View Full Version : What do you fish off.

22-12-2007, 09:51 PM
Another in my series of polls.

What do you fish off most of the time?

theclick
22-12-2007, 11:48 PM
This might be good to show how many landies there are here, perhaps a landbased section is needed :)

aussiefool
23-12-2007, 03:23 AM
I fish the rocks at Hastings with the odd beach tossed in, in winter chasing Tailor.
I would love to get a regular spot as deckie again or be able to talk the mrs into letting me get a boat for outside
Aussiefool

bluefin59
23-12-2007, 04:54 AM
I mostly fish out of my 4.5mt bluefin but occasionaly of the land ....matt

Flattie Assassin
23-12-2007, 05:27 AM
I fish the rocks at Hastings with the odd beach tossed in, in winter chasing Tailor.
I would love to get a regular spot as deckie again or be able to talk the mrs into letting me get a boat for outside
Aussiefool

Hastings is my favorite fishing spot in Aus. It's just so nice down there.

I fish out of a yak.

23-12-2007, 05:47 AM
Mostly beach, then rocks, then inshore from 4.2 tinny.
I'd like to get out in the boat more often, but have to cross a rather unpleasant bar to do so, which means I have to wait for the right conditions/tides to coincide with the ability to juggle work commitments!

23-12-2007, 07:30 AM
I like to try and drown a prawn or yabbi anyway I can.
Mostly the drowning occurs from one of the boats (one below 13' and one above) but I still love sitting on a rocky wall or headland watching the waves passing me by or standing in the water watching the pelicans after pumping a few fresh yabbi's.

MY-TopEnder
23-12-2007, 10:51 AM
Land based... mainly fish the gold coast or Bribie...

PumpyChowdown
23-12-2007, 02:49 PM
Land based, but have a small runabout very high on my "wish-list".

onerabbit
23-12-2007, 02:53 PM
Very rarely fish from the bank, will chase a jew with my mate, but that's about it.
Sometime's in the river with the kids, 97.5% of the time, 100mtrs +.

gawby
23-12-2007, 03:21 PM
I fish out of the GAWBY II

Tailortaker
23-12-2007, 05:03 PM
I fish from my 3.9m quintrex and from the beach.
TT

Lea26
23-12-2007, 07:55 PM
19 ft Quintrex and the beach with my family

:D

24-12-2007, 11:14 AM
16ft Quinnie, and landbased, no wading though, those toothy handbags just love complacency.

24-12-2007, 01:05 PM
Oldboot,
You forgot to add
Rich mans runabout with very large outboard/s. ;D

Merry Xmas to all. Cheers and beers.

philip_thomson
24-12-2007, 02:18 PM
I fish out of what ever i get invited out on.
however plan on buying a 4.5m c/c tinnie or polycraft

24-12-2007, 09:01 PM
Ok lets include rich mans runnabout with over 500HP bolted on the tail in the same category as the deisel engine group.

If you have a boat with over 500HP on the tail I want to see pictures;D ;D

yep there is a land bases grouping.... first option........ thats me at the moment.

Cammy
27-12-2007, 05:43 AM
i am land based, but love rock and beach fishing!

cam

big moose
27-12-2007, 06:50 AM
I mostly fish from my 5.2 coxcraft rumrunner when i ever get a day off to fish that is
regards gary

plaztix
27-12-2007, 07:16 AM
When i get the time i prefer to go out in my 4.15 sea jay SP but if its a quick arvo or morning session i'll go landbased.

ffejsmada
27-12-2007, 09:55 AM
What do I fish off????????

I fish my ar$e off!

27-12-2007, 02:07 PM
Mostly from my 4.1 aquamaster but occasionally from a 7m platey or landbased for whiting and flathead.

mad_pierre06
28-12-2007, 09:58 PM
Land based, do like getting around the rocks up Point Arkwright way. Mainly look for spots which are friendly to the kids, getting a little more adventurous with them now. Jump in a boat with a mate when he can get out, went with the odd charter many years back.

Mrs Ronnie H
29-12-2007, 02:34 PM
Hi All

If this weather ever lets up -- the Boat otherwise we just stay at home.

Ronnie

Tropicaltrout
29-12-2007, 09:56 PM
My little tinny for me, its small but its all mine

gleeeza
30-12-2007, 05:41 PM
Anywhere in a boat is my preference but camping with the kids on rivers lately has given me another option that is winning me over. I am not adverse to punting about with my spear gun to mix things up a bit either, the adrenaline factor makes it interesting when the bities turn up!

Gleeeza

reel scream
31-12-2007, 01:17 PM
Yalta Odessa 2000, and off the beach when camping with the kids.

Cheers Scott

deadbeatloser
01-01-2008, 01:28 PM
stabi-craft 509. with no WPF:):):)

crabbie
01-01-2008, 09:29 PM
I fish from my 1983 customised 4.35M Savage Ranger

bradhorny28
02-01-2008, 07:02 PM
I fish out of a 5.2 m centre console

Big bosco 1
06-01-2008, 09:07 AM
I fish from a viking tempo 2 upper brissy river for bass love lure fishing it,s tops

Synful
06-01-2008, 09:50 AM
Usually my 4.2m boat and off Palm Cove jetty with my Little Monster 8-)

gobbo1
10-01-2008, 07:26 PM
Soon to be a brand new 450 polycraft drifter....I pick her up tomorrow......PLEEEEESE let the weather be good this weekend:D :D :D

Synful
10-01-2008, 09:36 PM
Soon to be a brand new 450 polycraft drifter....I pick her up tomorrow......PLEEEEESE let the weather be good this weekend:D :D :D

Now that looks like a sweet boat looking at the Polycraft site :)

Stottles
10-01-2008, 11:08 PM
most of my fishing's done on the beach so im usually waiste deep in the surf or in the shallows gettin pipi's while waiting for a bite. other then beach fishing tho would have to be in my mates 12" round the lake.

wading thru the shallows chasing falttys is always fun tho

Cheers^^
Stottles

reidy
16-01-2008, 02:57 PM
My lovely little 4.1 bermuda tinnie.But have been known to slide the good old neos on quite regualy.Thats most likley why they smell like, well i dont know what.
Cheers Reidy

Jeremy87
17-01-2008, 09:29 AM
I fish off quite a few different vessels. At the moment however my canoe is getting a good work out. A combination of bad weather and it being quick and simple to make a last minute call to head out has made it really useful. I've also just put a 28lb leccy on it so travelling longer distances isn't so fatuiging. apart from that i fish from dads 4.3 formosa for most of my bay/estuary/dam fishing, and my mate has a 5.25 bowrider which we do a heap of metal spinning from and occasionally take offshore. There is also a few other blokes with various vessels that i go out on from time to time but with the poor weather and alot of work on weekends it hasn't happened for a while.

BrewGuru
17-01-2008, 04:28 PM
goin in the big ole girl this weekend weather permitting.

Gilli
23-01-2008, 10:12 AM
I fish out of my 4 meter quinny the tinnie(quintrex). Gets me everywhere i want to go and its an excellent crabbing boat i reckon.

oldsalty
23-01-2008, 10:23 AM
This might be good to show how many landies there are here, perhaps a landbased section is needed :)

Great idea!

Scott Ashe
23-01-2008, 01:02 PM
Hi I usually fish from my 4.10m Ally craft or occasionally off the beach at Stradbroke Is.

kingtin
25-01-2008, 05:17 PM
Great idea!

I would have thought admin had it well covered with the "estuary, beach, bay and river" section?

28-01-2008, 09:05 PM
PAR but often end up under the card

reelemin1974
29-01-2008, 07:19 AM
I'm still confused that 4 people have voted they don't fish at all??????

bastard
31-01-2008, 07:34 PM
I have a 26 caribbean but we all prefer to fish out of the little 2.6 zodiac we drift the pin in not much more than a foot of water and allways get a feed of whitting or flathead,we have also been getting a few moses perch.

seamaid
02-02-2008, 01:21 PM
;D
Seamaid is a 4.5 Quintrex powered by 60hp E-TEC ,fish salt & fresh.
Run the gaunlet to Rooneys Point Fraser Is
Operate out of Hervey Bay,close in reefs outings tn winter are good.
Best of boating cheers Ged.

Breambuster33
03-02-2008, 01:20 PM
I usually fish of my 12' dinghy in moreton bay

MY-TopEnder
03-02-2008, 01:27 PM
Its a shame i can't update....

Just bought a little 10ft Tinnie... pretty basic atm, but will get Ausfish stickers very soon to match the truck, and will get a complete new fitout.

wayneoro
03-02-2008, 04:31 PM
my wifes wages of cause dumb question

Marky Mark
04-02-2008, 08:41 AM
I've got a elderly 4.4m Savage tinny with a late model CV30 yammie, fish mainly offshore from Port Macquarie, occasionally in the river when the bar requires it.

major-defect
25-03-2008, 07:58 AM
I fish from my 4.3 savage gannet and do a bit of land based off the headlands and the river mouths.

Riv_71
26-03-2008, 07:07 AM
Im currently land locked fish alot in Hobsons bay area, planning on being on the water in a boat this year ;D

Eric03
26-03-2008, 04:12 PM
As of 4 weeks a 4.3m Clark Challenger with an Evinrude 50hp on the back. ;D

gumb01
01-04-2008, 07:43 PM
14 foot quintrex breezeabout with a 40 horse johny on the back. Small enough to get up the small creeks for jacks and mudcrabs, big enough to go out to the reefs on the flat days.

02-04-2008, 11:42 AM
Love beach fishing, wading, canoe'ing and now Dad gave me his little 12 foot tinny as an early inheritance, I use that too, and it is a luck vessel, on the maiden voyage I got bream, jack and whiting !!

Mostly though I fish on borrowed time due to young family and other commitments
Sigh :(

Orrsum
02-04-2008, 01:56 PM
anything really; rocks, beach, river but mainly outside in my 4.5 Stacer nomad

Atriplex
25-05-2008, 09:34 PM
Usually beach and rock fishing but I love going out in the canoe. Boat fishing can be a bit un-stimulating even when I'm catching fish I find.

kokomo
25-05-2008, 10:06 PM
6.25m center console :)

johnny roger
26-05-2008, 12:34 AM
im hoping to fish more out of my new runabout due in a few weeks!;D

ronnien
26-05-2008, 05:11 PM
i fish off a 4.4mtr quintrex barra, v-nose flat bottom done the fit out myself last year side console, false floor, casting deck, 10 alloy rod holders, elect's, etc etc.
the sticker say's 4.3mtr but i put a measuring tape over it (4.4mtr). fish creeks, out in the bay & around the islands when the wind lets me to.

ron.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii161/ronnien_photos/boat4.jpg

chief 1
26-05-2008, 05:20 PM
I fish landbased unless i go out with one of my uncles

stevea
26-05-2008, 05:35 PM
Off Mooloolaba, sometimes Caloundra:D,
in a 4.8mtr boat.

shorty 01
26-05-2008, 06:55 PM
ill fish land based and boat

rockfisho
26-05-2008, 10:28 PM
Im a compulsive wader. I also love to fish the rocks, regardless if i get drenched from sea spray/foam, (but not thrown in, Big NO NO)

rockfisho

Noiseworks
27-05-2008, 08:43 PM
Fish out of our little old V-sea when weather permits (damn wind) otherwise predominately beachfishing is the go for our family.

Noiseworks