View Full Version : 18 Tohatsu

snapperm8
27-12-2007, 01:47 PM
I am looking into buying a new 18hp tohatsu for my tinne, and would apreciate everyones opinon on them good or bad doesnt worry me obviously::) and i have been trying to look everywhere and could not find a price tried to call nu-marine in cleveland coz im sure they stock tohatsu but i think there close for the chrissy week. Any information would be gratefull thankyou!

cheers dave

27-12-2007, 02:08 PM
G'day Dave, I have nothing but good things to say about the Tohatsu motors. Have had a 25hp on the back of the 3.7 Quintrex and I have to say that it is super reliable and very fast. If you get one I doubt that you will regret it.

snapperm8
27-12-2007, 03:12 PM
Nice i would say that'd fly wats the max hp for ur boat though 20 and do u have a ruff idea of how much ur 25 cost if u dont mind.

jack20000
27-12-2007, 04:54 PM
Boatworx

Phone: (07) 5499 3555 Address:
2/ 84 Learjet Drv Caboolture QLD 4510email boatworx@bigpond.com (boatworx@bigpond.com)Got a price from them for a 70hp - it was $300 less than my local dealer. jack

poundalead
27-12-2007, 05:08 PM
A mate has one moored in the Mary river. Its about 15 years old and never been flushed or taken out of the water. The oil has been changed a couple of times and thats all the maintenance its had. It still runs great, however he is the only one that can get the damn thing started! These little motors are unbelievable, I know another guy that had his 18hp for 17 years and had no problems either, he only sold it cos he was afraid that eventually he would run into problems. Guess what he bought- another Tohatsu!
Good luck with the purchase

Cheers Benny

27-12-2007, 05:15 PM
I have an 18 hp tohatsu with only about 15 hrs on it now, love it.
The main reason I purchased my motor (after looking at most 15hp to 25hp, even looked at the cheapie jobs on ebay) is the agucultural build quality and saying that in a posative way. Rugged, looks like it dosnt need to be handle with kid gloves so nothing break, starts within 2 pulls always, mostly one

27-12-2007, 05:20 PM
Nice i would say that'd fly wats the max hp for ur boat though 20 and do u have a ruff idea of how much ur 25 cost if u dont mind.

The Tohatsu I have is a 2000 model and the boat is maximum rated for 20hp however the transom was built up and strengthened so it handles the extra horses without any problems. As for cost I didn't buy it new so I can't tell you what they are worth brand new. I did purchase a new boat so the old tinny is going to be put on the market real soon to recoup some of the dollars I have spent on both rigs.

snapperm8
27-12-2007, 08:15 PM
well all i hear is that there a great engine which persuades me even more although does any1 no the price range there in?

TheSaint
27-12-2007, 08:57 PM
well all i hear is that there a great engine which persuades me even more although does any1 no the price range there in?

$2000-$2200 mark

catfishkid
27-12-2007, 11:15 PM
I had a latest model 18hp tohatsu on a 12 ft tinnie and it was just brilliant.bought it from river city marine at albion,they offered me the best deal at around $2000.
I bought a bigger boat and now have a 40 hp Tohatsu and guess what,its brilliant.They are a great motor.

Cheers Craig

snapperm8
28-12-2007, 06:22 AM
well all sounds great im keen to get the motor now to find a cheap dealer, thanx for all the info every1.

cheers dave

sandbankmagnet
28-12-2007, 06:41 AM
I beleive the Tohatsu 18 is the same motor as the Mercury super 15, which I have, and runs great.

doublexl
02-01-2008, 02:37 PM
have a look at the mercury,same motor but merc gives you 3 year warranty...

boatie
02-01-2008, 06:52 PM
hey mate
i payed $2200 for my 18. great motor gets my 3.8mr bluefin to 20knots whith 3 aboard and lots of fishing gear! i was told that theyt are actuly 23hp but are badged 18hp so it is cheaper to import them but i dont know for sure?

Boatie