View Full Version : fishing on chrissy day!

breamnut
20-12-2007, 09:03 AM
just wondering if anyone goes fishin on christmas day?
for some reason its always good fishing. got 2 jack last year and heps of bream on poppers. a good exuse to use some new gear;D

Vindicator
20-12-2007, 09:36 AM
G'day breamnut,

Heading to Mackay for Chrissy with the in-laws. We're all going trolling after lunch around the islands. You're right, it is good fishing, we did the same thing a few years back and picked up a heap of mackies then on boxing day got nothing.

Kezza

polky
20-12-2007, 09:57 AM
There,s 3 days of the year the little lady has barred me from fiahing, her birthday,wedding aniversey and xmas day, that gives me 362 days weather and work and kids sport pending I can go fishing, Polky.

20-12-2007, 11:05 AM
We'll be 300m from the river so...YEAH!!!

20-12-2007, 11:11 AM
I'll be going out for an early am session.

Will be back home before the good lady rises (around 10am) following the Xmas eve family get together and she'll say "Didn't you go fishing this morning?"

20-12-2007, 11:19 AM

I'm always out for a dawn session, bonus is the crowds on the water are usually low

tazza_505
20-12-2007, 11:57 AM
I'm always out on x-mas day, usually in the secluded creeks around Lake weyba. Haven't seen anyone there for the past 3 years on that day.

Flattie Assassin
20-12-2007, 01:13 PM
Great tides and the full moon this Christmas. I will be out for an early flick.

*Man with hand in pocket feel cocky all day*

FA

20-12-2007, 02:13 PM
I'll probably go for a night sesh, only got mum&dad up here, and we always do lunch, so by the arvo I'll probably be on the water.

saurian
20-12-2007, 05:55 PM
About every second year it's x-mas in the boat .
I catch heaps and it's quiet.lol..
Ta

Nugget
20-12-2007, 06:27 PM
My wife is a nurse and draws the Xmas day early shift every year so I'll be out there on the Bay Xmas day till lunchtime.
Last year I did Coochie area with plastics on Xmas day, this year I think I'll head up into the Rainbow looking for a spotty with the downrigger and watching a few pots.
Usually pretty quite out there on the day.

Dave ><>

20-12-2007, 07:03 PM
I take it none of you blokes leave a beer out for Santa, anyway dont you no the fish go to there own chrissy parties.
Dave will have to draw you a mud map from the logan to rainbow ????

Nugget
20-12-2007, 07:27 PM
Pretty easy Webby - Run out of the Logan and head north till the water stops smelling like sewage then head east till I hit a big island.
Thanks for the offer though!!
Nugget ><>

aussiefool
21-12-2007, 06:24 AM
I would love to but working dog watch now till the 27th:(:( but just think of the $$$$$

Thebuffalo
21-12-2007, 07:53 AM
Leaving Sunday and spnding eight days out on some remote coastline. Taking my tinny as well so will be doing a bit of exploring. Hope you fella's all have a great Christmas and take care with the family.

All the best

Thebuffalo

breamnut
21-12-2007, 08:20 AM
we need to have a lunch down on the beach:'(
so i will just put the rods in the car and connect the boat up so dad can take me to the ramp about 3pm.
that gives me time for some whiting on poppers befor it gets dark enough for jacks!

LeeannP
21-12-2007, 08:43 AM
Too bloody right we're heading out. No chrissy committments until the evening so if the weather's good, the boat's hitting the water :)

21-12-2007, 09:45 AM
There,s 3 days of the year the little lady has barred me from fiahing, her birthday,wedding aniversey and xmas day,

There is a lot to be said for getting married on Christmas day. ;D ;D ;D