PDA

View Full Version : Anchor Winch

Big_Sausa
31-01-2008, 03:11 PM
Hi Guys, Newbie here - looking for some advice on anchor winches - i have a seaswirl striper 2601 WA (26 Footer )which i bought new in Florida last year while i was there and shipped back to Queensland, and yes im sick of pulling on anchor rope - looking for any good advice on Winches that would be suitable for my boat, reliable and of course value for money. All advice greatly appreciated.

Kind regards Greg :)

Thebuffalo
31-01-2008, 03:17 PM
Greg, Look at the woolfe winches from SA. They are not cheap but I think they are fantastic. I have one fitted to my cat and love it. You may be able to hide it away down in your anchor locker as well as they are a bit of an eyesore.

Do a search on this site and have a look at their website. Certainly worth considering.

Cheers

BGG
31-01-2008, 03:23 PM
Greg
Are you intending to use all chain or a rope/chain combo?

Big_Sausa
31-01-2008, 03:25 PM
Rope & Chain Combo - thanks mate
regards Greg

BGG
31-01-2008, 03:40 PM
I'd have to agree with Thebuffalo then. Woolf is the only manufacturer I know of with a winch that suits the rope chain combo.

Fish Guts
31-01-2008, 04:12 PM
dont think you could beat a muir winch.

www.muir.com.au (http://www.muir.com.au)

leezor
31-01-2008, 07:35 PM
Hi Guys, Newbie here - looking for some advice on anchor winches - i have a seaswirl striper 2601 WA (26 Footer )which i bought new in Florida last year while i was there and shipped back to Queensland, and yes im sick of pulling on anchor rope - looking for any good advice on Winches that would be suitable for my boat, reliable and of course value for money. All advice greatly appreciated.

Kind regards Greg :)