008, 08:49 PM
I had pre-determined the curve I needed with a string line.