PDA

View Full Version : Fishing tips

bonzaboss
31-12-2007, 07:56 PM
Can anyone help me? I am new to the fishing game but have the bug. I have a 3.5mtr tinny and will be buying a much bigger boat next year hopefully. ( if the wife let`s me ). I have just spent a week away at Iluka in the Northern rivers of NSW. There is plenty of water and everyone was catching fish except for me. What are the best baits and rigs for Bream, Flathead and Whiting etc? I could use any help as i really need it.

oldboot
31-12-2007, 08:13 PM
##### mate, to get started fast good books are your friend.
the fishermans hand book by steve starling
Australian fish guide by frank prokop
and
Ron Calcutt complete book of fishing

those are the most worthwhile 3 I have seen, all still easily available.

Are good places to start.
It's more than just bait.

cheers

Jimbo73
31-12-2007, 08:17 PM
you said you were away at illuka. where abouts do you normally fish?

mangomick
31-12-2007, 08:31 PM
Use the lightest lead you can get away with to get your bait on the bottom. For whiting a running sinker down to a small swivel and a trace of the same size line or slightly smaller with small long shank hooks will always get a feed. Best to use iether yabbies 9youll need a yabbie pump) or sand/beach worms are the best bait. If you cant get them you can always use small peeled prawns.
fish the gutters on the sand flats at the first of the run in or last of the run out . You dont need much water.
If fishing rivers look for sand banks that are exposed and fish the edges of those.
Any mangrove gutters will usually yield bream on the run in. Fish the mangrove edges and around snags. Usually a snag in an other wise clear stream will usually yield good fish.
You can use the same rig for whiting or change to running sinker and go up a hook sizes.