View Full Version : 350 verado

bobp
02-02-2008, 07:43 PM
here is a pic of the new 350 verado that is getting around the US at the moment due to be released at miami boat show :D

here are some details that have leaked out of the states should weigh about the same as the 300;D

1. it's a new engine and not just a software dialup of the 300. It has new heads, new supercharger and other internal parts changes....no change in boost pressure.
2. It is the same displacement as all other 6 cyl verados.
3. It will burn 91 mandatory and carry the same warr as the XS 300 (2 yr).
4. some changes to the gearcase - I assume more strength
5. and it is WILD looking....look for pics here on the start of the show with another surprise that will blow you away.

02-02-2008, 07:53 PM
Looks like a beauty,Bob.
From what I hear they are a great engine.
Almost as good as the E-Tec's ,in fact.
So that's really saying something.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif

02-02-2008, 07:58 PM
What a beasty!

kitty_cat
02-02-2008, 08:00 PM
definatly wild looking alien like pretty cool

Wahoo
02-02-2008, 08:00 PM
G'day Bob, yes keeping an eye out on this, the 350 is claiming 380hp at the prop, i love the new shape on them, even the bulge at the front of the cowl for the bigger supercharger, alloy rods and wizzard pistons, bout time MRD has brought out a race 4 stroke

BTW Bob, how is your Verado going?

Fish Guts
02-02-2008, 08:02 PM
looks awesome. can u hear the supercharger working on the verados ?

02-02-2008, 08:12 PM

Awesome

-n9YuMA_2ag

Wahoo
02-02-2008, 08:16 PM

on mine you can start hearing that sweet whistle just over 4500rpm

bobp
02-02-2008, 08:18 PM
hi wahoo my verado is going great . more impressed with it every time i get on the water just an orsome package getting better fuel numbers than i was getting with my old opti

DaMaGe
02-02-2008, 08:19 PM
What weight are they?

Wahoo
02-02-2008, 08:22 PM
What weight are they?

dont quote me on this but still the same , 294kg

bobp
02-02-2008, 08:23 PM

the first few times the i shut down my verado i could have sworn that a jet was going to fall out of the sky on me then i relize that it was the supercharger spinning down
bob

captain rednut
02-02-2008, 08:43 PM

hi dazza i reckon the next blue water 7mtr should have one hangen off the back?

Wahoo
02-02-2008, 08:45 PM
hi dazza i reckon the next blue water 7mtr should have one hangen off the back?

LOL, you guys been talking about me:P

Fish Guts
02-02-2008, 09:06 PM
feel sorry for the trimmer doing cowl covers for it. do you know when they are due to be released in Aus ? thanks for the clip too greg.

fish guts

Poseidon
02-02-2008, 09:15 PM
It's certainly a sweet looking piece of work and how good does it sound.

Would love something big enough to warrant those horses.

02-02-2008, 09:57 PM

thanks for the post....... What a beautiful piece of engineering

bobp
03-02-2008, 09:41 AM
350 verado preproduction motors .
this photo is about a year old .
notice the bulge in the front cowl;D

ashleyhj74
03-02-2008, 12:37 PM
That video clip sounded great. I think i want a 200 4-cylinder for mine now

Breambuster33
03-02-2008, 12:49 PM
now isnt that a tuff peice of machinery, wouldnt you love one of those at the back of you rig

bobp
03-02-2008, 01:47 PM
That video clip sounded great. I think i want a 200 4-cylinder for mine now

i have a l4 200 and i am rap;D
bob

ashleyhj74
03-02-2008, 03:39 PM
Would you have any fuel (i realise this isnt the 4-cyl 200hp thread, but i'm askin anyway) figures bob? Any performance figures in general? And does yours have that cool supercharged whine to it? :D

bobp
03-02-2008, 04:16 PM
Would you have any fuel (i realise this isnt the 4-cyl 200hp thread, but i'm askin anyway) figures bob? Any performance figures in general? And does yours have that cool supercharged whine to it? :D

200 L4 on a 625 cruisecraft explorer fully loaded with gear fuel and 40lt of water and 2 fat fisher men

cruise at 3600 to 4000 burning 1.6 to 1.7 kpl
average is 1.4 to 1.5 kpl over a trip
wot 6100 prop is a 17in enirta
orsome punch ;D
i was running a 175 opti on this boat before i went to the verado
slightly better fuel and more punch out of the verado witch was a bit of a surprise given the roomer's that the verado was thirsty
thats not bad to beat a opti on fuel

bob

tin can marlin
03-02-2008, 06:22 PM
Looks unreal and how could someone say that the etec is better the mercury product has been around fo ever were as the current evinrude company has been around for five mins which is about as long as one lasts.

Wahoo
03-02-2008, 06:48 PM
Bob, whats with Glen-e, in saying "think diesel" with the Mercs, the bugger is playing with my mind......... LOL

bobp
03-02-2008, 07:51 PM
daz think is just trying to keep us guessing
bob

how is your motor going

Wahoo
03-02-2008, 08:03 PM
how is your motor going

Bob, as you have stated, every time i use it i still go "WOW"
i am more than happy with it, i have just done tad over 50hrs now, i would like to change the oil in it, i have done the 20hr oil change, and ill do it again this week, i know theres no need till 100hrs, but for the sake of $100 of oil and filter i'd be happier

03-02-2008, 10:55 PM
Daz - seen this ?

starts on/around P45

http://www.proboat-digital.com/proboat/20080203/

bobp
04-02-2008, 03:17 PM
Daz - seen this ?

starts on/around P45

thanks Greg sore it sum time ago it's a great read

bob

aussiebasser
04-02-2008, 03:28 PM

Hell yes. They sing at 6100rpm

bobp
04-02-2008, 09:44 PM
Bob, whats with Glen-e, in saying "think diesel" with the Mercs, the bugger is playing with my mind......... LOL

hi daz
think i mite be commomrail

Wahoo
05-02-2008, 03:38 PM
hi daz
think i mite be commomrail

He's a bugger of a bloke;D time will tell

Wahoo
05-02-2008, 03:41 PM
Daz - seen this ?

starts on/around P45

thanks Greg;), some great reading in there8-)

bobp
15-02-2008, 02:33 PM
here are a few pics of the 350 at released at Miami boat show yesterday
bob

bobp
15-02-2008, 02:38 PM
info on the 350 go to the link
more power please ;D;D 3x 350hp top speed 81 mph shit thats quick;D
bob

http://www.mercuryracing.com/verado350/

15-02-2008, 02:53 PM
Looks unreal and how could someone say that the etec is better the mercury product has been around fo ever were as the current evinrude company has been around for five mins which is about as long as one lasts.
gees some people are silly, but you did not get one bite thank goodness (except me) this was/is not a mine is better than yours thread!

Wahoo
15-02-2008, 04:13 PM
thanks Bob, great pics and Vid......................i really want one now

Jabba_
15-02-2008, 04:30 PM
Bob. I watched that video 5 times.. Loved it... Nothing beats air time at 81mph...

bobp
15-02-2008, 04:38 PM
just have to win lotto and watch out :)

manny01
15-02-2008, 04:52 PM
see the vid with 4x 275hp? have enough drama keeping lines away from one outboard let alone 4. only in the states.
sound would put a horn on a jellyfish though.;D

insideout
15-02-2008, 06:24 PM
definiatly a drugrunners wet dream......like bobp said about the lotto...just slipping out to put mine on too!

black runner
15-02-2008, 06:48 PM
Thanks for the heads up.

These big donks are looking more and more like Roger Ramjet. Huge top end, skinny legs with the same punch as Rog after he pops the proton pill!

Wahoo
15-02-2008, 07:09 PM
Bob

have let any $$$$$$ figures on these in the US

bobp
15-02-2008, 08:10 PM
hi daz
no $$$ yet
but i know what glen e was talking about when he said think diesel
roomer was that there was going to be a 200 diesel outboard released by merc but did not happen
bob

Wahoo
15-02-2008, 08:29 PM
hi daz
no $$$ yet
but i know what glen e was talking about when he said think diesel
roomer was that there was going to be a 200 diesel outboard released by merc but did not happen
bob

Thanks Bob

maybe they will release it next year

just on another US forum and (dont quote them) he said $25k US 3K to send it over to Aus .........looking good, i put a post up on THT few weeks ago about this, only probs some guys thought of is the warranty, had a chat with a mate (merc dealer) and he said its no prob as long as a merc dealer fits it, and he had no issues with it