View Full Version : ECIFFR ... Bream ... 23cm?

castlemaine
05-01-2008, 11:44 AM
East Coast Inshore Fin Fish Review have kept Bream at 23cm. I reckon it for commercial purposes more than Rec..

I found that 23cm Bream a bit small and not much of a feed especially if you fillet them (if you see how I fillet a fish there's not much of a fillet left ;D . I know some club comp.s and NSW Fisheries have a 25cm min..

I don't have much of a knowledge of their breeding cycle so it may be that I'm 'jumping the gun' here but does anybody think it should be increased to 25cm?

Thought I'd get some opinions before I reply.

Cheers8-)

BR65
05-01-2008, 01:14 PM
I had a bloke from DPI ask if he could measure and record my catch up at Donnybrook boat ramp a week or two ago, he said it was part of the monitoring process for proposed fin fish changes. No worries to me, all my fish were good, we spoke about the 23cm limit on bream with, if memory serves me correctly, a proposed bag limit of 30.
I questioned him about the min size staying the same and he said it would impact to much on rec fishos if the size went up.
Like you said, not much of a fillet on a 23cm bream, Ive got a personal minimum size limit of 25 for breambos and summer whiting.
I wonder if the bag of 30 will be like the initial bag limits placed on snapper and spotties????
brian

onerabbit
05-01-2008, 08:58 PM
NSW bream limit is 25cm, & still to small to keep really, there is bugger all on a fish this size. I'd like to see some size limits increased ...............

mattooty
05-01-2008, 09:21 PM
Im with you onerabbit. I dont even keept 25cm bream. Im not taking a stab at the qld population here but a 23cm bream is hardly even worth the effort of cleaning!
What is the qld size limit on summer whiting?

05-01-2008, 09:33 PM
Why fillet??
Scale, gut, flour, egg wash, breadcrumbs, pan with some butter sizzling in the bottom. Jobs done
Well nearly done.
http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/36/36_2_72.gif

loophole
05-01-2008, 10:07 PM
it sure is for comercial reasons not recreational

i think its like 4o% of comercial catches that are bream from 23cm-25cm so that would have the trawlers takeings

Cammy
05-01-2008, 10:48 PM
my personal size limit on keeping bream is 27cm but even then to me they r stilll small, i would also like to se ethe sizes raised, as i have a mate that keeps any bream if its legal, and i always tell him to put the 23cm ones back.

cam

BR65
05-01-2008, 11:53 PM
QLD minimum size for summer whiting is 23cm

loophole
06-01-2008, 12:26 AM

yer alltho there fish fingers at that size i like 2 eat double that

40 cm plus = nice feed

06-01-2008, 06:39 AM
40cm + is like chewing tyre rubber.

06-01-2008, 07:08 AM
The 23cm size limit on Bream will remain to appease the commercial operators.

Much to my disgust...............

onerabbit
06-01-2008, 06:40 PM

but what bag limit applies in QLD,

BR65
06-01-2008, 07:57 PM

but what bag limit applies in QLD,

Nill at the moment, but the proposed bag limit is total 30 whiting of all species, except winter whiting which have a proposed bag of 50
brian

harro1
06-01-2008, 08:19 PM
it should be 27cm, even 25cm is too small

BLOOEY
06-01-2008, 08:25 PM
27cm for whiting in nsw. Youcan a least get a fillet off them then. Ben

06-01-2008, 08:48 PM
For lots of people, particulraly young anglers a small bream is all they hope for, and in a lot of places that is all they will get..... same with whiting.

I think keeping the size the same is reasonable.

I recon introducing a bag limit will do lots more for bream numbers and quality.

put a stop to the 100 plus club.

punter
06-01-2008, 09:00 PM
Yes I beleave that keeping the 23cm rule for bream is to keep the pro's happy, their are 2 fish shops near me that sell whole bream, guess what size nearly all these bream are, thats right 23 to 25 cm.

flairj
06-01-2008, 09:08 PM
Keep the minimum at 23 and make a max of around 35 same as they have done for flathead.............

cammo79
06-01-2008, 09:33 PM
hi all,

i was once told a legal bream at 23cm is approx 10-15 years old, very slow growers. does any one know what age they start to breed?

larfin
06-01-2008, 09:43 PM
Its not worth the trouble to clean a fish for 2 fish fingers.
greg

straddie
07-01-2008, 07:40 PM
I'm guessing its a long long time since many of you suggesting an increase fished landbased for bream. I agree there is not much of a fillet on a 23cm fish but for a lot of landbased guys they struggle to even get that most times.

From what I have read they mature at 20 -21cm and get to breed once or twice by legal size so they are getting a fair go.

I have my own limits for a lot of fish and for bream its' 26cm fat or 30 skinny and release anything over 40cm because of the high probability of heavy chem residues because of age.

Tailor are way more under pressure and they are kicking them to 35 and no limit change except for Fraser. Really can't see much benifit for the species there. Just a bag limit reduction would have been far more benificial.

Cammy
07-01-2008, 11:18 PM
[quote=straddie;741308]I'm guessing its a long long time since many of you suggesting an increase fished landbased for bream. I agree there is not much of a fillet on a 23cm fish but for a lot of landbased guys they struggle to even get that most times.quote]

indeed they do, except it's only somtimes when the littlys are around;D

cam

BLOOEY
08-01-2008, 05:38 PM
The fish monger i frequent (for bait purposes mainly) always has a tub full of undersize bream for sale. I posed the owner the question about how they get away with selling these undersized bream (and oversize flatties sometimes) and he said that it was bycatch. Is this true? If so, i see no benefit in upping the size limit on them if the pros are going to keep the little stuff anyway. Ben

castlemaine
08-01-2008, 05:48 PM
The fish monger i frequent (for bait purposes mainly) always has a tub full of undersize bream for sale. I posed the owner the question about how they get away with selling these undersized bream (and oversize flatties sometimes) and he said that it was bycatch. Is this true? If so, i see no benefit in upping the size limit on them if the pros are going to keep the little stuff anyway. Ben

I think DPI-Fisheries would be very interested in who he was>:( .

fishsmith
09-01-2008, 01:26 AM
I think we should rely less on size limits and concentrate on bag limits...A large mature bream is estimated to be 20 to 30 years old..Keep enough for a fresh feed and release the rest i reckon....

RayDeR
09-01-2008, 09:59 AM
27cm for whiting in nsw. Youcan a least get a fillet off them then. Ben

G'day Ben!

You are obviously not a winter whiting fisherman.

RayDeR

SnagMaster
09-01-2008, 10:04 AM
Ive imposed a 26cm minimum for bream in my boat so you can get a few for a feed instead of 10 or 12 23cm ones with minimum meat.

BLOOEY
09-01-2008, 06:56 PM
G'day Ben!

You are obviously not a winter whiting fisherman.

RayDeR

No mate couldn't be bothered filleting that many little fish. They are very tasty little morsels though and a top bait live or dead. Ben

09-01-2008, 07:27 PM
The 23cm size limit on Bream will remain to appease the commercial operators.

Much to my disgust...............

I have heard that the cost for the central QLD pros to change net size would be too high.
Why not phase it in over several years to give them time to upgrade mesh size when the nets wear out? A 23cm Bream is a pretty poor feed