View Full Version : Monduran & or Awoonga in March

14-01-2008, 04:46 PM
Hi All ... I'm planning a bit of Barra trip in March & I'm trying to work out whether to just do Monduran .... or include Awoonga as well!
I'm limited to only 5 days barra fishing just prior to Easter ( leave on Good Friday ! .... & yes I know there is a full moon a day later:P ... but I want to run away from the Easter crowds & fish a couple of bass sessions at Cania on the way back)
So bearing in mind that its only a relatively short hop from one to another ( in comparison to our 1500km run from Sydney) ..... Is it worth considering both or would you suggest persevering with just one ???? ........ Then which one ?? .

I guess the weather (winds) could come into play & help make that decision!

So I'm looking for some opinions , advice etc:lost:
Nagg

PS ... Never fished Awoonga & only 1 day at Monduran

rebelone
14-01-2008, 07:16 PM
Hi Nagg
Not yet an expert in this department but have a lot of years fishing experiance in a variety of areas. My best advice as with most things in life is " make a decision and go with it & don't try spreading yourself too thin, you won't catch anything driving from one dam to the next - do just one & give it everything you got". I will be at Monduran the week leading up to Easter & leaving there on Easter Sunday - might see you there.

14-01-2008, 07:31 PM
rebelone .... I most certainly will be spending time at Monduran during that week! ..... so we should bump into each other8-)
Nagg

Awoonga
14-01-2008, 08:27 PM
Nagg Thats the key .. Dont spread yourself to thin As far as Bass dams l have a better option......Pm sent

15-01-2008, 08:02 AM
Nagg Thats the key .. Dont spread yourself to thin As far as Bass dams l have a better option......Pm sent

Thanks Awoonga ..... Have replied to the PM
I guess I'm used to bouncing from one destination to another ..... but this time I'm thinking a little different ( Though having never fished Awoonga before ..... I'd love to have a look:-/ :-/ :-/ )
Nagg

crab man
15-01-2008, 09:21 AM
hi Chris as you know mate ive fished both mate and if it were me i would just fish monduran and in advance i would book on with the guied there on the first half day i thinks it only $44 an hour for two people so for $66 bucks three hours and he is a great bloke tell him you have your boat and just want an idea of areas he has pointed heaps of my mates in the right way and they all have had great results thanks to him! 1,500klms is a long way to go for a donut 0000 haha

Maybe the other option is to just do the full moon night at awoonga still fish the day and arvo at monduran, its only 1.5hr away leave your camp at monduran just take the boat dont need to get there to early just after dark is the go then come home late that night have a late start at monduran the next day :)
Cheers Craig

15-01-2008, 08:59 PM
Craig ... Unfortunately I'll miss the actual full moon (22nd) ... we'll be on the run home at that time ( just to avoid the crowds)
Nagg

eotbmg
15-01-2008, 09:14 PM
Chris,
I am doing a similar trip next week. Fishing night sessions at either dam but am staying closer to Monduran so will concerntrate more there. I will try and give you an idea of K's travelled between etc. and will hopefully post a sucessful trip.

16-01-2008, 07:23 AM
Chris,
I am doing a similar trip next week. Fishing night sessions at either dam but am staying closer to Monduran so will concerntrate more there. I will try and give you an idea of K's travelled between etc. and will hopefully post a sucessful trip.

Thanks Ben

I hope the weather gods smile upon you & you get some!

Nagg

crab man
16-01-2008, 08:34 AM
oh ok well you dont need a full moon to catch fish at awoonga :)

Steve B
16-01-2008, 10:03 AM
Nagg, crabman is right, you dont need the full moon. the lead up to the full moon when you will be up this way will be perfect.

Which ever way you decide, go hard there. I'd give the bass a miss and have the extra time with barra!! Full moon night fishing at awoonga is an awesome experience. Monduran could/should be OK too. tough decision!!

Could all depend on on thing though.............Weather. Dams might be full by then. All new perspective then.

cheers steve

Magella
16-01-2008, 10:11 AM
Coffees kicked in Steve

Cheers foxie

crab man
16-01-2008, 11:07 AM
steve and foxie any news on the new levle on monduran ?? dirt ramp open yet ??

16-01-2008, 12:41 PM
Nagg, crabman is right, you dont need the full moon. the lead up to the full moon when you will be up this way will be perfect.

Which ever way you decide, go hard there. I'd give the bass a miss and have the extra time with barra!! Full moon night fishing at awoonga is an awesome experience. Monduran could/should be OK too. tough decision!!

Could all depend on on thing though.............Weather. Dams might be full by then. All new perspective then.

cheers steve

Cheers Steve

Yeh I wanted my time to be around the build up to the full moon ( not necessarily the full itself) ....... Mind you after having a calm full moon experience at Faust a couple years back ......... I wouldn't mind another:P
Its a bugger when you are limited in time ..... but its the only way i'm going to get a crew ( & both my crew options require parole::) ) ..... & one of them is a bit of a bass nut (new to barra) so either Cania or the Duckpond will get a guernsey for a day.
Weather ...... I'm just going to have to play the cards I'm dealt .... I guess ( But I'll be keen)
Nagg

vet
16-01-2008, 08:33 PM
Awoonga is the best place to be in the lead up to the full moon. If it is windy, the dam is a big, open rough place to be. In my view the choice is simple, if it's calm then awoonga, if it's windy then monduran is much more sheltered. Either way, good luck, scott.

Steve B
16-01-2008, 09:43 PM
Nagg, I agree with scott. Awoonga is great in the leadup to full moon. If it doesnt get a massive inflow of water and Monduran does, Awoonga would be the go.

If ya mate wants bass tell him to go to St clair/glenbawn on his days off, its only a couple of hours fromm sydney!!;D

Ya dont travel 15hrs for bass!!;) ;D

17-01-2008, 05:37 AM
Awoonga is the best place to be in the lead up to the full moon. If it is windy, the dam is a big, open rough place to be. In my view the choice is simple, if it's calm then awoonga, if it's windy then monduran is much more sheltered. Either way, good luck, scott.

Thanks Scott

A couple of acquaintances ( I wont call em mates) said the same thing about Awoonga & a fullish moon

Weather as mentioned in my initial post .... I always knew that it could be a determining factor between Awoonga & Monduran ( at least there are lots of hidey holes in Monduran to get out of the wind) ....... speaking of which ..... Its blowing its ass off here in Sydney ATM ......... & just when I'm well enough to consider taking the boat out :'( ( 10 weeks without a fish ...... & several new toys to play with:'( :'( :'( ) ..... SORRY .... I'm a little emotional;D Nagg

17-01-2008, 05:46 AM
Nagg, I agree with scott. Awoonga is great in the leadup to full moon. If it doesnt get a massive inflow of water and Monduran does, Awoonga would be the go.

If ya mate wants bass tell him to go to St clair/glenbawn on his days off, its only a couple of hours fromm sydney!!;D

Ya dont travel 15hrs for bass!!;) ;D

G'day Steve ..... My crewman (option 1) is a non boater & is into his bass fishin ( he's actually in the states right now buying up big on loomis rods & picking up a new Luvius8-) ) ...... anyhow the bass is a carrot ......though we could do St Clair on the way back ( we drive past both of them) ......
Thanks for that thought Steve.. well done

15 hours seems like a short drive these days::) ;) Nagg