View Full Version : How do you totally remove antifoul - reasonably easily that is?

Fatenhappy
13-01-2008, 04:02 PM
Hi one and all ...

Well here we go, the sarga is just beginning.

Liquid Remedy's now in dry dock for her repower and transformation to Fatenhappy/Fatenhappytoo ... (yet to decide)! :(

Spent yesterday after her arrival and a good portion of today stripping her down to bare bones and cleaning her off .... only a bit more to do.

When LR was pulled out of the water yesterday she wasn't too bad considering she has been on a swing mooring for 6 months. I had her pressure cleaned, then had a good close look at what remained of the previous antifoul job.

I am stunned to say that it had been professionally applied. I didn't get to see the hull previous to its reslipping at the time as there were trials etc to be done after a service. To say its finish is almost as rough as a pineapples skin is not too far at all from the truth. No wonder the poor old girl can't "glide" through the water.

So,who's got the clews on how to get her back to bare bones, square one, get all this crap off, besides getting out a belt sander and 40 grade paper? ;D

I'm not sure if she is or isn't going back to a wet mooring after all this, but am tending towards dry or hardstand at this point in time. In any case I want to get everything off her belly as she just can't work efficiently like this. .... She currently reminds me of an old house that has years and years of layers of paint shes that crook!

I was advised to get some of those scrubbing pads from Bunnings and set to with those then pressure clean the residue off ... naaaaa! That didn't work.

I have currently worked through 2 layers of black and one or 2 of red to get to the previous white GRP.

Your clews would be appreciated

13-01-2008, 04:39 PM

Go with the 40grt and sanding, just be grateful she's not a 50 footer and have fun :D:D

13-01-2008, 04:41 PM

just another thought, do you have any young relatives? or friends with sons?? wave $200 or so in front of them, give them appropriate respritory gear and a sperm suit... show them what to do and then be glad its not you.

Nothing like cheap labour

13-01-2008, 05:00 PM
As Blackened said, persist with the 40 grit.

Fish Guts
13-01-2008, 05:06 PM
hi greg,

just dropped ours back in the water last week after doing the antifoul. depends on the type of antifoul that is on there but i found it relatvily easy to use water and the brown scowering pads from whitworths. they are about 25cmx 11cm. really coarse and did the job fine. antifoul was micron extra thou, so a very easy antifoul to remove. also was pressure washed for an hour. good luck

fish guts

BM
13-01-2008, 05:08 PM
Theres a product out there (cant recall the name though) that is applied to the surface and then brown paper is applied over the top. After a period of time (24hrs I believe) you peel off the paper and the bulk of the antifoul also.

May require multi applications and then some final wet sanding to finish off.

Look into it. Try contacting Whitworths or the likes of FGI.

rocksberg6
13-01-2008, 07:29 PM
What about soda blasting!

Fatenhappy
13-01-2008, 08:07 PM
Cheers people ....

Thanks for the input and yes I am glad its not a 50 footer .... S--- the engine repower would be double the price ... at least!

As an aside ... wouldn't you know my pressure cleaner didn't want to play the game anymore either today!!! Bummer ....

I most certainly haven't given up on the original idea, just got to get the pressure clean reinvigerated ... LOL

ozlongboarder
13-01-2008, 09:04 PM
Dry sanding makes a HELL of a dust that is supposedly very toxic. Wet rubbing is very dirty but no harmful dust to breath or blow around and was way easier when I did it.

captain rednut
13-01-2008, 09:29 PM
hi greg dont ever sand antifoul dry, thats toxic! so i can recommend soda blasting all the way! theres a company at beachmere whom specialise in boats his name is phill. so what engine package have you decided on ? thanks cr

13-01-2008, 09:51 PM
Don't know what jet blaster you have but you can but wet sandblasting wands for high volume jet blasters and just go very carefully.

The simplest and safest way is wearing full wets and then use a air powered rotary sander and just put a sprinkler fitting on the handle so it stays wet.

The copper and the algecides in antifoul will stop you making babies so wear protective clothing and barrier cream any exposed skin.

A tungsten flat bladed scraper (pull blade) is what many professionals use as it is quick (not easy) and creates no dust or toxic water runoff.

Cor

Ian1
14-01-2008, 07:40 PM
Go to a good marine paint supplier and ask them about antifoul stripper. I have used the stuff BM is talking about. You brush it on nice and thick, cover it with wax paper to stop it drying out then pull the paper off 24 hrs later and pressure clean it. Mine was very thick and took two applications but its better then sanding. It sounds a bit combersome wrapping the hull in paper but its really quite easy with two people.
Its not nice stuff to smell when you are at it in the morning with a hangover tho.

Fatenhappy
15-01-2008, 06:44 AM
Hey guys ... thanks for the responses ...

Sorry I couldn't get back to you sooner but other things had to be taken care of ...

So since Sunday, I've been doing a truck load of research both here and elsewhere with everyone saying what ever you do don't dry sand antifoul without sperm suits, breathing gear and all the rest as its extremely bad stuff ... so thanks and point taken

Re Roxberg6 lead .... and so I followed up the possibility of Soda Blasting (I had never heard of it before). Rang the mob that do it !

Without taking anything away from the product, all the bloke wanted to go on and on about for the first few minutes was things such as ... "and where did you of us " ... and the like. Might be good for their marketing but was wearing real thin, very quickly on my patients.

Anyway eventually got past with the quote coming back at about $2300. So when I was assured they could do it in one day and old mate wanted to direct me in the way of the Brisbane franchisee I just said no thanks. I figure, you do the maths .... $2300 for at max 8 hours work ... hmmm! I suppose if you haven't got the time or the apptitude it would be ideal!

The water blaster has been disected (as thats along my line of work) and very sorry to say it has gone to a greater place ... It was not five years old and hasn't had that much work, but there you go.

The plan now is to buy a new water blaster as we need to replace the previous one in any case. Then if needs be we will possibly back that up with the brown paper application process. (which I will need to investigate further !)

I figure I've been quoted 2300 for the soda blasting in any case! Even if I had to spend anywhere near that for a you beaut super dooper top grade machine at least we will still have the machine to use again and again.

And for Chris in answer to the setup? If the "boating gods" finish up being good to me and all goes to plan, we will install a 315 HP Yanmar Turbo Diesel with a Bravo 3 leg. The change from the Bravo 2 to a Bravo 3 (counter rotating) leg came about after it came to light that even with the Bravo 2 extended, in some instances there is unnecessary cavitation when used on a single application with cat hulls. As an aside I have had a Bravo 3 previously and they are awesome ... however as you would expect are quite a bit more expensive

15-01-2008, 06:58 AM

Bloody well sand it, most, if not ALL marinas now will NOT ket you sand WITHOUT an industrial vacuum cleaner attached to it, dust is minimal.

Some of the marinas hire out the equipment, dare say some hire places like coates may have it.

Where is the boat now?

Fatenhappy
15-01-2008, 07:10 AM
Thanks Dave and yes the point has been taken, both previously from others and now yourself. I was totally unfamiliar with antifoul and didn't realise it is so bad.

As just explained in my previous response ... " .... The plan now is to buy a new water blaster as we need to replace the previous one in any case. Then if needs be we will possibly back that up with the brown paper application process. (which I will need to investigate further !) .... "

In answer to the location ... It's been slipped and is now located at Cabbage Tree Creek Marina on the northern side of Brissy .... and that's gold for me. Only 10 minutes from home, and in a secure location where they are happy to place the boat amongst others in an area where renos and the like can be undertaken

15-01-2008, 07:16 AM

fair enough, i must have been a bit confused with al the jargon.

What water blaster did you get a hold of? If nothing yet, I bought a 6.5hp petrol scorpion thats at 2200psi and 8L/minute from repco for well under $600.

I'm using it commercially and no worries at all

This would be a minimum pressure you'd need.

15-01-2008, 07:16 AM
Why ruin a perfectly good and smooth gelcoat with rough sanding! Thats for professionals who are just going to slap another antifoul coat back on and no-one is the wiser.

IMO Slant toward the more passive procedures even if it does take a little while longer overall, the stripper with a blaster at the ready sounds like a beaut idea.

good luck better you than me:)

propdinger
15-01-2008, 08:28 AM
i got some of this stuff to try and it was bought from international paints at a boat show worked well for the small bit we tryed . ran out of time to play so had to just re antifoul it instead.
try ringing international paints from memory they were brisbane based

jeff

Fatenhappy
15-01-2008, 02:22 PM
Hey guys ....

Have tried to source International Paints in Brissy or anywhere else but to no avail. Nothing in white pages or doing a google. I got onto an alternate company who said I need to touch base with Peelaway (don't know if that spelt correctly either)

No joy there either ... Anyone got any clews as to who actually makes the stuff that you paint on then brown paper peel off system and where I can get any info on the same

Jabba_
15-01-2008, 04:53 PM
I saw this today and thought off you...... It cost $75 per/ft for a Mono, and $112.5 for a Cat.... And it is measured at the water line, not the overall length off the boat

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y159/jabba1/scan0015.jpg

Fatenhappy
15-01-2008, 07:04 PM
Thanks Jabba ... really do appreciate your efforts ...

Guess what, this is the exact mob I rang for the quote that was about the $2300 mark. No problem .... its just not for me, as I have the time and the inclination to do it myself.

Everywhere I look and all the research I do says ... "hey, muscle and finess over a period of time" so that's what I am going to do.

We have ordered a new commercial grade Karcher water pressure cleaner ( at a very good price) that should be here ex Melbourne in 4 to 5 days ( so I am told)

The good oil on the paper wrapping thing was sourced later this arvo as well. The only problem there is that it is highlited that you need to be especially carefull of exposure time to GRP, so that as well is a problem as after the initial water blast has taken place, patches of GRP are already exposed.

So, here's the ever evolving plan .... Hit what ever I can with the water blaster "shwee shwee" ... (Arabic for .... slowly, slowly !)

In the mean time try to source something along a commercial grade of the line of those old fashioned car washing scrubbers that used to just circulate with the water running through them (or similar) to minimise the labour effort.

Don't get me wrong, I am not adverse to labour, but just think about it. We own a 24' shark cat .... in the main, that's not one hull, its two .... so whoever made the coment a few days ago re, be thankful its not a 50 footer ... guess what, its close enough.

In the mean time if we are all really bored, lets just contemplate our navels, have another beer and maybe come up with "a magic cure"

PS My shout .... bummer ... youre not here ... ha ha ha !

15-01-2008, 07:35 PM

When I got my (metal pumped) Karcher the sales guy suggested that I get a cable tie and lock the trigger on and use the power switch to turn the thing on and off.

He said the turning on and off with the trigger tends to blow up the pumps. Apparently frequently in the cheaper plastic pumps and less often but it still happens in the metal pumps. Probably just out of the warranty period.

I pass this on for what its worth, not sure if its 100% or not but I'm doing it and so will see eventually what happens, if anything.

insideout
15-01-2008, 07:47 PM
will be watching intently to see how your turbo diesel goes!! right choice(in my opion)!!As for the anti fouling, if you had an engine in it, maybe sandbar hopping will work???!!!!;) ;)

Fatenhappy
16-01-2008, 10:23 AM
Yea thanks guys ...

Re the pressure cleaner Chimo ... we used to have an Alto Kew 5100, which I deliberately chose at the time as it had all "the good solid bits" supposedly in the pump.

Whilst revuing new pumps this time, I had a quick sqiz at their existing range. The same 5100 model had gone from $700 4 years ago to $1380 now .... figure that one out !!!

After weighing up this one and that, I got onto a Karcher HD5/12C commercial grade cleaner for just on $1200 and at the same time went up from 1650 to 2250 PSI.

I'll keep in mind what you are saying about the warranty issues.

Dunno about the sand hopping as I can't get it up on the plane now, so that would have been a problem .... :(

ozlongboarder
16-01-2008, 12:20 PM
I'm thinking of getting a pressure washer and was talking to a mate about them. His recommendation was, no matter which one you get put an inline filter on the inlet hose as any tiny pieces of grit that come through can wreck a pump.

How about some before, during and after shots of the job. I may be putting my boat on a slip and if so will remove the antifoul.

Fatenhappy
16-01-2008, 01:24 PM
No probs ozlongboarder ...

... the inline filter thing is a definite as I found out with the previous set up. Re the photos ... the camera died as well the other week .... although we got lucky there.

We are in a couple of those loyalty programs and had enough points for my wife to be able to order us a Kodac 8 megapixcel jobby for gratis. So I'm hoping it'll get here in time, before I remove much more from LR.

In any case, I would imagine removing the antifoul will take a while (over several weeks).

Ian1
17-01-2008, 08:06 PM
Hey Greg

I bought my antifoul stripper from Earl Paints in Rockhampton. Ask for Brett, he knows all about it. They have 3 shops around Rocky so he can be a bit hard to get hold of.
I know your not in Rocky but they might be able to help you out.
The type I used had no problems with exposure to GRP boats, thats what its made for. Mine was GRP.

Fatenhappy
18-01-2008, 06:29 PM
Cheers mate, I'll give him a call monday !!!

Fatenhappy
21-01-2008, 04:11 PM
G'Day Ian ... and especially anyone else from Rocky who can help ...

I have tried to get a number as you suggested for Earl Paints in Rocky but nothings coming up anywhere.

Do you know if they might trade under another name or even better has anyone a number for them ?

Cheers Greg

21-01-2008, 05:45 PM
These guys are sydney paint distributers
http://www.scomar.com.au/Antifoul%20Remover.htm

salstrip - but can't find website now- these were paper and gel guys -maybe a name change- give em a call in Sydney. Ingleside
Salstrip International Pty Ltd - www.salstrip.com (http://www.salstrip.com/) - 02-9979 8400
91 Lane Cove Rd INGLESIDE NSW, 2101. SYDNEY GREATER SYDNEY AREA
Mobile: 0418 240 837

Some of the chemicals have the ability to soften old gelcoat and fibreglass so ask all the relevant questions.

Edit - correct contact for salstrip
salstrip@people.net.au (salstrip@people.net.au) rob 0409665153

searay215ec
21-01-2008, 10:40 PM
Some people have used oven cleaner. There is a product called Citristrip which is non-toxic but i can't find a place in Australia that sells it.
Look forward to see what evovlves from this as i need to do my boat too.

Fatenhappy
22-01-2008, 06:32 AM
Cheers Cormorant ... I'll give that a try ...

When I was over at Pete's (Grand-Marlin) the other day he said he had tried almost everthing but to no avail. Apparently he and a mate where there one day having given up in frustration and then they found that just using a paint scraper once it is was really dry just made it peel right off.

So far i've tried the paint scraper (no joy), then the new water blaster with only very very limited success, as well as wet scrubbing and still no joy...

I am guessing this is the long life extra hard stuff as I know there are different strengths or "rates of softness" to this stuff depending how long the intended application. As a result, the harder stuff is more resiliant.

If I can't come up with a suitable alternative over the next few months I'll have to resort to the the soda wash people I think even though I don't want to depart with 2 grand .... Lets face it ... that's a lot of fuel, beer and bait, down the gurgler ... bummer!

Grand_Marlin
22-01-2008, 07:59 AM
G'day Greg,

If it has got to the stage that you need someone to do it for you, maybe give Mark Keates a call - his profession is antifouling / painting, and he is mobile.

He would give you a price to strip and re-do the primer and antifoul.

0409 617 644

22-01-2008, 08:37 AM
Correct contact for salstrip

salstrip@people.net.au (salstrip@people.net.au) rob 0409665153

Can't remember if I mentioned it before but you can attach a wet sandblasting head to some high volume water pressure units and it is just like sandblasting only without the dust ( danger with antifoul removal) Ie - emmulates do it yourself sodablast- rental firms may rent these units

Tell us how you go as I will have to do this eventually on another boat.

Fatenhappy
22-01-2008, 11:00 AM
Thanks Pete and Cormorant ..

FYI, Mark gets others in to do a soda blast and salstrip are located in Sydney. The good oil from Sydney though was to try to find someone locally that can do plastic bead blasting instead of the soda blasting as apparently its supposed to be a lot less intrusive.

Meanwhile I've also flashed off an email to the paper wrap gell people .... and so the sarga continues ...

Fatenhappy
22-01-2008, 09:07 PM
Hey Ian ..... and thanks again for the PM ....

Old mate from the "glue and paper" people at Archerfield here in Brissy was able to get back to me today with a positive result. He is going to forward me a sample of their product to try.

It all sounds good though especially from your report in the PM.

They supply a 20 Kilo/litre package with all the bits and pieces to do a 10 - 15 sq/metre area as well as the clean up/finish off gear for $238 or there abouts and it sounds far less intrusive than wet or dry sanding the hull.

Cheers again

Ian1
23-01-2008, 07:55 PM
Hey Greg

Yeh I used 2 of the 20 kilo kits but I had to do mine twice. Cost was about the same from memory. Still the easiest way though. It helps if you have 2 people when you are putting the paper on. I aslo taped the edges of the paper with 2 inch masking tape. We put it on nice and thick with a couple of 4 inch brushes.
Hope it works for you.

jimbo59
23-01-2008, 10:49 PM
Hey lr i have a gerni (very powerful) with wet sand blasting attacment you can have for 500 smakkas, it comes with 3 wands and has done little work....jim

Fatenhappy
24-01-2008, 06:21 AM
Thanks Jim .... thanks for the offer

I've just got a brand new commercial rated Karcher at an extremely good price. This thing can blast the cement out of concrete and only leaves the aggregate behind, but even its not good enough to touch this stuff. If they made house paint this good, you'd never have to paint the place again.

The sample glue and peel stuff should be arriving at home today so I'll try that first.

After all is said and done, if that were to fail, I would get the soda blast mob in as its the next least intrusive!

Jabba_
05-03-2008, 10:01 PM
Hey Liquid-remedy, any updates on how it is going...

Snapperscott
18-09-2012, 02:45 PM
anyone know how this finished?

scrotty
19-09-2012, 07:03 AM
Just had mine soda blasted, 6 hours, $1200 bucks, job done! Cheers

Snapperscott
19-09-2012, 07:46 AM
and how did that work out for you? What is the condition of the gelcoat like?

19-09-2012, 09:42 AM
With the sodablast are you going to repaint with antifoul or polish the gelcoat hull?

Scrotty - do you have any before and after shots? How big a boat did he do in 6 hours?

I have seen it so well done that the hull gets fine wet and dry and polished and come up very good and other times it has a texture where it would take a hell of a lot of work to get a polished finish on yachts . Depends on the soda blast bloke and what medium / skill they use and of course what antifoul or epoxy primers were on to start with. Some of the epoxies seem a lot harder and bond so well with the gelcoat it may be worth checking exactly what you have.

The gels that remove paints are OK if it isn't too hot and they stay moist for long enough to penetrate the paint but every boat and paint is different and depends just how many years coats are on. Bit hit and miss

scrotty
19-09-2012, 11:34 AM
Hey guys, my boat is a Striper 2301, 7.2 meters. I now have to respray the bottom because the sodablast exposed some small bubbles in the gelcoat, so s quick gelcoat repair and a two pack respray and boat will look as new. I have pics and video but i can not upload them from my i phone.

19-09-2012, 12:05 PM
If you can fix the gelcoat and not spray it it will be better long term value of the boat? . Are you talking osmosis , FG cancer ? Wouldn't have thought a modern boat would have issues or are you talking just little air bubbles and weaknesses in teh gelcoat that teh soda blast highlighted? Painted boats just don't take the punishment like gelcoat does and if you want a pretty boat you can always do the paint thing when ready to sell in a few years. People worry about painted hulls and so do arine surveyors as they can't see if it has had a accident or failure.

scrotty
19-09-2012, 02:14 PM
There is no cancer ! After blasting, its simply thin in a couple of spots revealing the darker color underneath. It is very common after sodablasting to have small bubbles exposed in the gelcoat. A simple gelcoat repair and a respray and good as new. I dont care what other people think of the twopack and what it might be hiding because i took the antifoul off and i know there is nothing wrong with the hull.