PDA

View Full Version : feeding the fish

ogilberry
06-02-2008, 03:50 PM
hi, I am new to the fishing game. But I was on a local jetty in Redland Bay. Throwing the line in. Using prawns, at just after high tide. I must have had 50 bites, but I could not bring anything in. The fish just kept stripping my bait. I was using bream hooks (thats what it said on the packet) and feeding the prawn around from the back along the hook. Lots of bites, no fish. Any tips

Jimbo73
06-02-2008, 07:32 PM
Try using a smaller hook and peeling your prawns if thats the bait you like and using pieces for bait. Not sure what rod or line you using but try using light rod and line,makes it easier to feel the bites and when they actually take the bait. sounds like you had something small picking your bait,try shifting spots a little if you keep losing your bait to small bites. Cheers Jamie

Vindicator
06-02-2008, 07:48 PM
Yeah sounds like they were just pickers, not something you'd want to catch anyway.

Cheers
Kezza

Keechie
06-02-2008, 08:07 PM
try sizing down your hooks and maybe change spots they could of been like small bream or toadfish.

regards,
keechie

ogilberry
06-02-2008, 10:57 PM
thanks lads. My boat rod has a braid line, but after I packed up I realised that I had not tied a leader. Do you think that this would have hurt my chances. What is the go with the leader any way. Appreciater your help.

fishingnottaken
07-02-2008, 08:43 AM