View Full Version : Sea Sickness

BaitThrower
19-01-2008, 08:29 PM
Ok, I sometimes get a bit queezy when at anchor and the boat is rocking in the waves. I'm happy to admit it. I;m not an old sea salt just yet.

Im sure some other boaties have, or have had a similar problem. What's some good old remedies or preventatives to help? Obviously can take a Kwells or something similar. What works best for those who dont like being in the rocker? :P

19-01-2008, 08:36 PM
deleted....Ausfish does not own my thoughts and opinions

davez104
19-01-2008, 08:40 PM
Just chunder and keep fishing. I've always suffered a bit of seasickness, not too bad though. I've tried a few of the tablets, didn't like them so now I just put up with it, it usualy only lasts for an hour or two, then I'm right.

boogsboat
19-01-2008, 08:43 PM
As I have said before I get crook real easy. I tke 1 travacalm the night before and 2 atleast an hour before I go out and have necer been crook since. Have been out on some pretty ordinary day where blokes have spewed on the boat and eventhe skipper felt seedy. They Work for me and I swear by them.

Good Luck

Nathan

Wahoo
19-01-2008, 08:51 PM
i have had days like that, and as Scott nthQLD said with the cold water on the back of your neck seems to work

Leighton
19-01-2008, 08:52 PM
My wife get sick queezy even on glassed out days. She has a decent brecky and then as "scott " said keeps her stomach turning over. Dried fruit and nuts, have made a big difference

snelly1971
19-01-2008, 09:12 PM
Can of coke or something fizzy seems to work for me...

rowanda
19-01-2008, 09:13 PM
yep, similar to boogsboat, 1 travacalm the night before, then I only need 1 about 1 hour in the morning before i go out. Must be travacalm original though as it's stronger than the others

BaitThrower
19-01-2008, 09:21 PM
Great info folks. Much appreciated. But keep any other suggestions rolling in :)
At least I know now Im not the only boatie without an iron stomach :P

snelly1971
19-01-2008, 09:47 PM
yep, similar to boogsboat, 1 travacalm the night before, then I only need 1 about 1 hour in the morning before i go out. Must be travacalm original though as it's stronger than the others

I remember seeing a show...Today tonight or A currant affair ???...They tested out sea sickness tablets and found that they did not work...it was all just mind over matter....And I am pretty sure they tested a few incl...Travel calm...kwels ect

BaitThrower
19-01-2008, 10:04 PM
I remember seeing a show...Today tonight or A currant affair ???...They tested out sea sickness tablets and found that they did not work...it was all just mind over matter....And I am pretty sure they tested a few incl...Travel calm...kwels ect

Probably true.... to SOME degree. But travel sickness is more a physical thing if you ask me... It's all about those little loops in your ear drum. I don't get travel sickness in a car, but If i travel with my head pointing down, then sometimes I will, because the ear is positioned differently to the direction fo travel. This si the same with a lot of people.

Those type of TV shows aren't exactly scientific in their approach... it's whatever sparks the interest or WOW factor a lot of the time.

It may be all in my head, but if so, and if that means taking some motion sickness tablets that make me think I wont get sea sick, then I'll be having a much better day out. ::) ::) ::)

19-01-2008, 10:23 PM
I used to often feel pretty crook when I used to scuba dive a bit,while travelling out to dive sites.
Mainly because of excessive alcohol consumption the night before.
But soon as we arrived at the dive site and I got under the surface of the water, the feeling of sickness would disappear.
So baitthrower. maybe if you kept a tank on board and had a bit of a dive to break up the fishing a bit you may not be as badly affected by sea sickness(and its a very relaxing experience as well as being able to scope out some of your fishing spots in more detail..).

BrewGuru
19-01-2008, 10:42 PM
I have been very fortuntate never to suffer from seasickness, I have been out on a few charters with some mates on a 72' timber boat, generally leave Friday arvo till and we anchor up near Bulwer and head for the fishing grounds next morning. The trouble is the boys get pretty excited and tend to consume excess amounts of alcohol on the Friday night, then with the swell next morning and the smell of Bacon and Eggs they are gone, we normally fish 12 some trips we have only had 3 fisherman, the rest stay down below and are crook all weekend.

CharlieH
19-01-2008, 11:21 PM

Wait, people actually believe things they see on TT or ACA? heh

20-01-2008, 01:31 AM
I started a thread on this a while ago. A search will show some good stuff. One of the sugestions i liked from memory was after a charted bloke had some ear/nose/throat specialists on board they told him to get some of the foam sqishy ear plugs and put 1 in only........... thats what the experts say. I'm not in your boat but have a mate thats a shocker and now keep some in the boat..

Cheers Chris

BaitThrower
20-01-2008, 04:53 AM
I started a thread on this a while ago. A search will show some good stuff. One of the sugestions i liked from memory was after a charted bloke had some ear/nose/throat specialists on board they told him to get some of the foam sqishy ear plugs and put 1 in only........... thats what the experts say. I'm not in your boat but have a mate thats a shocker and now keep some in the boat..

Cheers Chris

Now thats something quite interesting and different. Will have to try that, cheers ;-)

ronmac
20-01-2008, 06:05 AM
Ok, I sometimes get a bit queezy when at anchor and the boat is rocking in the waves. I'm happy to admit it. I;m not an old sea salt just yet.

Im sure some other boaties have, or have had a similar problem. What's some good old remedies or preventatives to help? Obviously can take a Kwells or something similar. What works best for those who dont like being in the rocker? :P
spent a few years in the navy, quite a few of the boys chewed on plain bread and kept the fluids up ( mainly water) cheers ronmac.

20-01-2008, 06:57 AM
Being a lifetime percolator outside, I have found that qwells or travalcalm taken at least an hour before hitting the water will help. They are not foolproof tho as I have still had plenty of days perking up after having taken them.
Best advice is eat a decent breakfast before going out so at least you will have some energy resources even if you do begin to chuck up. Nothing worse than dry reaching and no energy left to get through the day.
Second big thing to remember is take along a packet or two of cheese flavoured Twisties. After your first chuck eat a handfull of Twisties dry and within about a minute the seasickness will either have left you or will become almost non-existant. Drink some water about 20 minutes later just to take the dryness away but don't fill your gut with water or you will chuck again.
My boat has two packets in stock all the time these days and get replaced regularly. I don't know what it is about twisties but they have pulled myself and everyone else thats ever chucked on my boat out of peril without fail. At a dollar or so a packet they are very cheap insurance against feeling chucky all day.

Nofishtoobig
20-01-2008, 07:13 AM
Hello, i'm not to bad with the balance sea sickness, Ginger.. i always have a pack of ginger nut bics on board and Bundy ginger beer, if you can stomach the real thing its best but the others work. Ginger is a natural remidy for motion sickness. Alternatively moving and sounding better fish cause when there a 10kg nobby on the end of the line......what sea sickness...... if that fails i'll pull the pick and go for a troll.
I used to work on a charter in syd when i was a kid as a decky and hated for the dreaded stinky shit fish shark charters as i would have to rig the baits while heading out, i always found i would get queezy with the smell of the bait but more so the position, the stern of the boat is always the worst not sure why maybe cause it experiences the greatest lift.
Have never tried the tablets although other say they work and also the wrist band i think you can buy from any chemist it works on a acupunture spot on your wrist.

Cheers i'm gearing up the winds have finally settled wahhoooooooo.

Mac_Attack
20-01-2008, 10:52 AM
I have found that if you stare at the water right next to the boat it really helps i have never got sick when i do it becasue when the swell goes up you go up and when the swell goes down you go down well thats my theory anyway. Also if your mate or yourself are feeling really sick just jump of the back and go for a swim for about 5min it cools your body temp down and gets you use to the swell.
Cheers Nick 8-)

Bros
20-01-2008, 11:24 AM
The trouble with most of the people on this forum is that they have speed boat and are only out for a day and your body doesn't get time to get used to the motion.

When I had my 11m boat we would go out for 4 days. I have taken some terrible sick people out but by day two they are fishing with the rest and no matter how rough it gets they never get sick again for the rest of that trip but on the next trip it all starts over again.

I think most people have been sick or seedy at some time.

mik01
20-01-2008, 05:20 PM
mate - I get a little queasy sitting in the bay every now and then. not sure why but it comes and goes. I found like others here to always eat something and sip water - keeps the stomach going I guess and also takes the mind off the queasy feelings.

BaitThrower
28-01-2008, 06:58 PM
As an update. Downed a Travacalm (Original) and some twisties and dry bicuits witrh sips of water on last trip out and no sea sickness :-) Worked well. Thanks for the tips. The Travacalm made me a bit sleepy though. I know they put caffeine in those tabs to try counter it, but caffeine has never really had much effect on me anyway ::)

seabug
28-01-2008, 08:18 PM
We went on this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bONEOW9EDi0

boatride last year.
The owner runs 3 42ft RIB boats and asked if anyone was likely to be seasick.
He then handed out Blackmores Travel Calm Ginger tablets ,no one got seasick.
He told me later that he has never had anyone get seasick.

I used them at the weekend Offshore at Portland and they kept me OK.
At one stage I started to feel a bit off ,but took another 2 tablets and recovered.
seabug

Fatenhappy
28-01-2008, 08:26 PM
Hey Baitthrower ..

Good old fashioned ginger is the basis of most things like Travelcalm and the like, ... its gold mate, absolute gold! So just grab some of those on the way out .. no probs ... secondly of course go easy on the jungle juice the night before ....

All else fails as has been said before, who needs burley when you can feed the fish (just jokin')

Sea-Dog
28-01-2008, 09:30 PM
Its not the motion of a boat that makes me feel crook - Its the kids' playstation games.

Anything that shows lots of twisting/turning movements confuddles my brain. My brain then seems to decide that I have a bad batch of food in my stomach and wants to get rid of it.

I can feel crook for hours after playing on of these games for 30 minutes or so.

If you have the opportunity of seeing the movie "Cloverfield", and you suffer motion sickness like me, then DONT see the movie. I had to close my eyes after about 1/2 an hour. It was the only way of not returning some of my popcorn in liquid form. The movie is shot from the perspective of a hand-held camera, with its associated shaking around.

:confused::confused::confused::confused:

trueblue
28-01-2008, 11:19 PM
Mint works well like Ginger, although ginger is a bit better. But it has to contain natural mint oil, and yes, minties do contain natural mint oil.

Natural relief is good for munchies, but when it gets bad, good drugs are required...

For me, I use Avomine tablets when drugs are necessary. More expensive though than most motion sickness tablets. I work offshore and rarely get seasick while working on big vessels even is nasty weather, but Avomine is what I want when it gets bad.

Take one tablet in the evening before bed - it makes you drowsy so you get a good nights sleep, and then it keeps working till the next evening when you take another one if required.

Definitely works.

Half the time just knowing that you have the tablets on stand by in case you need them is consolation enough to put off initial thoughts of seasickness, which to me confirms that there is an element of motion sickness that is psychological, though it is definitely a physical affliction.

If you are sitting and concentrating on the thought that you are going to be seasick, then I think it will be much worse, whereas if you keep your mind occupied with something else it helps.

I must add though, that the type of motion on the type of vessel makes a big difference. I can get crook bobbing in the bay and lose my balance etc walking around a small boat in the chop, but offshore on big vessels even though the motion is severe it rarely bothers me as it is a very different type of motion. As someone mentioned earlier, it has a lot to do with what you get used to.

stick
29-01-2008, 11:44 AM
I generally subscribe to the busy stomach theory but try to stick to dryer type foods and stuff that wouldnt normally give my intergestion. If you feel the need to take a pill when out there make sure to do it sooner rather than later or youll be trying to guess how much you digested before that slimy downed it. Dont look down and keep those knots simple.

champion
29-01-2008, 12:53 PM
I was going to give fishing away untill, the last resort (and the only tablet i hadnt tried ) AVOMINE o behind the counter at the chemist. 1 tablet the night before and its all good, you can have another in the morning if you wish (i dont !!)

I have spent hours chucking up on boats, one session went for 8 hours before the boys had enough of me screeming over the side !!

marvin
30-01-2008, 10:00 PM
Travacalm original are the only things that I have tried that work. 2 Tablets at least 1 hr before hitting the water otherwise your day is wasted. I usually eat something after the tablets, and they do make you pee alot, a bit hungry, thirsty and a bit tierd if the fish are not bitting. I often work on a helicopter when I'm not fishing and use one tablet for the swaying motion experienced in the air, works a treat. Kwells, and other travacalm brands like travacalm natural, don't seem to work for me, or the wrist bands, (tried once each). Excessive Alcohol within 12 hrs before heading to sea seems to play a big part in the burley the next day regardless of preventative anti-seasick medications taken after alcohol consumption. Cheers Kevin.

mlaagtho
31-01-2008, 11:57 AM
I found that eating four bars of chocolate before you go fishing helps, so that when you get sick it don't taste so bad

BaitThrower
31-01-2008, 11:58 AM
I found that eating four bars of chocolate before you go fishing helps, so that when you get sick it don't taste so bad
HAHAHA
That would make me sick before I got onto the water I reckon :)

1975fflh
31-01-2008, 12:36 PM
Hi Mate most any of these seem good, but my old Nan used to say Ginger anything with ginger in it will help with sea or car sickness.

With me on a big day I just have a Vegemight sandwich or something like that you wont want to but believe me it helps heaps and drink something other than coffee or beer when it hits.

Gordon

Thebuffalo
31-01-2008, 03:22 PM
Ginger is the go. You can get the tablets from the Chemist. No drowsiness or anything. I have five kids and I feed them the ginger before we go out, works like a treat. I give myself a dose as well.

Did you see the TV show mythbusters when they were trying out all of the remedies???

They made this machine up to make themselves sick, took the treatments before naturally. One bloke in partcular was hopless and was sick after two minutes but when he took the ginger tablets he wasn't getting crook.

Try them and you will never look back.

My 2C

screaming reels
31-01-2008, 09:30 PM
mate its mind over matter,been there done that caught fish had a great time got home safely need to think of the positives only negatives cause sickness(old mate years ago used to fish lots offshore,get to his place say 2am could here a pin drop,as soon as i step foot out of car could here him being seasick before boat even hooked up to car/mind over matter)even when i used deckie offshore usually could pick the ones to be crook,thought and talk about dead gonners.self belief that where going out to have a good time and catch big,big snapper lets get'em ,have fun thanks Brent

gregor32
31-01-2008, 09:48 PM
kwells work a treat for me, i take one 1/2 hr b4 going out and im fine, ive also found that if i have run out of kwells a couple of beers seems to help! (in moderation). its only really a problem when i have to do a lot of rigging and looking down. cheers Greg

Simmo2
31-01-2008, 10:57 PM
Hey boys, I dont usually get sick, although have felt queazy..I just get over it.
Last weekend, it got quite rough out of Batt Reef off Cairns.
I was fine (sorta!) until night time, then I lost it...!!
I was thinking because it was pitch black, and no 'outside' things to look at to let the brain know that we were moving.
Anyone else have an opinion?

Also, I was thinking....why not tether a float with a zylume or something, behind the boat in the current?... it would float at a different rate to the boat, therefore maybe easing the effect?? Dunno! My mates just reckon I'm a woos!

Ally Jack
01-02-2008, 04:52 PM

Cheers Chris

I have only been sick 2-3 times in the last 30 odd years of fishing, but coming home from the swains in 06, it was rough and i was getting very seedy. I tried the earplugs and after 30mins or so I was great again and could take them out.
Apprently it balances out your ears...not sure but it worked for me

Also could have been the amount of achcohol consumed that morning....it was my birthday

Ally Jack

dec0guy
01-02-2008, 09:35 PM
i think seasickness hits everyone differently and different remedies work for different people. I find Avil pills work magic for me!

PS: Bananas taste just as good the second time around coming back the other way!

IRMC000
04-07-2008, 06:55 PM
Looks like: A positive attitude, one ear plug, Avomine, ginger tablets washed down with ginger beer and ginger nut biscuits for afters or maybe some ginger tea with crackers or Twisties is the go.

banksmister
04-07-2008, 08:26 PM
Found this a while ago

Discovery Channel :: Learn to Survive (http://dsc.discovery.com/convergence/survival/guide/environment/sea/sea_06.html)Give the patient seasickness pills if available. If the patient is unable to take the pills orally, insert them rectally for absorption by the body. ...
dsc.discovery.com/convergence/survival/guide/environment/sea/sea_06.html - 33k - Cached (http://209.85.141.104/search?q=cache:q-_3gWfo2pEJ:dsc.discovery.com/convergence/survival/guide/environment/sea/sea_06.html+sea+sickness+site:discovery.com&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=8&gl=au) - Similar pages (http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&q=related:dsc.discovery.com/convergence/survival/guide/environment/sea/sea_06.html)

I will do alot for mates but this going to far

do not go into site just read whats on screen 2nd line

Jabba_
04-07-2008, 08:42 PM
I use to be resilient to getting sea sick, until I went on a Fishing charter from hell...... From then on I only had to think about being on open water and I would go green..... I started taking Kwells and they were worked great up until this year and now I find I get sea sick when I take them, even before I get on the water.... But now, if I don't take and sea sick tablet, I don't get sick at all,,,, I should say, most off the time...

But what does make me sick in an instant now is, Cigarette smoke... Now I use to be a smoker years ago (15y), and until this year cigarette smoke never bothered me.... But now if I am a passenger in a car or out in the boat and I get the slightest whiff of cigarette smoke, I will from feeling good to chundering in 5 seconds flat..... Then after having a good spew, I will feel good again.....

Personally I think sea sickness is a mental hurdle (a bloody big one) and most tablets have more off a placebo effect.... So to with other cures..... But still, if I was garrenteed I would never get sick again if I wore a pink Too-too, then I would wear a pink Too-too.... Nothing in the world feels worse the being sea sick.......

Tazmaniac
04-07-2008, 10:29 PM
Having suffered on and off all my life, I've worked out what helps ME, keep in mind everyone is different. Trava-calm and the like DO work ( who cares what ACA says ) Just as important is what you eat / drink. Stay off the booze the previous night, avoid a gutfull of greasy food ie eggs and bacon for breaky, and for me coffee in the morning is a big no no.:P
As I said, everyone is differrent so a bit of trial and error is called for. Hope this helps.

trueblue
04-07-2008, 11:22 PM
Avomine is pretty good