PDA

View Full Version : Opti90 or Suzi90

andkat
10-01-2008, 04:07 PM
Hi all, I'm a newbie!!8-)
In the process of getting a new boat, ( 5.5 Surtee's,or if in Aus 530c Barcrusher),
Fully optioned.
The only thing that I am struggling with, is the power plant.
Reading the reviews on this site on outboards, leaves me wondering which way to go?:-/
I like the Suzi 90 4st, as alot of people seem to be happy, but yet a large number also seem to be happy with the OPTI90.
What I would like is your real honest opinion on both:)
cheers
Andrew C

breamnut
10-01-2008, 04:17 PM
there 2 different motors. ones a 4 stroke and ones a 2 stoke so its hard to say

Shanoss
10-01-2008, 04:28 PM
You dont want either Andrew. Etecs are the flavour of the month. Just listen to all the happy Etec owners on this site that feel compelled to tell you how bloody wonderfull they are.
But back to the topic...... I have a suzuki myself, and yes, they will cost you a little more in servicing than a 2 Stroke. But they are less noisy than an Opti, they dont blow smoke and they are very reliable. You wont have to worry about taking oil with you and the 4 Stroke will be a bit better on fuel. But then you have to weigh up the initial costs of purchasing the motor, warrantys etc. Horses for courses mate.

Good luck

andkat
10-01-2008, 04:32 PM
Sorry,

Only after the 90 4 stroke.
Interested in what others have fitted and whether they should have chosen something else?
Currently the Suzi 90 4str is out front, but after reading a few reviews in this site maybe the Opti 90 4str isn't that bad after all.?8-)

Shanoss
10-01-2008, 04:36 PM
Andrew, are you aware the Opti is not a 4 Stroke?

disorderly
10-01-2008, 04:40 PM
Andrew, are you aware the Opti is not a 4 Stroke?

Geez shanoss,he's a potential suzuki owner.
Awareness is not a prerequisitehttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif

andkat
10-01-2008, 04:43 PM
Cheers Shanoss:)