View Full Version : Is it the end of Bait Shops

Knotpretty
03-01-2008, 09:13 AM
I live on the Far North Coast NSW. Over the last 12 months 3 bait & tackle shops have closed one is on the market. Big stores Kmart,Big W and the Internet are killing them off. I try where possible to support my local bait shop you don't get expert advice or community involvement the the other outlets. The weather here is plain crap at the moment so I thought I'd through this topic out there. Long live the local B & T shop (where will I be able to display my photos if I ever catch a fish) not on the window at Big W.

Leighton
03-01-2008, 09:26 AM
I try to support my local and will admitt they have done pretty well out of me. They will still get my business for odds and ends, tackle etc.
However after looking at a few O/S web sites and learning of the speed the product is delivered ( flatties posts ) I wont hesitate in saving at times a couple of hundred dollars. On 1 reel alone we will be saving over $200, I have no idea what the local tackle store are paying from there supplies but someone is making a lot of money

Flattie Assassin
03-01-2008, 09:39 AM
It's sad to say but i only buy online nearly now. Rods are different of course. But if you look around you can find Owner stingers for under $5 a pack. Quality lures at half the price. Save hundreds on good reels. All delivered in 4 days from OS.
I'm buying Quality 40 dollar lures for 18 bucks. ;)

The good jap Flouro leaders at half the price.

My next order is going in this morn. Daiwa Exist.. ;D But i was really surprised at the speed around christmas new years.

I wouldn't hesitate to buy OS as long as it offers Paypal protection. ;)

FA

Knotpretty
03-01-2008, 09:49 AM
Thanks Capt Stabin Fully understand the savings on major items by using the net. And yes someone is making good money on locally sold items. It was a bit sad to see a oldest T & B shop in town (30+ years) close. I don't use the internet to purchase anything (had a very bad experience with credit card fraud). Personally when I shop I like to talk face to face with people.

03-01-2008, 09:54 AM
I am one that won't hesitate to buy O/S but at the same time my local tackle shop (Takle Warehouse Coorparoo) still gets a sh*tload out of me. This purely because of the excelent service and thorough advice given. I wouldn't however buy a sounder or Chartplotter locally again though.

Cheers Chris

pommy
03-01-2008, 10:55 AM
Greetings all!

As a resident of Ballina for 4 years I have seen 2 local shops close and 1 open.

The Lennox Head shop shut after re-zoning in the area. I believe that the owner cited a perception that 'there was no fishing at Lennox' as a main contributor in his decision to close.

Pete's bait and Tackle, which i used to use quite a lot also closed. I bought custom rods, end tackle and bait there. Reels and braid I got on the net. The guys who worked there were great, very helpful and ready with positive advice and comments. this shop closed in mid December.

The two remaining shops are much bigger and carry a very broad range of gear. For the amount of stock they carry though, I wonder whether their return is anywhere near that of an invested cash equivalent. I hear (unsubstanciated) that one of them has been on the market for some years. A tough buisiness.

One retailer told me that a significant reason for his closure was the lack of fish in the river system. This had had a knock on effect and people were spending less on fishing gear in general, in the area. The use of soft plastics had also had a major impact on bait sales, once a big earner.

The big retail chains were also mentioned. Much of the day to day gear such as hooks, line and sinkers (and plastics) were much cheaper and sales had dropped.

I'm very sorry to see my favourite shop close. I,m also aware, however, that 4 bait shops in 2 adjascent towns (plus a servo that sells bait and basic tackle) just doesn't work out.

I hope that the 2 remaining shops can keep going, offering the quality service that they have done to date.

Regards, Rob.
Ballina

PS I wonder whether the general scarcity of fish has anything to do with 2 or 3 major fish kills (pollution washed into the river from cane farms?) in the last 5 years and the professional netters getting a record ? bag of bream this year (off south beach).

03-01-2008, 01:29 PM
PS I wonder whether the general scarcity of fish has anything to do with 2 or 3 major fish kills (pollution washed into the river from cane farms?) in the last 5 years and the professional netters getting a record ? bag of bream this year (off south beach).

Gday Pommy i think you'll find it wasn't pollution from cane farms but something to do with the soil. One farmer worked with the Gov and did all types of tests and found a way to control this event.

Rodman
03-01-2008, 01:59 PM
HIguys

Need some advice on how you secure stinger hooks to soft plastics

Ken

the gecko
03-01-2008, 02:43 PM
Buyers are just starting to realise how high the cost of shop rent is, wages, insurance and overheads are, and just how much has been built into retail prices. The internet is great for shoppers and competition, as web sellers dont need to pay staff and rent.

yes, its sad to see the local shops go, but times are changing, and those that 'get with the change' will prosper in a big way. Theres no reason why anybody cant have a big presence and turnover in internet sales.

This applies to mostly all retail products, its not just fishing. If you were in retail, would you change your marketing tactics and battle the net sellers, or join them, or just sell up now? Its a real hard decision.

About 10 years ago, I heard a marketing expert say 'if you are a middleman or agent of any sort, then the internet will make you obsolete', and that statement becomes truer every year.

pommy
03-01-2008, 02:48 PM
Greetings!

Acid sulphate soils contain a layer of iron sulphide compounds in a layer well below the surface. If ploughing occurs then oxygen and water react with the sulphides to produce what is basically sulphuric acid. This then runs off into the waterways with damage to aquatic ecosystems. Farmers learned long ago not to plow so deep as to disturb or expose these layers.

The problem relating to fish kills is that of dead plant material and fertiliser being washed out of the cane fields and drains during heavy rain or flood conditions. This organic material acts as as a nutrient supply for bacteria and microorganisms which then deplete the oxygen in the water (eutrophication). Warm, sunny weather after the rain speeds up the increase in numbers of the bacteria.

While farmers can change many of their methods they cannot remove the large amounts of dead plant material or stop low lying fields flooding.

Wrt the netting, I have heared a figure of 7 tonnes for one day. That would be about 9000 bream.

Regards, Rob
Ballina

Flattie Assassin
03-01-2008, 02:56 PM
HIguys

Need some advice on how you secure stinger hooks to soft plastics

Ken

Stingers are treble hooks. Not for plastics, for lures.

Nitro sell jigheads with the owner cultiva hooks though.

FA

stonecold
03-01-2008, 03:37 PM
I wasnt aware that Petes had closed down thats a shame although in my opinion both shops had a limited selection of gear. I walked into the shop at Lennox 12 months before it closed, honestly I spent 2 mintues in there and walked out with nothing. He had a good selection of hooks, swivels, sinkers a few rods and reels some bait etc etc, (Cant remember seeing a S.P in the shop). All things that are essential but probably not big money spinner items. Lets face it if I buy some pillies and head down to the iron peg and get into the tailor i might go through a block of pillies and loose 1 or 2 rigs. A total of 15 bucks... maybe. The clued in blokes will buy a 65gm raider for $7-8 and catch just as many choppers. Thats not going to pay the overheads.
If you look back through the reports sections here you will see any number of people spending hundreds and more than likely thousands on tackle. Lures such as Bassday...megabass..Rods such as loomis, Smiths. Flourocarbon leaders. Now if old mate at Lennox head had of had some of that he would of had my attention for a lot longer and probably sold me some gear.
One of the tackle shops you mention, and I'm not sure if I can say Ballina Bait and Tackle but anyhow there I've done it, has the same bits and pieces as both the closed shops but they also have a great range of lets call them "NEW THINGS". In the last week I've spent $200 bucks there and probaby over an hour ferreting through all the goodies. The guy there was great with pointers on which colours were effective. He even managed to talk me into a $24 spool of flourocarbon which until now I thought was a waste of money. I didnt bother going anywhere else as he had all that I required 4 *Bassday Kangoku shads , 2* ecogear SX40 a packet of surecatch poppers a bubble pop 35, a strike pro popper the flourocarbon, some S.P and a few swivels and clips.

I may at some stage choose to purchase the "NEW THINGS" online however for the 1 or 2 I buy its hardly worth it.

I think that there will always be a place for the local tackle shop but they are going to have to diversify to keep up with the market and be competative!

As for the pollution...yes the acid sulfate soils runoff "blackwater" is a huge issue for the local waterways. The good news is that the NSWDPI has in conjunction with the canefarmers come up with a management strategy. Its not going to be solved over night as the damage is extensive. Having said that I dont think the "blackwater" or the fish kills had a huge impact on the shop closures.

03-01-2008, 03:52 PM
About 10 years ago, I heard a marketing expert say 'if you are a middleman or agent of any sort, then the internet will make you obsolete', and that statement becomes truer every year.

Very true in my case. What haven't I bought over the internet? I have bought running shoes, fishing gear, cycling clothing, books, sheet music - both hardcopy books of it and also directly downloaded individual pieces that I have paid for and then printed out immediately, downloaded music and 100+ audio books, t - shirts, camera, laptop computers, software, external hard-drive, ipod, large computer screens, mobile phones, computer accessories, airline tickets, hard-to-get DVDs, concert tickets, etc etc etc.

All bought either from Australian firms or USA or British ones. In many cases, delivery is free or very low cost because of competition between air express carriers and Aussie Post. Postage is always less than CBD parking if that were to be the alternative purchasing means. The prices are usually very good, even from the Aussie shops because it is simply a pick and post operation without high rents and coiffured sales staff.

...and all of this without ever once using eBay.

I would have no hesitation buying something as big as a car over the internet. They just need to give me a webform to tick the boxes on as to colour and accessories and then give me a competitive price. All Ford or GMH or Toyota etc would need to do is to have one display area for all of Brisbane where I could touch and feel the product if I wanted to and then order online without costly dealerships everywhere. I don't need to test drive a car nor look under the bonnet. I know that they all have motors hidden away there.

I would also have no hesitation in buying groceries online if they were available in Brisbane because I reckon that whatever I would spend on delivery would be saved by not making impulse purchases in the lolly department and I would be healthier for it. ;D

Of course I pay all my bills online. You can even renew your driver's licence online these days.

...and I am not far off buying bait online - I just need to get myself an upright freezer for the garage.

Where the local bait guy will still be of benefit though is where they are close to the fishing grounds - like the bait shop at the Jacob's Well Ramp or the Watertower Bait shop at Manly. I buy bait and ice at these places on the way out and whilst I have bought all my CrabNGear pots and accessories from the latter shop because they are an agent for that manufacturer, it would not be my automatic choice to go there looking at reels and the like - not because they don't have them and are not helpful with advice but simply because the shop is not local to me and just not top of mind for that sort of stuff.

03-01-2008, 04:38 PM
Very true in my case. What haven't I bought over the internet? I have bought running shoes, fishing gear, cycling clothing, books, sheet music - both hardcopy books of it and also directly downloaded individual pieces that I have paid for and then printed out immediately, downloaded music and 100+ audio books, t - shirts, camera, laptop computers, software, external hard-drive, ipod, large computer screens, mobile phones, computer accessories, airline tickets, hard-to-get DVDs, concert tickets, etc etc etc.

All bought either from Australian firms or USA or British ones. In many cases, delivery is free or very low cost because of competition between air express carriers and Aussie Post. Postage is always less than CBD parking if that were to be the alternative purchasing means. The prices are usually very good, even from the Aussie shops because it is simply a pick and post operation without high rents and coiffured sales staff.

...and all of this without ever once using eBay.

I would have no hesitation buying something as big as a car over the internet. They just need to give me a webform to tick the boxes on as to colour and accessories and then give me a competitive price. All Ford or GMH or Toyota etc would need to do is to have one display area for all of Brisbane where I could touch and feel the product if I wanted to and then order online without costly dealerships everywhere. I don't need to test drive a car nor look under the bonnet. I know that they all have motors hidden away there.

I would also have no hesitation in buying groceries online if they were available in Brisbane because I reckon that whatever I would spend on delivery would be saved by not making impulse purchases in the lolly department and I would be healthier for it. ;D

Of course I pay all my bills online. You can even renew your driver's licence online these days.

...and I am not far off buying bait online - I just need to get myself an upright freezer for the garage.

Where the local bait guy will still be of benefit though is where they are close to the fishing grounds - like the bait shop at the Jacob's Well Ramp or the Watertower Bait shop at Manly. I buy bait and ice at these places on the way out and whilst I have bought all my CrabNGear pots and accessories from the latter shop because they are an agent for that manufacturer, it would not be my automatic choice to go there looking at reels and the like - not because they don't have them and are not helpful with advice but simply because the shop is not local to me and just not top of mind for that sort of stuff.

groceries have been available online for years..the other half has used them quite a lot...a lil dearer than the supermarket but I for one will not stand in a queue at a supermarket..I have better things to do with my time.

03-01-2008, 06:07 PM
I live on the Far North Coast NSW. Over the last 12 months 3 bait & tackle shops have closed one is on the market. Big stores Kmart,Big W and the Internet are killing them off. I try where possible to support my local bait shop you don't get expert advice or community involvement the the other outlets. The weather here is plain crap at the moment so I thought I'd through this topic out there. Long live the local B & T shop (where will I be able to display my photos if I ever catch a fish) not on the window at Big W.

Its a sad state of affairs ..... but that is the reality of today's consumers.
The now & then fishoe just buys what he needs when out shoppin with the missus at K Mart ...... As he buys cheap basic gear.
The keen experienced & specialist fishoe will still support the local ..... but the range usually leaves him a little short ........ So he will either travel to buy from the bigger tackle outlets ........ or in this day & age , he'll go mail order or over the net! ....... That's my experience & nowadays.... I will buy the majority of my tackle online & import it ..... saving hundreds of dollars per transaction ( money talks)
Nagg

pommy
03-01-2008, 06:31 PM
Greetings!

Agree with everything that Stonecold says. Used Pete's cos I'm predominantly a stinky bait fisherman and the chat and information were good. Steve, Kim and Ron were great guys.

I'm now trying to work out which of the two remaining shops to patronise.

Regards, Rob
Ballina

banshee
03-01-2008, 08:16 PM
I'm surprised Pete's lasted as long as it did,I'm prety sure they had no idea Bruce was going to open up a shop four times the size of theirs after selling it to them litteraly two house blocks away and take Shimano with him,I think the final straw came when Brett went big on Daiwa which was there only brand name.Back to the question,is it the end of the small tackle shop? No way,there will always be a place for those with local experience and offer good service,it's just a case of those that don't patronise the bussiness and import gear will pay a premiun price to use it.

OldManRiver
03-01-2008, 08:28 PM
G'day blokes,my first post.

This is an interesting thread.I called into Big W yesterday for a sniff an they had Halco Laser Pro's and Scorpians for under $11'.Normally these sell for around $15-$17 at Tackle stores.And the way the aussie $ is going you will soon be able to buy Shimano Stellas for around $600 (8000).I was on hols in Melbourne last week and saw a stella 8000 for sale for $1050.Makes you wonder.

OldManRiver
03-01-2008, 08:32 PM
From tht USA i mean.