View Full Version : re: WHAT DO YOU DO FOR A LIVING AND WHAT AREA ARE YOU!

stesslecc60
22-12-2007, 07:12 PM
Guday all;
was just reading the above mentioned post and seemings as the last one was back in june, i thought i would start a-fresh.
The names Paul, only a newby to ausfish but find it a good read. For work i manage a Beaurepaires store, and have done so for about 7 years. I love my fishing, dont think i need to explain why! got a 4.5mtr stessl c/console with a 60 yami, perfect for everything i want to do. Also have a 7mtr plate with a 225, but she's on the market, never get time to use her. Look forward to any reply's and a safe chrissy and new years to you all, wether on the road or water.

cheers Paul.;)

(ps, call into your local Beaurepaires, and ask for 10% off your next set of tyres, tell em Paul from Maryborough sent you!!)

squizzytaylor
22-12-2007, 07:35 PM
Tyres here too Paul, but in my case used Aircraft Tyres (commonly used for agricultural equipment and shipping fenders) , Based in Lake Macquarie NSW.
Boat is a 455 Polycraft quickcraft side console with a 60hp Tohatsu.

Geoff

stesslecc60
22-12-2007, 07:51 PM
Tyres here too Paul, but in my case used Aircraft Tyres (commonly used for agricultural equipment and shipping fenders) , Based in Lake Macquarie NSW.
Boat is a 455 Polycraft quickcraft side console with a 60hp Tohatsu.

Geoff
guday Geoff, thanks for the reply, have fit a few aircraft tyres myself over the years, not to aircraft though, mainly fertilizer spreaders and cranes, told myself each time i need a new line of work, ha ha! hope some more ausfishers out there are goin to tell us what they do when there not wetin a line.

russ81
22-12-2007, 07:57 PM
Hows it going guys

I am a soldier based at Enoggera
Hit the bay and out wide whenever I can in the trusty Trailcraft Sportscab

Russ

Braddles
22-12-2007, 09:25 PM
Hi guys. I am a kids Intensive Care Nurse and aeromedical retrieval team member in Brisbane, now working part time (full time over holls) and studying medicine / surgery. I am currently boatless but ride a wave runner when not fishing.

Leighton
23-12-2007, 12:06 AM
Hey
Plumber and Drainer, hit my fishing spots in a Quintrex Freedom Sport
Leighton

aussiefool
23-12-2007, 03:30 AM
For me 2 jobs at the moment Saturday and Sunday I roll and deliver Newspapers in Labrador Qld and Mon,Tues and Wed I work at the New B.P. travel centre at Chinderah that only leaves Thurs and Friday for fishing at Hastings if the weather is good

23-12-2007, 05:48 AM
Gday Paul I'm a post contractor deliver parcels and satchels.

When I'm not fishing I'm thinking about how i should go fishing more often than i do.

Fish from Bris river mouth to Wello Pt or the Broadwater on the goldie.

Flattie Assassin
23-12-2007, 05:53 AM
Hi guys. I am a kids Intensive Care Nurse and aeromedical retrieval team member in Brisbane, now working part time (full time over holls) and studying medicine / surgery. I am currently boatless but ride a wave runner when not fishing.

Cool job mate. My eldest daughter is doing her Senior this year, and would very much like to become a midwife.

alleycat
23-12-2007, 06:47 AM
Gday all, was a slaughterman for 30 years and still break into a sweat if i see sheep ( oww my back), am 46 now so i just do 3 days a week now on the line and daytrade shares the other days ( go gold) which is far far more profitable than skinning sheep or cattle let me tell ya.

23-12-2007, 07:45 AM
Gday all, was a slaughterman for 30 years and still break into a sweat if i see sheep ( oww my back), am 46 now so i just do 3 days a week now on the line and daytrade shares the other days ( go gold) which is far far more profitable than skinning sheep or cattle let me tell ya.

Barra resorces have hit a nice little intersection of about 10300g a ton. Pretty impressive but still early days.

alleycat
23-12-2007, 07:58 AM
Barra resorces have hit a nice little intersection of about 10300g a ton. Pretty impressive but still early days.

Hi dave, i owned quite a few barra last year and unloaded them, yes it was a good intercept but such hits can be very isolated and can be very disspointing when it comes to total resource ounces, go look at what pacrim ( asx code pre) has been turning up at its redcliffe deposit, read last 6 months of announcements at thier website, its shallow, broad zones and very good grades, has great potential to be a very big cheap to mine deposit, at 5.2 or under its a very very good punt.;D

Sandman
23-12-2007, 08:16 AM
Hi GUys possibly done this before aswell but for new members i am Regional Case Manger for the Multiple Sclerosis Society of Qld , Currently my region is from Caboolture out to Kingaroy up tp Yeepoon out wide to Emerald.
Love my fishing and dont do enough of it only wish i could take my boat when i head north. I hope to eventually stick to the city limits so i can pop out for a quick fish instead of spending time in traffic.

Timfishin4fun
23-12-2007, 08:24 AM
Hi everyone, I'm a plumber and drainer by trade, have now joined BCC as an plumbing inspector. Now I don't have the stress of sh1t hitting the fan.

I live near beenleigh, so usually fish the pin or starting to head out offshore more as new boat is more capable.

2DKnBJ
23-12-2007, 02:16 PM
Think i have put this up before so foe the newbys.
I am an Optical Technician.That is i make optical lenses
If anyone needs new lenses or sunglass lenses get in touch and i can help you out at a much better price than you will pay retail.

Cheers Dazza

onerabbit
23-12-2007, 03:01 PM
Trained personal carer, just started a new job driving for the local septic pumpers, gone from wiping sh!t to pumping it.

Still not sure that it's a career advancement.

Rodman
23-12-2007, 03:07 PM
Hi Guys

I spent 29 years in the Army now retired own a 4.75m tomcat blue fin 90 Merc 4 stroke

Ken

crossy
23-12-2007, 03:12 PM
hey,
been in the Navy since i was 17 and havnt looked back manly chiping and painting boats, and bording partys up north. currently on the South Coast on NSW (Culburra each near Nowra) but moving to Darwin in March, so the tinnies got a long drive in front of her.(and the wife is in the car aswell) :P

Awesome
23-12-2007, 08:34 PM
Hi guys.
I've been a mechanic for 22 years. Love my fishing & usually go out to the shallow reefs off Mooloolaba with my partner and two young kids in our Allycraft 4.45m tinnie with a 40 yamm. Also have 2 kayaks for fishing the passage.

Vindicator
24-12-2007, 06:52 AM
G'day all,

I'm a farmer, I've got 160 acres at Glasshouse Mtns where I grow 1200 avocados, 2000 custard apples and 7000 macadamias. I fish out of Mooloolaba in my 6.7m Vindicator

Kezza

Seahorse
24-12-2007, 10:10 AM
I manage auto and industrial paint shops. North and southside of brisbane.
Want paint? give me a call.
I fish from woody pt to mud to tanga in my 5m stacer

Merry xmas:)

MY-TopEnder
24-12-2007, 10:24 AM
Assistant Product Manager - Construction Products (Pacific)... I work for the biggest Abrasives company in Australia in the construction products division.

I basically look after Bricksaws, Blocksaws, Road Saws, Core Drilling machinery, Core Drills and Diamond Blades.

Fishing wise, I'm boatless at the moment but once the new year settles in I'll be looking for a small tinny.

Bear001
24-12-2007, 11:05 AM
Book-keeper. Plus my husband & I have an earthmoving business...trucks, bobcats, excavators etc..... so that keeps me busy enough.

Fish the local dams, ie Lake Keepit, Split Rock, Glenbawn & once or twice a year drag the tinny over the coast to South West Rocks or somewhere near.

Just got my new 400 Hornet Trophy - so will probably drag it around a whole lot more!!!!

Mtx
24-12-2007, 11:47 AM
IT Manager in a large agricultural company.
have a Blue Fin Weekender - fish maily peel - the pin

Looking for an upgrade early in the new year :)

Scorpion1080
24-12-2007, 01:44 PM
At the moment wanting to move into Mining Engineering. My old man is a consultant for all the big oil companies and has a few contacts to help get me in.

Location: Sunny Coast (QLD) 40% of the time, 10% Sydney (NSW), 40% Melb (VIC), 10% Barossa (SA).

Yeah, I get lots of breaks and do lots of traveling for pleasure and for work. In 3months time my living arrangements will have changed again due to work.

poundalead
24-12-2007, 02:17 PM
I am a Brickie based out of Maryborough QLD, I employ two apprentices which keep me on my toes. I fish out of a 20ft centre-console platey with a 100hp Yam 4-stroke. I'm too busy to do enough fishing (the mrs reckons I do enough!), but hopefully over chrissie i'll get a chance if the weather holds out.

Janelle
26-12-2007, 07:53 AM
Am a qualified gemmologist and diamond technologist (seriously that is an actual job). I do consulting work for jewellery companies and lecture for the Gemmological Association. Past life studied Marine Ecology (and btw don't agree with the green zones). Now work in fishing tackle as well as doing the consulting work.

Fish out of a 4.8m Galeforce , live in Redland Bay so mostly fish the bay, though am owed a few Barra trips which I intend to claim this year.

Janelle

Bronson
26-12-2007, 09:53 AM
i am a fishing specialist in the gold coast.

bron

two dogs
28-12-2007, 04:16 PM
Not working yet, still studying does that count. Currently doing my Masters in sport and exercise pyschology. Only a year left. Fish in a 5m Blisscraft with 140 Suzi mainly around the sandhills, mud, and rous.

polky
28-12-2007, 06:17 PM
Hi fellas fitter/welder by trade and been enjoying it for 28 yrs, fish out of Tannum Sands in a 493f signature and love it. Polky.

mad_pierre06
28-12-2007, 06:34 PM
G'day all. Spent many years in delivery driving, then warehousing. Got to Warehouse Manager for an Australia- wide co., then decided to go studying after enforced unemploymentsy. Have also worked casual running bars at Lang Park and the Whips 'n' Spurs Bar at Doomben race course. If you're at Doomben, come up to the Whips bar and say g'day.

After studying full time for 18 mths. of the last two years, i'm now currently putting together an application to become a school chaplain. Very hopeful of being accepted, as working with troubled kids is a passion of mine.

Fishing wise, i'm land based and will drive up to an hour and a half either north or south of brissie to wet a line. Pending regular work this year, my plan is to purchase an X-Trail and a tinnie, around 13 - 14 foot.

Crestcutter
28-12-2007, 07:11 PM
My old man is the groundsmen at Doomben.Next time im up that way when Barnesy is playin i shall call in.

Darryl.

Crestcutter
28-12-2007, 07:17 PM
Sorry forgot to add what i do....

Bobcat/ Excavator/ Backhoe operator................

Darryl.

mad_pierre06
28-12-2007, 08:16 PM
My old man is the groundsmen at Doomben.Next time im up that way when Barnesy is playin i shall call in.

Darryl.

Sweet as a nut. We missed out this year when he came back too soon after his heart op and had to take a rest again. He plays a bloody good show here every year, and in my bar we stay open for the hour afterwards while he's playin.