View Full Version : How far for an average fishing trip?

04-01-2008, 10:03 AM
Just wondering how many km's everybody does in the course of an average fishing trip and how much fuel gets used?

My reef trips are a round trip of 130-200 km (including some trolling)and I use between 55 and 100 litres of fuel.

Leighton
04-01-2008, 10:48 AM
not sure of distance, but it takes me 12 minutes to get to Peel from the boat ramp. Grand total of about $9 in fuel. I can be fueled up, 2 bags of Ice and a Coffee Milk for about $20

honda900
04-01-2008, 12:52 PM
Average,

bay and offshore trips.. 50 - 100 kms.

HOnda

BrewGuru
04-01-2008, 01:08 PM
leave Scarborough Friday 11.00am with5 mates bottom bashing around the Cape, anchor Bulwer overnight, bottom bashing around Deep Tempest Saturday, anchor Bulwer overnight, Fish Caloundra Wide Sunday untill approx 1.30pm arrive Scarborough approx 4.30 pm Sunday....about
185 litres in Fuel.......... $270.00
8 bottles Red Wine........$85.00
90 cans XXXX Gold........$120.00
24 cans rum & Cola.......$58.00
Food...............................$120.00

04-01-2008, 01:09 PM
75km give or take depends if any trolling is done.

04-01-2008, 02:28 PM
Brewguru awesome boat for those trips!

For me now, not that I have done alot up here yet but if tomorrow will be an indication.

140km round trip minimum.

85L fuel $113
2st oil -$10
Car fuel to tow- $12
Spare jerry 20L fuel - $27.00
Bait -$10

=$172 per trip if I use the jerry also.

Getting up there for a simple 7-10 hours on the water, thats .5 of some peoples weekly income (actually near 30-40% of all queenslanders! by sensus data if I remember correctly) Even the relatively little things are now becoming true luxuries.

04-01-2008, 02:37 PM
typical mackeral/pelagic trip for this time of year consists of

5.7L fuel.. may differ a bit if we have to wait for a set or 2 at the bar :)

No more than 10klm round trip if we muck around otherwise 7klm total

Some pillies... well lets say I get em cheap

I only live 5 min from ramp

Makes you wonder why I own a 6m+ boat with a 225 eh!

04-01-2008, 02:45 PM
Average trip for me is about 10-20km, roughly $7-$12 in fuel. A trip usually only costs about $30 all up including replenishing any lost gear. Its even less if I decide not to buy bait and catch my own.

Now I feel more confident in the boat, and know how it behaves on the water, I might start making some longer trips, which might see my costs, god forbid, double:o

Jabba_
04-01-2008, 05:27 PM
My last deap blue outing was a 130km round trip, and I used 78lt off fuel

Wahoo
04-01-2008, 06:17 PM
Hi Scott
back from a trip today out to Linden banks and stoped in at Batt reef, total 178ks and used 120l fuel ( bit thirsty but the boat was loaded )
i dont buy ice as i make my own and for bait i get 30kg box of pillys $60 from a friend of a friend of a friend LOL, had a great day out better than yesterday fishing wise

kitch76
04-01-2008, 08:55 PM
home to ramp 30-40km
and probably 5-10km on the outboard each trip as we drift while flick soft plastics most of the time,

Snapp
04-01-2008, 09:10 PM
Home to ramp 225klms + 225klms back home.
out to b-banks & return 130klms
+ bait + oil + 70-90 ltrs of boat fuel + chips & other food (to throw up)
& pizza + multiple coffees on the way home,

How much, don't want to know.

crossy
04-01-2008, 09:56 PM
about 5km return in my tinny 30bucks to fill the tank get about 6-7 trips. but on the odd occassion head out to the banks about 60km return in the old mans boat

Blueroo
04-01-2008, 10:49 PM
Out of Scarborough and around Moreton Island to Deep tempest typically 130km round trip.
Only during good weather otherwise its not worth the trip.
Bait, fuel, oil etc, who's counting. Reminder to me: Buy my wife flowers.
Stue

mungsta
05-01-2008, 11:11 AM
Hi about 12 klms round trip to throw cray pot in and about 30 klms if go fishing aswell about 25 ltrs fuel

polky
05-01-2008, 04:02 PM
Hi fellas round trip 200k,s use approx 100 ltrs fuel, 6 burbons for my fuel. Mainly do overnighters. 2 boats head out and stick together. polky.

snelly1971
05-01-2008, 05:32 PM
I just done 220 nm on my last trip...430 liters of fuel...average trip ...80 to 140 Nm

05-01-2008, 06:38 PM
Bout 12nm or was that k's, i forgot, to Mud and back bit of moving round 18lts of fuel.

Glad i own a tinnie with some of the figures bandied about.

With the money i save not owning a big boat you would think i could do a Swains trip every year. BUPPOWN.

Crooked
05-01-2008, 07:20 PM
Scott,
On the reef trips I usually go to the closer reefs spearfishing so probably a 80-85km round trip, in the tinny on a good day probably 40-50L I reckon.

cheers, Evan

07-01-2008, 06:02 PM
leave Scarborough Friday 11.00am with5 mates bottom bashing around the Cape, anchor Bulwer overnight, bottom bashing around Deep Tempest Saturday, anchor Bulwer overnight, Fish Caloundra Wide Sunday untill approx 1.30pm arrive Scarborough approx 4.30 pm Sunday....about
185 litres in Fuel.......... $270.00
8 bottles Red Wine........$85.00
90 cans XXXX Gold........$120.00
24 cans rum & Cola.......$58.00
Food...............................$120.00

I'd have to say that I'm a bit envious.
What a fantastic way to spend the weekend and probably quite comfortably too.
On my last 3 day reef trip I slept on the deck of my tinnie with a lumpy old lifejacket for a pillow and some packing foam(from a postal item)as a mattress.( I really should have commandeered my deckies swaghttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif)
But it's amazing how resilient the body is when plied with copious amounts of alcohol and I really didn't get a backache till back on dry land.

Wahoo
07-01-2008, 06:07 PM
did you get my PM? not sure if it went thru

07-01-2008, 06:11 PM
I just done 220 nm on my last trip...430 liters of fuel...average trip ...80 to 140 Nm

Mick ,I thought you guys could only get out wide once or twice a year with the weather and the seas?
I assumed there was ok fishing not too far out because of the low population in tassie and relatively close proximity of the continental shelf?
Mate, it really sounds like the new boat is still a novelty and you really just like to drive it.....c'mon be honest now...it's fun just to sit up in the cab and cruise isn't ithttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.

07-01-2008, 06:20 PM
did you get my PM? not sure if it went thru

Hey daz,
Got it .
I'll send you one after dinner.

trueblue
07-01-2008, 06:51 PM
60 - 100 klms average

50 - 90 litres of fuel

krazyfisher
08-01-2008, 08:41 AM
120km's

55l
that was last trip and is about normal

Brenno
08-01-2008, 08:54 PM
at least half a tank in my car $25
bait $20
top up tank $20

most of caught in one trip was about keeper 6 fish, total of about 4kg dont think i'm coming out ahead but who cares.