View Full Version : boat transformation( dial up warning)

crossy
05-01-2008, 04:04 PM
i just got my first boat thanks to the lovely wife allowing me. We brought the boat because we are soon moving up to Darwin, so the "wife" wanted a good boat to go barra fishing (she never fished before she met me). Allthough i tried to convince her the hornet trophy was a good option she set a limit of 2000. so the hornet went down the gurgler. and we ended up with a 4mtr Quintrex sportsman 89 model i think with a johnson 25 i think its 98 and a "free Eagle sounder. She allowed me to buy the boat with the agreement that i repaint it. So with out further redue i present to you my work in progress. or my bargain chip to get the on the water.

1.as i received it
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010538.jpg
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/th_P1010543-1.jpg (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010543-1.jpg)
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/th_P1010541-1.jpg (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010541-1.jpg)
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/th_P1010543.jpg (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010543.jpg)
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/th_P1010541.jpg (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010541.jpg)
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/th_P1010539.jpg (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010539.jpg)

2. after sum advice on this forum and a 5000psi gurni from work and a few tins of paint stripper the 6 layers of white paint and zink kromite came off, and we used the garage as a spray booth to etch prime and top coat. Then we used black car underbody laquer to do the underside. pcked up the new rego numbers from waterways and sprayed them white with a sticker paint.

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/th_P1010606.jpg (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010606.jpg)
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/th_P1010605.jpg (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010605.jpg)
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/th_P1010603.jpg (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010603.jpg)
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/th_P1010602.jpg (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010602.jpg)

4. flogged dads back seat out of his ally craft (mums still not happy)
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010600.jpg

5. This is the reast of the boat:
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/th_P1010610.jpg (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010610.jpg)
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/th_P1010609.jpg (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010609.jpg)
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/th_P1010608.jpg (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010608.jpg)

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/th_P1010599.jpg (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010599.jpg)
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010612.jpg

i have fitted the nav lights and the splash proof switches on the battery box, have also made a simple mount on the side for the sounder and have moved the cushy seat to the middle after being yelled at for trying to throw the wife out of the boat. now i have the fold down chair.

i still have the inside to paint yet we just painted half today, and in the middle of fitting a front casting deck. i will post more pick when the casting deck is done

crossy
05-01-2008, 04:09 PM
on the pic under 4. i have since tidied up all the wires and they now all run through a piece of black flexi tube running under the lip on the sides.
Im also trying to get hold of the quintrex stickers but i dont think i can get the original ones:( .
And Iv been giving the approval to give her a name as well. thinking about TinTin. dunno yet.

Aslo any suggestions on the inside would be greatly appretiated

05-01-2008, 04:19 PM
Gday Crossy,

how did you go with the turnbuckle on the front?

crossy
05-01-2008, 04:22 PM
and heres a pic of dads boat. im pretty sure mum got the name stickers from here... not to sure what gave me that idea. lol
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010614.jpg

crossy
05-01-2008, 04:27 PM
wags, you wouldnt beleive it but as soon as i said i was going out to do it, the rain came down pretty bad, i waited it out, then went out again and somthing worse than the rain came.... the wife got home from work. lol. but i still havnt done it yet. i think i ended up making the final ajustments to the casting deck. all thats left now is carpet.

05-01-2008, 04:32 PM
Nice transformation crossy. Well done. Presently I am selling a similar rig because I bought a new boat only just taking delivery of it the Friday before Christmas.
Mine is a 3.7 metre Quintrex of probably the same vintage. Looks much the same as yours originally did. Would be nice to see it fall into the hands of someone like yourself who likes to do them up a bit. Here's a couple of pics.
http://www.ourfishingphotos.com/data/media/17/PC290003.JPG
http://www.ourfishingphotos.com/data/media/17/PC290004.JPG

crossy
05-01-2008, 04:39 PM
mate i would love to do it all again. how much did the trailor set you back if you dont mind me asking. i was planning on re-doing me trailor because its got a long drive up to darwin.

05-01-2008, 04:51 PM
mate i would love to do it all again. how much did the trailor set you back if you dont mind me asking. i was planning on re-doing me trailor because its got a long drive up to darwin.

The trailer is still new. I paid $1220 for it registered. I couldn't be bothered doing the old trailer up. It was FUBAR.

crossy
05-01-2008, 05:16 PM
hmm think i might just buy sum new wheel hubs.

Dan5
05-01-2008, 05:21 PM
Hey Crossy when are you heading to Darwin if you like i'll give you a few mark's for some jewies/goldies.Dan.....

05-01-2008, 06:21 PM
Top job Crossy truly beauty and the beast.

Wait till Finga runs the eye over it, he loves this sort of stuff.

crossy
05-01-2008, 09:49 PM
Dan that would be great mate.
Cheers dogs

yours aye
crossy

Wahoo
06-01-2008, 08:06 AM
nice job on your boat crossy.......well done

09-01-2008, 07:21 AM
Top job Crossy truly beauty and the beast.

Wait till Finga runs the eye over it, he loves this sort of stuff.

Yep, certainly do. ;D
The stealth tinny. Or B-2 Spirit.
They seek him here, they seek him there.

My dad has the same quinny but in a forward control.
They're a great hull that are hard to find are still in high demand because of the flared bow.
They're an extremely dry hull.
They were around from the early 70's.
Just look at the bracing onto the transom. That's all from the factory.
Look at the size of the gussets and quality of weld in the corners of the transom.
To be honest I'd feel safer in that hull then most of the new mass produced hulls of today.
They were built well.
All you have to do is compare the welds all round this hull and a new one and also compare the number of repairs that's been done to this hull and a newish 3 year old hull.

This tinny just proves the point that you don't need megabucks to get on the water in a decent hull and hopefully reliable motor.
A bit of elbow grease and some common sense and some ingenuity and some pilfering (poor mum) and the jobs done.
Excellent :)

The trailer looks OK in the pictures but is there any rust in it??
If none or little I'd be bunging some 13" wheels on her for the trip north.
A set of 13" alloys from a wrecker or Trading Post are cheap and get some new galv. hubs from Active Fabrications and some good tyres and away you go.
Those little 8 or 9" fellas might spun off their bearings by the time they get to Darwin.

Well done mate :thumbsup:

crossy
09-01-2008, 11:45 PM
cheers guys for all comments.
finga i love the hull of this model just because it looks like the old bass and estury boats. it handles roughers really well and not one crack or fracture in the whole boat, they sure did know how to build a boat back in the day.

The trailer had a lil bit of rust but that was easly taking care of.
We also decided that we will get the boat taken up to Darwin on the back off a truck, it makes the trip a bit more safer and we dont need to worry bout it when we stop at motels. Plus we dont pay for the removal either.
I will definatly change the hubs when we get up to darwin because they are a 3 pice rim.

The bloke whom i brought if from is kicking himself now lol.

The boat looks a lil different now, manley because i wasnt happy with the setup whilst by myself. The main differances now are : the fuel tank rides up the front under the casting deck. The black tubing has gone and all wires now run through 2 piece white electric plastic tube. and setting up a live well behind the rear seat on the port side and the battry is now behind the skippers seat along with a lil storage box.

Im working on a rear casting deck now to try and tidy it up a bit.
Will post pick when i get a chance.
well better get to bed, gotta get the tow bar fitted today.

Yours aye

crossy

Ally410
10-01-2008, 10:03 AM
Well done mate, a top job and complete transformation.

As has been said already in this thread, those older Quintrex hulls are excellent.

Enjoy getting out in it!

insideout
10-01-2008, 10:13 AM
ahh brings back memories of my old quintrex seaman that had the same flared bow.....top little rigg!! Used to take 3 of us out past the keppel island group of islands with a old suzuki blue and white outboard...both boat and outboard did not miss a beat...

polky
10-01-2008, 02:31 PM
crossy pat yourself on the back, that is a job well done and somthing you can be proud of. Good luck in Darwin and good fishing. Polky.

crossy
10-01-2008, 08:01 PM
well i have another up date to add i just finished capeting the casting deck and fitting the trailer lights (no more messing around with a light board). I will be capeting the rear seat tomorrow. here are the pics so far.

the casting deck:
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010617.jpg

casting deck from the stern:
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010618.jpg

my new trailer lights:
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010622.jpg

rear seat carpet:
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010619.jpg

tidied up all the elecy cables and the sounder mount:
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/1dar3u/boat/P1010621.jpg

Yours aye.
crossy

crossy
10-01-2008, 10:43 PM
Thought of a name as well , BARRA-MUNDI 2 SUNDI, the wifes old man had a fish buisness named that but it was FRIDAY instead of SUNDI. Thought itd be fitting considering im going to darwin??

Dan5
10-01-2008, 11:01 PM
Mate just be aware that the croc's there are getting big i had one grab my 5mtr boat in corroboree billabong 4 years ago and i have had other encounter's as well so keep a good eye out mate.You'll find most of the boat's there have now gone to atleast 5mtrs+.Dan.

crossy
11-01-2008, 10:42 AM
lol yea we had a few scare the living daylights out of us last time i was up there. the big ones are starting to come out. so i'll have to be carefull.

cheers.

yours aye
crossy