View Full Version : cleaning fibreglass

dunmears
02-02-2008, 06:27 AM
Would anyone know of a product that would remove waterline stains on a fibreglass hull the hull is not very old '06 but has brown stains along the waterline. - Thanks guys.

02-02-2008, 08:33 AM

Do a search on my thread, detailing, how to. Was created in february '07

BM
02-02-2008, 08:53 AM
Septone drifter is good for that. But if you don't like paying too much then go to Bunnings and buy the bottle of brickies acid for about $11. They are both the same essentially as Drifter contains hydrochloric acid as the active ingredient.

Roughasguts
02-02-2008, 09:06 AM
Be very carefull when you pour that brickies Acid.
If breathed in un diluted it will burn your lungs out.
And don't let it drip on your trailer otherwise that will fall apart with rust pretty shortly.

Dignity
02-02-2008, 12:03 PM
I thought most washs used Oxalic acid because hydrochloric damaged the gelcoat or was that in the old days - both love the galvanising as RAGS suggest.

02-02-2008, 02:14 PM
I thought most washs used Oxalic acid because hydrochloric damaged the gelcoat or was that in the old days - both love the galvanising as RAGS suggest.

As per my thread and BMs advice, use the drifter initially.

Any really stubborn rust marks around stainless then use oxalic acid, the granulated form dampened a bit

BM
02-02-2008, 02:35 PM
Dave, why the preference to use oxalic over hydrochloric? From memory Drifter is 14% hydrochloric.

02-02-2008, 03:30 PM

Nick, drifter first, oxalic second... its way more potent and a lot more localized

BM
02-02-2008, 06:15 PM
Sorry mate, must have had my head on backwards. When I read your post I thought you had a preference to use oxalic instead of hydro..

After re-reading (and putting my head on the right way) I see your original point.

A mate did his boat with oxalic (Berty 25) and then we cut it and polished it. If I remember rightly you need to get the oxalic off fairly quickly and then cut/polish the area otherwise the oxalic continues to attack the gelcoat.

Works very well though on stubborn morred type marks.

02-02-2008, 10:06 PM

No worries Nick

Even with the drifter I use diluted, and apply with a garden pressure sprayer...... still does the job tho.

GoogieMan
03-02-2008, 08:20 AM
G'day first post by the way so Hello :D

Noticed this post and thought id contribute. it may not be that much of assistance.
I have just prepaired my Boat thats for sale witch had few brownish stains and other unsightly marks.

As im a Vehicle Detailer i have some access to other chemicals and what not.
AutoSmart™ sells a product called Ali King with it is a aluminium cleaner and brightner, witch works extreamly well.
Aluminium Boat's that are lookin alittle well dull this product will remove the tarnish look them.
It contains Hydrofluoric acid <1% .diluted 10-1 upwards allways working from bottom to top.

used it on the gelcoat and brightened it up and removed all stains and there was stains before i bought the boat 13months ago.

its approx $80 for 5 ltrs but will last a while.

im pretty sure these guys sell to the public (but unsure) as with all acid products you must be carfull of breathing the vapors