PDA

View Full Version : First Time Poster - Long Time Reader

Surething1974
28-01-2008, 02:29 PM
Hi all,

I am new to boating, but have been reading this forum for a long time, and have learnt lots in the time that I have been reading.

Yet to still get a boat, I have spent a lot time on my mates boat which is a 26ft Bayliner, and since staying out the first night some months ago, have become hooked!

I thought that I would have trouble convincing the family, but not so, and I have been met with a wife and daughter keen to get on the water!

First need to get a license, then spend some time hiring some boats around Moreton Bay and the Broadwater, before venturing out and buying something - I want to be sure before I do it, and the advice that has come from this forum is valuable.

Given the quite a few times I have been boating with my mate, we have only left from a Marina (his boat is stored at Horizon Shores) therefore I have not experienced what happens at a boat ramp!

Like others have suggested on this forum, I had some time on my hands this morning, and thought that I would spend a few hours at Scarborough at the boat ramp next to the Coastguard.

It was interesting to say the least, I saw lots of things, how to do it and how not to do it - the considerate guys (and gals) that knew what they were doing and spent minimal time on the ramp stood out - then there were the others, like the guys that thought they would fix the rollers on the trailer as one had come off, the guy that told his wife (partner?) to drive the car forward and the boat "fell" into the water (this is not right I presume!) and the other guy that had the rear axles of his Hilux ute nearly fully submerged, as his (very big) cruiser would not come off the trailer!

It was good to see that there was some goodwill with one guy assisting 2 separate people guide their boat onto the trailer (they were alone and driving the boat on the trailer) whilst he waited for his partner to get the car.