View Full Version : How many Ausfishers does it take to change a light bulb?

26-12-2007, 01:48 PM
One to change the light bulb and to post that the light bulb has been
changed.

Fourteen to share similar experiences of changing light bulbs and how
the light bulbs could have been changed differently.

Seven to caution about the dangers of changing light bulbs.

Seven more to point out spelling/grammar errors in posts about changing
light bulbs.

Five to flame the spell checkers.

Three to correct spelling/grammar flames.

Six to argue over whether it's "lightbulb" or "light bulb"...

Another six to condemn those six as stupid.

Fifteen to claim experience in the lighting industry and give the
correct spelling.

Nineteen to post that this group is not about light bulbs and to please
take this discussion to a lightbulb (or light bulb) forum.

Eleven to defend the posting to the group saying that we all use light
bulbs and therefore the postings are relevant to this group.

Thirty Six to debate which method of changing light bulbs is superior,
where to buy the best light bulbs, what brand of light bulbs works best
for which technique and what brands are faulty.

Seven to post URLs where one can see examples of different light bulbs.
Four to post that the URLs were posted incorrectly and then post the
corrected URL.

Three to post about links they found from the URLs that are relevant to
this group, therefore making light bulbs relevant to this group.

Thirteen to link all posts to date, quote them in their entirety
including all headers and signatures, and add "Me Too!".

Five to post to the group that they will no longer post because they
cannot handle the light bulb controversy.

Four to say "didn't we go through this already a short time ago?"

Thirteen to say "do a Google search on light bulbs before posting
questions about light bulbs".

Three to tell a funny story about their kids and a light bulb.

One group lurker to respond to the original post 6 months from now
and start it all over again.

One Mod 5 to shift the post to where it should have been all along.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

robersl
26-12-2007, 02:05 PM
`luv your work charleville keep it up lol

shane

Dodgy_Back
26-12-2007, 02:05 PM
And I say it's a light "GLOBE"

26-12-2007, 02:14 PM
classic stuff,mate!
great to see that you have seen the light and are remaining a productive member of society in your retirementhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif

DR
26-12-2007, 02:37 PM
you forgot the '7 to send PMs & whine to management because they find lightbulbs offensive & shouldn't be discussed'

BigE
26-12-2007, 03:27 PM
And one .........Gawd dam light making contraptions & switch things and that dangerous electricity hocus pokus ......... if god had wanted us to see in the dark he would have made the sun stay up all night.

:0

MY-TopEnder
26-12-2007, 03:35 PM
And this is what happens when the weather turns to sh*t.

sid_fishes
26-12-2007, 05:01 PM
oh i,.m mod 5 where do you want it to be moved to,,,sid

Timfishin4fun
26-12-2007, 05:08 PM
You guys make me laugh.
But seriously does someone want to come change mine as i'm too lazy.

26-12-2007, 05:34 PM
oh i,.m mod 5 where do you want it to be moved to,,,sid

Isn't there a mandatory jail term for impersonating Mod 5? :o

;D ;D ;D

26-12-2007, 05:36 PM
But seriously does someone want to come change mine as i'm too lazy.

Are we still talkin' about light bulbs? :-/

;D ;D ;D

26-12-2007, 05:41 PM
I shall let you into a little secret.... The only original bit in my post at the top of this thread is the last line about Mod 5, bless his cotton socks.

The rest of it came from a USA early retirement chat site.

It just goes to show that all the cat-fighting, flaming, expert opinions and every thing else mentioned in that post that is so familiar to Ausfishers happens on every other chat site on the planet. It is just all human nature. ::)

26-12-2007, 06:16 PM
Come on Charlie, we now live in the "ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY" era. Aren't we all using the WATT SAVERS these days? ::)

bayfisher
26-12-2007, 06:28 PM
you forgot about a POLL to find out everyones favourite light bulb? ;D

Chris Ryan
26-12-2007, 06:31 PM
I'm happy that some 'light' has been shed on the subject. It has been 'illuminating' reading and a sense of 'brightness' and a 'highlight ' for what is an otherwise wet dull day.

26-12-2007, 07:36 PM
Thanks Charlie,

Like Chris I'm more en"light"ened now too...

Bring on the good weather so we all don't turn into dim glowing "bulbs"

Cheers and merry christmas

insideout
26-12-2007, 07:54 PM
I for one take exception to the fact that "lightbulbs" are used as a reference for this story, for they are a important part of everyday life and.......Blah, blah, blah,blah,blah..................!

Life is too short , and we should always look on the "light side" Monty python.

26-12-2007, 08:21 PM
Ohh what I wouldn't give for a blackout right about now!!

26-12-2007, 11:05 PM
I for one take exception to the fact that "lightbulbs" are used as a reference for this story,

Are you worried that light bulbs could be over-changed?

Should there be protection zones for light bulbs?

http://img.skitch.com/20071226-r8xwf8ka51xhxaeqt3ftsu135b.jpg

;D ;D ;D

Chris Ryan
27-12-2007, 05:33 AM
That's it - I am changing the name of the party to the Aust Fishing & Lightbulb Party (AFLP). Protect your rights to turn on a light and have it work. Osram, Philips & Co tell us changing lightbulbs are OK and healthy and they work, why do we need to close down areas of lightbulbs? Why does another group need to weigh in and take away this management and stop our rights for changing them?

Fair dinkum, this government and their grubby backdoor deals with candle makers is ridiculous and just shows how out of touch they are. This is the same group that approved the changing of 1m lightbulbs on the Storey Bridge in the last year!!!

We need to protest this long and hard and support the MBAA (Moreton Bay Artificial-light Association) in their efforts to change these rezoning plans.

p.s. I really really really need to get out on my boat again as this came out far too easily at this time of the morning.

27-12-2007, 06:40 AM
how many ausfishers to change a light bulb..that is easy..NONE...that is what a wife is for.

goddy100
27-12-2007, 07:19 AM
Too busy reading this forum to notice that the light is blown. Plus plenty of light via the monitor!!::)

Goddy

Kleyny
27-12-2007, 02:30 PM
Charleville, thats the funniest post I've seen on the site for a while.
Theres been a little bit of bickering on here of late good to see it getting back to normal.

neil

27-12-2007, 05:05 PM
Where's Fester when you need him ????

Twisted_Pair
27-12-2007, 05:25 PM
Hey Charlie, not wanting to get too picky here but is the light bulb an ES, SES, GES, BC, SBC or PLC etc, etc LOL

If I was Spanish, the answer would be just Juan!!!!!

Cheers T_P

27-12-2007, 06:19 PM
If I was Spanish, the answer would be just Juan!!!!!

Reminds me of the Spaniard who I once knew and who had identical twin sons, named Amal and Juan.

He only ever carried around pictures of Juan in his wallet though and when I asked why, he replied.........(wait for it) .......

"Once you've seen Juan, you've seen Amal."

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

27-12-2007, 09:17 PM
Why didn't you just say 184 Charlie.

What about the Spanish fire chief who named his two sons "Hosea" and "Hoseb". ;D::);D

dnej
28-12-2007, 09:38 AM
Then there was the brother of the father,who being an uncle,called them Denise and Denephew( LOL)
David

29-12-2007, 06:36 AM
I would have answered none.

I'd leave it blown and say I'm doing my bit for global warming.
If everyone did that there'd be no warming would there??

Dunno. I'm just a dum sparky :D

Chris Ryan
29-12-2007, 06:57 AM
see - Finga stumbled on the answer in global warming.

The first part, is based on the word GLOBE and the halogens and old incandescent ones get real hot once turned on for a short period of time.

So Global Warming is just all about hot light bulbs.............but then again I am just a dumb salesman. :)

29-12-2007, 08:57 AM
see - Finga stumbled on the answer in global warming.

The first part, is based on the word GLOBE and the halogens and old incandescent ones get real hot once turned on for a short period of time.

So Global Warming is just all about hot light bulbs.............but then again I am just a dumb salesman. :)
Mate global warming is really caused by cow farts. Everyone knows that ::)

Leaving the bulb blown and using the global warming thingo is just a good excuse for this lazy slug not to fix it ;D
Besides I hate heights. Anything over the bottom step I get a bleedy nose. True!! Well nearly true 8-)

Chris Ryan
30-12-2007, 05:54 AM
You are not alone in the must fix the broken bulbs department Scott. In this room alone I have 3 to do............been a little busy of late though. ;) Was just trying to be clever connecting hot globes to global warming......ahhh well....it was a lame joke.

I forgot about the cows bit. Cow farts=coral bleaching on the GBR.........sumfin doesn't add up there.