View Full Version : Darwin

rob tranter
31-01-2008, 09:34 PM

I'm going up to Darwin June 9 to 16.

The cook has booked the flights but not the accommodation.:-/

So has any one got any tips on Good Cheapish Accommodation, I'm not real keen on the $200 to $300 a night job's around $110 to $150 would be fine, and yep I know it's peak season up there at that time, any help would be appreciated.

And whats the best for a fish while I'm there.

And Mod's, I have mentioned "FISHING" so can you PLEASE leave this here for a while:)

Rob T8-)

aussiefool
01-02-2008, 01:24 AM
G'day mate , I did a seach for accommodation 2 weeks ago and the cheapes that I found was this one but it was also near my parents place.
http://www.freespiritresortdarwin.com.au/

Just check out the different styles of accommodation. Also if you are going to hire a car shop around as the one that I was going to book with was nearly $300 cheaper for the week than most others
Aussiefool

aussiefool
01-02-2008, 01:34 AM
I think this is the car rentle mob that gave me cheap quote
http://www.airportrentacar.com.au/darwin/
Aussiefool

robersl
01-02-2008, 07:28 PM

So has any one got any tips on Good Cheapish Accommodation, I'm not real keen on the $200 to $300 a night job's around $110 to $150 would be fine, and yep I know it's peak season up there at that time, any help would be appreciated.

And Mod's, I have mentioned "FISHING" so can you PLEASE leave this here for a while:)

Rob T8-)
Hi Rob
I HAVE STAYED IN DARWIN THE LAST 3 YEARS AT THE CENTRAL HOTEL BUT IF YOU TYPE IN CHEAP DARWIN ACCOMADATION IT BRINGS UP HEAPS AND I HAVE FOUND THAT THE CLOSER YTOU GET TO THE DAY YOU WANT TO GO LIKE 2-3 WEEKS BEFORE YOU START GETTING THE ROOMS AT A CHEAPER PRICE LIKE $85 A NIGHT FOR THE DARWIN CENRAL HOTEL NORMALLY BETWEEN 140-200 DOLLARS A NIGHT THERE ARE SOME THERE WHERE YOU BOOK 3 OR 4 NIGHTS GET THE NEXT NIGHT FREE BUT IF YOU HAVE TO BOOK THIS FAR OUT YOU ARE GOING TO PAY 150-200 DOLLARS I AM GOING IN MID APRIL AND WILL BOOK MINE AT THE START OF APRIL BUT IF YOU ARE IN JUNE IT MIGHT BE WHEN THE CAR RACE IS ON SO MIGHT GET A BIT TIGHT BUT THERE IS PLENTY OF ACCOMADATION UP THERE.
SHANE

BobbyJ123
02-02-2008, 04:47 AM

Rob T8-)
G'day mate. Have a squiz here:
http://www.holidaycity.com/comfortinn-asti-darwin/book.htm
The Asti is where I used to stay before my son moved there; it's just north of the city.
Have a look at a day charter here:
http://www.equinoxcharters.com.au/

pickers
03-02-2008, 04:25 PM
want a tip for fishing in darwin...look up richieboy (fellow ausfisher) , he's up there now and catching heeps of fish.
pickers

craig308
04-02-2008, 08:57 AM
rob
check out advance car rentals http://www.advancecar.com.au/ they will do car & boat hire from $200. a day
also check out this forum http://www.fishingterritory.com/
cheers craig

nev-e
04-02-2008, 09:07 AM
Free Spirit Resort has a range of accommodation - cabins, Motel rooms etc and is quite reasonably priced.Also has a great restaurant and bar/pool area . Also I reckon it had the best beer I had on a 8 week trip around WA and NT.

LeeannP
04-02-2008, 02:55 PM
I usually use the website below as you can check out all the deals and compare between accommodation places on the one site.

http://www.wotif.com/

bundylundy
04-02-2008, 05:53 PM
Hey Rob, don't forget the stick, a bit of string and a fresh chook to do some lizard fishing while you're there. :) ::) ;D

Jeff.

rob tranter
05-02-2008, 01:01 PM
[HTML]Hey Rob, don't forget the stick, a bit of string and a fresh chook to do some lizard fishing while you're there. :) ::) ;D

Thanks for the tips, all greatley appreciated.

Still looking, the boss has decided to leave it to the last minute and pray for some cheaper availability::)

Hi Bundy, hows it hanging?

Yep I was planning on using the Cook instead of a chook;D

Rob T8-)

Deestingray
06-02-2008, 11:13 AM
I am pretty sure that this is where we stayed when we were up there. Didn't cost the earth and it is really really close to the mall etc and also right next to parliament house.
It is called Hotel Darwin and it is on the corner of the esplanade and herbert streets. 08 8981 9211

As for fishing, if you have a couple of hundred, take a charter out for some black jew. Lots of fun if you get onto a good school.
If you would like the name for a charter, PM me.