View Full Version : how much would you pay

crossy
15-01-2008, 09:02 PM
G'day people, i have a nice....ish looking glass hull down the road from me for sale. just wondering how much would you expect to pay for this? And how much work would be involved in restoring it? it looks pretty good just some thinner bits around the port side but all wood looks pretty good, cant see the stringers though? around the sides almost looks 2 piece as well dont know???:-/

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010638.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010630.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010631.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010634.jpg

crossy
15-01-2008, 09:04 PM
also any rough price run downs would be good
cheers.
crossy

15-01-2008, 09:08 PM

Nice hull, obviously not the trailer.

I'm cheap and it will cost you 10's of thousands to set it up properly.

Is it around 19'?

I'd offer no more than say.... $300 hull only

crossy
15-01-2008, 09:24 PM
im pretty sure it around 20-23' the price on it is 1100 with trailer rego but that trailer isnt gonna last to long with those wheels.

mik01
15-01-2008, 09:28 PM
tell him he's dreaming!

sharkymark2
15-01-2008, 09:56 PM
Have you got rocks in your head ;). You will spend ages restoring it till you get sick of it and realize that you made the wrong decision. Then you will lose $2-3K and flog it off to some other person. The trailer looks like it was made for a 15' boat. So you would have to replace that as well. Then a motor plus all the running gear. So you could probably spend $5-6K on a reasonable boat and be out enjoying yourself fishing :). See the light and save a marriage as well :(. Any way thats my 2 bobs worth.:).

15-01-2008, 10:12 PM
Didn't get a complete look at it files are too big for dialup, what is it? a hull that is a classic has lot's more potential value over an unknown.

16-01-2008, 06:12 AM
I reckon it's worth about the same as the value of the trailer.
And that would only be a few hundred with the rust 'gophering' (just popping it's head out) down the back.
You'd have to get rid of it anyways as it's way too small.

All that exposed timber means a lot of work to seal properly before any finish can be applied.
The best way would be to rip out all the mods and start again.
The shape of the bottom 1/2 looks nice but who knows what's under.
The transom repair looks a bit suss too.
Was there rot in the top section and that's all they replaced or what??
An important question would be why wasn't it finished??
It's really hard too say over a picture and to know your capabilities is hard also.
Some guys would see the hull and say beauty. Others would say goodo a sandpit for the kids or beauty our own reef.
The decision is up too you in the end

crossy
16-01-2008, 02:59 PM
yea i wasnt going to buy it, just wondering what other boaties would pay. it definatly needs alot of tlc. i dont wanna be stuck with that much work. i have a boat so i think i will stay with that till a decent bigger one comes along (when the missus lets me) lol